Skip to content

he’s going to be a great coach

November 4, 2010
tags:

Rubén de la Red announced today that he has decided to retire from professional football, due to his heart problems.  During a press conference at Valdebebas this morning with Jorge Valdano, the canterano said, “today I announce my retirement, due to a problem with my heart, but my heart still beats for el madridismo.”

Two years ago, Rubén fainted in a Copa del Rey game against Irún, and hasn’t played since then.  Doctors still aren’t sure exactly what is wrong with him, but he’s going to continue receiving treatment and doing tests.  Rubén will now move on to become an employee of Real Madrid, and the intention is for him to end up coaching one of the teams in the cantera, probably starting next season.

He continued, “I’m excited and anxious to start this new stage with the club.  I always dreamed of being a footballer and triumphing here, at the greatest club in the world, which has seen me grow up from the benjamines level.  Now, I want to do it as a coach.”  With regards to José Mourinho, he said, “from the first day he was aware of the situation.  He spoke frankly to me, he told me that if I could play, he would count one me, and if not, he would be happy for me to form part of his staff.”

Meanwhile, Valdano said, “today is a day of change in the life of Rubén de la Red; he had the intention of saying goodbye.  He’s decided that his career as a footballer has ended, and from now on he’ll be integrated with the coaching staff.”  He also said that the sides have terminated Rubén’s previous contract as a player (and that Madrid was as generous as they could possibly be) and that they have signed a new one in accordance with Rubén’s new status.

Rubén got a bit emotional during the press conference (especially at the moment when he revealed his decision, and when he thanked his wife Tania and his two children) which just proves how much love he has for this game, and for this club.  ¡Mucha suerte Rubén!

Meanwhile, Salamanca player Miguel García, who fainted in a similar incident several weeks ago, also announced his retirement from football yesterday.  Mucha suerte to Miguel as well!

Watch a video here.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Whiskey permalink
    November 4, 2010 13:17

    This a a very sad day, but there is a silver lining – perhaps several as he is still with us [others have not been so lucky as we know] and will still be involved with the club. It seems that the press conf was very emotional. And what a lovely comment about his heart still beating for Madrid.

  2. Nurul permalink
    November 4, 2010 14:02

    Aw omg that picture. ;[
    So, so glad that he’s staying though (even though I sorta expected him to), he’s going to be so fantastic.

  3. November 4, 2010 14:45

    Oh! As far as I am really sad for him, it is lovely that he will stay in the club, and especially – that he could teach younger players. I am sure he will be a great coach, with lots of love for the game to transfer to the players. Good luck Ruben!!!

  4. Paul Galactico permalink
    November 4, 2010 19:11

    My favorite player from 2008. I even have his kit. Probably the only one in the United States.
    Always wanted him to come back. I hate the fact that heart ailments can be so mysterious!

    But I guess that’s life.

    Con fuerza Ruben!

    Sad – but Whiskey is right – at least he can still a productive and fruitful life! I know he has a child I think…there are many more important aspects to life than a game of soccer.

  5. Miche permalink
    November 4, 2010 20:44

    Oh, seeing the pictures from this press conference still broke my heart a little, even though I know the most important thing is that he is still with us, and I am very grateful for it.

    It’s wonderful news that he will continue to be involved at Real Madrid. I wish him nothing but the best. I can’t wait to see him coaching our teams!

  6. Woooot! permalink
    November 4, 2010 22:32

    omg that interview chocked me right up. happy he’s coaching though 🙂 love him so much.

  7. andy permalink
    November 4, 2010 22:35

    😦 I miss him… hope he’ll be happy as a couch.

  8. Jennifer permalink
    November 5, 2010 00:23

    Aw, Rubén! I’m so glad he’s staying with us, albeit in a new capacity. I felt SO bad when he had his career crushed in an instant, so hopefully he finds coaching even more fulfilling. 🙂

  9. Joe permalink
    November 5, 2010 00:48

    So touching!! Poor Ruben!! Hope he will succeed with Real Madrid in the future!!

  10. Syafiq permalink
    November 5, 2010 02:57

    good luck, ruben. it’s nice to know he managed to return and play for us for a while as a senior squad member(i think he made a copa del rey debut in 03-04).

    everytime i see him though, reminds me of jake gylenhaall in prince of persia.

  11. LaBlanca permalink
    November 5, 2010 09:01

    gosh I got shivers watching the presser. that guy is so full of devotion.

    sad for him he cant play again, but if theres a risk, health comes first. I felt terribly reminded in him when Miguel Garcia of Salamanca fell over 2 weeks ago. Thank God he survived like Ruben. Im glad hes still among us even though it hurts not to see the development of such a great talent of spanish football playing anymore. Great hes staying with the club.

    Hala Ruben! All the best for his new career as a coach!

  12. emily permalink
    November 6, 2010 05:51

    Good to see that the organization is willing to give him a place of prominence. It’s a win for everybody. It certainly makes for good headlines for the team. Have you ever noticed that he looks a little like John Travolta’s character from Pulp Fiction – Vincent Vega?

  13. November 10, 2010 19:37

    I feel terribly sorry for Ruben. So heartbreaking to see a player with such talent and so much love for the game not being able to play. I hope his new career as a coach fulfils him.

    And Real Madrid also deserve praise for keeping him connected to the game he loves so much.

Trackbacks

  1. in case you missed it – the tie that feels like a win edition « following Real Madrid…
  2. a bit of reading before tonight’s game « following Real Madrid…
  3. more ICYMI moments & other news « following Real Madrid…

Leave a Reply

