Skip to content

ICYMI – the euphoria edition (III)

April 24, 2012

In case you missed it – Barcelona vs. Real Madrid [2012-04-21, Liga jornada 35, 1-2].

As Pepe declared after the game, “we are Real Madrid, and betting against Madrid is always risky.”  With that said, there’s really no need for any more introduction to this post on (almost) everything that happened once the final whistle blew, so here we go…

FIFTEEN.  I’ll be quiet after this so you can relive and bask once again in the pure joy of seeing Madrid win at the Camp Nou, but I have to point out that before Iker started celebrating, he took the time out console Carles Puyol and Víctor Valdés.  That is the mark of a true captain, and once again I will reiterate that Real Madrid and Spain are so lucky to have him.

SIXTEEN.  The celebration!

The team of course took the time to thank all the brave fans who cheered on the team at the Camp Nou, with Pepe pointing at the escudo.

As the players headed into the tunnel, Benzema, Özil and Coentrão gave their shirts away to fans in stadium.  Later on, Pepe gave his away at El Prat.  Meanwhile, Álvaro Arbeloa tried to mess up Xabi Alonso’s interview, while Pepe once again showed off that escudo he loves so much.

SEVENTEEN.  We got a glimpse of what happened in the Real Madrid locker room (though I think we would have preferred long, nice hard looks, no?) thanks to the photos that Sergio and Iker tweeted/posted.  Sergio tweeted, “three more points towards glory, let’s continue working” and this photo below.  Later on came a photo of him and “El Mariscal.”  Oh Pepe, why did you have to position yourself there and block Esteban and José?

And this picture is of course memorable for Mesut Özil in his underwear and that bulge…  It was sweet of Iker to hold up Rafa’s shirt too. but let’s be honest, we all noticed that about 20 minutes after we saw the photo, no?  (That would be 15 minutes staring at Mesut and five at Sergio’s belly tattoo.)

Now, please tear yourself away from that photo and keep reading (don’t worry, you can return to it later, I won’t judge you).

EIGHTEEN.  Once the boys had showered and changed, they started giving interviews.

Iker and his teammates were all cautious and not too euphoric yet (as compared to the rest of us!), repeating several times that the Liga has not been won yet.  Nevertheless, Iker (and his perfect profile) said his team had taken “a giant step” forward, that the game was a nice one and it wasn’t easy at all.  Showing his captain qualities once again, Iker asked that everyone be “respectful” with Barça because there are still four matchdays left to play.  He also said he would give his team a “10″ in all areas.

I also adored what Esteban Granero said: “it’s not the first time that we’ve been superior here, but the difference is that today we won.”  And putting his psychology studies to good use, El Pirata said, with regards to the last several results at the Camp Nou, “we don’t have any psychological problems, but in the past we deserved more than what we achieved and today we did it.”

This is what Mesut Özil and Sami Khedira had to say; it’s a word for word transcription from their statements in Spanish.  I think it’s quite easy to understand.  Mes is still a bit hesitant while speaking, and Sami seems to want to speak a lot more, but is limited by his vocabulary.  His Spanish flows quite nicely already, so go Sami!  Mesut: “nosotros somos muy feliz, hemos jugado muy bien, es difícil para nosotros, pero hemos jugado muy bien, ganamos es muy importante para nosotros y ahora soy feliz.”  Khedira: “yo sé es un gol histórico, pero para mí es muy importante la victoria, para el equipo es muy importante ganar en el Camp Nou y sí, hoy es día perfecto.”

NINETEEN.  And then when Cris was giving an interview, Pepe came up behind him.  Meanwhile, several of the boys returned to the field, to check out the stadium, which was empty except for the small group of Madrid fans, who were still singing and cheering and celebrating.

Xabi then took a seat in the stands, and at 22:56h, he tweeted this photo with the message, “relaxing and listening to Belle and Sebastian.”

He caught the eye of ESPN journalist Fernando Palomo, who tweeted that Xabi was “contemplating, reading messages on his mobile phone, sitting in the stands of the Camp Nou,” along with this photo.  Palomo also informed us that “Mou came out of the tunnel to take a picture of the empty field.”

TWENTY.  Aitor Karanka also preached caution at his press conference, reiterating that “the Liga is not finished yet.  There are still games, very important points to be played.  In the Bernabéu, we have two games that could make us champions.  And we have to continue working hard.”  As for Cristiano, Aitor remarked, “Cristiano has made us used to seeing great moments.  There’s nothing new to say about Cristiano, he simply affirmed that he’s the best in the world.”  Mesut also came in for some praise.

TWENTY ONE. Xavi didn’t speak after the game, but luckily we had Andrés Iniesta (“I don’t have the feeling that Madrid was superior”) and Sergio Busquets (“I believe we were better than they were”).  The next day, at a press conference, Xavi opened his mouth and said, with no hint of irony at all (unlike the rest of Barça), “this team does know how to lose, we showed that in the final of the Copa [when you refused to shake Álvaro Arbeloa's hand?], and when we don’t win, we try to give a good image.”  He did break with his standard practice and throw a bit of praise in Madrid’s direction by calling the team “effective.”

