Skip to content

meet Juan Carlos Pérez

October 4, 2010

¡Enhorabuena!

Juan Carlos Pérez made his official Real Madrid first team debut yesterday against Deportivo, becoming the first canterano to debut at the hands of José Mourinho.  He came in at the 78 minute mark for Ángel di María in this, his third call-up with the first team.

After the game, he reflected on his debut.  Juan Carlos said that Mourinho had asked him if he was scared before sending him to warm up (the answer was “no”), and that Marcelo and Cristiano, who were near him when he came in, told him not to be afraid, and to just do what he knows how to do.  On the moment when he stepped onto the Bernabéu field, Juan Carlos said, “I got emotional seeing how involved in the game the people were, and how much they were cheering on the team.”

He added, “my life’s dream has come true.  When I was small, I told my father that I would play here.  I’m sure that my father is happy now… I feel very happy right now, I did what I knew how to do and it worked out well for me.”

Juan Carlos also revealed that after the game, Iker had told him that he had done well and had helped the team.  What a grand captain Iker is!

As for the future, Juan Carlos declared, “Mourinho can continue counting on me if he wants to, and if not, I’ll go back to my team, which is Castilla.”

Keep reading for more from Juan Carlos, including a very cute interview with “El Larguero” after the game!

First, some biographical notes on Juan Carlos: his nickname is “El Galgo de Boadilla” (the hound of Boadilla, with Boadilla del Monte being his hometown), his preferred jersey number is 7, and he spent 11 years with Madrid Oeste before signing with Madrid’s Juvenil team four years ago.  Last season, he was promoted to Castilla, and was the team’s pichichi at the end of the season with 11 goals in 29 games.

In a short call-in with radio program “El Larguero” after the game, Juan Carlos revealed the following:

– he’s 20 years old, and lives in the “normal” section of Boadilla del Monte, not the “rich” section [where Iker presumably lives].

– his father works for BBVA (a Spanish bank) in information technology and his mother is an activities coordinator at a school.  [His father is also his agent.]

– he’s not going to school anymore, but would like to study physical education.

– Mou speaks English, Portuguese, Spanish and “Brazilian.”

– when (presenter) José Ramón de la Morena described Mourinho as “well dressed, well coiffed,” Juan Carlos’s response was “always, always” and “he smells very nice” [Juan Carlos has just become my second favorite canterano for saying that!].

– on Saturday, he was eating with his family when he got a call from his Castilla coach telling him that Mou was counting on him for the Depor game, and so he went to train with the team in the Bernabéu, which was “impressive.”

– in the locker room before and after the practice session, his seat was the fire extinguisher, since there was nothing else available [and I guess there is no locker for the number “26”].

– and at the team dinner on Saturday (at the big table for everyone), he sat between Khedira and Carvalho: “Khedira didn’t speak a lot, I think he was angry about something, but Carvalho joked around.”

his game shirt from Sunday will be for his grandmother, who lives in the La Latina neighborhood of Madrid.

I really hope Juan Carlos remains this unaffected and natural!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2010 11:25

    LOL! I love him already!
    I am glad that Iker, Marcelo and Cris were nice to him.
    Now I don’t know where to start’ Brazilian’ …..hahaha and we now know that TSO smells nice. Poor guy he got the seat near the fire extinguisher. Oh and Khedira seems to always have an angry thing about him but I think its just his face.
    I am happy for him, I hope he gets more chances and have a successful career.

  2. Aika permalink
    October 4, 2010 11:45

    Canales and Perez!!! My eyes on you two!!!

  3. jemima permalink
    October 4, 2010 13:02

    Una, will you discuss Cris’ goal celebration last night? What does it suppose to mean? Any how it made me ROFLMAO.

  4. luca00 permalink
    October 4, 2010 14:13

    I love him.

    Also, NOT AT ALL surprised that Mou would make the distinction between Portuguese and “Brazilian”…I’d love to know what he thinks of Cristiano’s Madeira accent…

  5. andrea permalink
    October 4, 2010 15:39

    canteranos playing with the first team makes my heart explode
    i hope we see many more!

  6. michelle permalink
    October 4, 2010 16:25

    what a sweet kid! i wonder what khedira was angry about. and i love that his grandmother lives in la latina<3

    • Margie permalink
      October 4, 2010 21:09

      Aw, I hope he gets to play more games!!

      Juan Carlos probably thought Khedira was angry because he was so quiet, but maybe Khedira was just nervous about speaking Spanish, not actually angry! Or maybe Khedira just has a face that looks a bit “angry” normally? lol
      It’s kinda funny Juan Carlos said that 😛

  7. lola permalink
    October 4, 2010 16:27

    LOL at the interview, adorable answers, I like him already. Not at all surprised Mou smells nice 😉

  8. Aika permalink
    October 4, 2010 16:52

    HAHA! Khedira is angry about what???
    Jezzz. Now I will forever wonder how Mou smells like.

  9. Jennifer permalink
    October 4, 2010 22:46

    Aww he’s adorable! Love his comments about Mou, too – he even *looks* like he smells nice (making him a great match for the most metrosexual team in La Liga).

    More canteranos, please, Mou! 🙂

  10. HermosaChica permalink
    October 5, 2010 07:09

    Haha I love eager canteranos that are borderline fan girls 😆 “he smells very nice” thanks for that bonus, Juan! And I’m not even gonna discuss “Brazilian” *facepalm*..

    Lol! Poor guy had to sit next to the fire extinguisher?!

    Naah I don’t think Sami was mad. He probably just has a grumpy neutral face. Apparently I have a “sad” neutral face, so people ask me what’s wrong all the time. I feel for you Sami 😛

  11. October 8, 2010 22:12

    eehehehehehe this is kinda cute!
    I think that by ‘brazilian’ he meant ‘brazilian portuguese’. 😛
    brazilian portuguese and portuguese portuguese are 95% similar, the only difference is the accent and a few words/slangs. 😛

  12. amouria permalink
    December 14, 2010 18:59

    “Mou smells very nice”, this is lovely observation. Only clean people are able to bring it up. Sorry to be so arrogant, but one thing that I always admire in men is their care about their hygiene and smell, so, I am not surprised with Mou having a nice smell
    Una, great that you respond to our requests. This is really generous. Remember, days ago I asked you for more and more news about Mou, and here you are, feeding us with all what you found. You are an angel, my dear. thanks a lot.

Trackbacks

  1. in case you missed it – the ketchup bottle has exploded edition « following Real Madrid…
  2. Juan Carlos looks back at his debut « following Real Madrid…
  3. canteranos at Punto Pelota « following Real Madrid…
  4. all set for Olympique Lyonnais! « following Real Madrid…
  5. in case you missed it – the 74/9/5 edition « following Real Madrid…
  6. all set for Barcelona / the preview post « following Real Madrid…

Leave a Reply

