Skip to content

in case you missed it – the leader edition

November 21, 2010

In case you missed it – Real Madrid vs. Athletic Bilbao [2010-11-20].  Warning:  post is very gif-heavy.

Well, we all got our wish – we’re heading into the game against Barcelona as leaders of the Liga.

One. I could tell it was going to be a good game, judging by the players’ boots, or more specifically, the variety of colors, before the game started.  We have Cris in his safari boots, Pipita in bright green ones (they look like they should belong to Iker), Özil in pink ones, Xabi in classic black (I wouldn’t expect anything else from him), Khedira in bright blue, Ángel di María in yellow and Marcelo in light purple.

Meanwhile, Sergio Ramos’ boots have “A. Pepín” on them; I wonder what that means?  His headband has a more understandable “Sergio Ramos 4” on it.

Two. We scored five, and the celebrations were as great as the goals, from Di María jumping on Pipita to everyone (everyone!!!) rubbing Cristiano’s stegosaurus head.

Bonus Pipita here.  Sergio Ramos was excited about his penalty, and I love how Cris raised his arms at the exact same moment that the crowd rose to their feet.  It makes it look like he’s conducting them – he probably perfected his skills in the match against Sporting.

Three. Mou started the game in one of the palcos, but after eight minutes moved down to the stands, because he couldn’t get mobile phone coverage in the box.  It took him from the 8:35 minute mark to the 10:30 minute mark to get down there.  His new seat was the one he took against Murcia, specifically right next to the Madrid banquillo, in the first row.

Once installed in his seat, and flanked by several security personnel, he gave instructions, talking with everyone, from Rui Faria (who was tasked with transmitting his directions to Karanka), Dr. Hernández (who told him about Khedira’s leg pains) to subs Granero and Lass.  Love the hand gestures.  At the half, according to Cristiano, “Mourinho woke us up, because we came out relaxed.”

The fans LOVED him amongst them.  Someone even brought a poster of Mou to the stadium and displayed it behind him!  And when he left the game with several minutes remaining, people took photos, applauded and slapped him on the back.

What’s the point of Mou being suspended, if he’s just basically still directing Madrid from right next to the bench?  There’s no meaning in it.  In other sports, a suspended person is banned from the arena, which makes a lot more sense (though I do like having Mou still in charge).

Four. Cris was intense in this game, in his play and his reactions.  He was still hurting from the Portugal game, and at the start of the second half, the cameras caught him telling Xabi Alonso that he couldn’t stand it anymore.  But still, he soldiered on and finished the game.  Oh, and he scored a hat trick too.  Hats off to Cristiano.  He’s now the pichichi of the Liga but said after the game that it doesn’t matter to him, because his focus is on winning the Liga.  He also remarked that Barcelona’s 0-8 win doesn’t tell him anything, and added, “let’s see if they score eight against us on Monday” [cue Sport and/or Mundo Deportivo taking that out of context].

He also showed off some of his many skills.

Five. But maybe Cris was a bit too intense with the gestures.  Poor Andoni Iraola was on the receiving end of an accidental slap in the face by Cristiano, who then went over to see if he was ok.

Iraola ended up with blood on his face, and had to leave for treatment.  The same with Ricardo Carvalho, who can’t seem to get a break, since he also injured his face in the Atleti game.

Six. Marcelo and the Portuguese are very supportive of each other, from Cris checking to see if there was any damage done to Marcelo’s teeth to Carvalho offering him a shoulder to cry on.

Seven. Iker had a great, great game.  Joaquín Caparrós said after the game that Casillas was “Madrid’s best player in the game.  He’s always a determining factor against us, whether it’s in the Bernabéu or San Mamés.”  This game was Iker’s 250th win in the Liga, pushing him into sixth place on Madrid’s all-time list.  Fifth place isn’t too far away, since Fernando Hierro currently occupies that position with 251 wins.

Iker shouted “Alonso, Alonso” at one point, but it was nothing compared to the now-famous (at least on this blog) Guti, Guti, GUTI!!!  He also threw out a couple of intense looks.

Meanwhile, I was fascinated by the wind blowing at Iker.  Yes, I am easily amused, but this. is. Iker, and you all know how much I like him.

