Skip to content

Ángel di María at AS

August 24, 2010

AS has a long interview out today with Ángel di María, and it’s worth a read, especially because Ángel talks about his origins, and a bit about his tattoos!  As always, interesting parts only, which means no excessive technical football talk!

I also like the picture that accompanied the interview, because we have Di María posing with a trophy bigger than him, and because we get to see a sock tan.  And continuing from last Friday, Ángel sports yet another mystifying t-shirt…

Q:  Why are you a “canalla” (scoundrel)?

A:  I played as a kid with Rosario Central, starting from when I was seven.  Thanks to the canallas, I’m now with Madrid.

Q:  Explain to the readers of AS what that nickname means.

A:  Many years ago [in the 1920s], Newell’s Old Boys wanted to play a charity game for lepers, but Rosario Central refused to join in.  That’s why Newell’s is now called the lepers and Rosario the canallas.

Q:  You now live in La Finca, a very different place from where you grew up, on Perdriel Street.

A:  That’s the place where I was born and where I met my best friends.  I have it tattooed on my forearm.  Six of us have the same tattoo.  Everyone that I love is in the Churrasco neighborhood.

Q:  Sometimes, when a footballer makes it, he forgets his old friends…

A:  Not me.  For me, Alex, Nico, Diego, Mauri, Jeremías and Bryan are everything, along with my family and my girlfriend Jorgelina.

Q:  Is it true that your first transfer was at the age of 7, from Atlético Torito to Rosario, and was in exchange for 25 balls?

(Laughs) Yes, but I think it was for a little more than that.

Q:  Time flies.  And now you play for Madrid…

A:  It seems like I was just starting yesterday, when my agent Andrés Miranda came to the house of my parents.  I debuted in the Primera at the age of 17, and at 19 I debuted with Benfica, and now Real Madrid.  Everything has gone by very quickly: the U-20 World Cup, the Olympic Games, the World Cup in South Africa.

Q:  And how much do you owe to your family?

A:  A doctor told my mother (Diana) to sign me up for some sport at the age of three because I was a very nervous, jumpy kid.  And thanks to the advice of this doctor, I’m here now.  My father was a coalman [carbonero in Spanish, like Sara’s last name!].  He worked with coal for 16 years, but when I started becoming successful and went to Europe, I told him that I didn’t want him to work anymore.

Q:  Did you work with your father?

A:  Yes.  I helped to receive and dole out the coal.  I helped him from the time I was 13 until I made my debut in the Primera.

Q:  Your footballing father is Kily González, no?

A:  Partly, yes.  I speak with him a lot.  I played a year with Kily in Rosario Central, and his advice and experience helped me a lot.  He told me to always have the ambition to go far and to always want more.  That’s what he did, and that’s how he got to Valencia and Inter.

Q:  What have your teammates told you about your new stadium?

A:  They haven’t told me anything.  I was there in the Bernabéu last year, watching a team that had lost 4-0 and had to make a comeback in order to pass to the next round.

Q:  The day of Alcorcón?

A:  That’s it!

Q:  You were watching the game in the stadium?

A:  Yes, because I was with the Argentine national team.

Q:  What a game you saw!

A:  The fans are tough, but when things go well, the people encourage a lot.

Q:  Your compatriot Gago has had a bad time with the whistles from the Bernabéu crowd.

A:  Yes, I know.  The public is very demanding.  What happened with Alcorcón was hard.  I know that they whistled at Fer, but things like that happen.

Q:  Good luck tonight.

A:  Thank you.  I believe that playing in the Santiago Bernabéu will be something amazing.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 12:17

    i tried reading this in straight spanish from as.com and got the gist of it… but can i just say that i actually almost always expect some kind of summarization from you. your blog is my one-stop shop for everything real madrid.

    can’t thank you enough for granting us all this info (understatement btw) that you have been for a while now.

    i’m so relieved to see, read, hear, watch that the new signings have been settling in with the first team really well. when i saw them at UCLA training, everyone just seemed to gel together. even with the castilla and/or canteranos. so you can imagine my dismay if anyone has to leave — which WILL happen in the next few days for sure. what’s your take on the rekindling of a Chelsea bid on Sergio Ramos? hijo needs to raise. definitely.

