Skip to content

this one definitely has a second calling

October 1, 2010
tags: ,

Well, we found out why Iker suddenly showed up clean-shaven last week (with stunning results) and now we know why Xabi also shaved.  He’s the new face of Gillette Energizer, a moisturizing aftershave, which he presented yesterday in Madrid (watch a video here).

Of course, he was asked about the team’s current situation.  Of Pedro León, he said that he’s preparing for the game on Sunday, like everyone else, and that “we’re a team and when a teammate is going through uncertain moments, the rest of us support him.”  He also expressed his desire that his goal shooting accuracy and those of his teammates would improve.  Xabi said a lot more, but I’m not going to write about it here because it was boring football-related things.  So, we’ll go on to the more interesting things that he said.

So, lots of fun things if you keep reading!

In an interview with ¡Hola! (who of course asked more interesting questions than the sports journalists), we found out that Xabi likes Gillette because “it’s a brand that helps me to feel comfortable with myself and face the challenges of the day.”  Hello, script!

Q:  Today you’re promoting a moisturizer (crema hidrante in Spanish).  Are you the crema of Mourinho?

A:  (Laughs).  I try to help him in everything I can.  We have a very straightforward, good relationship.

Q:  Do you like to take care of your appearance?

A:  Of course, both inside and out.  I’m not obsessed with it, but giving a good impression is important.  [He doesn’t need to be obsessed, since he’s so fantastic looking to begin with, no?]

Q:  How did you feel while shooting this spot?

A:  Good, because it’s a natural, simple thing, and with a good product.  It’s much better to promote a good brand.

Q:  Did you like being a model?  Would you do it again?

A:  If I get offers from products that I like, of course I wouldn’t rule them out.

Q:  Which is more difficult, giving a press conference after a game or while presenting a product?

A:  They’re similar, I try to feel good and comfortable in both cases.

Q:  Iker Casillas is promoting an electric shaver, will there be a battle of shavers in the locker room?

A:  I’m promoting a new moisturizing cream, so it’s different.  So there won’t be any reason for a battle.  After shaving, you use the moisturizing cream.

Q:  Last week, it was said that Iker had asked your coach to move back the time of the training sessions so that the players could take their kids to school.  You’re a father, can you tell us if this was true?

A:  No, it’s a lie.  The information was wrong.  I have time to do so and prepare myself.  I don’t have any problems with the schedule.

Q:  The people still don’t believe that Spain won the World Cup…

A:  And I’m probably one of them.  I’m still not conscious of what we achieved.

Q:  Was that kick you received in the final as painful as it appeared?

A:  Yes, very painful.  But it was the final; if it had been any other game, I wouldn’t have continued playing.

Q:  After that kick, you’re not going to ask for any more tacos, no?  (Tacos also mean studs, like the ones on the bottom of the football boot).

A:  (Laughs).  No, I already have them.

Q:  Were you left with any marks?

A:  No, no.  Internal yes, but external, no.  [Proof please, Xabi!!!]

Q:  How has your life changed after winning the World Cup?

A:  I’m the same and I try to do the same things.  It hasn’t changed me.

Q:  Are you happier in Madrid than you were in Liverpool?

A:  That was another time, I’m very happy here because you live well here and I love the city.  In addition, I enjoy playing with Madrid.

Q:  You don’t miss Donosti?

A:  It’s close by, but I do miss it.  I miss the ocean and the things that are there a lot.

Q:  Would you like to stay in Madrid?

A:  Yes, of course.  I’ve adapted well to the life here.

Q:  Can you tell us an anecdote about the World Cup that no one knows?

A:  I’ve already forgotten almost everything (laughs).  There were so many things that it would be difficult to pick one.

Q:  Do the Real Madrid players get along, are you friends?

A:  We’re a good group, there’s a great atmosphere and it’s very fun.  There are a lot of people that never stop joking around and that makes the hours we spend together more bearable, which is fundamental because we’re together a lot.

Q:  Are you one of the ones that tells jokes?

A:  No, I listen to them.  The Brazilians, such as Marcelo, never stop joking around.

Q:  Are there any differences between the locker room of Real Madrid and that of the national team?

A:  Of course, because in the national team we’re all from here, and in Madrid there are 13 or 14 players from outside Spain and so the form of relating to them is different.  But both locker rooms are great.

Q:  How is Di María after that car accident?

A:  Good, good.  It was a big scare for him, but he’s good now.

Xabi also spoke with Spanish TV show “Sé Lo Que Hicisteis” (I know what you did).  The interview with Berta Collado was pretty cute as well, and all the questions were what I would have asked Xabi if I had the chance.

