Skip to content

Sergio Ramos at Soccer Is Life

November 13, 2010
tags:

It may seem like Xabi is getting all the attention lately, but there are people who haven’t forgotten about Sergio Ramos.  He’s on the cover of magazine Soccer Is Life, and there is of course more pictures and an interview inside.

The most interesting part is how he’s been styled.  If you were ever wondering what he’d look like with short hair (i.e. nothing in the back), these pictures will tell you.  I love his hair in the above picture, but not so much in some of the other ones where it’s a bit messier.  Those remind me of his earlier years at Sevilla.  I’m also not a big fan of the suits they put him in.  Where are Xabi and/or Álvaro’s wife Carlota when we need them?

Q:  Sergio, you made Spanish football history in becoming the youngest player to reach 70 with the national team.  What does that mean to you?

A:  For me it’s something incredible; I never imagined I would get to that number and I hope to continue working to win more trophies.  It’s a tremendous source of pride to see everything that I’ve achieved until now while representing my country.

Q:  You’re part of the best generation of footballers in the history of our country.  We’re talking about European and world champions.

A:  Buff, I hear it and I get goosebumps.  With the passing of time, we become conscious of what we achieved.  It’s incredible what this group has done.

Q:  Which moment is the one you’ll remember out of all those with the national team?

A:  I have a lot of memories but I’ll never forget the moment when I raised up the World Cup.  It left me in a state of shock.

Q:  Let’s go back a few years.  You played football in the plaza of Camas.  Back then did you ever think that you would one day lift up the World Cup?

A:  When you’re a kid, you think about enjoying yourself and you’re constantly dreaming but it never occurs to you that you might one day lift up the greatest title a country can achieve.  It’s something that you would never even think about at that age.  You only want to have fun, but now this has much more dimension in hindsight.

Q:  Do you think this is the best Spanish national team in history?  The best team in the history of football?

A:  Spain has always had very good generations of footballers, but what happened is that they didn’t have luck until recently.  I don’t know if it’s the best team in history, but it is one of the national teams that has defined a style of playing football.

Q:  I remember Luis Aragonés criticizing the team during the first stage of the World Cup.  Knowing him, I wouldn’t be surprised if it was part of a motivating strategy.  Is he a father for this generation?  Define Luis for me.

A:  For me, Luis is unique in his way of being; he manages to bring out the best of each player.  I only have words of gratitude for him because he was the one who gave me the opportunity to live unique moments with the national team, which I’m continuing to live now with Vicente del Bosque.  I have been able to correct a lot of my errors thanks to the values that Luis transmitted to me.

Q:  And what has Del Bosque brought to this group?

A:  Vicente inherited a good base from the previous years, but he has managed to put his own stamp on it.  There’s not much else to say when with Vicente we managed to become the best national team in the world.

(They made him look like a former boy band member who’s down on his luck here).

Q:  What is left for you to achieve?

A:  On the team level, I want to continue winning as many titles as possible with the national team and with Real Madrid.  I would especially like to win the Champions League with Real Madrid.

Q:  What does a man like you desire?

A:  My desire as a footballer is the continue improving and learning day to day, and to continue achieving the objectives that I’ve set throughout my life.

[And your desires as a man are what??  People need want to know!]

Q:  Do you see yourself playing throughout your 30s, or do you think you’ll leave football before then?

A:  As long as my body and injuries respect me, my desire is to continue playing.

Q:  Let’s talk about this new Madrid.  What has Mourinho brought to this team?

A:  The míster has helped us regain confidence in ourselves.  He’s doing a great job, which is reflected out on the field.

Q:  There must be something about Mou since in Barcelona, the players, the coaches and even the directors talk almost every day about him.  What do you think it is?

A:  The míster has a big personality, he’s left his mark and his style of play in all the clubs where he’s worked, and it’s normal that they talk about him for the good job he’s done throughout his professional career.

Q:  Does he inspire respect?

A:  Of course, as I said before, he’s a great professional that always leaves his mark wherever he goes.