    • August 24, 2010 12:24

      Thanks!

      Sergio’s not the type to be swayed by money, and he’s become such an important player for Madrid that starting again somewhere else would be crazy. And he knows this, which is good news for us Madrid fans. And he does want a raise – I heard that he wants to be paid about the same as what Iker gets now. And he’s earned it (maybe not as much as Iker, but in the neighborhood).

      • Maisoun permalink
        August 24, 2010 14:27

        I thought Sergio wanted to be at Madrid until the end of his career…what happened to the 10 yr contract he was supposed to get?

  2. Miloš permalink
    August 24, 2010 12:36

    Hey!

    Anyone know what kind of bracelett does he have on his left hand and on his left leg too(something red)?

    Thanks

    • andrea permalink
      August 24, 2010 17:11

      i’m from argentina and my mom used to put those red bracelets on me to protect against envy (?)

    • MsLaSuerte permalink
      August 24, 2010 17:36

      I can assume that it’s a Cabbala bracelette. At least all the followers of this religion wear a red string on their wrists. Have no idea why he’s got a bracelette on his ankle as well…

    • HHs permalink
      August 25, 2010 05:09

      Well, I’ve seen some people wearing a red bracelet around their left ankle but I never knew why (I though it was some kind of ‘fashion statement’ or something) until a couple of years ago when I saw my brother and my sister in law wearing them too and I asked her what was all that about. Apparently her whole family use them too because her grandma is really religious and also a ‘curandera’ (iirc), so every year she (the grandma) ‘cleans’ them and puts a red thread on one of their ankles. This bracelet is suppose to protect them against ‘evil spirits’ and bad luck and you can’t take it off but wait for it to fell off on its own.

      Wearing a red string on the wrists is more common and is suppose to be for protection against ‘mal de ojo’ and envy, however is mostly wore by children and babies (not that adults can’t wear them too though).

      Now, who knows why di María is wearing them, maybe on him it is only a ‘fashion statement’ ;P.

  3. HermosaChica permalink
    August 24, 2010 19:30

    “Which means no excessive technical football talk!” yes! Thank you! Football is one of the only sports of which I don’t enjoy the technical aspect. It’s such a popular sport that you can go anywhere and talk about it with anyone, which also means that there are many people who just throw their strong, unreasonable opinions at you and expect the entire nation to agree with them. If anyone else feels the same way, then you do NOT want to meet my uncles..
    This is why I love reading this blog; it features exactly what I want to read and it’s clear that the writer has no intention of swaying anyone’s views and that every word reflects her love for Madridismo.

    (Back to the post) I think Angel is pretty down to earth, and that’s a great characteristic. It’s sweet how he mentioned his friends names, I hope he stays that way. :)

  4. August 25, 2010 06:24

    he’s been fantastic throughout the preseason. and definitely wowed the crowd and saved us all from such a frustrating match.

    Bienvenido a Madrid, Angel di Maria.

    mesut özil seems to be adjusting pretty well too, making plays, opening up chances for goals. fernando gago’s injury is a little worrying though. and i don’t even know WHAT ricardo carvalho did. also, when they were presented with the trofeo, sergio ramos didn’t seem too pleased ….

    looking forward to your next post! and a pre- La Liga opener post as well!

  5. Gilly B permalink
    August 25, 2010 13:03

    Just had to comment on Angel’s brilliant performance last night for Real Madrid. To me, he’s a contender for a first team place. He seems to have taken to RM and Mourinho’s demands very well- and TSO def notices the reliable ones!

Trackbacks

  1. in case you missed it – the secret note edition « following Real Madrid…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 799 other followers

