Skip to content

in case you missed it – the whispering edition

November 24, 2010

In case you missed it – Ajax vs. Real Madrid [2010-11-23].

Almost forgotten in all the debate and uproar about whether Xabi Alonso and Sergio Ramos deliberately sought out yellow cards in order to have a clean slate for the next round is the fact that Madrid won this game 4-0, and behind some sublime goals.  Speaking of goals, they also achieved their two-fold goal, which was to advance to the round of 16 and win their group.

One. Fun pregame moments: Sergio emulating Rafa Nadal, our players looking good while warming up, Sergio’s smile at the kid who accompanied him out on the field and that other big kid, Marcelo, with his Vicks and his smirk.

Two. The goals were great, the celebrations even better.  Here are the first two goals: Benzema’s goal, off a great flick by Özil, and Arbeloa’s long-distance missile of a goal.

As said above, the celebrations were epic!  Álvaro celebrated his goal with the bench – look at how happy everyone is, jumping up and down and rubbing heads.  Then for Cristiano’s first goal, he celebrated by dancing his way over to a waiting Pepe and collapsing into a three-person hug with him and Marcelo.  I wonder if Kaká will have trouble integrating himself back into that group once he returns?

Álvaro also dedicated the goal to his daughter.  And Mesut Özil did his best to put the focus on him during Arbeloa’s goal celebration – check it out.

More pictures of Cris celebrating his first goal here and here.  I refuse to post anything about Cris’ second goal, because he did this right after.

Sergio did say that he wouldn’t have minded taking the penalty, but since Cris is in the fight to become the top goalscorer, he took it.  Sergio added that Cris was absolutely not upset the other day when he asked to be allowed to take the kick.

Three. The referee was a bit card-happy, resulting in these looks of exasperation and disbelief from Cristiano and Xabi.

Four. Iker wore long sleeves for the first time in a very long time.  He’s back to being very green as well, as you can see from the gloves and the boots.  And perhaps his face was green at some point too, because he had stomach problems the previous night, and even vomited, but recovered by game time.  Iker played all 90 minutes of the encounter without any problems and was happy with the result.

He really has the most perfect profile.

Five. Quote of the day – Sergio spoke with El Larguero after the game, and provided the quote of the day when asked if he dreams at night about Messi.  Sergio’s answer?

No way, I always dream of nice things, such as winning at home.

Six. There was a lot of speculation on whether Xabi and Sergio had forced their second yellow cards.  The supposed sequence of events resulting in the second yellow cards went down like this.  They had both received one yellow card each earlier in the match.

In the 67th minute, Xabi receives his first yellow card.  Right after that, in the 68th minute, with Madrid up 2-0, and Madrid’s chances of advancing to the next round and heading their group quite secure, Mou starts talking to team delegate Chendo.  In the 72nd, he’s spotted whispering with Dudek on the bench (all of this is accomplished with hands over mouths, so that no one (i.e. Cuatro) will be able to employ their lip readers to figure out what is being said).  In the meantime, Madrid has scored another goal, putting them up 3-0.

Taking advantage of the play being at the other end of the field, Dudek goes over to Iker in the 74th minute.  He brings him some water, and the two of them talk.  In the 78th minute, Iker runs over to Sergio and starts whispering in his ear.  Sergio listens intently (I assume, judging by that look of utter concentration on his face).  I love how the two of them just so naturally put both their hands/gloves around each other.

Xabi Alonso (87th minute) and Sergio Ramos (91st minute) are both subsequently carded for delaying the game, and since those were the second yellow card for both, they were expelled.  This means they won’t be able to play in the last game of the group round, but clears them, card wise, for the next round of the Champions League, the round of 16.

Here we see the delaying tactics employed by Xabi (looking like he’s having a seizure while running up to kick the ball) and Sergio (adjusting his socks), and their walks of shame.