Eight. When Sergio Ramos stepped up to take the penalty, everyone was quite surprised.  After the game, he explained that he had asked Cristiano to let him take it (Cristiano is the first option, and Xabi Alonso the second) because he was having trouble finding the back of the net and wanted to get over that: “There’s usually an order to these things, but I was confident.  I wanted to score because I usually have a good goal average.  I hope this is the beginning of a good run.”  Meanwhile, Cris had this to say:  “Sergio told me, let me score, let me score and he’s a great friend and needed confidence.”

Aitor Karanka also weighed in on this turn of events, saying it was “a simple anecdote.  Cristiano is the one in charge of taking penalties, but Ramos asked him to let him take it, because he was confident he could make it.  They talked and Cristiano gave him the opportunity.  I don’t know what they said but we don’t have any problems with it… The míster was surprised, because he likes to control everything, and upon seeing something like this… but the important thing is that we made the penalty.”  See Mou’s reaction here, or keep scrolling down.

Here, we can see Cris and Sergio discussing who would take the shot (when Cris relented, he got a pat on the ass from Sergio), and Sergio’s concentration.

I love how when Sergio took the shot, Xabi was basically mirroring him behind him.  And Mou’s reaction is priceless – he yelled, “why did he take it?”

It was the first Spanish Madrid goal in the Liga (Pedro León, Xabi Alonso and Esteban Granero have scored in the Copa, and Pedro León in the Champions), and Sergio was the first defender to take a penalty since Fernando Hierro (who left Madrid in 2003).  Sergio’s reaction was, “it’s a nice detail, he’s a good friend and he was one of my idols.”

Nine. Bernabéu notes:  when the Barcelona score was flashed on the scoreboard, the Bernabéu faithful booed.  There were also various signs in support of Mou, including “adelante Mou, adelante Madrid” and “ni canalla ni violento, el Bernabéu a muerte con Mourinho,” as well as some accusing Preciado of being a crybaby.  Cris, Özil and Di María were frequently applauded for their interventions, and Özil, Khedira and Higuaín when they were subbed out.  Even Cristiano’s protests and Di María’s mistakes were applauded.  The Bernabéu was in a festive mood and it was contagious.  Let’s bring on Barcelona.

Ten. Front and back.™

I can’t resist.  I love Fernando Llorente.  (And Bones!)

And unfortunately, we only got the back of Álvaro Arbeloa, who started warming up at the end of the first half, but didn’t get into the game.

So, no front but I think we can all agree that simply the back is more than enough.

Eleven. Trend alert:  it’s the “in” thing to pull on your shirt when you’re frustrated.

Twelve. The Xabi Alonso pose section.™

What’s so interesting on his right?

He’s even got Cristiano copying him.  Xabi’s a trendsetter.

Thirteen. Some fans sang “Que viva España” so here’s the part dedicated to la selección. We have Fernando Llorente doing something, and using Pepe’s ass to get up off the ground.

There’s also the talking and hugs between the La Roja teammates during and after the game.

Fourteen. Random things that I thought were fun:

– how Amorebieta’s kinesio tape completely matched the stripes on his shirt.

– the similarity between Iker’s pose and a caganer (this is a picture of one of Iker from several years ago).

– Cristiano’s ridiculous tweets.  Barnabeu. Really, Cris (‘s publicist/PR person/Nike handler)?  And the other is self-explanatory.

Click!– Sergio’s tweets are much better.  First, he apologizes for not tweeting: “good morning to all my friends… I’m sorry for my absence these days, I’ll keep you all informed.”  He also tweeted about the penalty:  “with respect to the penalty, I wanted to score a goal and I was confident that I could… Mou wasn’t upset, he was just surprised… a hug.”

Then he talks about his charity work!  Left: “on Dec. 29 we’ll play the third Champions for Africa game in the Calderón.  We have to help Kanouté so that it will be a success.  I’ll see you all there!”  Right: “I’m happy to be a finalist in the Solidarity in Sports Awards.  I’m sure the other candidates deserve it as well.  I wish them luck.”  Caring and sweet, that’s our Sergio!

Fifteen. Looking ahead.

Sami Khedira left the game around in the 67th minute after feeling pain in his right thigh, and will miss the next game against Ajax on Tuesday.  Mou is also considering resting some players before the game against Barcelona, and among those players will be Higuaín, although the official excuse is that he’s suffering from lower back pains.

The team held a closed training session today.

