Skip to content

a little Tuesday timewaster

June 21, 2011

First up, a question.  Do you all prefer that I post more regularly, but with little and/or superficial news, or only post when there is substantial news?

No, no and no: Sergio tweeted this photo of him in a Rajon Rondo Celtics jersey, no doubt a souvenir from La Roja’s trip to Boston.  The jersey itself isn’t bad (and it could be worse, it could be a Lakers jersey, since many Spaniards like them because of Pau Gasol, though I personally dislike them a lot), it’s the rest of the styling that makes me laugh, from the cuffed denim shorts to the gold-accented sneakers.  However, it’s so typical Sergio, no?  As is the pose.  I love the sunglasses though!

There’s only one place to be this summer: Sergio was also wearing that cap – his new favorite (he was wearing it throughout La Roja’s Americas tour too) – while vacationing in Formentera.  And a pair of short shorts (thank you Sergio).

Meanwhile, Mesut Özil decided to go for a pair of flowery swim trunks, and a Gucci cap.  I wonder if all the LV and Gucci things ever get mixed up in the locker room?

Thanks to everyone who sent in these photos of Sergio and Mesut in the Baleares.  If they belong to you and you would like credit, let me know.

Sandro Rosell doesn’t know when to shut up/laugh of the day: the latest from Barcelona’s president, who doesn’t know the meaning of the words “dignified” and “silence.”  He spoke to TV3′s “Ágora” program, and here are some of the things he said.  Regarding Mou, Rosell said, “for me, Mourinho is not the best coach in the world.  He received an award in the Ballon d’Or gala only because he won a champions.”  He added, “Pep works for Barça and that señor (Mou) works for his team.  It’s only an issue for us if he exceeds the limits and talks about Barcelona.”  That’s funny, Mou hasn’t said anything recently, and all Rosell has done in the last week is blab on about him.  Obsessed much?.  He also said he was sure that Busquets did not racially insult Marcelo, that Barcelona’s values are compatible with that of the Qatar Foundation because “in Qatar, people are happy, it’s not a dictatorship” and threatened to break off relations if Madrid once again “exceeds the limits.”

Cris in Turkey: Cristiano spoke with Turkish paper “Vatan” while in Turkey, and there were some fun parts.

on being in perfect physical shape (and asked if that’s due to working out more and going out less than the others): no, I work like everyone else.  There are people who think I love partying, but it’s not like that.  I go to sleep early because sleep is very important for me.

on managing all his money: I keep it in a special bank account.

on the effects of a sentimental relationship on a footballer [Irina has entered the room and Cris is looking at her]: if a player is happy, he plays well.  Love has a deep impact on a player and makes this happiness a possibility.

on whether he’s in love: yes, of course.

How sweet!!!

There’s no Guti because… Besiktas mixed up the dates of the Trofeo Bernabéu.  They thought it was on July 24, and that’s why they accepted.  They’ve sent an apology letter to Madrid explaining this.

I miss him already: Jerzy Dudek spoke with AS recently, and had some very nice things to say.

on his current plans: I accepted the role of Euro ambassador that my country offered me.  I would prefer to live in Krakow over Warsaw, because it’s a more comfortable, tranquil and prettier city.  I haven’t decided whether to retire yet, my wife has to give her opinion, because I have offers from England and Turkey, so that would mean another move.  If I continue playing, it’s to show that I can be a great starting goalkeeper.  I believe there’s a undersupply of goalkeepers in Europe.

on his kids: I decided to leave Real Madrid because my contract ended, but my kids didn’t like it.  I have a 14-year-old who studies in Madrid and he has a girlfriend.  He loves life in Spain… there’s no way to convince him to leave Madrid!

on his role in Madrid: I assumed my role starting on the first day.  I knew that I was going to be Casillas’ back-up and from that position, I had to help the team, on the field and in the locker room.  If my attitude was able to serve as an example and if I gained the affection of the fans and my teammates, then I can say that I fulfilled my duties.

on Iker: Casillas is out of this world.  He has been and will be a lifelong friend.  For me, he’s the authentic leader and boss of the team: he doesn’t speak much, he doesn’t need to raise his voice.  He speaks in short and precise phrases.  But when Iker says something, it’s a sentence.  He has such a desire to win that he never wants to rest… Iker never stops, he only wants to continue breaking records and winning titles.

