Skip to content

in case you missed it – The Mou Show edition

November 11, 2010

In case you missed it – Real Madrid vs. Murcia [2010-11-10].

It was all about José Mourinho yesterday, in the Copa del Rey round of 32 vuelta game between Madrid and Murcia.  So, let’s start off with…

One. The Mou corner.

TSO got himself expelled at the end of the first half after receiving two warnings: the first for complaining about a decision, and the second for telling the referee, José Luis Paradas Romero, “vete a la mierda.”

Paradas Romero wrote in the match report that he gave Mou two warnings: “in minute 37, the coach José Mário Dos Santos Félix Mourinho was cautioned for the following reason: he raised his arms, protesting a decision I had made.”  Then came “in minute 37, the coach José Mário Dos Santos Félix Mourinho was expelled for the following reason: after he was warned, he came towards me and told me, “fuck off.”  Go Mou!!!

After Mou was expelled, he headed to the stands (but not before making some faces to show his displeasure) and sat down on some stairs.

Upon seeing the situation, Miguel Gil Moreno, socio number 7,171, which he’s been since 1970, told Mou, “Señor Mourinho, don’t sit on the ground!  This seat is mine, take it!”  He told Marca, “I usually go up in the stands to sit with some friends who have their seats higher up, but when I saw the coach sit down on the ground, I went down to ask him to sit in my seat.  The security guards told me to go back, but I told them no, that they had to ask Mourinho to sit in my seat.  And in the end, he sat down.”

And next to Mou was Pablo Bernal, a 21-year-old student.  He said, “he didn’t say anything to me, he was concentrating very hard on the game.  He looked quite calm, and didn’t seem to be too angry that he had been expelled.  I didn’t say anything to him, but I took some photos and recorded some videos…  My friends started sending me texts.  One of them asked me to slap Mou on the back of the neck.”

Of course, Pablo wasn’t the only one taking pictures of Mou.  Lots of fans did.  I love that!!!

And they all saw how Mou continued coaching from his seat, including continuing to show his displeasure, giving out instructions and telling Cristiano to intensify his warm-up.

He looked like he was enjoying himself from this different vantage point.  And right after Xabi’s goal, Mou decided he had had enough and headed to the locker room.

In the second half, Julio Cendel, the head of security for the team, had to sit down next to Mou to protect him.

It looks like Mou will miss the next game against Sporting de Gijón as a punishment for his expulsion.  Aitor Karanka will take charge of the game.  I wonder if Mou will be giving him instructions from the stands, like he did last night?

After the game, Mou at first refused to talk about his expulsion.  Then he relented (I guess he really must have been upset) and said: “It was a very easy game to referee.  I’m not a good referee.  I don’t do well when I have to referee in the training sessions, but this game was easy.”

Two. Of course, Mou wasn’t the only one who got himself kicked out.  Álvaro Arbeloa did too.  But before he left, he managed to give us a glimpse of his stomach.  It also looks like Álvaro is a fan of the Adidas tight shirts!  Two more reasons to love him!

Three. At the press conference, Mou also said he didn’t like how Sergio Canales played.  Meanwhile, Sergio’s father Gelo Canales told COPE that Sergio “lacks confidence and is afraid to do things.”  ¡Pobrecito!

Four. What a way to start the game, no?

Before most of the fans had settled into their seats, Esteban Granero had opened the scoring with a fabulous goal.  He of course celebrated in his patented El Pirata style.

It was a game for the Spaniards, so it’s fitting that Spaniards scored the opening and closing goals!

Meanwhile, both Benzema and Xabi got their heads rubbed when the team celebrated their goals.

After the game, Benzema’s teammates praised him.  Di María: “Karim is a great player who has a lot of talent.  We’re all with him.”  And Pedro León: “he has the support of the entire team.  Karim hadn’t been doing well lately, but he’s now doing things very well.  We’re all very happy with his goal.”  Benzema himself revealed that Mou had congratulated him and told him he had done well.