49 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2010 15:24

    OMG CR letting Sergio have the penalty is just awwwwwwwwwwwwww. I LOVE THEM BOTH SO MUCH MORE NOW! ❤
    I have to say, when I saw that Sergio is the one to take it. My heart skipped a beat and I jumped out of my relaxed position. Thank God he scored or else Mou would have killed him. And is it me or does he really look prettier after he scored? He looks more relaxed and happy ❤ He's the sweetest person alive. ❤ And his tweets made me go awwwwwww.

    Oh and Crisy playing through the pain. I have so much more respect and love to him now ❤ I hate his tweets though. I tweeted a lame question for him. I hope he answers 😛

    This game was full of cuteness from all the players. I just love it. And I didn't mind one bit the fact that Llorente scored. He is too hot ❤

  2. RealLisa permalink
    November 21, 2010 15:45

    Yes, yes, yes! Thank you Cris!!! This is my Happy Sergio edition! Glad Mou’s not angry.. I’m very satisfied with the game and was enjoying every second of it.
    1. Ozil with pink boots? C’mon!!!
    3. Loved how the crowd around Mou were attentively listening when he was giving instructions to Karanka or the boys. I would have done the same.
    6. Awww cute Marcelo. It’s like he’s running into the arms of his older brother Cris. And his dad Carvalho. *melted*
    7. When I saw Iker shouting, I immediately thought about that “Guti, GUTI!” video and I laughed so hard, that my friends were looking at me like *wtf?!*. After the game, we went on youtube and played the video again and again. I can watch it 100 times, without becoming bored with it. God, I love Iker!
    10. No comment needed.
    12. “Xabi’s a trendsetter” – LOL, made my day!
    13. No tiene precio!
    14. I thought that someone’s running Cris’s twitter profile. Is he really capable of making THAT kind of mistake?! O.O? Yeah, ‘thank you’ Sexio…. I mean.. HEY!!! What about picture(s) or somth?!

    • Canederli permalink
      November 22, 2010 00:12

      Ozil has had and been wearing the pink boots almost all season.

      • RealLisa permalink
        November 22, 2010 17:09

        LOL, obviosly I haven’t realized.

  3. November 21, 2010 15:49

    oh,i am reading it on my phone so it will take forever to see the gifs but thanks for another report from the game!
    How great was this match, i loved it!!! I will be back to comment later when i see and read all, but let me just say, that my crush on Sexio even grew,he is so so pretty! And the game and the goals were so pretty too!

  4. sidney permalink
    November 21, 2010 15:50

    Awesome review as usual(I personally love the title).I didnt have the chance to watch the game later but I caught up wih the results this morning.How sweet of Cris to let Sergio take that penalty.I love all the bromances in this team and I also like the way that they function more as a team.I hope that on the next game Mou either rest Cris or make him play in the 1st half only so that he can be ready for El Classico(He is not fully recovered, but what a fighter he is:):):):)).
    San Iker awesome as usual:):):).I found our defense a little bit shaky 😦
    Beautiful goal celebrations.Cant wait for El Classico.Hala Madrid!
    Keep continuing what you do Una, you are doing a great job:):):):)

  5. UnamadridistaFAN permalink
    November 21, 2010 15:57

    I dont comment much often here or at all sometime but i really really love your blogs the la roja and madrid one even though am not madrid fan you made me have soft spot for them. Btw i had the pleasure in watching madrid game yesterday and it was sweet. I was waiting for your review so exciting and thank you very much. One thing you didnt add was my fav goal i had in the game was the second one Pipita passing to ozil and ozil giving a great assit to cris OMG that was a beauty if they can do that to barca then classico is gonna be fun.

    Cheers and Love you and your blogs.

    • November 22, 2010 02:03

      OMG I agree!! That goal was beautiful! The passing was superb! I had to go find that one online and replay it over and over again. 😀

      HALA MADRID!!

    • Deb permalink
      November 22, 2010 04:10

      The passing in that goal was brilliant wasn’t it?! I particularly loved Ozil’s pass…like it was no big deal to him…all in a day’s work. lol

  6. Kristine permalink
    November 21, 2010 16:14

    Ohhh, I loved this game. Friendly but challenging.

    So happy for Sergio! You could see that he has been frustrated about not getting any goals. His (and everyone’s) poor performance at the friendly must have taken a toll on him. Cris is a good friend and teammate to let him take that shot. I was soooooo nervous when he stepped up, but of course he did it! Lets hope this starts a trend!

    Poor Carvalho, everyone seems intent on bloodying his handsome face. I want to know why Marcello was crying on his shoulder! Really falling in love with Marcello by the way, I hope he gets a goal soon!