Iker told RTVE after the game that this was basically the strategy: “these are things that happen on the field.  Dudek passed on to me instructions for a player on the field.”  However, this was denied by the others.  Mou said it wasn’t the case, expressed his anger that his players were carded, and said he didn’t like being carded for wasting time: “the expulsions were a result of an easy game where the referee carded people for strange reasons.  I don’t like these types of cards.”  And so by the time Iker reached the mixed zone, his version had become, “Dudek asked me about my stomach problems and then later I told my teammates to be careful.  What I told Ramos was to keep an eye on a forward who was advancing a lot on his wing.”

Sergio confirmed this version, saying, “Casillas and I talked about his stomach problems… we weren’t looking to receive cards.  We cover our mouths when we speak because the cameras can capture all the conversations and there are private things that only the players should know.”  And later on El Larguero, he stressed that no one had talked to him about provoking cards.

Raúl Albiol added, “I wasn’t aware of anything.  I didn’t see any orders.  We did notice a delay in the free kick of Xabi and the same with Ramos, but nothing more than that.”

Seven. When Cristiano felt that he had been harshly fouled and expressed his discontent to the Ajax player who had tackled him, the rest of the team came running up to get involved.  It’s Xabi and Lass, then Sergio and Marcelo, here comes Arbeloa and then Pedro León and Özil arrive to join the party.  Cris wants to show where he had been tackled, so he rips down his sock to show off his leg.  I love the part where he turns around and sticks his leg out and points at it!  (I can totally see Crackòvia Cristiano doing that.)  It’s certainly an attention-getter.

Eight. Cris shows off another skill in his repertoire, a rabona, and does us all a favor by pulling up his shorts while protesting.  Do your shirt next, please.

And when he wasn’t getting knocked down and kicked in the legs, his eyes and his back were hurting.  Pobrecito.

Nine. Sergio: Oh Cristiano, this smoke is giving me giggle fits!

Cristiano: Like the actress who played Ally McBeal, Calista Flockhart… You have no idea what I just said to you, do you.

Ten. He got to start the game, and he made the most of it, including making his case to be on Baywatch.  I also love this moment where Álvaro was writhing on the ground in obvious pain, but the medical staff on his team and his coach just kind of stroll over slowly and casually to take a peek at him, as if they know he’s not seriously injured.

Eleven. David Mateos made his Real Madrid debut in the 81st minute, when he went in for Lass.  After the game, he said, “I’m never going to forget this opportunity that the míster gave me.  He has a lot of faith in me and I thank him for that.  I’m going to get all my teammates to sign my shirt, and then I’m going to frame it… I thought about my entire family, my girlfriend and everyone who’s supported me throughout the years… this was something that we’ve fought for since I was a kid.”  Congratulations David!

Álvaro Morata wasn’t so lucky in this, his first call-up with the first team.  He was crossed off from the final game list, along with Antonio Adán.

Twelve. Our cold looking bench.

Thirteen. Zidane was at the game!  First he’s not there, then he’s there.  Then he’s cold, and then he’s not.

He arrived later than the others in the palco as he had been down on the field chatting with the players and the technical team.

Fourteen. Here are two players who don’t get too much playing time, so I have to give them their moments when I find them.  Raúl Albiol and Pedro León.

Fifteen. The Xabi Alonso pose section.™

He’s taught Sergio well.

Sixteen. Mou was quite composed (for him) during the game, perhaps because he knew he had father Xabi on the field.  Well, when father Xabi wasn’t busy getting annoyed.

By the way, when Xabi went down at one point during the game, the entire bench rose up to see if he was ok, since they know that no one can replace Xabi Alonso.

After the game, Mou had good things to say about his substitute players, some of whom started today:  “the response of players such as Arbeloa, Benzema, Albiol and Lass, who don’t normally play and responded wonderfully, made me happy.  I know that I can use every single person on this team… all the players are fundamental for me.  Each one is going to have his opportunity.”

Seventeen. Looking ahead: the team has the day off today (that means that Iker can stay at home and enjoy Sara’s new boobs, while Cris can spend the day calming down his girlfriend – link is a bit NSFW), with training resuming Thursday for Monday’s game against Barcelona.  Let’s go Madrid!!

