Skip to content

leftover bits and pieces

May 23, 2011

More from Jerzy, one of your favorites gets shirtless, plus Mou sends a message!

Two moments from Jerzy’s postgame interview with Madrid (in Spanish), where he shows his fingers are crossed for the team next season, and pretends to leave down a staircase after the interview is over!  I love it!!!

And in his postgame interview with Madrid (in English), Jerzy said, with regards to his future, “there’s not much more you can want in life as a footballer, after Real Madrid and Liverpool.  We miss Poland very much, we’ve already spent 15 years away from our country.  If I have opportunity to go somewhere, I have to enjoy myself, in Madrid I enjoyed myself and it was perfect, but when you’re not playing, you’re like a golf player without a hole, you need a target.  It’s una pena but life goes on.”

And when questioned about the best moments from his time here, he said the greatest moments took place in the locker room, but he can’t reveal anything “because it stays between us.”  And Jerzy also looked back on this past season:  “I’m 38 years old and I learned a lot, I made the right decision to stay one more year, because I wanted to leave, but when I heard Mourinho is coming, I begged God to give me one more year, and Mourinho told me we can work together and I want you to stay one more year.”

More about Jerzy Dudek’s future: according to fichajes.net, Jerzy has an offer from Real Madrid to become a goalkeeping coach next season, but he’s not sure because he still believes he can compete at the top level for one more year.  I’d love to see that; I think he would be great with kids!  After all, he’s had a lot of experience with the likes of Antonio, Tomy, Jesús, Fernando and company, no?

And AS also had a nice little article about Dudek, with lots of interesting facts: “if you asked him, ‘how are you,’ he’d respond, ‘if you’re good, then I am as well.'”  He tried express himself in Spanish from day one, he lived in Iván Helguera’s old house, he liked to play golf after each training session, he once took Jordi Codina with him on a trip to a mine so he could see where Jerzy worked before he became a footballer, and he’s also invited other teammates to make this trip this summer.  And we also find out that Jerzy forgot the statue of Aranguren y Machimbarrena at the stadium, and had to return to go get it.

More from the game: Sergio strips after the game, to give his shirt to a fan!  The captain’s armband on his bare arm is so hot, no?

Álvaro Arbeloa will present his summer campus today in Tres Cantos (Madrid), which is also the site of the school.  I wonder if he will train them as Spartans?

José Mourinho sent out a message (video here, in Spanish) to the afición today.  I’m glad they also included smiley pictures, because José was quite serious during the message.

The season has come to an end and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all Real Madrid supporters for the affection and support they have shown for me, the coaching staff and the entire team this year. We’ve done a dedicated and serious job, but we obviously leave the analysis of the work this squad has done up to you.

We will return on July 11 with the same passion and motivation we’ve always had in order to keep trying to dignify the prestige and uncontested history of Real Madrid CF.

Finally, I would like to end with a very simple wish, which is that next season we recover certain values no one should ever forget, but that some professionals and institutions of the world of football have nonetheless forgotten. These values should be the basis of our sport. Fair play, respect for your opponent and zero tolerance to racism shouldn’t just be words, they should also be facts. I again stress my hope and wish to recover those fundamental principles in our sport next season.

Thank you for everything. We’ll see each other soon. We’ll be here on July 11.

I love the part about values!!!  It’s so true, although I can already imagine certain opponents and the press behind them finding irony in them.

And of course, there was the obligatory double thumbs-up photo.  No Real Madrid photo session is complete without it, it seems.

By the way, Mou at Castilla game on Sunday with his son, sitting next to Esteban Granero (and with lots of space between Mou and Jorge Valdano), and even went to the locker room to see the Castilla players.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. IsaBella permalink
    May 23, 2011 16:25

    I wonder if it’s a new tradition to give shirts to fans after games, since Cristiano did it after a game as well…. ;)
    I love Mou’s message! high five! :)

  2. Nate permalink
    May 23, 2011 16:28

    That sergio pic is worth the price of admission yum.

  3. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    May 23, 2011 16:36

    haha! I love Dudek.
    So, this message ( I love it btw the values -dont care what press think:P- fair play, racism part good Jose to mention it) are assuring us 100% that Jose is staying right? I hope Valdano leaves, bring back Hierro ( I know “Perez” problems pfff!) or Zizo!

    Enjoy the vacation and we will be waiting until 11-July and for the friendly games.