    Iker, Iker, Iker…That man is incredible! We do have the best goalkeeper in the world!

    I’m loving this team more and more every day, and loving this blog more and more every day!

    Thanks Una!
    p.s Thanks for the Tweet translations! I usually translate them on Google translate.

    I am loving all of these guys more and more. and I love this blog more and more everytime!

    Thanks Una!

  7. suzanne permalink
    November 21, 2010 16:23

    thanks una as always! we really need to find a way for you to meet and greet with all the guys or something for thanks for the amazing work that you do.
    i was flipping back and forth for this one (though i had it on record and watched it fully later) as my college team was playing our bitter rivals in american football. missed all of the goals except for llorente’s (and you can post as many pics as you want of him. he’s so pretty and tall and just yummy!!!) cute gifs of la roja boys together!!
    cris’s 2nd goal was such a beauty! AM SO EXCITED FOR SERGIO!!!! he really did need that and it’s so awesome that cris let him (after all we all remember the tiff last year over the free kick). it just looked like the weight of the world lifted off of his shoulders. (btw, i love bones too 😀 ).
    i think i’m learning to speak mou…b/c that’s exactly what i thought he was saying! lol!
    iker was great. llorente’s goal was a really great one, so you can’t blame too much on iker. i LOVE the yelling of ALONSO! though nothing can ever, ever, EVER beat GUTI (sob, i miss him!!)
    hope all our injured boys get some rest. inn fact, i think it’s a smart thing to rest as many players as possible. though i’d really like to stay undefeated, i’d rather be rested for el clasico. that will be a monster. i’m so nervous, but confident at the same time. i’ll have to watch the replay (errr, being on a monday when i’ll be in class >0 )

  8. mickymacky permalink
    November 21, 2010 16:24

    i really hope next time that The Sergio scores from open play…would love to see a backflip. actually any acrobatic celebration would do 🙂

    and “…the similarity between Iker’s pose and a caganer.”
    Too.FUNNY.
    my face is still hurting from trying not to laugh out loud coz people around me will get scared.

    • Deb permalink
      November 22, 2010 04:19

      Man…I was SO waiting for the flip! :'{ lol Someone else commented about it on his FB too.

      I was surprised that Sergio took the PK. I was torn between 1) Cris letting him take it since he’s been having a rough time scoring (2 missed headers in that game alone :{ ) or 2) Mou wanting to give other team members a chance to practice PKs so they’d be ready in a game situation (yeah…a stretch, I know 😀 ) Anway, kudos to Cris for letting him take it. Love how Cris was walking away behind the line of players while Sergio was taking it…kind of like…”I can’t watch. If he doesn’t make it, I’m SO dead!” lol

  9. Fathima Zahra permalink
    November 21, 2010 16:35

    wow, i love these posts so much, that’s exactly how my friends and i are during the games 🙂
    ” Xabi in classic black (I wouldn’t expect anything else from him)” hahaha (:
    btw. where are you from? just curious!
    loves x

  10. Sarah permalink
    November 21, 2010 16:56

    I love how intense Ronaldo is during the games…and I wish he would tweet himself, worst “tweets” ever! Thank you once again for another great ICYMI!!!

  11. November 21, 2010 17:16

    I have been waiting from the morning for dis article(As the matches in my country BANGLADESH r held at late night) so from the morning i have peeped in several times to see whether this match report article had arrived or not!Finally its HERE! 😀

    I just love this Special match Editions & the fantastic observations! 😀

    I m glad that REAL won & C.Ronaldo is ahead of Messi in the la liga scorer table! 😀
    CONGRATZ! HALA MADRID!

  12. isabel permalink
    November 21, 2010 17:28

    xabi alonso pose section’s always makes my days!

    thanks una! 🙂

  13. Cindy permalink
    November 21, 2010 17:44

    I have to admit that before the game I was nervous as hell, but after the 2 goals it was all good. Even when Bilbao scored it didn’t matter because I knew we had it in the bag. Hopefully everyone gets over their injury and are ready to go on Monday. Mou needs to rest Iker, Cris, from the CL game, but with Higuain out I doubt it.

    Great Job as always Una.