50 Comments leave one →
  1. kid permalink
    November 24, 2010 13:36

    I’m a fan of RM, but if the speculations are true then I am really quite disappointed. I know people are saying technically they did nothing wrong, that other teams are doing it too, that Ajax wouldn’t win anyway even if there wasn’t any time-wasting, but that doesn’t make it right. Just my opinion, mind you, but I think it was disrespectful to the other team.

    • mumblo permalink
      November 24, 2010 17:01

      I feel the same way, kid. I wonder what Xabi will say when/if he speaks of the occurrence. I am most surprised to see this type of strategizing from him; I would’ve assumed he’d be too forthright for it.

      • goldengirlsk permalink
        November 26, 2010 05:37

        For some reason it really bothers me when ppl are saying this whole thing (if true) makes Xabi “unclassy”. It doesnt. He really didnt have much of a choice in the short time to make a decision. He choices were 1) listen to Mou’s orders and get suspended for 1 match bc of the red card or 2) ignoring Mou orders and most likely upsetting him and possibly not playing for the next game (or more like P. Leon).
        Also its not like Xabi choose to hurt someone as means of getting the yellow card. He choose the “classiest” way of getting a yellow card.

        HOWEVER I am quite disappointed that neither Sergio or Xabi choose to get a yellow card by removing their shirts. *sigh* what a shame….

  2. sidney permalink
    November 24, 2010 14:10

    Poor Cris:( He is always fouled by other players and those players always seem to get away with it.I love 1 and 8 and I love all these players.Oh I also had to add that Im so happy for benzema and ozil that pass was a BEAUTY:):):).
    I am very confident for el classico.I think that we are going to do a great job:):):):)
    Do u know Una if there is open training today or is it tomorrow?And last but not least thank u :):):):)

    • November 24, 2010 14:15

      As mentioned at the end of the post, the players have the day off today, with training resuming tomorrow. The session will be open to the press during the first 15 minutes.

  3. Danny permalink
    November 24, 2010 14:19

    Once again,great job with the posts Una.You do a wonderful job here!
    What’s your twitter name? I recommended this blog to my madridista friends on there!

    My username is @DsaysDanny.

  4. November 24, 2010 14:41

    I really enjoyed the game yesterday. I was really upset though, with the red cards, but now that I’m presuming that it was done for a purpose, it’s cool with me. After all we aren’t the only team whos’e done this. AND we have a clean sheet for the next level so it’s all win as far as I’m concerned.

    What I really did not understand was why the heck wasn’t Cris subbed out? It was obvious that he was in pain, and to get carded when he was fouled just added insult to injury!

  5. Evita permalink
    November 24, 2010 14:53

    Great post! I was a little irritated (to say the least) when Sergiheaux got red carded. Then even more irritated when I realized he was screwing around with his socks. I was like, please tell me you did not just get red carded for a pair of socks? Not that happy, then someone explained the strategy. It’s a bit sketchy, but hey no one got hurt, so do you RM

  6. November 24, 2010 14:54

    Great as always!

    I am especially happy for Alvaro, his goal was beautiful, so was the reaction, very good for him!!!

    The Father Xabi is recently an angry father, don;t you think? I do not know what it is but it seems to me that, while playing more excellent with each game, he also became kinda more agressive. Maybe it’s just a phase. Anyway, the pic when he’s shown a yellow card and still posing is PRICELESS.

    I also hope that he would teach Sergio a bit about not only posing, but choosing the clothes. Sergio, who btw, looks more yummy with each game, I just really wanna hug him! And of course, I envy both him and Iker for an opportunity to hug eachother. Sweet boys!

    Last but not least: Cristiano’s reactions are awesome, Mesut plays magically and the club should be called “Yeah, We Are 4Real” , as they manage to score 4 goals in so many games!