BC: I’m here with Real Madrid player Xabi Alonso, who has won, among other things, the Champions League, the Eurocopa, the World Cup.  You now have more titles than the Duchess of Alba, right Xabi? (The Duquesa de Alba is the most titled woman in the world).

XA: Well, I would like to have some of the titles that she has, but I’m happy.

BC: Would you like to be a duke or something like that?

XA: No, no, no, I was talking about other things.

BC: We looked through the archives; how do you remember that moment when you received the kick from De Jong?  Do you believe that he really wanted to kick you like that?

XA: No, I think it was involuntary.  When I see it on TV, it leaves a much greater impression on me than what I lived through on the field.  It hurt so much that my whole body cracked – my hips, the back, everything.  But since it was the final, I had to continue playing.

BC: Let’s move on to a more romantic moment.  Your kiss with Gerrard.  Such a beautiful moment.  I hope you’ll tell me that you’ve celebrated in a better way on other occasions.

XA: Well, we can say that it happened in the heat of the moment, I think it was a fun anecdote, he came up to me, and I don’t know where he got…

BC: Let the record show that it was him (Gerrard), not you (Xabi).

XA: … this attraction from, but anyway, I reciprocated.  [But then, why did it look like Xabi nuzzled Gerrard’s ear after that?  It also appeared that he wanted more…]

BC: Would you give another kiss to Gerrard or any other teammate?

XA: No, it was spontaneous, you can’t prepare for these things.

BC: Let’s go on to a more recent image, from the celebration in the World Cup, when the queen went into the locker room to see you all.  No one warned Puyol that he should have gotten dressed?

XA: No, no.  He should have put on a shirt, but we had just won, so I think we could have done almost anything we wanted to.  In addition, the locker room is our area.

BC: What do you all call him?

XA: Puyi.

BC: You didn’t say, come on Puyi, a bit of…

XA: We joked around a bit, mostly because we were everywhere, and in that moment, I didn’t even realize it.  [I like how Xabi is waving around the can of moisturizer as he says this.]

BC: And what was the expression on the queen’s face?

XA: I don’t know, I don’t know what the queen would have said, I don’t remember.

BC: I remember a picture of you from Esquire, where you’re very well dressed and very handsome.  Would you do photos like these of your teammate Cristiano Ronaldo, or is there too little clothing for you?

XA: No, I think he can do it, but I don’t know if I would do it.

BC: You’d feel better with a bit more clothing, no?

XA: Well, he looks good like that.

BC: Xavi Hernández told Cristina Pedroche (another reporter on the show) that if you all won the World Cup, you all would come on the show.  At the moment, we don’t have space for all 23 of you, but those of you in Madrid could come one of these days.

XA: We could do that one of these days.

BC: Could you leave a message on twitter about “Sé Lo Que Hicisteis?”

XA: Well, the first thing I would have to do is follow you, and then we’ll see.

BC: If you do it, say that you loved doing this interview, and that I treated you well.

XA: Without a doubt.

BC: Thank you Xabi.

33 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2010 08:05

    Wait, what kiss between Gerrard and Xabi?

    • mickymacky permalink
      October 1, 2010 08:33

      the bromance that was xabi and stevie…
      and anfield was never the same when it ended 😦

  2. October 1, 2010 08:19

    This man is the very epitome of a class act. Very diplomat and great with his words.

    As usual, thank you so much!

  3. Debsen permalink
    October 1, 2010 09:46

    Thanks for the translation! He’s such a class act. I love his comments about ads such as the ones CR does. And also the World Cup comments, Puyi and the Queen, de Jong’s kick, etc. Will the World Cup moments be posted on con la roja?

  4. HermosaChica permalink
    October 1, 2010 10:02

    Nice to see Mr. Alonso looking as delicious as ever 😉 but..but I still love the ginger beard!
    Really, shaving cream? Okay, I’ll have one for every Iker shaver I already piled up in the basement.

    “Of course, both inside and out” *sigh* he’s amazing, purely amazing. Oh what was that Xabi? Nagore doesn’t mind sharing? ..Tickets for the next flight to Madrid, check!

    LOL at the little make out session with Gerrard! How could I have not seen that before?!
    Wow, I liked that..maybe a little too much 😀

  5. Michelle permalink
    October 1, 2010 10:35

    This was a wonderful post. *sighs happily* Thank you SO much for translating that video! Even knowing what they said, there were still bits where I couldn’t figure out what they were saying at all, so I would’ve missed a ton doing this one on my own. 🙂 You’re the best!

  6. Gillian permalink
    October 1, 2010 13:38

    Love this! But I miss Xabi’s beard.

