Skip to content

Madrid vs. Racing – pregame notes

October 23, 2010

The big news going into tonight’s game is that Sergio Ramos didn’t make it into the convocatoria, meaning that he’s still not completely recovered.  Meanwhile, his namesake Sergio Canales is on the list, after being dropped for the last game.

However, Mou, in the press conference, said he wouldn’t give Canales minutes just because he’s playing against his former team.  He did praise Sergio C. though: “he has a lot of talent, a bright future in Madrid.  A great signing.  No matter how much he plays, he won’t be going anywhere in January.  He’ll grow into a great player for Madrid.”  Xabi was also on the receiving end of some compliments: “a very great player.  He plays a lot, thinks a lot, works a lot, talks a lot with his coach.  Top.”  [Too bad Mou didn’t use the adjective “boss,” no?] And of Marcelo, Mou was also very flattering: “I have no problems in admitting that I wanted another leftback, but I’m happy that we didn’t buy another because, in my opinion, we have the best.”  He also said that the club should renew Pepe’s contract.

And it wouldn’t be a Mou press conference without a touch of sarcasm: in response to Johan Cruyff’s statement that Mourinho would never coach his team because he believes a coach should do a lot of other things in addition to making the team play well, such as representing the club, the institution and the members, Mou responded:

You see my eyes?  I haven’t been able to sleep all week.

¡Grande Mourinho!

Meanwhile, Iker, in a conversation with AS, said that Mou is a bit like a father to the players: “he’s very affectionate with them.  He tries to take care of them and treats them all the same, from those who play the least to those who play the most.  No one can complain about him.  Now I understand why he’s defended wherever he goes.”

Four of the 33 miners that were trapped for 69 days will be at the Bernabéu tonight, sitting in the palco de honor, after touring the stadium yesterday with Jorge Valdano and Emilio Butragueño.  Before the game, they will attend a celebration in the city for the bicentennial of Chile.

On the Racing side, we won’t get to see former canterano and the guapetón Adrián, who has an injury to his left leg.

And former madridista Pedro Munitis hopes to exchange shirts with Iker after the game: “I would like to get Iker’s shirt.  I’ve never exchanged my shirt with a goalkeeper… Iker is the only player that is still at Madrid from the time I was there [how about Aitor Karanka?].  Last year, I got Cristiano’s shirt.”  Pedro’s six-year-old son Pedro Jr. will also be at the game, his first at the Bernabéu.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    October 23, 2010 13:48

    everybody wants Iker´s shirt :)… didn´t Miguel changed his shirt with Iker last season?

  2. Danielle permalink
    October 23, 2010 15:16

    “You see my eyes? I haven’t been able to sleep all week.”

    LOVE LOVE LOVE that quote!! I’ve got to use that one lmao

  3. Cindy permalink
    October 23, 2010 17:14

    I love Mourinho.

  4. October 23, 2010 18:50

    OOoo snap! You go Mou. 🙂

  5. Jennifer permalink
    October 23, 2010 18:52

    I LOVE that quote. Love it. Now I’ll just hope for an occasion when I can use it…

    Hope Sergio Sr. is better soon, this injury is really dragging on!

    I think we’d all like it if Pedro got Iker’s shirt… AND undershirt, please!

  6. Maisoun permalink
    October 23, 2010 19:26

    All smartasses have a special place in my heart, I love Mou!!!

  7. Barbara permalink
    October 24, 2010 01:13

    I hope Sergio Ramos gets well soon! Go Mou!!!

  8. Margie permalink
    October 24, 2010 04:54

    “You see my eyes? I haven’t been able to sleep all week.” XD ❤
    (Hm, he did actually look quite tired…)

Trackbacks

  1. in case you missed it – the fiesta edition « following Real Madrid…

Leave a Reply