Meanwhile, Cristiano had to join in the goalscoring party.  His celebrations were quite customary.  He did the hand gesture, and then sucked his thumb.  Since he did both of these, I’m going to take it to mean that the hand gesture is for Kaká, and the thumb sucking is for his son (unless he’s telling us that he has another kid on the way???).

And that goal from Cristiano was number 200 in his career (five with Sporting de Lisboa, 118 with Manchester, 29 with the Portuguese national team and 48 with Madrid).

Five. It must be an Argentine thing.

Six. Fun postgame moments.

Juan Góngora seems to be everyone’s best friend!

Seven. Iker, during two moments of frustration.  In the first one, I think he’s yelling “Pedro” (it’s not as good as Guti, though).

Eight. Front and back.™

Álvaro Arbeloa.

Sergio Ramos.

Xabi Alonso.  Technically, it’s his side, but how jealous are we all of Chando?

Nine. The Xabi Alonso pose section.™

Ten. If Pedro’s a lion with that name, hair and attitude, then what is Sergio? I’ll leave it up to you all to decide.  Best answer wins a unamadridista seal of approval, and you know how much those are coveted!!!


Eleven. Other game notes: Álex and Jesús were the ones removed from the final list for the game, so they watched it from the stands.  And Madrid opted to use the Champions League ball for this game, which Murcia protested.

Twelve. Looking ahead: there was a training session today for all those who didn’t play in this game, plus Cristiano.  Cristiano stayed in the gym, along with Sergio Canales, who showed up voluntarily.  Meanwhile, Esteban Granero and Marcelo showed up just to hang out.  Cute!

59 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessy permalink
    November 11, 2010 17:31

    Hand gesture is for Irina, sorry Kaka.

  2. mar permalink
    November 11, 2010 17:37

    :O so, that’s why mou sat there…my spanish is not that good (yet), and i couldn’t understand why he did that…and ohhh higuainn…………

  3. pnylove415 permalink
    November 11, 2010 17:47

    Sergio is a gorgeous stallion. He has a mane like Pedro, just a different kind! Plus he gallops up the field to give assists and try to score goals 😉

    • MsLaSuerte permalink
      November 11, 2010 18:48

      agree on the Stallion 😀

    • Jennifer permalink
      November 11, 2010 21:45

      Definitely – he’s sleek like a stallion (hair-wise, certainly, and the gel just reinforces that), and in that last .gif he looks like he’s sniffing the air like horses do…

      Plus, Sergio the Stallion has a nice ring to it.

      (El Semental Sergio, less so, but at least it’s alliterative, I guess?)

      • MsLaSuerte permalink
        November 12, 2010 00:33

        El Semental sounds good! 😉

    • Siv permalink
      November 11, 2010 23:27

      gorgeous Arabian stallion; i don’t know why the Arabian part is important but it is 😉

      • Gilly B permalink
        November 12, 2010 00:35

        I like the arabian touch too 😉

      • Jennifer permalink
        November 12, 2010 01:01

        No, definitely an Andalusian horse!

      • emily permalink
        November 12, 2010 03:24

        Serge owns an Arabian show horse. So, that only helps add fuel to the fire.

    • faith permalink
      November 12, 2010 03:49

      Yes exactly right Sergio is a magnificent Andalucian Arabian Stallion!!!

  4. Pranav permalink
    November 11, 2010 17:50

    He’s a tiger?? (CR, will go with safari theme 😛 )
    and sergio is a smooth branch 😉

    and smart move on using the CL ball..

