Skip to content

in case you missed it – the ketchup bottle has exploded edition

October 4, 2010

In case you missed it – Real Madrid vs. Deportivo de la Coruña [2010-10-03].

José Mourinho had mused after the Ajax game that “one day a poor rival will pay for the times when we misfired.”  And so that “poor rival” was Depor, with Madrid scoring six goals against them last night, or ¡¡¡the same amount of goals that Madrid had scored in the previous five jornadas combined!!!  We are now in third place, BUT we are one point ahead of Barcelona (yay Mallorca!).  [The crowd cheered extremely loudly when the Barcelona-Mallorca empate was flashed on the scoreboard at the Bernabéu.]

What a great game… this does help a lot to banish memories of the centenariazo!

One. Loved the goal celebrations, especially how Ricardo Carvalho messed up Cristiano’s hair, and the little dance by Marcelo and Sergio!  Look at Sergio’s smile!

And both Cris and Pipita sent out kisses!

Those were some nice goals, no?  And great passes leading to the goals as well!

Two. More goal celebrations: Cris celebrated his two goals in the same way, with this gesture.  I have no idea what it means, but I’m going to say that it was directed at Kaká, since Cris seemed to be aiming it in the direction of one of the palcos where the injured players and/or their families sit.

And Mesut Özil’s goal was celebrated in these ways – with his teammates (I love how coach Xabi is giving Di María instructions even as he’s hugging his teammates) and individually.

Three. The rain kept coming down in Madrid last night!  The players were pretty much soaked after a couple of minutes on the pitch.  Iker had to wipe off his gloves on his shorts.  And the rain did no favors for Iker or for his hairline, either.

Poor Mesut looked like he had just hauled himself out of the swimming pool, and I’m sure Marcelo’s hair was a bit smaller before the game started.  I hope none of them get sick!

The only good thing about the rain was that various players got wet, and looked great while doing so.  I’m pretty sure Xabi was running in slow motion in the moment this photo was captured, as he flicked droplets of water off of his hair with slow motion head tosses.

Cristiano Ronaldo and rain go together, because it makes his shirt and shorts transparent and clingy.

Four. The game could be summed up nicely via Jordi Codina’s tweets.  “On the left: how grand is Iker!  They’re not shooting much at him, but when they do, he saves them all, as he always does!”  And on the right: “Buff! What a pass from Sergio!  Wonderful!”  Right back at you Jordi – ¡Grande Jordi! ¡Q bueno!

Five. Canterano Juan Carlos made his debut, wearing the number 26, with “Juan Carlos” above that – more here!

I loved how all of the older players took care of him!

Who else made his debut with Madrid?  Team doctor Luis Serratosa, who replaced the suspended Juan Carlos Hernández!  Dr. Serratosa will also be on the bench for the Málaga game.  He specializes in nutrition.

Six. Pipita made me laugh during the game, once when he looked like Road Runner, and another time when he was attempting to show the ref something.  A new dance move, perhaps?  He complained quite a lot last night.

Seven. And we can’t have a game post without mentioning Sergio, no?  He makes even the most mundane moments appealing.  It may look like it here, but no, he didn’t spend the entire game with his arms over his head.

Eight. My favorite shots of some of the players:

– Marcelo, looking like a baby throwing a tantrum.  Someone give him his own way!

– Pepe.  No explanation needed, ¿verdad?

– the two extremes of Cristiano Ronaldo – intense concentration and intense frustration.

Nine. The Xabi Alonso pose section.™

I think he’s been working on his posing, because it appears that his repertoire of poses has expanded.

All teasing aside, Xabi had an excellent game.

Ten. The Mou corner:

during the postgame press conference, when asked about the doubters, Mou replied, “they motivate me and make me laugh” and “I have two Champions Leagues and six championships – is that sufficient to be able to work here?”

– the Bernabéu chanted, “que bote Mourinho” at various points during the game, as well as his name.  That is very unusual and so it is high praise indeed for José Mourinho.

– there is no doubt that Xabi is the father on the field, as Mou had said before.  And this moment with the water bottle made me laugh so much – I loved Aitor Karanka’s reaction!  I’m sure Mou is already regretting that it was caught on camera.

– I never noticed that The Notebook has a diagram of the field on one side, and I loved that Mou covered his mouth when speaking, so that the lip readers on staff at various TV channels wouldn’t be able to discern what he was whispering about.

– the Real Madrid pin was a nice touch, and of course matches perfectly with the suit, the shirt and the hair.