Q:  Have you won part of the battle already because of the nervousness that Mou is creating in Barcelona?

A:  No.  We have to play the games and a rival like Barcelona is always difficult to beat.

Q:  What is Madrid going to win this year?

A:  Our obligation as Real Madrid players is to fight to win the three titles.  That’s the base that we have to start off from every time we put on this shirt.

Q:  Is there anything that stops your dreams?

A:  No, luckily I’m a privileged person.  Only when there is a big problem that can affect me like any other person.

Q:  What bothers you about football?

A:  That people can judge and talk about a person without really knowing them.

Q:  How would you define yourself?

A:  I’m a very normal, humble, simple and family-oriented person.

Q:  You always have Puerta on your mind.  He’s always there whenever you achieve anything, right?

A:  Of course.  All the titles that I’ve achieved throughout my sporting career are dedicated to him.  I’ll never forget him.

Q:  It’s been said that you played a big part in helping Navas to integrate into the national team.  It’s difficult to find an image of Navas on the national team where you’re not right next to him.

A:  Jesús is another of my good friends from the youth teams of Sevilla.  He took a big step forward in his career and I just helped him out in any way that I could.  He knows that he will always have my unconditional support.

Q:  What will Sergio Ramos do when he leaves football?

A:  I’m still very young and I hope to have many more years as a footballer in front of me, so right now I don’t even think about my retirement.  When the moment gets near, then I’ll start planning.

Thanks to all those who sent these pictures in.  I’m not sure where you all got them from, but if they’re yours, let me know and I’ll cite youIf they’re not yours, then continue on with wondering whether Sergio is wearing anything under that blazer.

By the way, I can totally see Xabi in the same outfit and doing the same pose as Sergio below, but perhaps without that slightly creepy half smile.

37 Comments leave one →
  1. wendy permalink
    November 13, 2010 10:28

    For some strange reason he reminds me of Val Kilmer in the second pic..:P!!

  2. Nurul permalink
    November 13, 2010 10:55

    “(They made him look like a former boy band member who’s down on his luck here).”
    Precisely my thoughts! He looked really good in the first picture, though.

    I’ve definitely noticed how he and Jesús are almost always around each other, and I think it’s just so sweet of Sergio to help him (and to say things like “He knows that he will always have my unconditional support.” )! :’)

    • Deb permalink
      November 14, 2010 00:28

      I read an article online where Navas has suffered from a severe separation (from home) anxiety for some time and that it was a brilliant effort on his part to make the trip to South Africa. Guess he’s been getting help for the anxiety which has allowed him to travel away from home with less anxiety.

      So, I’m inferring that Sergio’s comments about Navas and always supporting him might also have something to do with that. Sergio seems to have such a big heart that I can really see him being a source of support for Navas when he’s away from home with the national team. As someone who suffers from anxiety myself, having someone there to support you in situations where your anxiety is high is the best support a person can have. Bravo to you Sergio!

  3. Amy Tonai permalink
    November 13, 2010 12:58

    This is a man with natural beauty. When they mess with his hair and have him look serious for these photos, it just comes across as ridiculous–it doesn’t suit him (pun not intended, but accurate). He looks best with a big grin on his face and his hair long, and whatever gaudy outfit he decides to put on for that day. Love that Sergio just like he is.

    • Deb permalink
      November 14, 2010 00:13

      Thank you! That’s exactly what I was thinking when looking at the pics. Where’s the smile? and he looks better with long hair. And he wouldn’t be Sergio if they made him change is style of clothes. 🙂

      “If they’re not yours, then continue on with wondering whether Sergio is wearing anything under that blazer.” 😀

  4. Jennifer permalink
    November 13, 2010 13:04

    ¡Ay, mi niño! What have they done to you?! Normally footballers look better when other people dress them (see: Casillas, Iker), but I will take the green jeans and mandals ANY DAY.

    In sum: leave the Don Draper imitations to Xabi. (And for goodness’ sake, STOP CUTTING YOUR HAIR!) Ahem. That is all.