  5. Maisoun permalink
    November 11, 2010 17:50

    This game was crazy!!! I had to skip class in order to watch, which of course I never mind doing 😉 and I was on the freeway when I got the tweet about Granero’s goal in the 3rd minute, thank God there were no cops on my way home because I was flying lol

    “vete a la mierda.” lmao Mou is my hero!!! He’s gonna be missed at the next game though…no gum chewing or crazy faces to look out for 😦

    OMG the front and back section! Lmao good choices for Sergio’s part! My stream kept freezing yesterday, butttt never managed to freeze on something so yummy! Booty Booty Booty Rockin’ Everywhere! lol sorry if that gets stuck in anyone’s head today 😉

    And I’d say Sergio is a ROADRUNNER!!! Even in that gif he cant decide on one direction to look in! He’s a runner & mighty defender!!! …..other choice of course would be the obvious, the boy’s a FOX! lol no explanation needed there 😉

  6. sidney permalink
    November 11, 2010 18:10

    I was just waiting for this review today, it never fails to put a smile on my face.:):):) Awesome review as usual:):):) Mou is one of the ,if not the most entertaining coach ever.So is he really suspended for next game?Im happy with this result but seriously that was not really a good referee yesterday:4 yellow already in the first half? Congrats to the whole team and Hala Madrid!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. November 11, 2010 18:13

    Referring to Sergio as a sexy Spanish stallion is kinda like calling the sea blue. But, off the top of my head I can’t think of anything else!

    • November 11, 2010 18:19

      I loved the extra info you gave us about how TSO got sent off and what happened when he got there. I had this really crappy stream that I was watching the match on, and as soon as Mou got sent off, I wanted to read about your take on things.

      Also what the hell was up with the ref – he was carding every one that he could. I mean – seriously, if this isn’t an answer to the crap that a certain player from Barca has been spewing about us and how ref’s flavor us…. I don’t know what is!

  8. lala permalink
    November 11, 2010 18:29

    Hand gesture is for the baby i think, my sis baby and i used to play games and he did that alot if he wanted a toy. Yes it is cute that marcelo and granero came just hang out. Granero prob went with the youth squad while marcelo hung with ronaldo, its funny they are super bff now but back when portugal played brazil in a friendly both wanted to rip the others head off.

  9. michelle t. permalink
    November 11, 2010 19:43

    I agree, Sergio is definitely a stallion!

  10. Linda permalink
    November 11, 2010 19:56

    I’ve been lurking for a while – I love this blog! I check it every day 🙂 Had to thank you for that Arbeloa gif – I’ll keep the rest to myself but *~* THANK YOU!

  11. suzanne permalink
    November 11, 2010 20:23

    i KNEW that’s what mou said even without actually knowing what he said. lol! it’s def what i would’ve said. that ref…….well, he made me very angry too!
    and are you trying to kill me? hmmm, sergio has such a nice rear end!!
    so excited for el pirata! was excited he played (i miss him) and soooooooo excited for his goal!! for everyones goals, really. i was hugely stressed after arbeloa was sent off and then xabi got the yellow and they converted the pen!
    well done as always una. you are so appreciated!

    most will say sergio’s a horse, but i think he’s more a bull!! big strong fiesty bull!

  12. Jillian permalink
    November 11, 2010 21:04

    Sergio is definitely the Stallion.

  13. Miche permalink
    November 11, 2010 21:39

    What a match! Thank you for the summary, as usual.

    Nice to see that Sergio Canales showed up for gym work voluntarily. I really want to see him do well, and I rather think his coach does, too.

    I think Cris’s gestures were for Irina and his family, since they tend to sit in the boxes reserved for family when they do attend matches. It’s a bit different from the celebration he did with Kaká last season. I’m sure if and when they are on the pitch together again, Cristiano will celebrate with him, though. 😉

    Will Pablo Bernal be uploading those videos of Mou onto the Internet, I wonder?!

  14. Michelle permalink
    November 11, 2010 21:56

    Sergio is definitely a horse. There’s no question about that one. The only question is, what type? I’m no horse expert, so I hope someone chimes in with detail! (I’d cite famous thoroughbred racehorses like Secretariat and Seabiscuit, but they always seem to die in pain, and we certainly don’t want that for Sr. Ramos!)

    These are, bar none, the best multimedia match recaps in the business. 🙂 And informative too — while watching, I couldn’t figure out WHY Mourinho had gotten expelled, but I knew you’d explain. 🙂 What an experience it must’ve been for the supporters near Mou! And 15 minutes of fame for socio 7171!