Eleven. It was a perfect weekend for Real Madrid, the club.  EVERY SINGLE Madrid team that played an official game this weekend won.  That would be nine football teams, from the first team to the baby team, and seven basketball teams.  The Cadete B team even managed to do better than Cris, Pipa and co. as they beat Avance 10-0!

Special mention for Castilla, as the boys beat Cerro Reyes 3-0, with great goals from Sarabia, Mandi and a golazo from Álex Fernández – watch it here.

Twelve. Looking ahead: today is a rest day, which Iker and Álvaro spent being honored.  Training resumes tomorrow with the absence of the 16 players on international duty this week and next.

51 Comments leave one →
  1. Tex permalink
    October 4, 2010 15:20

    Can I just say: the number font still makes me cringe, but whoever designed the “it gets wet, it gets sheer” uniform is a GENIUS.

    • October 4, 2010 16:13

      I second this. Wet t-shirts which are white. *sighs* You just can’t beat that combo!

  2. October 4, 2010 15:24

    I am of course gonna comment another great blog entry. I am in love! I saw the match Una, but I was waiting to see what you will write and I am not dissapointed! Thanks!

    Man, I don;t know what to comment, so I will only choose two things (obligatory sections):

    – Xabi rocks. Like a boss. Is it just me or is it becoming more visible with every game? I sensed that since the photo from LA (I think) with him and Mou sitting together like two bosses and the father-comment of Jose only suggested it more. I think, seeing the games, that Xabi is TheCHosenOne by TheSpecialOne to be the director of the field. and I am loving it.

    -Sergio -no words to describe the hotness. I want to run on the field with him, pass the ball to him, catch the ball he throws to me and take care of his hair. And if he danced for me a little I would not complain. The boy is an absolute cutie pie.

    • HermosaChica permalink
      October 5, 2010 07:51

      I agree. Xabi’s become much more prominent as the season persists, I’m so proud of him!
      “If he danced for me a little” whoa did you just tap into my mental wish list? 😀

  3. Alisha C. D. permalink
    October 4, 2010 15:26

    Mesut Özil celebrated his goal by thanking to God.. OMG, I love him sooooo much.. ❤

  4. October 4, 2010 15:31

    Yay for all our teams! I hope more weeks are as good as this one for the club.
    I laughed a lot too at the Mourinho’s water bottle moment. Its always nice to watch a game when I could hear the crowd and feel that there is a really good atmosphere in the stands.

    I love Codina, I saw his tweet during the game and it made me happy 🙂

  5. Nurul permalink
    October 4, 2010 15:50

    Aww, Mesut was praying! Adorable. As is the Sergio & Marcelo’s err, dance.
    Damn, I could’ve watched the game considering how hard it was for me to fall asleep! Of course they -had- to score 6 goals when I’m not watching…

    • Lulja permalink
      October 5, 2010 15:37

      Same here, I couldn’t watch either because I had to study for an exam. wth :/
      It seemed to be more than gorgeous. Thank God AlJazeera Sports repeat all La Liga matches!

  6. Maisoun permalink
    October 4, 2010 15:54

    I loved this goal fest of a game, I mean Cristiano’s first goal in the first 4 min! I knew it was going to be good 😉 And the rain coming down? Just an added bonus (thank God for white jerseys) haha maybe Sergio and Marcelo did their little rain dance before the game too to make it come down extra hard as a little treat for us;)

    —and Ozil’s little prayer=adorable!

  7. October 4, 2010 16:17

    Hooray for Una!! I’ve been obsessively waiting for this post. I love the way you put things! 🙂

    Last night’s match was brilliant. It finished around 3AM my time, and today was a work day, but who cares?!! The weather sucked, but the crowd was brilliant and so were the players and the game.

    Now lets hope that they don’t loose the momentum during the week off!

  8. Aika permalink
    October 4, 2010 16:20

    I’m still very emotional about this!!! They were just … no words… no words… just…
    “!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

  9. lola permalink
    October 4, 2010 16:22

    Greatly enjoyable game and blog entry. After the game, I hoped most of the moments you posted would be in your entry, esp. Cristiano’s and Mesut’s goal celebrations and the Marcelo-moments 🙂

    LOL at Mou’s bottle-moment…and the non-expression on Karanka’s face.

    Özil never appeared as small as in the group-hug, he nearly disappears between his teammates. Really happy that he scored!