on his jaw injury: I have a souvenir from Madrid for the rest of my life.  Sometimes it still hurts me.

on Mourinho: listen to what I’m going to say.  Mou signifies the future for Real Madrid.  He’s the ideal professional to re-order the club’s sporting area.  Madrid needed someone with personality and a clear philosophy.

on the pasillo: I can tell my grandchildren that my teammates said goodbye to me in the Bernabéu by forming an honor guard.  What else can a professional footballer want on the day of his farewell than this gesture, which I never expected, and which made me have a knot in my throat?
47 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2011 16:52

    rosell’s getting booorring….

    cris… how thrillingly romantic! I am cooing :)

    and sergio — I’m loving that pic of him with the especially bouffant hair do =p

  2. AmyTx permalink
    June 21, 2011 16:57

    Regarding post frequency, Una, you do what is best for YOUR summer schedule! Whatever you post is appreciated. What is up with this cuffed shorts style–thank God we don’t have that here in the US–at least in Texas. However, when you are Sergio, you can wear whatever you damn well please and everyone will still lust after you and love your quirkiness all that much more!!! That hat….those shoes….the jersey is the LEAST of the fashion hideousness, and I share your Lakers sentiment, Una.
    Moving on down to the swimsuit, shots….well, this is what we’ve all been waiting for since the “season” ended :-)

  3. jean permalink
    June 21, 2011 17:08

    Personally I prefer when you post more regularly because we get to know some players”personally” if I can say. You can go to post all substantial news when the season starts but right now its summer time and its good for everyone to relax .
    I love Sergio pics , and Ozil:)

  4. IsaBella permalink
    June 21, 2011 17:14

    Post when there’s substantial news Una, I think it would be more convenient for you, no?
    Sergio is in a vacation mood so the sneakers (which I personally like) and the personalized cap (which he seems to adore, no?) can be forgiven ;)
    thank you Una for this update about Jurek!! He will be the best Euro ambassador! :)

  5. June 21, 2011 17:17

    I loved Jerzy’s comments. He strikes me as humble, sensible, passionate and a great team player. He will be missed indeed. I hope he finds a team that will take him and make him #1 keeper because I think he still has it in him.

    I saw Sergio’s picture on Twitter and burst out laughing. The outfit is so craptastically Sergio. Absolutely brilliant. Sergio wouldn’t be Sergio if he dressed sensibly.

  6. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    June 21, 2011 17:22

    I would like to vote that you keep on posting everyday! I miss my club and you are doing a GREAT JOB to keep me updated with every single little detials, thank you Una, Muchas Gracias!.

    RAMOS RAMOS! I will forgive the twitter picture which gave me a good laugh in the afternoon with everything that screams OH THE RAMOS! You never change just because THIS PICTURE WITH THE SHORTS make up for everything! On another note, I love him wearing anything! Thank you for Ozil too :D

    I miss him too Dudek! Rosell, boring yawn whatever! although I would love to hear a join interview between him and Xavi, that would be a HILARIOUS one!

  7. rojafan permalink
    June 21, 2011 17:29

    I know this isn’t much help, but I appreciate anything you find time to post, whether it’s a long one every few days, or a short one every day. Whatever works best for you! I will say that I check here almost every day and I’m disappointed if there’s no new posts here or on con la roja, but I understand you can’t post every day. Do you ever take a vacation?

  8. Maddi permalink
    June 21, 2011 17:29

    More regularly please Una! I like finding out about what outrageous/awesome outfits Sergio’s trying on, or what the boys are doing on their vacations.

    I love that interview with Jerzy! What a professional!

  9. Jennifer permalink
    June 21, 2011 17:51

    Pardon my reverse sexism, but I think Ozil would look sooo much better if he just took that off.
    Ramos made my day…..those shoes…lol.

    I’d say the posts would depend on your time. I’ll read anything, any amount, anytime, it’s what you have time for. I get the best news from you!

  10. June 21, 2011 17:53

    Option A please! I love it when I see you post regularly. I miss my team so much, and your posts make the no football season a bit more bearable.

