Skip to content

and Sergio continues spreading joy…

July 18, 2010
tags:

… to the Senegalese and to us.

If it’s possible, I love Sergio Ramos even more after seeing him on this Senegal trip.  As the Marca caption above says, Sergio has never stopped smiling on this trip.

Yesterday, on the outskirts of Dakar, Sergio stepped onto a playing field for the first time since the World Cup final.  It was a sandy and uneven field, with the goals made up of two tree trunks connected by a string.  But that didn’t matter to anyone, not the kids who wanted to go up against a champion, not Sergio himself.

At the end of the game, Sergio said, “it’s great being able to share smiles with these kids over a ball.”  It took him longer to reach his car after than it took him to play the game, because everyone wanted to get a photo, to touch their idol, or simply to stand next to him.  Sergio patiently attended to all, always smiling, saying, “I love being close to these children and seeing their happiness.  I hope their hardships in life get better soon.”

Earlier that day, Sergio had visited a school for orphans and homeless children.  The day ended with a reception for Sergio held by the Spanish ambassador to Senegal.

And how good does Sergio look in the UNICEF blue?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. in love with real madrid permalink
    July 18, 2010 21:21

    I do too, I love this guy….He so kind and sweet….and that smile…man! Sergio is the best!

  2. HermosaChica permalink
    July 18, 2010 22:22

    :O and yet another Sergio post! I just let out a huge girly squeal with no shame whatsoever!

    “And how good does Sergio look in the UNICEF blue?”
    This guy would still look amazing in the colour of poop!

  3. fiona permalink
    July 18, 2010 23:39

    sergio is simply amazing!

  4. Luminophore permalink
    July 18, 2010 23:41

    Sergio is so sweet! Some of my friends, who are not fans of Spain, dislike him for his appearance, just don’t find him good-looking… I wouldn’t call him “The God of handsomeness” either (not my type), but I always liked him. Now I’m definitely sure that Sergio’s kind heart is what makes him so attractive

  5. July 19, 2010 02:23

    really, that is so cool and sweet of him to do! Great idea, especially just after the world cup. I do hope his visit will have some effect and that the programmes there will also be working fine. with all the hype surrounding big sports events, people really easily loose the feling of what’s really going on i the world. no better time to go and highlight the topic with the presence od the person who just won the world cup.

    trivial notice – I really like some of his crazy colourful outfits (I must be one of the few who like those green pants LOL), but man, he would look so much better sometimes in just casual clothes. dooh. 😉

    • HermosaChica permalink
      July 19, 2010 09:52

      Oooh I’m with you on “the kermit pants”, sister! I love that he makes an effort, even though he tends to look a little wacky at times, but he can really pull it off. I really like how he conveys himself as an individual; he’s just stunning!

      Casual clothes? But Iker wears casual clothes, and I think more people ridicule his appalling fashion sense that Sergio! Hahaha 😛

      • July 19, 2010 19:11

        hmm, good point with those casual clothes, I did not think of that…

        so I am changing my request to “casual clothes from time to time” – mix of both worlds so whenever we forget how he looks in casual, he appears in them rockin, so we forget about the kermit pants (love the name!) and miss them and when they (or their brothers in different colours) appear we love them even more.

        but of course, Senegal trip btw – still very important! 😉

Trackbacks

  1. he’s got my unequivocal support « following Real Madrid…

Leave a Reply

