Skip to content

Rafa vdV at Marca [2010-06-08]

June 8, 2010

Marca interviewed Rafa van der Vaart from the Dutch camp, and this is what he had to say!  (They claim that he was very eager to talk about Madrid after 15 days training with the Netherlands).

Find out all about Rafa’s view of Mourinho, his thoughts on his continuity in Madrid, and why he wears the number 23!

Q:  You must have had time during the concentration to talk with Sneijder about Mourinho.

A:  Yes (laughs), we’ve talked a lot.  He knows Mourinho very well and he’s given me a lot of good information.

Q:  And what did he say?

A:  He’s a bit upset, because he really enjoyed working with him.  He told me that Mourinho’s the best in the world.  Number one.

Q:  So you’re happy with his arrival?

A:  Yes, I’m very hopeful.  It’s a once in a lifetime opportunity for us Madrid players.  Mourinho is a special coach, he knows how to get the best out of each player, he understands us and his teams always win.  The project that we’ll be starting is very good.

Keep reading, eventually they stop talking about Mourinho and begin talking about other topics!

Q:  We talk about Mourinho as if it’s a fact that van der Vaart will continue in Madrid.  Are you staying?

A:  Of course!  There’s no doubt.  I’m not thinking of any other possibility.  Why would I leave?

Q:  A lot of clubs are interested in you…

A:  Well, I don’t want to leave.  I want to continue in Madrid.  I had a good season and I don’t think there are any doubts that I earned my place.

Q:  Do you like the Spanish national team?

A:  Of course, they play a very attractive style of football.  The majority of the players play for Madrid or Barcelona, so you know they’re good.

Q:  With the Netherlands, you also wear the number 23 jersey.  Why?

A:  I like the number.  I wore it in Hamburg, in Madrid, and now with the Netherlands.  People identify me with it.  I even have it on my boots.

Q:  Will your family come to watch you?

A:  We’ll see, depending on how far we get.  I hope to get to the final, of course.  [one reason to cheer for the Netherlands – so we can see Sylvie in South Africa!]

No comments yet

Leave a comment