    Is Rosell standing for election or something? I mean, there has to be a reason why he’s shooting his mouth off non stop. Or is he one of this brainless twits who get verbal diarrhea every time there is a reporter around and gets his kicks out of seeing his name in the paper?

    Awaaa Cris. Isn’t this the longest that he’s spent with any girl? Good for him. :)

    Dudek is a sweetheart. I miss him already too.

  11. June 21, 2011 18:13

    As a cule I would like to let you know that most of us wish Rosell would shut up just as much as you do. Not that I really disagree with anything he said, but why can’t the man just leave things alone and let us all get back to normal? All this is going to do is give the media more to chew on. *sigh* Remember when it used to be about football?

  12. Pepegirl permalink
    June 21, 2011 18:28

    Thanks for all your news, Una – I look forward to reading you posts even if it isn’t big news, but I must say the pictures of Mesut in his flowery shorts are anything but trivial. He is obviously in touch with his feminine side and looks even more beautiful than usual. I enjoyed all the rest of today’s news too – so do keep posting!

  13. Henrik permalink
    June 21, 2011 18:31

    i would like it if it was often

  14. superfan permalink
    June 21, 2011 18:36

    Rosell better study or learn more about world politics then! The guy’s unbelievable.

    Ahhh. The beach is the place to be!!! If only it was also summer time here. Sergio’s poses make him even more adorable!

    And thank you so much for the highlights of Cris and Dudek’s interviews! :)

    And regarding your question, whatever suits you more is fine with me! I’ll love your posts anyway, so whichever works for me. :)

  15. mar permalink
    June 21, 2011 18:43

    i fear that sergio will wear white boots with golden stripes/all gold boots in matches to match his new golden-striped kit

  16. Cat permalink
    June 21, 2011 18:54

    Post more regularly, but with little and/or superficial news please. :)

  17. mumblo permalink
    June 21, 2011 19:25

    Could we take up a collection to send Rosell on a vacation? He seems like he needs some time away from the job. Does that guy have an “off” button?

    I saw Sergio’s tweet of that photo this morning… I took my time savoring every fashion atrocity from head to toe. This is just so, so bad… is he just playing with us at this point? I love that he’s still wearing that cap. Has there been any info of where it came from? The thought of him buying something like that at a mall kiosk here in the states gives me the giggles — he’s such a tourist!

    I prefer more frequent updates with little news, personally.

  18. ama permalink
    June 21, 2011 19:43

    I’m not a huge basketball fan, but Rajon Rondo is my favorite player (he and I grew up in the same part of the US), so good choice, Sergio! But good lord, those jeans. He never disappoints, does he?

    And for the record, Una, I’m happy with however you prefer to post. Whatever is easiest for you–the players are on vacation, so you should get a bit of a rest too :)

  19. sam permalink
    June 21, 2011 19:49

    Please post as often as your schedule allows… I love reading everything you write!

    Also… ohhhhh Sergio PLEASE stick to the short-shorts and no top look. When you try to wear clothes, it never ends well. :-)

  20. Jess permalink
    June 21, 2011 19:53

    I love when you post the big stuff and especially the superficial stuff! It’s the small things that makes me love this team even more!

  21. June 21, 2011 19:58

    Please post regularly, Una! Pretty please.

  22. Gilly B permalink
    June 21, 2011 21:18

    Thanks for the post Una! I’m happy for you to update when there’s a collection of things to report rather than daily if there isn’t anything. It is the summer hols, so no reason you can’t take a bit of a break too:-)
    I like your take on the news that there is, such as dissecting the sartorial choices of El Ramos in his last tweet- love it! What’s with Spanish boys and those cut off shorts? A bit of bling in the sneakers? Totally Sergio.

    As for Barca news, smh and *moving on*

    Cris and Irina…hmn. Still not sure about those two. Can’t shake the whiff of this being a PR relationship. But hey, if that’s what love looks like these days, at least its suiting him

  23. Ros permalink
    June 21, 2011 21:57

    aww… I miss Jerzy too.

    And if I didn’t find Sandro Rosell’s statements so bizarre and amusing, I would really not like him. Why are people still listening to him? It seems that Mou isn’t the only one who knows how to make headlines by what he says, but at least he (Mou) tends to sound more intelligent when he does it.