  7. Miche permalink
    October 1, 2010 13:44

    For some reason, I keep laughing every time I think about why Iker and Xabi have both shaved. Did they shave because they were offered the opportunity to endorse these products? Or did they grow beards for that same reason?

    Thank you for the translations, unamadridista! 😀

  8. LaBlanca permalink
    October 1, 2010 13:46

    one year in Madrid and hes already the boss (next to Iker of course) I mean on the field. To say it with Josés (from La Sexta) words: the day when this RM misses out Xabi Alonso it will be a drama.

    Im so glad we have him at Madrid. Last summer I partied when we got him. Very important player and amazing person.

    • Miche permalink
      October 1, 2010 18:29

      Agreed! I’m so glad we have him!

  9. blitzen permalink
    October 1, 2010 14:18

    Perfect man is perfect. And I’m not even a Madrid fan. 🙂

    Oh, and you missed the bit in the interview where he says Puyi is “muy fuerte”!

  10. Aika permalink
    October 1, 2010 14:26

    HAHAHAHA!!! I admire the reporter’s boldness when she asked Xabi about THE KISS!!! You go, gurl! 😀

  11. October 1, 2010 14:56

    I agree, like a boss!

    man, he could say nothing wrong, he always impresses me more and more.

    Xabi, do tell me that there are more of you, so I could meet one of them to marry!

    (what is more, I hope there’s a guy somewhere that is a mix of Sexio and Xabi so I could marry that one!)

    • RealLisa permalink
      October 1, 2010 18:00

      I totally agree with you about that Xabi-Sexio mix!

    • Maisoun permalink
      October 1, 2010 21:58

      This is when human cloning would come in handy 😉

  12. Savannah permalink
    October 1, 2010 15:36

    hahahaha he kissed Gerrad?!

  13. October 1, 2010 15:52

    After a long crazy busy day at work, nothing like a whole lotta Xabi to make my day. 😉

  14. RealLisa permalink
    October 1, 2010 17:59

    I would very much love to kiss them both (Xabi and Gerrard).. And ahh Xabi, classy and hot as always!

  15. October 1, 2010 20:09

    One of my favourite Liverpool memories is that kiss. Why did you leave, Xabi? 😦

  16. Louise permalink
    October 1, 2010 20:09

    I really miss the ginger beard, but that dimple would make me forgive anything.

    I like his little shimmy/sway when talking about The Kiss. Obviously a fond memory (for many reasons).

  17. joanne permalink
    October 1, 2010 21:26

    Xabi is the kind of man I’d marry – and I’m not even into the idea of marriage for myself!

    Anyway, I really miss his ginger beard because it makes him look dignified and mature. Although Xabi can crawl through sewer and still come out looking hot.

    • HermosaChica permalink
      October 2, 2010 13:50

      “Xabi can crawl through sewer and still come out looking hot” haha, you’re absolutely right! He’d probably strike a few poses while he’s down there 😉

  18. Louise permalink
    October 1, 2010 22:23

    “Q: Are you happier in Madrid than you were in Liverpool?

    A: That was another time, I’m very happy here because you live well here and I love the city. In addition, I enjoy playing with Madrid.”

    He’s sooo diplomatic – but why couldn’t he have said he misses Liverpool 😦

  19. Wendy permalink
    October 2, 2010 08:09

    The perfect Saturday morning…Listening to Xabi’s favorite songs, reading the transcripts of the best interview ever!!

    Thank You Unamadrista for the translations..

    God, can’t stop smiling since I saw the videos…

  20. Jennifer permalink
    October 2, 2010 22:30

    Aaah, love Xabi! Such class. And anything that encourages the lads to shave regularly is a-okay with me!

    But Xabi, darling, you would look just as amazing as CRon in those sorts of pictures. Really. We’d love to see them. Less clothes is ALWAYS better.

  21. Malenka permalink
    October 3, 2010 10:37

    I think that’s the first time someone came up with the Xabi/Gerrard kiss in an interview. Now I want to hear Steven’s comment on that!

  22. MissTorres permalink
    October 13, 2010 17:09

    Awww that kiss! *_* sooo cute!
    I don’t really know why but I miss Xabi’s beard.
    Is there any footballer who is classier than him?! I guess no! 😀

Trackbacks

  1. more on Xavi’s absence & two awards « con la roja
  2. Xabi Alonso is a man of his word « following Real Madrid…
  3. Xabi Alonso at Shangay « following Real Madrid…
  4. in case you missed it – Scotland vs. Spain « con la roja
  5. Xabi for Gillette – the ad « following Real Madrid…

Leave a Reply