    • November 12, 2010 00:25

      I agree Sergio is a horse. I always thought he looked like one and I love horses ❤

  15. Jennifer permalink
    November 11, 2010 22:21

    I got home just as the game was ending yesterday, and I was totally confused by the lack-of-Mou (but quite pleased with the score).

    Álvaro needs to give us some more shirtless love, because, damn! Homeboy is smuggling a Spartan body under there… we should all make a point to thank him for his commitment to the 300 obsession!

    Sergio was also looking particularly pretty (front and back!) for some reason – it looks like a lot less product went in to his hair this time around, so maybe that’s it?

    Xabi is boss, as always. And the head-rubbing just makes me laugh; I really want to know the reason for it now!

    Thanks again for the amazing roundup, they make being a madridista that much more fun!

    • HermosaChica permalink
      November 12, 2010 17:49

      Yeah I noticed that too. I tried to mentally replay shots of his swishing hair in slow-motion. It worked 😀

      The constant outbursts of anger, the flashing. He’s teasing us. Alvaro’s honestly trying to mess up our minds. I’m telling you, this man knows exactly what to do to shift our vying eyes away from the sexy likes of Iker and Sergio. I think he should keep doing this.. 😀

  16. November 11, 2010 23:42

    OMG I too thought that sucking his finger was to his son xD
    But the hand gesture not so sure. At first I thought it was for Irina then cuz of the sucking last night, I thought it’s all for the baby.

    GREAT POST as usual. Awesome to know what really went down with Mou. 🙂

  17. Morales permalink
    November 11, 2010 23:43

    what does TSO mean? aanddd, in the fear of being annoying, why is Granero called el Pirata? aside from covering his eye like a pirate…

    i’m totally pretending those hand gestures from Cris are for Kaka, btw when is he coming back if you?

    Mou’s expressions were priceless!!

    • emily permalink
      November 12, 2010 03:32

      TSO means “The Special One’. In a press conference, he said that it takes a special one to win so many championships. So, then the media started calling him the Special One.

    • Pranav permalink
      November 12, 2010 05:47

      TSO>> the special one
      el pirata>> grabero’s pet name cuz he looks like a pirate..
      he even has a foundation for children named pirates of granero

      • November 12, 2010 07:23

        Actually, a journalist asked Granero to start celebrating his goals like a pirate and that’s how the nickname came about.

    • Emme permalink
      November 12, 2010 05:57

      It’s Jose’s nickname. ‘The Special One’ 🙂

  18. LaBlanca permalink
    November 12, 2010 00:09

    Id have taken off the card from Álvaro if hed promised to continue playing shirtless. 😀

    love love love the “ICYMI” !!! Ahhh and these stories of the ppl around Mou great background. Amazing.

    • HermosaChica permalink
      November 12, 2010 17:33

      I would threaten to card the entire team until they took their shirts (and Iker’s under armour) off! 😀

  19. cindy permalink
    November 12, 2010 01:45

    Awesome recap as usual Una. Someone mention to me that they think Cris sucking his thumb is because he score a goal for the first time in the Copa Del Rey. Sergio is definetly a stallion.

  20. Guilherme permalink
    November 12, 2010 02:25

    OH MY GOD! Look at Arbeloa’s shorts at the second gif… Wow! hahahahah I love him even more, for sure.

  21. November 12, 2010 03:06

    everybody was so happy for Benzema they celebrated like it was the first goal in minute ’90 and not the fourth goal . Im happy for him too

  22. Esther permalink
    November 12, 2010 03:07

    How is this even a question? He’s a Lipizzaner.

    • Deb permalink
      November 12, 2010 07:54

      nice! The hair gave it away, no?! 😀

  23. Kristine permalink
    November 12, 2010 03:38

    I’d definitely go with Stallion for Sexio, as well. Kinda obvious, but very fitting. He is so painfully beautiful.

    Oh, and not to be a perv but…… Arbeloa? Everyone has rightfully mentioned the rockin bod under that shirt..How about whats in those shorts?? I can’t be the only one to notice that! OMG.