  10. October 4, 2010 16:44

    awww i hope to see Mesut score more goals in the future. he’s adorable!

  11. Whiskey permalink
    October 4, 2010 16:54

    Can’t add much to the comments here – another great summary of a terrific result. And the pitch looks much better now!

    Agree Una Iker definitely has some “thinning” going on up top there – maybe Gillette makes a hair growth treatment too….. In the post match interviews Sergio was wearing some sort of shirt/sweater vest combo – seems to be his thing lately (pipita looked great in a pink t-shirt). But I am not encouraged by the thought of the team doctor on the bench being the nutritionist. Lets hope the worst injury anyone gets is a hunger pang 🙂

  12. Margie permalink
    October 4, 2010 17:04

    I’m so happy for this game! 😀 ❤
    Ozil's prayer is adorable!

    “que bote Mourinho” — what does this mean? is it one of those phrases that is basically impossible to translate?

  13. Sarah permalink
    October 4, 2010 17:13

    Hey Una!
    Are you originally from Spain? Just wonderinggg

  14. nicole permalink
    October 4, 2010 17:28

    what is the meaning of centenariazo..you had mentioned this in the last post as well. please explain

    • October 5, 2010 00:01

      It refers to when Deportivo beat Real Madrid in the Copa del Rey final at the Bernabéu on the day of Madrid’s centennial, March 6, 2002.

  15. Sarah permalink
    October 4, 2010 17:37

    All I could think while watching the game was about this blog and the ketchup bottle analogy!!! Beautiful boys and beautiful game!

  16. luca00 permalink
    October 4, 2010 18:03

    I’m so glad you got the Pipita dance…I was hoping to re-live that.

    I declared yesterday Mourinho Day (inspired by the shoes and my “WWJD?” t-shirt purchase that has a pic of of Mou on it). I’m happy that there was finally reason to celebrate!

  17. amy permalink
    October 4, 2010 18:26

    huge fan of the xabi pose section =)

  18. KDJ permalink
    October 4, 2010 18:30

    I looooooove Ozil! He’s such an adorable guy. He prays all the time at every match, one of the reason why I love him so much.

  19. Lexi Jessica permalink
    October 4, 2010 18:36

    you said that you think Ronaldo’s goal celebration could have been aimed at Kaka but, don’t babies make that gesture? Could it have been for his son do you think?

  20. mickymacky permalink
    October 4, 2010 19:09

    am not a die-hard fan of any football club (coz the lack of broadcast in my country makes it hard for me to follow religiously), but i’m still quite surprised at how elated i was with this goalfest from los blancos… congrats to them and hope this massive confidence boost sees them through having one of their best seasons yet!

    btw, am loving the tantalizing *ahem* bulge-slash-tent on xabi (or am i just deluding myself into seeing something??) … seriously — there’s a whole lotta stuff going on with just that one picture of a man…soaking wet…with hands on hips…and whose hair–dammit!–still looks great under the rain.

    and kudos to the sergio for sticking to convention and wearing white briefs. see-thru-when-wet jersey aside, i was half-expecting that he’d opt to wear maybe pastel ones or something that has some discreet patterns on it. just because he can.

    • HermosaChica permalink
      October 5, 2010 07:57

      Yup, I’ve pretty much imagined Sergio in every single type of underwear possible. In future, patterns would be nice 😉

  21. faith permalink
    October 4, 2010 20:56

    Is it a sign of addiction that when I watch the match, I think, Ooohhh wonder what Una will have to say about this.

    I think Cris’ goal celebration is for CR Jr. – like a cute baby wave.

    I love Papa Xabi!!! Any idea what he said to DiMaria and Mou? The midfield manager!!!

    The 4th goal was great – loved the team work!

    Great work as usual Una! Thanks.

  22. Jenny permalink
    October 4, 2010 21:27

    A dose of Sergio is just what I needed after a very boring day at uni, he never fails to make me smile.

    I’ve been reading the posts for a while but it’s my first comment I always love the posts you’re so witty.

  23. Jennifer permalink
    October 4, 2010 22:23

    The rain-soaked kits are some sort of gift from the gods, I am positive. (The gods being Sergio and Cris’s abs, of course.)

    The dancing and the vogue-ing are sheerly brilliant – hands-on-hips is definitely a new favourite!

    And Cris’s goal celebration is a little strange – “Kaká” is not the first thing that comes to mind when I see that gesture!