    *back to staring at the gifs*

  7. suzanne permalink
    November 24, 2010 15:04

    thanks una!! as always! i nerded out yesterday and went and saw harry potter instead of watching the match, and i haven’t been able to watch the replay yet. saw the scoreline and am proud of our guys! as for the double yellow/reds…it happens. everyone does it. do i like it? not really, but it happens all the time.
    i love, love, love #9. lol.

    congrats david!!

  8. Anon permalink
    November 24, 2010 15:11

    Sergio looking good as always. Cristiano getting fouled as always. And Xabi posing like a model as always. I LOVE THEM!

  9. November 24, 2010 15:17

    For a second there, I thought Iker and Sergio were gonna kiss! Haha.

    I never really liked Sara, but I appreciated the fact that she wasn’t like the typical WAG. But this boob job totally changes my opinion of her. Not that she knows me or it matters in the grand scheme of things, but still. Ewwww.

    That was a rare slip on Iker’s part, though, letting it slip that the yellow cards were deliberate. As captain, he should have known better.

    • emily permalink
      November 26, 2010 04:09

      I agree – selling out… I wonder who’s BIG idea it was?

  10. Kristine permalink
    November 24, 2010 15:28

    There is so much talk about the red cards! Do you think there is cause to worry? Technically, they can’t be punished for this because there is no rule against it?

    I’m worried!

    Otherwise, It was a fun game to watch.

    So much more to say, but gotta get ready for work…

    Thanks, UNA!

  11. sergiolover permalink
    November 24, 2010 15:37

    I love watching the matches and trying to guess which moments are going to make Una’s recap!

    Una, thanks again for all your work putting together the madrid and con la roja blogs!

    • emily permalink
      November 26, 2010 03:50

      i do that too!! it’s like we want to read her mind……. =-]

  12. Lulja permalink
    November 24, 2010 16:08

    I was laughing so hard when Xabi and Sergio got expelled! The whole thing seemed too obvious to me (okay, probably to everyone).
    Again, a masterpiece of a summary – and the title couldn’t have been chosen better.

    By the way, I love the contrastful/more saturated .gifs and pics! Especially the one of Iker’s boot, it emphasizes the green even better.

  13. UnamadridistaFAn permalink
    November 24, 2010 16:09

    @ Kid I feel your disappointment, but when you are in a deep hole like madrid were you cant afford to lose your best players for important games. I mean the ref was handing yellow cards to madrid players all over so Jose used the rules to his advantaged nothing wrong with that. I hear UEFA are invesitagating I mean come of For God’s sack. Barca did it last year in UEFA and LA LIga so when madrid does it all hell breaks loose. I mean every team has done it one time or another UEFA will only break their rules if the sanction madrid for doing that. And the media sure likes adding fuss on everything.

    This New Madrid Means business and i clearly cant remember madrid team doing this ever. They are in this to win from the beginning. OZIL Was man of the match for me and the team did great without most of their starting 11 team. GOod Job to them!!!!!!!

    Cheers & Best of Luck

  14. UnamadridistaFAn permalink
    November 24, 2010 16:13

    Ahaa i forgot one more thing. Ronaldo should have done that as well since he was carded for no reason and will carry that yellow card with him to round of 16. But then there would have been more fuss.

    Loool I love the jealousy of teams when they see how madrid are serious this year. Enjoy good football ppl. I for one cant get enough of this team they are growing on me mainly because am an admirer of mourinho ever since Porto him and carvalho.

  15. Hala Madrid permalink
    November 24, 2010 16:40

    Sara has new boobs? That link doesn’t show pics, how do we know for sure?!

  16. Laura permalink
    November 24, 2010 16:47

    Well, I have nothing against Mourinho’s idea to protect Xabi and Sergio for the round of the last 16. It’s not the first time that something like this happens. It was just too obvious. And that’s the point where the idea is disrespectful.
    But basically it doesn’t matter. We are qualified and that counts.

    Oh and seriously Sara has new boobs? What the hell was she thinking?!