    • RealLisa permalink
      November 13, 2010 17:10

      You’re reading my thoughts. Thanks for expressing them instead of me. 😉

    • Tash permalink
      November 13, 2010 18:45

      Agreed-why is he still cutting his hair?!

  5. Kristine permalink
    November 13, 2010 13:23

    People are making fun of this all over the blogs! I think he looks damn fine! And, I think that plaid jacket is fabulous.

    • Gilly B permalink
      November 14, 2010 03:06

      Yeah, I actually like this shoot. Sure, not all the pictures work (the tartan jacket is plain off key) but I like the creative vision of it. He looks like a gentleman in a mans setting- the tan leather ball, the big black leather sofa and dark background. I’d love to see what GQ UK or Italia would do with him.

      I did lol at Una’s busted former boyband member analogy though- can see that too!

  6. lulu permalink
    November 13, 2010 14:04

    “Without the slightly creepy smile” INDEED! Creeper Ramos strikes again… still, love him!

  7. Cindy permalink
    November 13, 2010 14:11

    Q: What bothers you about football?

    A: That people can judge and talk about a person without really knowing them.

    Yes this so much. Thank you Sergio, my admiration for you has gone to new heights.

    • Deb permalink
      November 14, 2010 00:17

      This seemed really heartfelt didn’t it? I mean he’s probably talking a little bit about footballers in general but it definitely seems like he means him personally too. I get the sense that the stuff that’s made the papers about him has bothered him. :{

  8. JulieFromParis permalink
    November 13, 2010 14:15

    Yes Sergio pleaz, we need to know about your desires as a man, WE NEED TO KNOW, DO YOU HEAR ME??!!!

  9. November 13, 2010 14:23

    His hair looks gorgeous in the first pic ❤

  10. HermosaChica permalink
    November 13, 2010 14:28

    “But there are people who haven’t forgotten about Sergio Ramos” — those are my kind of people! 😉

    I can stare at his lips in the first picture for days on end! I’m not very fond of his hair in any of the photos, I prefer his long feathered hairdos.

    His bromance with Navas is simply adorable, but it’ll never outshine the thing he had with Torres, no siree it won’t! 😀

    And why the heck are they asking him about retirement?! That has got to be a mood killer..

    Lastly, has anyone else noticed the little smiley face in the bottom left corner of the screen that appears when you scroll all the way down? It’s on Con La Roja too :p

    • Maisoun permalink
      November 13, 2010 18:11

      ““But there are people who haven’t forgotten about Sergio Ramos” — those are my kind of people! ;)” —-Hear, hear! Cheers to all of us Sexio worshipers!!! 😉

      “Lastly, has anyone else noticed the little smiley face in the bottom left corner of the screen that appears when you scroll all the way down?”—-I wonder how many people you caused to actually scroll down mid-post lol I was one of them…

      • Jennifer permalink
        November 13, 2010 18:42

        I was also one of them… and voila, tiny little smiley face!

        And, uh, yeah – I don’t think any of US have forgotten about our beloved Sergio! 😛

      • Deb permalink
        November 14, 2010 00:19

        me either! my reply to his post on FB with the link to this magazine was something like “finally they realized that someone besides Xabi should be in magazines” 🙂

        And wth? They just HAD to show the copy of the Dani Alves in their mag on the same website page as Sergio. That’s just wrong.

    • ooze permalink
      November 14, 2010 03:50

      The smiley face is always there in all wordpress blogs. It’s a wordpress thing. 🙂

    • Cosi permalink
      November 14, 2010 06:48

      “the thing he had with Torres” awwww I know! I got a little jealous of Navas on Nando’s behalf early on, I’ll admit… but this bromance is still cute, too 😉

  11. shan permalink
    November 13, 2010 14:45

    I totally saw something about this magazine on Marca this morning and had to go out and buy it. Best 3 euros I’ve probably ever spent.