  14. Vigdis permalink
    November 21, 2010 18:00

    Thank you soo muchhh 😀 you’re awesome;)

  15. Maisoun permalink
    November 21, 2010 18:01

    Soooooo….A. Pepin huh? lmao I googled it (I had to) and this is what came up: “Pepin Distributing is a national leader in promoting alcohol abuse …” NOPE I dont think thats the meaning of Sergio’s shoutout hahaha

    Anyways…..SEXIO SCORED!!!!! I was like “Wait what is he doing?” then it was “Make it Make it Make it!!!” and then he did and I was screaming (on the inside, I didnt want to scare anybody) I was a little let down by his goal celebration though, he did look hot as hell, but I guess since he had no way of knowing he was going to take a penalty kick, he didnt have anything prepeared…

    Lol @ Cris’s angry reaction…I imagine that since his baby is getting older, he something quite similar when he’s angry 😉 Wouldnt it be awesome to see a side by side comparison?

    Yayyyyy!!!! We’re Leaders of La Liga!!!! Here we come Barca….BOOYAH!

  16. amouria permalink
    November 21, 2010 18:13

    I am always impressed by the quality of your posts. Lovely lovely, I wish that RM’s website emplies you to improve its really really “poor’ presentation of the great team. Thank you very much for your fantatstic work. I have posted your several coveres on my facebook http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Jose-Morinho-3/120486994632889

  17. Rebekah permalink
    November 21, 2010 18:15

    I absolutely love Cris’ attitude– letting Sergio take the penalty, saying he cares about winning the league, not the Pichichi, and of course the comment about Barcelona’s 8 goals. Hahah. He is right, though, Barcelona’s win yesterday really doesn’t tell us much. Almería and Bilbao are not comparable. But anyways, I’m not going to focus on Barcelona!

    Whatever the reason, I’m very glad Higuaín and Khedira are definitely being rested instead of playing Ajax, and I hope Mou will do a lot of subbing during the match… I’d be worried if I saw some of our other starters (Cris) playing more than half a match.

    I’m really glad Sergio scored… he was overdue for a goal and it’s great that he got that confidence boost after the bad game against Portugal.

  18. November 21, 2010 18:56

    My favorite part of the game was Iker shouting. I have to admit that I thought of “GUTIIII” first and then o wow this will be in the write up next. LOL!

    I love, love our team, but for the love of God let Cris, Carvalho & Ozil be rested for the next game. We have qualified, and quite honestly need them in perfect shape for the El Clásico.

    I’m super stroked about playing Barca. Our chances of winning seem to be really good, not to mention that my prayer of us going in as leaders has come true. Right now, I excited just also super nervous at the same time. Bad combo for my stomach and nerves.

    Una one big Q: Do you recommend us fans buying a stream for the El Clásico? I’ve been reading a lot about people buying streams on the various football comms I’m on, and I’m getting nervous. I really don’t want a stream that crashes or something. Also, if it isn’t too much of a problem, can you recommend a site that sells streams? I’m new to stuff like this. Thanks!

  19. Swedish permalink
    November 21, 2010 19:59

    Could you link the “Guti! Guti” shout from Iker? Would be fun to see it 😉

    Oh, and nice blog! I’m a Madridista from Sweden who checks out your blog daily, it’s great! But it seems like there are only females here? 😛 (I’m a male)

  20. mar permalink
    November 21, 2010 20:23

    cris’ tricks were amazing… especially how he hit the ball in the air, fantastic!
    I’m so happy that sergio scored and has his confidence back!
    “trendsetter” i still laugh with this so no more comments!!

  21. November 21, 2010 21:52

    I’m glad Sergio got the chance to score a goal! 🙂 I remember how I was cheering for him to be the one scoring the winning goal for Spain in the finals of the World Cup. And he almost scored on that game…

    Llorente is soooooooooooooooooooooo handsome! The nº1 most handsome football player award is a tie between Llorente and Yoann Gorcuff (Sorry Cris!).

    And I love Cristiano-Marcelo’s bromance. I can’t wait for Kaká to return and the bromance be comple! I’d love to see the Marcelo-Cristiano-Kaká ‘love’ triangle again.

    Have you guys seen the video of Mourinho and Marcelo joking around about Brazil vs Portugal rivalry and Cristiano taking Marcelo’s side? LOL It’s funny!:

    • HermosaChica permalink
      November 22, 2010 14:05

      Marcelo really does inject the life into training sessions, no? Lol! I love how Sami looks like he has no idea what’s going on 😆
      Thanks for the video!