  17. mumblo permalink
    November 24, 2010 16:56

    This is my first time commenting, so I want to begin by thanking you for your consistently wonderful ICYMI’s. Regarding Sixteen, I think I reacted the same way the bench did when Xabi went down. Seeing him grab his ankle gave me a panicked flashback to when he broke it. Was it just me, or did he seem like he was limping a bit when they came out for halftime — when Mou met him at the stairs and walked/talked with him to the pitch (because he’s the father)

  18. amouria permalink
    November 24, 2010 16:59

    Dear Una,
    I used to check your blog in the morning, to get my favourite breakfast, but, sorry, last night I had a wonderful dinner with RM, so could not do any thing this morning except smiling and remembering the wonderful moments. Now, I am hungry again, went to your blog and found this wonderful meal. Wow, this variety of scenes, comments, analysis….what is this? you are really really fantastic artist. Unlike other ‘boring’ blogs, you keep the excitement until the last word. Thanks a lot,,,

  19. JulieFromParis permalink
    November 24, 2010 17:24

    Et une OLA pour Benzema!!! For sure, there are quite a lot of coaches who would die for a quality bench like this one….

    Im pretty sure there was kinda strategy about cards, their aftergame talks were so lame (sweet though… but lame), and i still dont know what to think about it… Not so good to me.

    Funny how Sergio just glows when he’s surrounded by kids. Looks like he can’t wait to have one 🙂

    Hate being judmental, S Carbonero + boob job = WTF?? Can’t she see how beautiful she already is??? I thought she was more of the natural type… 😦

  20. ami permalink
    November 24, 2010 17:24

    Great game overall. Surprisingly, not so much celebration for Benz’s goal by our standard, at least on TV. They did congratulate Benz anyway but I noticed during Benz celebration with Alvaro, Sergio, Xabi and Marcelo (if I’m not mistaken) rushed from the middle of the field straight towards Mesut instead of attacking Benz first. Mesut did deserve to be praised for pulling off a la Guti backheel though. I suggest, next time he scores, Benz should immediately make contact with the assist maker; run, point, wave, bear hug or blow some kiss so we could see some big group r-scenes before the replay. I am happy that our sub players did well. At least, I won’t worry too much if any of our starters could not start, well, except for Xabi. Can we clone him or something?

    Regarding the fiasco, absolutely I, as a good citizen (heck yeah) would not condone, if true, probably true, these intentional cards . I agree that such action should be punished, but I would not agree banning a few games as the punishment.
    1. This is not the first time this situation happens and I don’t remember someone being banned after his purposeful bookings, but my RAM is pretty low.
    2. Their actions will never change the outcome of the game nor successfully put someone in the hospital.
    3. I believe hand job, diving or breaking someone’s leg are the better ways of getting the second yellow (their acting were lolworthy), but these are worse than delaying the game. And there are players who got away with those conducts (especially hand balls) and worse, the result of the games favored them.
    4. I don’ t think there’s a special clause in FIFA’s rules about deliberate cards, so this is the weakness of the organization if the hole in the rules being manipulated by not only RM but many others before. Thus, they need to improve the rules but of course, it would not take immediate effect.

    The appropriate punishment for now imo is to fine the club, as this had been done before towards something like this. I don’t like what they did, but I also dislike the fact that it is Real Madrid and Jose Mourinho that this becoming a very high-profile case.

  21. mickymacky permalink
    November 24, 2010 17:25

    despite the commentators absolutely disdaining the time-wasting by xabi and sergio, I must say that xabi’s spastic will-I-or-will-I-not-kick-it move was utterly hilarious 🙂 even when the ref went over to wave a yellow card, i was still laughing my ass off.

    priceless. utterly priceless.

    as they say, it’s another memorable gif of a very entertaining game 🙂

    anyways, for me xabi (barring the sending off) and diarra were tremendous in the pitch. and oezil, well… i’m just loving the german as this season goes on.

    oh yeah… arby, congrats on that goal! what a strike!

    and though i’m not a diehard fan, i’m sorta kinda glad that cris got to have his 2 goals. all the constant heckling whenever he so much as had a sniff of the ball grated on my nerves.

    and i LOVE this away kit. made me remember that i’m gonna miss that La Roja navy jersey…

  22. mar permalink
    November 24, 2010 17:28

    great review una (as always), i lol at nine! sooo good!
    i loved the way ozil passed the ball to Benzema. but it is not his only skill: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3okQim4sORc
    i don’t have a problem if the red cards where a tactic, cause this means that both of them will play in the round which now is more important.
    and i bet that crackovia cris will do that with the sock soon.