    Oh, and while Sergio will always be my one and only footballer crush..That Granero, is one mighty fine looking man!

  24. ulong permalink
    November 12, 2010 04:11

    haha, stallion is the best word to describe Sergio… 😀
    Thanks Una for the review, as I didn’t watch the game. No TV station aired Copa del Rey here in Indonesia. Again, gracias 🙂

  25. emily permalink
    November 12, 2010 04:32

    Serge IS an Arabian stud horse. Arabians are feisty, spirited and prance around with their heads and tails in the air. The higher the better in the show ring. Arabs are known for their intelligence, determination and versatility. So- he likes raising them, and he acts and looks like one. It’s settled.
    Now – when do we get to see photos of him riding bareback on the beach on one of his fiery steeds? Oh my head…

  26. michelle permalink
    November 12, 2010 04:54

    sergio is a unicorn! 🙂

  27. Gillian permalink
    November 12, 2010 05:05

    I was able to see the whole match, and Mou’s facial expressions were probably the best part for me (well, after seeing Xabi score on that free kick). My favorite is his slow head shake. It reminded me of when I was a kid and I got that same look from my mom-lol.

  28. Stacy permalink
    November 12, 2010 08:08

    It was an interesting game!

    Mou’s still awesome! And I agree…Sergio the Stallion!

    By the way, was Cristiano supposed to be part of the training yesterday, or did he just go to the training like Canales did? Was he given a day off, but he decided to train?

  29. Deb permalink
    November 12, 2010 08:16

    Admittedly, it wasn’t one of RM’s best matches but, again, the players that started just don’t get a lot of time in actual games playing together. That makes a huge difference. You could definitely see the synergy of the team change once Xabi, DiMaria and Cris were on the pitch together.

    I have to go with the concensus about Sergio…stallion definitely fits him well.

    In spite of all the egos on RM, these guys seem to act more like “teammates” than any other team I’ve seen play lately. They all celebrate goals scored by their teammates, there doesn’t appear to be any sniping going on during the game, etc. I wasn’t able to watch that many LaLiga matches last year so is this something new (i.e. post Mou)?

    Mou…I just love that guy. I always thought when a coach gets sent off, they have to leave the game, like the players do, so I kept waiting for the ref to make him leave the game. Guess I was wrong about that one. lol I had to laugh tho when I saw him go and sit on the stairs directly inside the gate to the stands. It reminded me of a kid testing the boundries with his parents. Mou definitely is a character and keeps things interesting. As soon as I saw the face he made after being sent off, I KNEW it was going to show up here, and you didn’t disappoint!

    Keep up the good work…I LOVE this site!

  30. Wendy permalink
    November 12, 2010 08:51

    i know this is probably the wrong place to ask, but can u please post a link by which I can watch the RM-Barcelona match on Monday and at what time is the match??

    Thanks!!

  31. November 12, 2010 15:06

    This blog entry and the comments are EPIC! This edition of ICYMI is so awesome I have no words, UnaMadritista! Everything about this post is great, so I will only say that I am really enjoying the new Front&Back Section, it’s a keeper!

    As to Sergio – oh, I am LOL’ing so hard right now from the comments, they are legen-wait for it-dary! Sergio’s just being Sergio! (and I also refuse to look at one of the pictures -not here – where it seems like he arrived to the Bernabeu with something what looked like a golden watch. too much for my eyes). I agree that there was less product on the hair, totally for the benefit of it. I hope he gives up whatever product it is, forever.

    Mou is spectacular, but that’s the law!

  32. emily permalink
    November 12, 2010 16:08

    Are my eyes deceiving me, or does Alvaro have wood in the red card/abs exposure pic? Section 8, Front and back
    Seriously Una, you are the best hincha ever

Trackbacks

  1. Mourinho sent off for dissent, sits with fans « Eshan's Blog
  2. ICYMI – the ¿? edition « following Real Madrid…

Leave a Reply