  12. Whiskey permalink
    November 13, 2010 15:25

    Una you always have the perfect descriptions – the “boy band” comment was spot on. I will never complain about another Sergio interview and more pictures but I really don’t like the way he is styled here. He looks like he is about to head out for a fox hunt in that plaid jacket! Nice interview though – especially the parts about Navas and Puerta.

  13. Maisoun permalink
    November 13, 2010 18:06

    (They made him look like a former boy band member who’s down on his luck here)———-
    HUH?! WHA?! Omg that was my fave picture out of all of them!!!! I love the hair falling into his eyes!!! Jeez I think he looks damn FINE in ALL of the pics…HOT DAMN!!!

    And Im not even going to pay the plaid jacket any attention because he looks like a sexy ass Spanish Ken doll! …now I have ‘Barbie Girl’ stuck in my head….

  14. November 13, 2010 23:28

    oh Sergio *shakes head*

    After getting used to the pics, I have to admit that, while still speechless and shocked, I am a real fan only those with this weird plaid jacket, as the hair looks the best (compared to other pictures) and Sexio’s face is sooo cute, especially in this profile photo (which is not here and I cannot find it at the moment), yummy! like a good boy with good manners, little principe! I want to sit next to him in a class and study together and….well

    also, I prefer shorter hair to the “in the middle, not long, no short” hair that was after this year’s legendary haircut.

    The cover pic and the rest kinda don’t work for me somehow, I mean he’s adorable, but he’s not yet Xabi when it comes to “modelling” in whatever clothes the stylists give him. I think it will change with age, but for now -still some lessons to learn! and the cover hair is just terrible, sorry Sexio! (plus I would ask the stylist -what the hell were you thinking good man/woman???)

    anyway, when it comes to Sergio, I have to say, that he looks absulutely the best when he’s on the pitch playing: running, jumping, dancing, shouting, getting fierce, you name it. Or vacationing. shirtless.

  15. November 13, 2010 23:57

    I am still processing this and I have to add:

    1) UnaMadritista, thank you for the translation, it was very helpful, as usual!

    2) No matter what, if we like all the pics, or just some, or none of them, this photoshoot should definitely be put in the chronicle of the Sexio’s pena, as one of the legendary ones;-)))

  16. Michelle permalink
    November 14, 2010 03:12

    You had me laughing all the way to Janeiro through the entirety of this entry! Your desires as a man are? out-of-work boyband member? Potentially-shirtless blazer? Weird creepy semi-smile? CLASSIC.

    I kinda like preppy Sergio! It’s a change! But let’s not make it permanent, we’d miss the flowing hair + Sergio Ramos 15 headband on the pitch, and the “original” outfits off it. 🙂 Stay true to your cheesy Andalusian quasi-mulleted flamenco self, Sergio!

  17. November 14, 2010 07:45

    What website is selling the magazine (online version i assume) – never even heard of the magazine lol … the plaid jacket is lovely on him and he does love plaid – reminds me of the one he wore in a pic with Bisbal

  18. Smile permalink
    November 14, 2010 12:06

    Sergio looks stunning in these pictures! I especially like the last ones.. well but not that suit.

  19. suzanne permalink
    November 14, 2010 15:03

    thank you as always una!

    sergio, my god, you are just sex on legs aren’t you. anytime i think there is another baller that is stealing my affections (memo ochoa), i see my handsome sergio and wonder how i thougt anyone could overtake the number 1 place in my heart (you know, besides my husband and son 😉

  20. emily permalink
    November 15, 2010 06:40

    33 comments!! Una – you are blowing UP!! GReat stuff. Serhio’s jacket is , uhhh, hmmm…

    • November 15, 2010 09:08

      I think it’s probably due to the wonderful subject matter of Sergio, not me!

  21. November 15, 2010 14:43

    Awwww, I watched the whole game yesterday, it was so interesting to watch both football-wise and hotness-wise. I already have an idea about what would land in The BodyParts Section of Una’s ICYMI;-))

Trackbacks

  1. some superficial news « con la roja
  2. Tweets that mention Sergio Ramos at Soccer Is Life « following Real Madrid… -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