TWENTY TWO.  Around 500 fans gave Madrid a raucous sending off at the airport in Barcelona, and then the team boarded their flight to return to Madrid, with Marcelo sporting very flat hair.  Another 500 received the team upon their arrival in the capital, chanting and cheering.

The players boarded their bus directly from the tarmac, disappointing that fans waiting in the arrivals hall and around the airport.  The reason given was that there were no security measures in place.  My friend was very disappointed that the bus then headed to Valdebebas instead of Cibeles, where many madridistas were celebrating.

That’s because a couple thousand fans had amassed at the Plaza de Cibeles to celebrate Madrid’s victory over Barcelona.  No incidents were reported, other than the massive traffic jams that resulted from the people dancing, jumping, singing and running around on the roads.  Even bus drivers, security guards and street sweepers joined in the festivities!

And over in Sevilla, the kickoff time of the Sevilla-Levante game had been moved back from 22h to 22:30h so that people could watch all the post-game coverage from the Barcelona-Madrid match.  That of course meant that the game would end on early Sunday morning!  Only in Spain!  To show their anger, Sevilla fans threw tennis balls onto the field, and held up a sign reading “stop the game, Mou is speaking.”  Shouldn’t it be Karanka?  They also chanted, “I’ve had it up to here with Barça and Madrid.”

I haven’t, not at all, with Madrid I mean, so ¡Hala Madrid!

25 Comments leave one →
  1. manie permalink
    April 24, 2012 16:04

    Perfection! These posts make me so happy. I only hope that there will be more to come after tomorrow’s match (crossing my fingers…to the point where they can’t feel anything). Hala Madrid!

  2. amouria permalink
    April 24, 2012 16:06

    “please tear yourself away from that photo and keep reading (don’t worry, you can return to it later, I won’t judge you”
    Una: the same applies to you….we won’t judge you although we know that you spent more than the claimed 15 minutes starring at Masut :-) hahaha…we share a lot

  3. April 24, 2012 16:16

    I think this may be my favourite post on this blog yet – but I say that every time, don’t I! :D Looking at those pictures and seeing the players happy faces, reading your words that sum up what I think and feel so nicely – it just sums up the whole match for me, in some way, and this is one of the games that I absolutely do not mind being reminded of and over again :) So thank you for that and right into my ‘favourites’-tab with this post.

    You’ve done a good job with the three Clasico posts, by the way – splitting them up was a nice idea, as it makes me pay a lot more attention to everything!

    (I’d also like to mention how much I loved the tennis balls in the Sevilla – Levante game – the fans were inspired by Basel fans doing the same thing a couple of years ago when their match against Luzern was pushed back, because there was a tennis tournament final between Djokovic and Federer at the same time. I just love how the Sevilla fans liked the idea so much that they threw tennis balls, even though their delay had absolutely nothing to do with tennis! But I guess throwing hundreds of footballs at the pitch wouldn’t be appreciated, even if it would make a lot more sense, haha!)

    • unamadridista permalink*
      April 25, 2012 15:23

      Thanks for letting me know about the tennis balls history!

  4. Jenny permalink
    April 24, 2012 16:27

    I have to say: the Sevilla protest is sort of witty actually – non-violent and quite wonderful!

    But too bad for them we can’t gt enough of Madrid!

    These are three gorgeous posts Una, which I’m sure we’ll all be visiting many, many times!

  5. April 24, 2012 16:30

    I’m setting up camp and never leaving this post!!

    Brilliant coverage as always Una. We’re lucky to have you do this for us. MUAH!

  6. Ally permalink
    April 24, 2012 17:24

    Awesome celebrations! From Iker being a perfect capitán to those heart-warming supporters in Madrid :’)
    Thank you Una, for sharing these wonderful moments with us!
    and the Raul/Cristiano gif is magnificent. I wish I had seen Raul play more…

  7. April 24, 2012 17:30

    I’m getting goosebumps just thinking about the end of the match again. I didn’t relax until the final whistle was blown (memories of the Bayern goal & the other last minute equalisers haunting me). When it was finally over, I was a wreck, crying like a baby. I was happy for the win, but moreover, happy FOR THE GUYS. They deserved this win. They all worked so hard, each person did their job and more. I said this in my blog post on the match, but I am just so full of pride and love for each and every member of the team. I’ve never been prouder of our guys.

    And now on to the less pleasant parts of this post. I read Busquets’ comments about how Madrid didn’t play at all or something like that and it’s infuriating. Really ridiculous.

    Oh, and have you seen this on The Dirty Tackle? Future News: Barcelona petition FIFA to declare possession more important than goals. It’s hilarious. And it perfectly captures how Xavi usually speaks about Barca and their “superior” way of playing.