  22. Michelle permalink
    November 21, 2010 21:53

    Aha! Jen and I were wondering if you were going to relax the Madrid focus to permit us a few gifs of Fer Llorente and Javi Martinez, and I am glad you did! 😀

    I’m not sure which is funnier, Stripey Amorebieta, or Caganer Iker. OK, Caganer Iker is ABSOLUTELY PRICELESS. (Is that doll on the right in blue really supposed to be him? They didn’t do a very good job with the resemblance! The face shape is all wrong…)

    “Alonso, Alonso” is just fundamentally not as much fun to yell as “Guti, Guti, GUTI! GUUUTIIII!” Iker should’ve gone with “Xabi, Xabi, XABI! XAAAABIIII!!!!” (Although I’m sure he wouldn’t have needed to yell it nearly as many times!)

    Looking forward to el clasico! 🙂

    • Jennifer permalink
      November 22, 2010 03:11

      Yeah, uh, I would very much like to insert myself into that .gif of Sergio, Javi, and Fer. Then I could just die happy.

    • emily permalink
      November 22, 2010 04:01

      Great post as always, Una. I told my husband that Serhio had a penalty kick and he asked if he did it with his shirt off………. hmmmm…. does he think that’s all I think about? !

      • emily permalink
        November 22, 2010 04:01

        oops I posted in the wrong place!!!

    • HermosaChica permalink
      November 22, 2010 14:02

      Actually, I usually hear Iker scream “Xabi”, not sure why he opted for “Alonso” this time.
      I also prefer “Xabi”: it sounds more brotherly. Heck, I’d prefer if he screamed “Sexio, Sexio, SEXIOOOO”! 😀

  23. Delicious permalink
    November 21, 2010 22:19

    – I was so happy that Cristiano gave the penalty to Sergio! That was really cute! That’s another evidence that Cristiano is not a selfish guy!
    – And I got even more happy when Sergio scored!
    – I looove the colored boots of RM!

  24. Michelle permalink
    November 21, 2010 22:36

    Speaking of Cristiano’s ridiculous tweets — I saw this one:
    “La pression en los partidos. Lutchar siempre para ser el mejor RT @angiealmeida992 @cristiano Que es lo mas dificil de ser futbolista???”

    Pression? Lutchar? Do y’all think Cris’s PR hack is an anglophone who can’t spell and doesn’t bother to check the dictionary before reproducing in text what (I’m guessing) Cris says out loud to him/her?

  25. Canederli permalink
    November 22, 2010 00:24

    Thank you so much Una for all your hard work on this blog. It’s a must read daily and I really appreciate all you do for us!

    Saturday was my birthday so I was really hoping for a win! The only thing that could have made it better was if Ozil scored, but I was so surprised and pleased that Sergio did! That was really sweet of Cris to let him take the shot. I love how the team seems to be really supportive of each other.

    I’m really worried about Sami – I hope he’s doing better. I agree with everyone else – I hope Ozil, Pipita, Cristiano, etc. are rested so they are in perfect shape for El Classico.

    I lurve Marcelo, he seems like an absolute sweetheart and it’s obvious that the team adores him too.

    Xabi & Iker are always perfection in my book.

    I’m the only Real fan at my pub (everyone else favors Barca or just hates Real on some principle, which is annoying) and so I get a lot of stick for supporting them, but I don’t care. I wear my shirt and cheer loudly with pride. Even some of the haters are starting to come ’round and can admit to some of the good qualities of the the players and Mou. I’m certainly not expecting conversion, that would be unrealistic, but since I don’t slag off their team (except for good natured “We’re going to kick your arse in El Classico” trash talking) or players off, we’re actually starting to have some good discussions about footy. It’s nice. That said, we are SO going to kick their arse in El Classico! 😉

    • suzanne permalink
      November 22, 2010 01:23

      i completely hear you on being the only rm fan where you watch. the guys i know, it’s 1 actual barca fan, some barca fanboys (there really is a difference) and people who don’t like madrid b/c they’re facist ::rollseyes:: one of them came around when ozil and sami came b/c he supports germany and really likes the 2 of them, but he’s primarily a bayern fan

      • canederli permalink
        November 22, 2010 18:28

        I am soooooo sick of the “facist” argument. I get that one all the time. Franco has been dead since 1975. Let. It. Go. It’s really frustrating.

  26. Ava Mendez permalink
    November 22, 2010 01:46

    What languages does each player speak? That would be a really cool article segment thing for you to make!!
    just an idea. hahha

    I LOVE YOUR BLOG!!!