  24. amouria permalink
    June 21, 2011 23:42

    Do you all prefer that I post more regularly, but with little and/or superficial news, or only post when there is substantial news?

    WHATEVER YOU POST IS LOVELY DEAR UNA :-)

  25. Kristine permalink
    June 22, 2011 00:26

    Oh Sexio..It’s summer dear man, it’s hot outside you don’t need those clothes. Go ahead, take em off, We won’t mind. Now don’t you feel better? I know I do!
    Sorry, got carried away there…
    Una, you are awesome. You can post any damn time you feel like it.

  26. Kristen permalink
    June 22, 2011 01:23

    I don’t understand how Barca could cut ties with Madrid. Are they going to stop showing up for Clasicos? They don’t seems to have any other ties. Seriously Rosell needs to stop.

  27. Cindy permalink
    June 22, 2011 01:48

    First up, a question. Do you all prefer that I post more regularly, but with little and/or superficial news, or only post when there is substantial news?

    I’m all for everyday because your blog is like a drug I need my daily fix..:)

    “on the effects of a sentimental relationship on a footballer [Irina has entered the room and Cris is looking at her]: if a player is happy, he plays well. Love has a deep impact on a player and makes this happiness a possibility.

    on whether he’s in love: yes, of course.”

    I LOVE THIS.
    I love Cris & Irina together so much. Come on Cris put a ring on it.

  28. emily permalink
    June 22, 2011 01:50

    You are more than gracious enough to post one item a month or a year. Whatever you decide to do is best. I enjoy little bits every day. I also enjoy when there’s a lot of info, but the little bits help to string us along, keep us from starving. It’s kind of like that little piece of expensive chocolate – make it last until you can afford some more!!! I know I don’t say it enough, so, thanks so much for all that you do for us, Una!
    (I wish we all knew your real name… if I put on my pouty face, would that make you tell us?)

  29. Manong permalink
    June 22, 2011 01:53

    Hi Una,

    I really like this blog. I prefer the regular updates, even if there isn’t much to report, or anything important.
    I especially love the photos, and the translations into English. I am so proud of this club. I can’t wait for next season !

  30. June 22, 2011 03:05

    omg please continue to post reguarely. Even if there is little news. Usually you’re the funniest when there is not much “serious” news

  31. June 22, 2011 03:16

    Always love your posts una, so whatever and whenever you want to provide them…we are hear to read them! BTW, from a girl living in Boston, Sergio in that shirt makes me laugh – it’s just so….unexpected.

  32. Bekah permalink
    June 22, 2011 05:30

    I’m glad you dislike the Lakers :)

    And I’m happy with any and all updates!

  33. cisarovna permalink
    June 22, 2011 05:44

    Oh these pictures are so cute, thanks for sharing. Please update at whatever frequency works for you, you deserve a little summer break too, pre-season is only a month away!

    Sergio is rockin’ those gold high tops like no other. I was going to make fun of his outfit, but he looks so happy in those shoes!

    And for a quiet guy, Ozil seems to have a funky side with those shorts, and is apparently a bit of a bad ass with the smoking etc. It’s always the quiet ones you have to watch out for! Ha!

  34. June 22, 2011 05:55

    Una, you’re so sweet to ask us what we want–honestly, I’d be happy with whatever you choose! Your commentary is awesome b/c these items (superficial or substantial) interest you and you make it fun for us to see things through your eyes.

    And thank you for putting Cris’ and Dudek’s wonderful interviews at the end–they were good at washing away the negative dreck coming from Rosell. Ugh.

  35. June 22, 2011 07:27

    Dudek looks really good in that picture! Aww, Cris, isn’t he the sweetest! Oh, god, the shorts Mesut is wearing. My eyes!

  36. maddy permalink
    June 22, 2011 08:57

    i love it when cris talks. he does it so intelligently, but without being boring.

  37. z3la permalink
    June 22, 2011 09:45

    Daily posts please, even if they are short and has relatively unimportant information :)

  38. June 22, 2011 12:14

    Post Unamadridista in a way that is the most convenient for you!

