Skip to content

news briefs

November 3, 2010

One. Knowing Mou, this was all part of the plan.  On the flight to Milan yesterday, Karim Benzema was seen interacting and joking around with his teammates more than usual, because his habitual traveling partner Lass was not called up for the game and thus not part of the expedition.  Usually, Benz and Lass sit together, but each with their huge headphones on, listening to music.  On this flight, Karim sat with Mahamadou Diarrá, one of the more gregarious members of the team, and was seen laughing with him, as well as Iker Casillas and Sergio Ramos.

Two. Look out for Zizou at the game today, where he’ll be sitting in one of the palcos rather than on the bench, because he’s still acting as an adviser to FP, in addition to his new role as the link between the team and the club.

Three. The team will get their Audi vehicles for this season on Friday!  Apparently, the club had been negotiating with Mercedes Benz to substitute Audi, but Mercedes offered a lot less money, so they stuck with Audi!  [Update: it’s been postponed until Monday.]

Four. Also on Friday, Iker will attend the Madrid football awards at the Hotel La Princesa in Alcorcón.  The World Cup will be on display, and Vicente del Bosque will receive the gold and diamond insignia of the football federation.

Five. Rubén de la Red has signed a new contract with Madrid, but this time as an employee rather than a player.  The hope is that Rubén will end up training one of the youth teams, probably starting next season.  For the rest of this season, Rubén will hang around Mou and Castilla coach Alejandro Menéndez to see how they work.  He’s already taken courses in coaching and sports direction.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2010 10:55

    I’m seriously excited about tonight’s game!! *crosses her fingers for luck*

  2. Cindy permalink
    November 3, 2010 11:33

    Me too. Guys I really want 3 points. Thats all I’m asking for.

  3. Whiskey permalink
    November 3, 2010 13:16

    I have to PVR the match as I will be working (boo hiss) but am really hoping for a win at the San Siro! Very happy news about Ruben as well

  4. Nurul permalink
    November 3, 2010 13:39

    So glad about Ruben. And it’s so nice that Benzema’s more… outgoing, now! I think it’ll work wonders.

  5. HermosaChica permalink
    November 3, 2010 14:04

    I’m really excited for tonight. The blue nail polish has already been lacquered on, and I’ve scheduled in a long siesta so I don’t fall face first into a giant bowl of popcorn four minutes into the first half. Yes, I think I’m good to go 🙂 Good luck, boys!

  6. November 3, 2010 15:12

    Hello,this is a big fan of your blog.Would you like to tell me that @SCanales16 is the person himself in real life? Iwould appreciate that!

    • KDJ permalink
      November 5, 2010 11:51

      I always turn to Arbeloa to know if any RM twitter is the real one. I don’t know if it’s the real Canales, but since Arbeloa hasn’t confirm it, I guess it’s not real.

  7. November 3, 2010 16:13

    I won;t be able to watch it! Knowing my luck, it’s gonna be a fantastic match, with lots of RM’s goals (maybe even one of Sergio?) – not that it’s bad, I seriously wish them a great match, but why oh why cannot the real world stop when the matches are on! ;-))

  8. sidney permalink
    November 3, 2010 17:34

    Cant wait for tonight match either.But I will be in class, I will make sure to check the results after Im done but this match will not be easy:(. All we ask for is 3 points guys.I really hope Sergio and Pepe defend well today because that was not the case last time.

  9. JulieFromParis permalink
    November 3, 2010 18:41

    Que buenas son las noches de CL = junk food in front of the TV set with family and friends, L-O-V-E it. Hala Madrid!!!

  10. November 3, 2010 23:40

    oh my, oh my! I ran home to catch the last -exactly – 7 minutes of the match and how awesome was that! Out of all the players, Benzema and Pedro Leon creating the equalising goal!!!! Jose Mourinho’s reaction was EPIC EPIC!

    I have no idea how the whole match looked like, as I said, I only saw 7 minutes (I guess 3 of them were when one of the ITalian players would lie on the field;-), but it must give totally some confidence when you know that you and your teammates can score a goal in the last two minutes, in the match, and not in a little stadium, but at San Siro.

    I cannot now wait to watch the game as a whole and to see what Una will have to say about it!

  11. Tash permalink
    November 4, 2010 01:05

    wait…do the players get a new car every season?

  12. November 4, 2010 01:17

    I was at the stadium and it was incredibile!!!!!!!!!
    And yes Zizou was there!!! 😀

  13. November 4, 2010 01:47

    I’m so happy that Ruben is staying on with the club!

  14. November 4, 2010 05:55

    Una,off topic i know,but i really want to know do we have chants,songs,or anything like that?

    • November 4, 2010 08:10

      Yes, we do. What do you want to know?

      • November 4, 2010 09:12

        I want to know our Chants first and maybe official song (i don’t know something like that). Maybe you could provide me one or two youtube link so i could hear how it’s like? Thanks..

        • November 4, 2010 14:13

          Well, to start you off, there are three hymns, the traditional one, the traditional one remixed by José Mercé and the centennial hymn interpreted by Plácido Domingo.

          As for chants, in the seventh minute of each (home) game, the Ultras Sur chant, “illa, illa, illa, Juanito maravilla” in honor of former player Juanito, who wore number 7 and who died in a car accident in 1992.

  15. November 4, 2010 06:35

    they get a new car every season?

    • November 4, 2010 14:49

      as much as I adore the players and wish them well, I totally don;t get the “new car a year from the sponsor” thing, no matter what team we are talking about. maybe I am too pragmatic, but I see no reason to change a car every year, especially when it comes to a good quality cars like Audi! I know the players have kinda no choice, it’s not their decision to get the car, but I think it would be nice if someone once said that they do not accept it and give it back or to some charity maybe. I don’t know if that happens or can happen (maybe they have it written in the contracts that they cannot give the cars back?). Anyway, with all my love for football, some money things connected with that sport are just impossible to understand for me….

Leave a Reply