  4. May 23, 2011 16:39

    I first read about his speech on Marca. When I first read it, I was really scared because Marca started the article with “José Mourinho se despidió de la afición del Real Madrid” (Jose Mourinho said goodbye to the fans of Real Madrid”

    Then I realized that he’s not saying “goodbye” goodbye, but just goodbye for the season. Ooooh silly me ^^

  5. Lorelei permalink
    May 23, 2011 16:55

    I have to say again that I love Jerzy. I hope he does come back to the club someday. He’d make an amazing coach. I also loved Mou’s video and the fact that he went to visit the Castilla players during their game. And, hopefully, things aren’t as awkward between Mou and Valdano next season.

  6. tere permalink
    May 23, 2011 17:02

    una,even the season has end,you will still posting right? because I need daily updates about our players. thank you so much for ur great posting,are you studying jurnalism?

  7. Sasha Twen permalink
    May 23, 2011 17:04

    Haha! Dudek!

    BTW, Sergio didn’t provide the only eye-candy during that game. Mesut clearly had a “moment” of Turkish Delight right there:

    http://o-ozil.livejournal.com/56826.html

  8. May 23, 2011 18:17

    Mou, I love you. I did wish you had handled the press differently at times, but in the end, whatever the problem, In Mou I Trust.

    Arbeloa and Mesut also took off their shirts. Una please may we have picts of them shirtless as well. Pretty, pretty please!!

  9. lyd permalink
    May 23, 2011 20:11

    dudek looks like ed norton!

  10. mel permalink
    May 23, 2011 23:20

    Shirtless Sergio should be a trademark. He should never wear a shirt!! He can form a club with Diego Forlan, who should also be shirtless constantly.
    There should be a law against them wearing shirts!!

    • May 24, 2011 14:40

      LOL, my two shirtless faves also! Una will have a tough job this summer, pouring over beach pics of the vacationing players, trying to decide which she should include :-) LOVE YOU, UNA!!!

    • May 24, 2011 16:58

      I could not agree more.

    • IsaBella permalink
      May 25, 2011 12:33

      “Shirtless Sergio should be a trademark. He should never wear a shirt!! ” – a huge “LIKE” under that :D

  11. amouria permalink
    May 23, 2011 23:34

    What to do with the smile of Mou? its stunning. His statement on fair play, zero tolerance to racism will not be received with cheers in the other part of the country…

    Mou: to death with you…

    This is my second gift: Mou responds to the fans after Almeria game…

  12. Maja permalink
    May 24, 2011 00:29

    Duduś! Jestem z Ciebie dumna!! ( I’m proud of you!)

  13. Jean permalink
    May 24, 2011 02:31

    oh. my. word. i’m just gonna go stare at those sergio pics for i dont know, forever now… kthx bai.

  14. May 24, 2011 06:16

    *sigh* forget the jersey, I want the vice captain! I think it’s cute how Jerzy looks as his fingers before he crosses them, and why was he pretending to go down stairs? As for the double thumbs up, oh Mou, are they going to make you do the victory sign too?

  15. noelle permalink
    May 24, 2011 08:03

    oh una, ur really the best =), i saw shirtless sergio after the game but espn decided to put up a banner at the same time which was totally obstructing such an awsome view… i was like “oh i hope una posts the pics” lol =)

  16. Bekah permalink
    May 24, 2011 09:41

    Thanks for these!

    I toured the Bernabeu on Sunday while in Madrid for a couple days and it was incredible. Really wish I could have gone to the Almeria match but sadly my flight landed as the match was ending… but I did see hundreds of Madridistas on the metro and that made me very happy. You are right, Madrid is a fantastic city!

  17. amouria permalink
    May 24, 2011 10:35

    Hi Una,
    yesterday, i read a translated version of the weekly article of De Stefano. Of the many things he’s written is his critic of 1) over-celebrating the Pitchichi of Ronaldo, which in his view was a way to hide RM’s embarrassment of its failure to get La Liga, and 2) the way Adybayor celebrates his goals (by dancing) because in De Stefano’s view this way is disrespectful of the opponent.
    I know that everybody is entitled to his viewpoint, but i found his recent writings like series of stabs at the back of RM. Why, at times we expect the support of our legends, they do the opposite? Isn’t it enough that we have the press and EUFA and other teams (!) against us? On whom then we should rely in forming public opinion about RM? What Perez should do to correct the current situation?
    Thanks dear…

    • Forlond permalink
      May 24, 2011 13:09

      Do you have link to that column? I really would like to know how dancing is disrespectful. It’s pretty common and I can remember more disrespectful ways to celebrate goal than dancing. Dancing expresses happines of that person and if more players join it reflects on good relationship between them and teamwork. They’re not rubbing it in, in that sense prancing around the pitch or shushing the fans is more disrespectfull. Not to say that half the players at WC2010 danced, some even had entire choreographies. Was somebody complaining? I haven’t heard, everybody thought it was adorable.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 798 other followers

