Skip to content

back to La Liga

November 18, 2010

Well, I was going to write about the Spain-Portugal game, but I can’t animate myself to do so (at least not without a lot of candy and a constant replaying of Iker shortless after the game) because of the result.  So here is just one small detail, and some other Madrid news.

Iker gave his shorts away after one of the ball boys asked for them.

AND AN UPDATE: Madrid will face Levante in the round of 16 of the Copa del Rey.  The first leg will take place on Dec. 22 and the second on Jan. 5.

One. Well, at least it was nice to see Cristiano outplaying some of Barcelona’s players.  The bad news is that Busquets tried to take him out of the clásico with a hard foul at the beginning of the game, and Cris was subbed out at the end of the first half.  He, as well as Ricardo Carvalho, should both be fine for Saturday’s game.

Two. The other international results were slightly better, with Benzema scoring in France’s 2-1 victory over England, and Drenthe (since he’s still technically ours) making his first appearance with the Netherlands’ senior national team in their 1-0 win against Turkey (Huntelaar scored the goal).  Aitor Karanka and Zidane traveled to Qatar to watch Argentina take on Brazil, the former to watch Di María and Higuaín, and the latter as Qatar’s 2022 World Cup bid ambassador.  Mou was also supposed to travel there, but canceled for personal reasons.

Three. Rain + our players = a great combination (as long as no one gets sick).

Four. Sergio is once again showing his sensitive side, via his appearance in the SOS Foundation’s 2011 charity calendar, “12 months, 12 rights.”  Sergio is the face of April.  The calendar shows 12 athletes with 12 kids, with each photograph representing a fundamental right of children.  Watch a “making off” (as they say it in Spain) video here.

Meanwhile, Sergio has been nominated in the category of “most caring athlete” in the Solidarity in Sports Awards, which is given out by the SOS Foundation, the Spanish Olympics Committee, the Spanish Paralympics Committee, and the community of Madrid.  The ceremony will take place on Dec. 15, and the calendar will also be presented then.

Five. Speaking of Sergio, he’s managed to rein in his yellow card provoking antics, since he’s only gotten two yellows and no reds so far this season.  In his previous five seasons with Madrid, he accumulated nine red cards (making him the second most expelled player after Fernando Hierro, who holds the record with 10) and 73 yellows, or about 15 a season.  Considering that Hierro played 14 seasons with the club, that’s a bit alarming.  As to the yellows, our Sergio is five away from catching up with Roberto Carlos as the fifth most yellow card receiving player, but Roberto played 370 games!

The change is due to Sergio being better able to communicate with the referees, and because he’s improved his game as well.  I’m sure the responsibility as second captain has also been a factor, as he’s a more mature player, and less impulsive.  In addition, he feels reassured by the presence of Ángel di María, who helps him out with the defense on the wing.

Six. Kaká, at Barajas last night, on his way to Brazil.  Pictures via Marca; Ricky’s upward facing thumb has been cropped out.

Seven. Looking ahead: all the international players will be back for today’s training session, which will take place at 16h.  The next game is on Saturday against that team of sexy Basque men Athletic, during which Mou will serve the second game of his suspension for telling a referee to do something not so nice.  The club offered him the possibility of watching the game from the palco de honor, but Mou wanted to be near the team (i.e. he wants to coach them, even if it’s not from the bench) and be able to talk face to face with Karanka and Rui Faria, so he’s going to sit in the front row again, with Julio Cendal next to him.  There will also be two other security guards protecting Mou from autograph and photo seekers.  This was where Mou sat for the second half against Murcia.

Those two seats actually belong to socio number 16,603, Gabriel Ruiz Almansa (a 29-year socio), and his wife, Ramona Garza.  They’ve ceded their seats so that Mou can sit there, and will be given other seats near the palco.  This hasn’t been confirmed yet for security reasons.

In an interview with AS, Gabriel said that it will be an honor for him and his wife to give up their seats for Mou again.  He added that his seat is the closest one to the bench, and there you can hear everything, exactly the same as you would from the bench.  He also said he felt very “satisfied” that he can be useful for Madrid in this way.

Meanwhile, Aitor Karanka will speak to the press before this game, against his former team, tomorrow, as well as after the game.  UPDATE: the club’s pissed at the Antiviolence Committee’s decision to ask the Federation to sanction Mou, so they’ve canceled Karanka’s press conference today.  The official reason given is that they want to put the focus back on football.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. HermosaChica permalink
    November 18, 2010 11:45

    Yeah, I’d rather not discuss the Spain/Portugal match either. I was so let down that I could only manage to smirk a little when I saw shortless Iker.. And aww he gave them to a kid? I thought he gave them to Pepe. But still, a visible bulge is a visible bulge, no explanation needed. 🙂

    I’m so glad that Karim scored! He’s progressing slowly, but I can’t wait until he’s at full throttle!

    How adorable can Sergio get? I really love this guy. Lol, I was incredibly excited at the thought of him being in a calendar 😉 but then I realized it was something related to kids, so I became excited for very different reasons, hehe. I hope he wins the award! And I’m glad he’s not getting carded very often this season, but to tell you the truth, I get a tingle every time I see fierily Sexio on the pitch!

  2. November 18, 2010 13:27

    I am glad that we’ll be back to la Liga.

