Skip to content

“C” is for charity too

December 11, 2010
tags: ,

Iker and Luis Figo presented their “Partido por la ilusión, Fútbol 7 solidario” yesterday, with the event to take place on Dec. 23 at the Palacio de los Deportes.

Iker revealed that it was Luis who had proposed this to him: “Luis called me to and proposed that we do this game, and I immediately said yes.  I think it’s a great initiative and that everyone will have a good time.”

Figo said that the proceeds from the game will be divided like this: 50% will go to the Liga por la Solidaridad (a competition with social purposes held in various cities of Madrid during three months of 2011), 25% to Iker’s foundation (Iker’s currently setting up the Iker Casillas Foundation) and 25% for his own foundation, which was founded in 2003 to give young people with problems opportunities through sports.

As for the participants in the event, there will be current footballers, former footballers and celebrities, including Zinedine Zidane and Fabio Cannavaro.  Vicente del Bosque will coach the side led by Iker, while Míchel will do the same for Figo and his friends.  Tickets can be purchased starting on Monday from El Corte Inglés and via telephone (902 400 222).  Prices are €11 for adults and €7 for children.

(That’s a huge belt buckle.)

Iker had previously done something similar with Rafa Nadal, in their events to raise money for fighting malaria.  And speaking of Rafa, he’s going to supplant Cristiano Ronaldo as the new face of Armani Jeans and Emporio Armani underwear!  Can’t wait to see the ads, commercials and everything else!  I hope they’re more along the lines of this and less like this.

Oh, and watch Iker’s cameo in En fuera de juego here.  As you can see, it wasn’t much of a stretch for Iker, since he was just playing himself and eating.  And obviously, he just showed up on set for the cameo, because why else would he be wearing that Christmasy, oh-it’s-so-Iker sweater, and have a purse to hang on his chair before sitting down?  I can’t believe he brought his purse to the set, and that the movie people allowed it to be in the movie.  The credits will read: Iker Casillas… as himself, and right under that, Iker Casillas’ purse… as itself.

And Iker’s not the only Real Madrid player involving himself with charity.  Sergio’s been collaborating with UNICEF for a while now, and yesterday he took to twitter to support their campaign against infant mortality.  More information here.

Left:  Hi everyone.  Today my name isn’t Sergio.  I changed my name to Kimbo.  Right:  I’m participating in this UNICEF campaign to help infants survive.  Some 22,000 children die every day for reasons that together we can overcome.

And here’s Kimbo.

(I guess big belt buckles are a “must-have” in the Real Madrid locker room these days?)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2010 10:51

    ‘ I can’t believe he brought his purse to the set, and that the movie people allowed it to be in the movie. The credits will read: Iker Casillas… as himself, and right under that, Iker Casillas’ purse… as itself.’ – LOL, this brought laughter tears to my eyes! On a more serious and curious note:
    WHAT IS IN THAT PURSE? – keys, wallet,pen that is what my bf carries on him, you don’t need a purse for that. Perhaps Iker carries his perfume ( I have to imagine something) , hand cream ( for those precious goalie fingers) and a small framed photo of David Beckham :D

    Those are big belt buckles on Iker and Sergio. I am glad that our captains are so involved in charity and I always had this fascination with Luis Figo,.I am sure the game would be fun, wish I could be there.

  2. mar permalink
    December 11, 2010 10:52

    “The credits will read: Iker Casillas… as himself, and right under that, Iker Casillas’ purse… as itself.”
    that was the best line you have written the last few days and you have written many!!:)))

    • DebS permalink
      December 11, 2010 14:29

      rofl! I agree!

    • Debsen permalink
      December 11, 2010 14:59

      I agree! I wonder what he carries in there!

  3. HermosaChica permalink
    December 11, 2010 14:12

    Iker’s skin..too..lickable!!! *faints*

    If I were that actor, I’d sit on Iker’s lap and just stare at his freakishly close face, and damn it I would STAY there! And every once in a while I’d slap his face to the side so I can admire his saintly profile. :D

    For God’s sake Iker, don’t you have enough space in your purse?! You don’t need a storage unit on your belt!

    Sergio’s first tweet was probably one of the very few Spanish tweets that I understood word for word. Still, I’m dying for the day when he is confident enough to stop the help that is “going on” with his English. But I’m afraid that at this point, it seems like I just have blind hope for this to happen..

    Speaking of Sexio, HE’S INJURED?!

  4. Maisoun permalink
    December 11, 2010 17:06

    LMAO at Iker’s face in the “Im too sexy for a small belt buckle” pic :P looks like he just might be taunting you Una! I think thats his “You know you like it.” face hahahaha

    And Sergio, Sexio, Kimbo, whatever your name is…you’re freakin FINE! But seriously, oh how I love his enormous heart!….and sexy bod WHOOPS! how did that slip out? ;)

  5. emily permalink
    December 11, 2010 18:27

    Iker’s murse isn’t nearly as awkward as Serhio’s belt buckle. I know it’s DG but, realllly… Just ‘cuz it has a name on it doesn’t mean it’s good. I foresee things like fabric and skin getting caught on it and ripping. yeek.

  6. December 11, 2010 23:31

    “The credits will read: Iker Casillas… as himself, and right under that, Iker Casillas’ purse… as itself.”
    LMAO. So many things are running through my head right now. But all I can say is WHY IKER WHY?

  7. Laryssa permalink
    December 12, 2010 04:26

    Iker was simply gorgeous in that conference. His skin, his smyle… Oh my God, he is perfect. I mean, if we pretend that hideous male purse doesn’t exist, we can safely say this guy is pure perfection.

  8. Hala_Madrid permalink
    December 12, 2010 07:30

    I love Kimbo!

Trackbacks

  1. the latest news (plus my thoughts) « following Real Madrid…
  2. a jumble of tweets, interviews & news « following Real Madrid…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 799 other followers