    I love the picturesque news LOL Sergio never fails when it comes to holiday outfits Oh, uuups, I forgot about the golden shorts from few years back, but at least he never fails when it comes to the size of the outfits. I appriove the choice of shorts so I am able to forgive him the twitter pic outfit. (although I really like Celtics, the rest of the outfit is so Sergio…)

    Dudek is a super nice guy. One part of me really wants to see him play in the upcioming years and not retiring and knowing the Polish football league I can assure you that I wish he played somewhere else, because he’s just too good to be there. I’d love to see him back in England, that would be epic!

    Cristiano in love – how adorbs.

    Mesut, mein Bambi, remember how good you looked in “Nicht schlecht” ad and take of this shirt now, boy!

  39. June 22, 2011 13:07

    Sergio just made my day. He looks smashin in that shorts! Soooo sexy (his vacay pictures always make me happy :D)

    And I melted at Cris’ words :”)

  40. MEVA permalink
    June 22, 2011 14:13

    Regularly !! You are my morning joy and first thing I do is look for UNAMADRISTA …Al hacerlo de forma regular si es importante o irrelevante la noticia todavía, y ahora que la temporada de fútbol ha terminado .. El ‘irrelevante’ noticia muy relevante:)

  41. Suzanne permalink
    June 22, 2011 14:36

    I just love seeing the words “following real madrid…” in my in-box anytime I check it. It brings me such joy!! So if you enjoy posting frequently, I enjoy reading frequently! When you live in the US, with no one around you that follows football, in the off-season, and are female, this blog is much appreciated every day!

    And I must say that until now I’ve hated every one of Mesut’s choices in hats… But this Gucci one becomes him! :)

  42. Jenny permalink
    June 22, 2011 19:05

    Rosell sounds as though he is nearing collapse and suffering from Tourette’s Syndrome to boot. Doesn’t the club have the money to send him on vacation?

    Poor thing.

    And yes – Mourinho hasn’t spoken to the press in several months now – except that one radio show, where he said absolutely nothing about Barca. Rosell needs to take a deep breath, and check himself into a mental health clinic.

  43. June 22, 2011 19:41

    1-Let me first say how appreciative I am of your blogs. For me reading what you write and replying to most posts is a highlight of my day and when you don’t post I feel a bit disappointed. My job is very demanding and I spend long overtime hours working so it is a breather for me.
    However, I feel like you should do what fits you best especially when there is not that much ‘news’ in the summer. You already know that pics of our boys on vacation are not considered trivial :) What makes this blog special is the tidbits that are hard to find on Marca,As etc., the translation for those who can’t read Spanish and mostly your lovely comments and insight.

    2- Rosell should just shut up. And to all Barcelona fans who agree with him, let me tell you that he is being hypocritical and saying those things just to please certain people in the press and the socios.
    a- Because if you think about it what does cutting relationships with RM mean exactly? That he isn’t going to invite FP and our directors to the Stadium or the usual lunch before the game? If that happens then will we care?

    b-Believe me when those two clubs have a common interest ( money) they will unite with each other, a clear example is the TV rights issue and the match timing to suit Asia issue. Both will fight the other clubs to get the highest amounts of TV money. They wanted to declare a strike during the most inconvenient time when it suited their interests but at the beginning of the season they did everything they could to prevent the players going on strike.

    c- The clubs do not have what you can call a ‘relationship’ in the first place.

    d- Going on and on about this during off-season when they have won la liga and the Champions league just shows you the level of obsession they have with our club. They can’t even celebrate without mentioning us. Besides Mou has already been punished by UEFA whereas some of their actions have gone without a warning. ( I would like to see his reaction if one of his players was wrongly sent off at the beginning of a Champions league semi final.)

    e- He should keep in mind that there are two clasicos coming up in August, continuing to ignite this during off-season will make everything blow up again.

  44. June 23, 2011 10:08

    I vote for posting regularly even with superficial news!!
    I LOVES it: ) and this post made me swoon SOOO many times…scantily clad Sergio, romantic Cris, adorable Jerzy….its QUALITY :D

Trackbacks

  1. Moucation and Other Bits & Bobs « Of Headbands and Heartbreak…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 798 other followers

