Skip to content

he’s got my unequivocal support

November 26, 2010
tags:

As stated earlier (I’m linking back to the previous post just because I love the picture in the post – though actually, “love” would probably be an understatement…) Sergio and Sevilla star Frederic Kanouté will host the third edition of the Champions for Africa game in conjunction with UNICEF, the LFP, BBVA and the Kanouté Foundation on Dec. 29 in Madrid, concretely at the Vicente Calderón.  Sergio will lead a team of the best players for the Liga BBVA, while Kanouté will captain the UNICEF team (Africa United) made up of the best African players.  Benefits will go to help children in Mali have access to schools, and the goal this year is to get 100,000 children into school.  Last year, the funds raised helped to provide schooling to 20,000 children and complete the Bamako Children’s City, built by the Kanouté Foundation.

The game was presented yesterday.  Sergio spoke to those gathered, and said, “last year, we had a great party and we hope to repeat that this year.  We’ll try and invite the maximum number of players because we want to help as many children as possible.  We’ll try to get everyone involved and we hope they’ll all enjoy the game.”  He also spoke about his trip to Senegal this past summer with UNICEF:  “it was a very special trip, a dream that I wanted to accomplish.  It was an unforgettable experience and one returns reevaluating what they have.”

Find more information here (in Spanish).  And if you want to see what happened last year, go here.

I love how serious and unamused Sergio looks here, especially when compared to FP!

Sergio also tweeted (finally!) about the event yesterday.  Left: “today was the presentation of the third Champions for Africa game.  Follow @champions_AFR and I await you all at the Vicente Calderón on Dec. 29.”  Middle: “In http://www.championsforafrica.es you can find more information.  Help us to score a victory for African education by buying a ticket.”  Right: “my friend Frederic Kanouté couldn’t make it to the presentation but his dedication to this cause and your help will guarantee the success of this event.”

And thoughts on the pink shirt, polka dotted tie combo?  I do love the leather jacket!

I can’t wait to see who Sergio fills up his team with!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly permalink
    November 26, 2010 07:50

    Ah, probably that’s why Sergio showed up with a tie for the team luncheon. Love him inside and out! Will you do fashion post if photos of yesterday’s team lunch are available? As soon as I saw that news on the official web, the first thing that came to mind was your fashion post! No pressure, of course. Thanks for the quality posting as usual. : )

  2. November 26, 2010 12:38

    oh, sweet, caring, and so pretty! I like the outfit, suprisingly.

    On a serious note, I like the action, it’s good that the recognisable footballers are involved in such things, it helps catching people’s attention.

    I hope the event will raise a lot of money and the help would be effective.

  3. November 26, 2010 19:30

    He’s such a sweet sweet person with a great soul ❤

  4. Maisoun permalink
    November 26, 2010 22:12

    I love Humanitarian Sergio, such a great cause I hope the event is a huge success…wish I could attend 😦

    ….I love Sergio’s “Are you f**king kidding me?” face LMAO either thats what it is or he’s winning a staring contest! haha

    I actually really like his shirt/tie combo, this subtle pink looks good on him…well I’ve seen him in hot pink and that seems to work for him too 😉

  5. November 28, 2010 03:32

    Yes, I too give him thumbs up for the pink shirt/polka dot tie combo. It sounds wrong but it actually looks good! Anyway, I love that he does these things. He’s actually involved in the projects…doesn’t just show up to get his face photographed or sign a bunch of things…cannot wait for Monday. So excited! Although I don’t think I should be on here right now, I’m rooting for Barca.

Trackbacks

  1. yesterday’s news – the fun edition « following Real Madrid…

Leave a Reply