  27. Mary permalink
    November 22, 2010 03:23

    I heard he started in the box because there were a ton of photographers and reporters waiting for him pre-match on the field right in front of his seat, so since he only went down there a few minutes into the match, once they all left the pitch, he didn’t have to deal with them. Another genius move by the Special One!

  28. Deb permalink
    November 22, 2010 04:38

    Awww man. I forgot that Marcelo has braces. I bet that really hurt when he got popped in the mouth. But the pictures of him, Cris & Carvalho are adorable! Marcelo in general is just adorable.

  29. HermosaChica permalink
    November 22, 2010 14:19

    As always, there’s SO much to comment on, but I’ll have to condense my response this time.

    Oh. My. God..I can stare at Pipa’s belly button ALL freakin’ day! I’m absolutely captivated by that bonus photo. Thank you, thank you and thank you, Una!

    I forced myself into bed after the first half (but Twitter was ever-present on my phone right by my side). So when I found out Sergio scored, I shot out of bed and ran straight to the TV! I’m incredibly happy for sweet Sexio! 😀

    Finally, LOL at the Iker doll!

    • Lulja permalink
      November 22, 2010 20:28

      Same here! I just couldn’t stay up anymore, even though the match seemed SO interesting. And, as always, the parts you miss are the BEST ones (e.g. Sergio scoring [??!?!?!? ♥]).
      Fortunately, in such cases, we have the ICYMI! Dear Una, Real Madrid should pay you for all that. simply. gorgeous. summaries. Gracias!

      This Clasico is going to be one of the best ever. Don’t you feel it as well?

  30. emily permalink
    November 22, 2010 18:36

    Having a hard time un-seeing that Iker poopy doll. 8^{

  31. Jenny permalink
    November 22, 2010 18:48

    The person to Xabi’s right (and the person he’s making eyes at) is Mesut (and who can blame him?).

    Xabi is staring at the ball, staring back at Mesut, staring at the ball, and then sort of nodding – all fairly obvious. It’s at this moment that everyone in the stadium knows precisely who will take the free kick, because our boys are not very good at subterfuge.

    The fact that I know this from a short gif a couple of seconds long after only seeing the game once is fairly frightening. I think I’m obsessed.

  32. Jennifer permalink
    November 22, 2010 21:36

    Oh my goodness… this match was utter brilliance, in every way. (Except that there was an extremely severe dearth of shirt-removing.) It provided so many wonderful ogling opportunities, plus 3 points.

    Sergio’s personalized headbands are adorable; they remind me of schoolchildren who have to have their names on all their stuff so it doesn’t get lost! :-p I guess he doesn’t want Sami or Mesut to accidentally wear his accessories?

    When he went to take the penalty, I was like… huh?! It took a minute to even realize that he was taking it, because I’m so used to it being Cris or Xabi, and I was really confused! (Xabi running at the same time did NOT help matters.) And then I was nervous because oh god what if he doesn’t make it?! But then he did and all was right with the world, except that he didn’t pull up his shirt to celebrate. Hopefully that helped erase the memories of not-scoring at the WC and, uh, scoring for Portugal the other day…

    Cris’s acting skills were on FULL display – not that he doesn’t get legitimately fouled quite frequently, but sometimes he just makes a West End production out of a stumble! He provided quite a lot of laughter.

    I was secretly happy when Llorente scored (I can’t help it, his hotness overwhelms my ability to think clearly!), but greatly displeased that the stripeyness of the shirts interferes with all of their best qualities, namely, enhanced ab-ogling.

    (Also I was confused by the Bones thing, and thought – is Fer going to be in Bones? That would be awesome! Then I saw the ad on the screencap… not nearly as exciting. But I would freaking love an episode guest-starring the boys of La Roja! They would make great suspects, or hilarious squinterns!)

    Last but not least – I thought Cris checking on Marcelo’s lips was really cute and big-brotherly (and having once got hit in the face while wearing braces, I know how much that HURTS, so I applaud Marcelo for not breaking down in tears…).

    All in all, a pretty good match – and a fantastic roundup, as usual! Thanks again for everything you do!

    • Maisoun permalink
      November 23, 2010 15:14

      “Sergio’s personalized headbands are adorable; they remind me of schoolchildren who have to have their names on all their stuff so it doesn’t get lost!”

      —I bet he has a pretty little glitter case that he carries his headbands in too! Too bad he’s so stingy, Im sure Sami would love to trade accesories with him in the locker room 😉

Leave a Reply

