Skip to content

Xabi Alonso at FHM Bionic

November 8, 2010
tags:

I hope you’re not sick of seeing Xabi Alonso’s (gorgeous) face in magazines yet, because he’s in yet another one!

Xabi is featured in the fall-winter edition of FHM’s Bionic supplement, under the tagline “your personal trainer.”  Yes, please.

Some of the things in the accompanying interview we already know, but I don’t care.  I’ll just look at the pictures.

The interview

Q:  What are you values as a professional athlete?

A:  I like to be honest and respectful of others, and I think how you behave on the field is very important.

Q:  So, you don’t believe that the end justifies the means?

A:  No.  The end is to win, and the means are to be honest.

Q:  Your career has been brilliant…

A:  Yes, I’m satisfied, but I’m still ambitious.

Q:  Your best game?

A:  I have two: the final of the World Cup this year, and the final of the Champions League in 2005 with Liverpool.

Q:  And the worst?

A:  There have been a lot of deceptions, but I remember especially the 2006 World Cup, when France eliminated us.

Q:  Which athlete do you admire?

A:  Michael Jordan.

Q:  Can we talk about coaches?

A:  Yes, without any problems.

Q:  The best?

A:  Vicente del Bosque, because he’s a great coach and a great person.

Q:  Very different from Luis Aragonés?

A:  Aragonés was more impulsive.

Q:  And José Mourinho?

A:  He has a very elaborate way of working, and he knows what he has to do in each moment.

Q:  And how was Benítez?

A:  He focused more on technical aspects than psychological or personal.

Q:  And how do you prepare for a game?

A:  I try to anticipate and visualize what could happen.  And later, I always get a bit nervous before, but I think that’s necessary.

Q:  What is your strong point on this team?

A:  I think it’s my ability to analyze and organize… I like to be organized both on and off the field.

Q:  It’s been said that you’re quite an elegant man…

A:  I don’t know, maybe it’s from my way of being… I’m very interested in new things: fashion, accessories, watches, gadgets…

Q:  Can you live without technology?

A:  Let’s just say that you shouldn’t deprive me of it: I have a Blackberry, and then from Apple I have everything; the latest is the iPad.

Q:  Your favorite web sites?

A:  http://www.nationalgeographic.com and http://www.ebay.es.

Q:  Music?

A:  When I was younger, Nirvana.  Now, Calamaro, Coldplay, Quique González…

Q:  Movies?

A:  I didn’t like The American with George Clooney, but I did like the latest from Woody Allen.

Q:  Books?

A:  I always read newspapers, and now I’m reading Octopus by Daniel Estulin and El Palestino by Antonio Salas.

Q:  Vacation spots?

A:  European capitals, with London on top of the list.

Q:  Where do you like to get lost?

A:  In the barrio viejo (old town) of San Sebastián.

Q:  And when you’re done with football?

A:  I don’t know, sometimes I fantasize about dedicating myself to something completely different… But it’s a fantasy.

How Xabi takes care of himself

Eating – like a good Basque, Xabi likes to eat.  “Luckily, I can eat everything since I don’t have any weight problems, and I don’t even have a set diet.”  There’s always fresh fish in his refrigerator, and his favorite restaurant, Elkano in Getaria, “never lets me down.”

Personal care – “in addition to basic hygiene, I use gel, shampoo, deodorant, cream for the hair, a moisturizer and cologne daily.”

Exercise – Xabi does the four exercises shown above.  [Note: this would be a good thing to leave lying around the house, to make your man as much like Xabi Alonso as possible.]

And once again, work took a back seat to this blog!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Maisoun permalink
    November 8, 2010 15:32

    Nirvana? I cant picture Xabi as a Grunge head! 😉

    • Jennifer permalink
      November 8, 2010 17:16

      He would have been a very clean and classy grunge-head! :-p

      • Maisoun permalink
        November 8, 2010 23:26

        Xabi: “I cant wait for the 90’s to be over!” haha

  2. November 8, 2010 16:03

    Xabi is in so many places recently (I would never complain) that it is very probable that he has his special PR person to arrange this stuff.

    My new dream in life is now to be this person (among other things, like being Serhio’s agent and Iker’s fashion adviser) LOL

    • HermosaChica permalink
      November 9, 2010 16:13

      Sergio’s agent, eh? Well I’d love to be his personal assistant. Actually, his personal anything would be fine by me! 😀

  3. Jennifer permalink
    November 8, 2010 17:18

    “Note: this would be a good thing to leave lying around the house, to make your man as much like Xabi Alonso as possible.”

    Yes, please!

    In fact, I will give one to every dude in my life, along with their new Philips razor and Gilette cream!

    • Jennifer permalink
      November 8, 2010 17:19

      Because there is never such a thing as “too much like Xabi”!

  4. November 8, 2010 17:49

    his taste is certainly show his high-taste, from national geographic and woody allen’s movie, how could we don’t admire this guy?

  5. Michelle permalink
    November 8, 2010 19:31

    Perfect man is perfect. Have I said this before? I may have. Oh well, it holds up well to repeating.

    Gillette — that shot of Xabi in the sleeves-pushed-up white buttondown making eyes at the camera while squeezing crema hidratante into his other hand? USE A PIC LIKE THAT FOR YOUR AD CAMPAIGN. Que tontos. *slaps ’em upside the head*

  6. blitzen permalink
    November 8, 2010 21:08

    Aaaahhh!!!! He likes Nirvana and National Geographic!!!! Is there a rating even higher than perfect we can give him?

    Just here for the Xabi…moving along…

    • ooze permalink
      November 9, 2010 15:47

      haha blitzen. fellow barca fangirl here too. i see u around at totalbarca 🙂 now i don’t feel like i’m the only one coming to this website just to see interviews n pics of xabi.

      to una: i love your writing and your style! I got to know your conlaroja blog first but since there isn’t much news over there, i come here to read your madrid posts cos’ you’re really funny and entertaining. i also find it really nice that you have so much warmth and fondness for your team. plus, you are respectful and diplomatic about other teams, even rivals of madrid (i.e. atletico, barca). thumbs up!

      • ooze permalink
        November 9, 2010 15:53

        Oh and just to add a note: i don’t have anything against real madrid 🙂 over here, my love for individual spanish players (xabi, iker, arbeloa) triumphs! as u can see, i’m a huge la roja fan 🙂 i even just got my world cup champions jersey with the star! 😀

      • November 9, 2010 16:39

        Thank you!!!

  7. BernabeuSantiago permalink
    November 8, 2010 21:20

    hi,im new here..
    Somebody who already watched The American could share here why Xabi hate it so much?

  8. November 9, 2010 01:04

    Oh, dear UnaMadritista!!! I just saw the pictures of the players collecting their new cars and I immediately thought that you will probably like that event for your RM fashion section!

    I have few favourites of mine (both in good and bad sense), but I will wait to see what you will write about it 😉

    two things are certain though: I am definitely not dissapointed by this event so far in terms of bringing some smile to my face and those cars are beautiful.

    *going back to stare at some pictures, feeling no guilt at all LOL*

  9. Debsen permalink
    November 9, 2010 03:48

    National Geographic. I love it! Is the inspiration to read Octopus from El Pulpo Paul 🙂 (just kidding)?

  10. Sarah permalink
    November 9, 2010 04:09

    Thanks for all the articles with Xabi love him and he seems like such a humble classy guy.

Trackbacks

  1. the Xabi Alonso collection « con la roja

Leave a Reply