    As to Cristiano -his first disallowed goal would be a perfection, I hope he will try to score one like this in some of the Real matches. He did outplay few Barca players, but as usually I think Pique is the most difficult defender for him to fight with. I observe their fights with pure awe in my eyes, from the sports point of view, as it is amazing to watch and I hope we will see some beautiful confrontations in El Clasico as well.

    Sergio – oh how sweet is he? I have no words, he’s just adorbs. Hot and adorbs.

  3. November 18, 2010 13:53

    I literally dropped my jaw. He just gave his shorts to the kid cuz he asked for them? MAN I WANT THE NEXT ONES AND THE SHIRT TOO PLEASE!

  4. Jennifer permalink
    November 18, 2010 15:06

    Geri’s defending against Cris was absolutely brilliant last night, and in context I was very glad for it, but hopefully CR7 can fancify his footwork just a bit more before El Clásico…

    The boys in the rain is certainly a lovely sight – and I am growing to appreciate our very own Ginger Spice! I suppose if they don’t all wear Llorente-style shirts, then soaking wet is the next-best alternative.

    I kind of miss Sergio getting carded on the regular – because, really, angry Sergio only equals hotter Sergio – but it’s probably better for his record this way! As is being charitable and posing for adorable pictures with children… but would it be cheeky if I requested he pose for a fireman calendar next? (Preferably *being* a fireman!)

    • Lulja permalink
      November 18, 2010 15:36

      Thumbs up (sorry Una) for Llorente-Style-Shirts! At least, in addition to shortless Iker, one of the few positively breathtaking moments of yesterday.

  5. Luca00 permalink
    November 18, 2010 15:22

    Ummm, have we forgotten that there were almost as many Real Madrid players on Portugal’s squad list as there were on Spain’s?

    Can we maybe look at it like Real’s players did really well compared to Barça’s??

    • Reno permalink
      November 18, 2010 15:44

      Good point!! =D

    • Miria permalink
      November 18, 2010 16:30

      I agree with this. Pepe & Carvalho certainly defended well. Cris’s goal was beautiful (although it’s disallowed due to Nani’s mistake) I hope he can score against Barca XD
      I feel sorry for poor Iker, Sergio, Xabi, Alvaro & Albiol though.

  6. gabriela permalink
    November 18, 2010 16:29

    I was cheering for Portugal, but I was sad with the results. 4-0 was too much to handle, I wish Portugal had stopped at 2-0 😦 It was horrible to see Iker’s disappointed face.

    If Cristiano plays on the 29th exactly like he played yesterday, El Clásico’s ours already. The man was fierce yesterday!

  7. Maisoun permalink
    November 18, 2010 16:31

    Im so glad you are not posting about the Spain-Portugal game, I dont even want to think about it…Im afraid to say anything about it because Im sure I will just go on and on and on and on and on…and my mood will be shot for the day, so I wont say anything! Just gonna keep repeating “Back to La Liga, Back to La Liga.” Its making me feel better already 😉

    I too have dreamed of Sergio posing as a calendar boy….an entirely different calendar than this charity calendar though 😉 I think he would look just divine as Mr.January wearing nothing but birthday cake and holding a sign saying “Happy Birthday Maisoun!” (yes an entire calendar dedicated to me) and showing off that gorgeous smile of his ;D

    …gonna go watch the Sergio thigh gif now to further improve my mood…you’ve heard of emotional eating, well this is emotional Ramos-ing, guilt free! 😉

    • November 18, 2010 17:30

      emotional Ramosing- LOL! It works though;-)

      I second the motion to suggest to the calendar people that Serhio must for once pose as Mr January, The Fireman and many more. Well, they should just make one entire calendar of TheRamos. I would so buy it.

  8. Andie permalink
    November 18, 2010 17:23

    I was there yesterday (cheering for Portugal :P) and I was on Spain’s side of the field while they were warming up. I got a lovely video of Sergio Ramos stretching and showing us his backside 😉
    Anyway, I felt bad for Casillas after the third goal.. it was a nice game though, specially for me, being portuguese and all.

  9. Rojafan permalink
    November 18, 2010 18:38

    Oh thank you! I know how you feel about the game, but this post has cheered me up a little: 2–I enjoyed the Brazil-Argentina game so much more and would have enjoyed it regardless of the result. 4 & 5–A little Sergio news like this makes my day. Yes, we all love him and know what a sweetheart he is, but I’m so happy to see him getting good press and cleaning up his image, and getting fewer yellow cards.
    “Making off”, I love it. How can I get this calendar in North America?

  10. Kai permalink
    November 18, 2010 19:42

    I am happy with the result of the Portugal vs. Spain game. But it’ll take a long time for me to forgive Nani for preventing such a beautiful goal. Cris killed Spain. =)

  11. JulieFromParis permalink
    November 18, 2010 23:32

    Mixed feelings about last night, Spain :/ but France yeahhhh. As usual, u can count on me when it comes to highlight Karim’s good performances. Lo que no mata engorda. Siempre.

  12. November 19, 2010 13:41

    when is KAKA coming back in the games again?!…
    when will he be fine & out of injury?!!

Trackbacks

  1. in case you missed it – the leader edition « following Real Madrid…

Leave a Reply