    But most of all – *so* glad we finally got the ketchup out of the bottle! 😀

    • HermosaChica permalink
      October 5, 2010 07:54

      Yeah I thought he was pretending to squeeze someone’s butt at first. But then I took my mind out of the gutter and remembered baby CRon hehe.

  24. cristina permalink
    October 4, 2010 22:46

    Actually it was Pipita who started the dance!

    Here’s the video. 0:31 So cute!

    I really really hope the team will keep playing like this. It was a beautiful match.

  25. Rebekah permalink
    October 5, 2010 01:13

    Everything about this match was perfect!! I really hope this is a sign of things to come. Now I wish there weren’t any Euro qualifiers this week, because now all I want to do is see Madrid play again!

  26. Gillian permalink
    October 5, 2010 03:44

    This game was so much joy for me. LOVED it. And this post and these awesome pics help me relive it. Mesut just keeps winning my heart over & over again. Also, love Cris’ look of concentration. I’m in love with this whole team.

  27. lugifer permalink
    October 5, 2010 05:38

    una,
    have a question for you. is the spanish league or any european league doing anything re: breast cancer awareness month?

    wanted to know because here in the u.s. the national football league has players and team staff wearing pink accessories during the game. big, hulking 300 pd men wearing hot pink stuff is just really something to behold. wondering if there’s something like this in europe. perhaps it’s just an american thing.

    thanks.

  28. michelle permalink
    October 5, 2010 05:46

    una, my dearest, i was wondering if you’ve heard anything about sergio and his supposed contract extension/negotiation? i keep hearing different things and it’s frankly starting to get me worried, and i was wondering what if anything is being said in spain.

    <3<3

  29. HermosaChica permalink
    October 5, 2010 07:43

    I’ve waited too darn long to get a chance to comment on this great post. I’m sure I’m not the only one who does this, but when something amusing happens during matches, I always predict whether or not it will be mentioned in the “in case you missed it” post :D.

    My initial reaction to the pouring rain was “oh no! I hope they don’t slip and get hurt!” But then I remembered how sheer their shirts will become after a few moments on the pitch 😉

    Aww I don’t even remember seeing Iker that much. Thankfully there weren’t many shots of Iker throughout the night, which is both good and bad.

    A sizable chunk of my personal highlights during RM/La Roja games is Sergio throwing the ball in 😀 I just wanna swoop in and hug him when his arms go up.

    Whether Marcelo was as hurt as he looked is uncertain. But that little cry towards the heavens broke my heart a little..

    LOL Pepe! Perhaps that’s an angle we never intended on seeking..but still a treat 😉

    Xabi’s regular pose section is just delicious!

    And finally, well done boys! You’ve made all of us proud and very much entertained.

    • Jennifer permalink
      October 5, 2010 12:40

      Sergio throwing the ball in is basically what I live for. Close ups of that face, and that hair, and that BODY…

      Ahem.

    • October 5, 2010 13:14

      “I just wanna swoop in and hug him when his arms go up.”

      awww, we do think alike, again! LOL

      I love the blog and I love your comments, guys!

      • HermosaChica permalink
        October 5, 2010 15:17

        Yeah, I look forward to reading the comments as well as (but obviously not as much as) the lovely blog itself. If it weren’t for Una’s great approach to writing these posts, we wouldn’t have much to comment on. She basically catapults our sophisticated fangirl comments 🙂

  30. Stacy permalink
    October 5, 2010 16:46

    Cristiano’s celebration looks like a little baby moving his hands while trying to grab something, no?
    That’s the way I see it.

    Hopefully we can keep this up!
    I’m so proud!

  31. Mel permalink
    October 5, 2010 19:26

    With all that rain, I still wonder how Marcelo’s hair staid so puffy and full. Everyone else’s does are flat, but not Marcelo’s ‘fro.

    He must use something water resistant!

  32. Molly permalink
    October 6, 2010 03:10

    Was so excited that this game was broadcast in the US on a normal channel so I was able to watch!

    Of course I ended up watching the entire match with an eye to what was going to make your “In Case You Missed It” post. 🙂

    J’adore your blogs…keep up the fabulous work!

  33. rix permalink
    October 7, 2010 16:48

    Thank you for the awesome review! Good to know Xabi’s having an important presence! And Sergio looks glorious in the rain!

Trackbacks

  1. Torres, Miguel Torres « following Real Madrid…
  2. they get paid for this? « following Real Madrid…
  3. canteranos at Punto Pelota « following Real Madrid…

Leave a Reply