  23. November 24, 2010 17:39

    Are you a writer/journalist?
    Your posts are wonderful & so funny.
    thank you.

    • November 25, 2010 07:11

      No, I have zero journalism experience!

      • Lulja permalink
        November 25, 2010 16:30

        Probably because you have your own writing style which is unique and cannot be taught.

  24. November 24, 2010 19:52

    i literally said to my tv ” i love you sergio ramos” right after he gets his red card and he goes and shakes the ref’s hand lol i loved that moment

  25. Jules permalink
    November 24, 2010 20:22

    “that means that Iker can stay at home and enjoy Sara’s new boobs”, jejejeje! I read that when I first woke up and misread it as Sara’s new boots and thought it was strange you mentioned Sara buying yet another pair of ugly shoes. It was much better when I read it a second time. Your deadpan way of phrasing it killed me!

  26. Rebekah permalink
    November 24, 2010 21:14

    Sara got a boob job?!

    I was on a flight home during the match, so I am veryyyy grateful for this ICYMI!

    Everyone needs to stop freaking out about Xabi/Sergio. I’m sure this will just be used as ammunition for the pre-Clásico arguing.

    Can’t wait for Monday… I hope Khedira and Higuaín are feeling better with their resting.

  27. November 24, 2010 21:19

    I’m happy to have found your blog– top quality information and very entertaining, too. I am especially grateful (pre-Thanksgiving, don’t you know) to have your ICYMI posts since unfortunately I don’t get to see as many matches as I’d like. Keep up the great work and thanks!

  28. November 24, 2010 22:18

    This match was brilliant as usual. Poor Cris. He totally did not deserve that yellow card. But he -or his PR person- is really starting to pissing me off on Twitter. WTF should I do to get him to replay to me?

    I absolutely LOVED Arbeloa’s goal. And glad to see Ozil lost his lil tummy. Can’t wait for him to rock some abbs.

    Sergio’s red card was so freaking funny and then he went to shook the referee’s hand. ❤
    The commentator was really pissed at the time wasting saying it's cheating and what so ever but it's not.

    Great post as usual. Thank you Una. 🙂

  29. November 24, 2010 22:20

    Oh and about 9, did CR and Sergio really say that to each other? LOL

  30. Hala_Madrid permalink
    November 24, 2010 22:49

    Hey you guys, did anybody else noticed Arbeloa’s new hair do? i thought he looked so cute : ) but i thought maybe next time he can ask Cris for some of that special gel because it didn’t last him long lol.

  31. Maisoun permalink
    November 25, 2010 01:04

    Aaaah Una since you put so much into your ‘ICYMI’ posts, I feel I must do my part and leave an equally long comment 😉 just kidding I will do my best to condense!

    “Sergio emulating Rafa Nadal” —LMAO! At least we know Sergio wears underwear now, I really was beginning to wonder….;)

    Awesome goals yesterday, so happy for Benz and ARBELOA!! Wow what a nice shot! Im sure he wouldve liked to TWEET his goal celebration haha he’ll be needing to teach his daughter how to tweet so she can update everyone while he’s playing 😉

    The little goal dances that Pepe, Cris, & Marcelo do makes me wonder if they take those moves to the club lol

    NOW….Iker & Sergio’s whispering…..they did look like they were running towards each other for a mid match smooch, no? 😉 Oh how I would love to be on the receiving end of one of Iker’s whispers….or just to be in his place and whisper in Sergio’s ear lol I THINK WE’VE FOUND A NEW JOB! Real Madrid ‘Secret Play Whisperer’ haha