  8. superfan permalink
    April 24, 2012 17:51

    :D:D:D:D:D <—That is me days after the win. Still so happy. And hopefully, this happiness continues on after the CL match.

    I would have given up anything to be in Madrid after the win. Seeing the videos of the celebration, I bet they were epic.

  9. Nora permalink
    April 24, 2012 19:10

    What I wouldn’t give to be in Madrid to party for victories like this – the atmosphere must be incredible!
    I couldn’t get enough of our boys’ celebrations; their non-stop hugging was so endearing.
    It’s also nice to see the team revisit lingering fans, and to see Xabi and Mou admiring the enormity of their win here by taking pics of an empty Camp Nou.

    I do feel sorry for the Sevilla-Levante fans – it’s hugely irritating/costly when big events are postponed because your post-event plans, accommodations or travel methods have to be modified.

  10. AJ Nelson permalink
    April 24, 2012 19:30

    I seriously can’t stop smiling!!! Thanks for another brilliant piece! (OK, now I have to look at that photo again) ;)

  11. noim303 permalink
    April 24, 2012 19:43

    I might or might have note fainted after I saw Mesut’s picture… Well, to tell you the truth it was like this: Ö.Ö (15 min.) -> start hiperventilating -> bring a bowl to avoid flooding the floor with drool -> freak out -> HAPPY.
    I knew you would put it in here so I couldn’t help it, I needed to find the picture before I could start reading the rest of the post :P Let me tell you, this week’s post(s) are even more amazing than usual, it made me very happy to see that there are 3 of them! And it made me very very very happy to see THAT picture… oh, the joys of life :)

  12. April 24, 2012 19:52

    Wow, I don’t really have any words. I’m still so happy.

    Thank you so much for compiling these great posts!

  13. Christine permalink
    April 24, 2012 20:25

    “Oh Pepe, why did you have to position yourself there and block Esteban and José?”
    I thought exactly the same when I saw this picture!!! :-D
    Anyway, I’m still smiling too and I hope we all can continue smiling after tomorrows match agains Bayern Munich ;-)

  14. ann permalink
    April 24, 2012 20:52

    i love xabi just chilling at camp nou

  15. April 24, 2012 21:08

    I am still ecstatic!!!! thanks for a great summary Una. It was a match we were waiting for, since 5:0 happened. The beauty of the game is that the victory circles around the teams, so I am really happy about the situation now!!!

    so great and no slaps, no fights with bare arms;-)

    and the gifs are mesmerising, not to mention the pics.

    thanks and I hope you are having tons of fun!

  16. maripili permalink
    April 24, 2012 21:47

    Is Iker holding Varane’s shirt in front of him because he is not wearing a shirt? That is not nice, Iker!

  17. maria permalink
    April 25, 2012 00:24

    Una your post didn’t let us down, as amazing as the game!!! Congrats!!! Iker is such a legend and an icon of this club!! he’s unbelievable, such a strength on the pitch, a heart and soul captain, and a great human being. All madridistas should be really proud to have him representing the club.
    Having said that, I must say, I think pepe showing off the escudo and kissing it compulsively was a little too much. Not because the escudo isn’t worth it of course, but because to me, it just looked like one more of pepe’s provocation towards barcelona. I think these kind of actions coming from him are just unsportsmanlike. he’s way too aggressive kissing and pointing his shirt, it just seemed fake.
    I don’t care if he’s the sweetest person on earth during training, to me, he’s still way too far from having Real Madrid’s true spirit.

  18. Sara permalink
    April 25, 2012 06:14

    I love this team sooooo much!!! And Mesut’s underwear picture makes everything even better. HALA MADRID!

  19. April 25, 2012 06:23

    and then to cap things off, chelsea beat barca today, too!

    we ARE lucky to have iker. he’s a model captain and i know those players are his friends as well as opponents, so i’m sure his gestures went beyond mere sportsmanship and were meant out of friendship as well.

    i wish i could party at cibeles, too! i’m so envious!

    i can’t believe xabi just hung out in the stands, tweeting like that! hilarious.

    and iker … what a tease. drop the towel, already!

    i’m delighted to see the boys so happy. they worked hard for this, and they deserve it! :D

    thank you for the three posts, una!

  20. Morales permalink
    April 25, 2012 08:45

    I’m so happy that you posted the celebration gifs, since I was too busy crying my eyes out to see them celebrate

  21. noviana noor aisyiah permalink
    April 25, 2012 14:11

    i’m still smiling Una! Big :D oh i love when you’re posted more than 1 posts hihi
    that Mesut Pic!! oh my. at the time i saw it from iker’s facebook, i was like O.O mes O.O O.o hahahha i love him!!

  22. April 25, 2012 18:33

    3 ICYMI posts for one game wow that I call euphoria! :) Still cant believe it! I was hoping for a draw, so we can at least keep the 4-point window, but the win totally surprised me. So happy we won.

Trackbacks

  1. Little League « Blue Eyed Sight
  2. ICYMI – the Cristianator edition | following Real Madrid...

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 798 other followers