    I honestly do not care if Xabi & Sergio intentionally sought to get carded…Im just bummed that the two of them will be out for the Auxerre game—which means there will be no ‘Xabi Alonso Pose Section’ in the next days ‘ICYMI’ post and no ‘Front & Back’ of Sergio 😦 BOO! …but anyways were’nt those the most beautiful Walks of shame you’ve ever seen?! Im going to pretend that their Red Cards were for being wayyy too sexy, the ref couldnt handle it so he got rid of them! …..but for future reference, Sergio please wait until the camera is off you to blow your moquitos out 😉

    • HermosaChica permalink
      November 26, 2010 10:01

      “At least we know Sergio wears underwear now, I really was beginning to wonder….;)” — actually, Sergio’s panty lines (lol) are always visible when he wears the home kit, not that I wait for a shot to check..

      • Maisoun permalink
        November 26, 2010 23:23

        hahaha “panty lines” that cracked me up! I had doubts about his panties after the thigh/ass flash…you’ve just crushed my “Sergio goes commando” dreams 😦 off to do some emotional Ramos-ing

  32. ulong permalink
    November 25, 2010 01:39

    hi Una..
    I didn’t miss the game, becoz I watched it, but I DO MISS your blog.
    Nice job [again]. You are the best.
    Btw, I highly recommended this blog to many of my friends, including to non-Madridista friends.
    And you know what? they love it 😀

  33. Jennifer permalink
    November 25, 2010 01:40

    “No sueño con Messi, sueño con cosas bonitas” – that quote made my freaking LIFE. The magical way-with-words of Sergio Ramos, y’all!

    I’m unimpressed by the outcry over the cards – they were bad boys, they got punished for it, and if they cynically used the existing disciplinary rules to their own advantage, at least they didn’t involve anyone else’s ankles in doing so. (Plus, it provided some nice extended posing footage, for which we must all be thankful.)

    I was super contenta that Arbeloa scored, but his Baywatch audition needs a little work. ¡Chin up, espartano!

    All in all, a good match, 3 more points, and lots of lovely sights to enjoy throughout. And of course, a roundup that puts the best moments in one handy post! Thanks again for this!

  34. November 25, 2010 03:26

    Iker vomiting.sexy 🙂

  35. emily permalink
    November 25, 2010 06:06

    It is really quite disturbing how often CR is tackled without getting the call. All that diving has lead the refs to believe that he’s just crying wolf, I guess. You can definitely see why he is getting frustrated with it all. It would be nice if he would just go about playing the game and not gesticulate every time he gets taken down.

    • November 25, 2010 10:42

      I agree. He is, well, sometimes, such a diva on the pitch,his tantrums or however we call it, are hilarious.
      But he’s right sometimes too. I mean, he really gets fouled and some of those fouls are pretty nasty, but it seems like the referees often assume that nothing happened and Crispy’s just being Crispy.

  36. Jean permalink
    November 25, 2010 07:21

    I don’t know. I’m kind of on the fence about the whole red card situation. While I understand that it was so deliberate and dumb, I however don’t believe that it was disrespectful in anyway. I mean honestly, were they gonna score 4 goals or even 5 goals in those last few minutes of the game? I understand completely why Mou wanted them to get sent off and that in a sense it was “cheating”. But I guess as long as it’s not technically against the rules, you can’t really complain. And it’s not like this is the first time it happened.

    And about it being too obvious and how horrible they were at acting, I’d rather they waste time than dive or tackle someone. Personally, the decision made sense to me. Mou’s only playing the game and dancing circles around UEFA rules, so to speak. But I guess I am being a bit biased since I am a fan of the team =P

    • Jean permalink
      November 25, 2010 08:51

      And sorry just had to add this since i finally saw the game with commentary (first time i was at work and it had to be on mute). I was laughing when the presenter was saying, “Have you ever seen Messi do this? Iniesta? Xavi?” Then he stopped there. Dear lord, if you’re gonna compare them to Barca, why not name the whole team?… Oh wait… Hahaha.

Leave a Reply

