Skip to content

Mesut Özil at Bild

November 28, 2010
tags:

A big thanks to reader Julia for sending this interview in!  You can read the original here.  I love what Mesut has to say about his teammates and their relationships, and the fact that his house is covered with post-its with Spanish vocab on them!  Adorable.

The interview starts with a description of his house: it’s in a suburb, protected by barriers and guards.  It’s completely white and hidden behind a white wall.  There’s no name on the bell, but a little camera controls who wants to go in.  The mansion has 650m² of living space, an outdoor pool and even a small football field (“I practice my tricks here”).  A tabletop football game is in the hall, with players wearing white jerseys (Madrid) and blue and red ones (Barça), and there are colorful post-its with Spanish vocabulary words on them stuck to stairs, mirrors and doors.

(The one he’s holding says strength comes from unity.)

Q:  Mister Özil, the Spanish press is amazed with you and José Mourinho describes you as “magic.” Your president Florentino Pérez says you could be the best player who has ever played for Real Madrid.

A:  Oh, I didn’t know that. I don’t read the newspapers very often, but I feel very honored. Everything’s going very well right now…

Q:  Do you sometimes feel like you’re dreaming?

A:  At the beginning I thought I was dreaming. But in the meantime, I’ve realized that it’s real.

Q:  Describe a day of Mesut Özil at Real Madrid!

A:  I usually leave for the training at 9:15h – without a navigation system! The training starts at 10h or 10:30h and often lasts 90 minutes. Then I do an extra shift, mostly weight training. I’m at home at 14h and I eat something. Right after that I learn Spanish. And in the evening I go out to have dinner with friends.

Q: What makes Real Madrid the best club of the world?

A: It’s the perfect organization. The player only have to focus on football, the club handles everything else. For example, after the training session there are drinks and fresh fruit waiting in the locker room for us.

Q: Do you have a bodyguard?

A: No, I don’t need a bodyguard. I can go everywhere alone, even though people recognize me and talk to me when I’m at a restaurant. I want to get to know the city and have an independent life.

Q: Do you have a cook or a help at home?

A: I go out to eat very often but I’ve got someone to cook and help.

(I hope he has someone to play with!)

Q: The team consists of a lot of superstars. Isn’t it hard to have a good team spirit?

A: We are all very close. And everyone wants to be successful so we are very supportive. If one isn’t able to play, there’s always someone else to help. It’s like a family.

Q: Your coach looks very serious and strict. Does he ever joke around?

A: A lot! We all laugh a lot during our training sessions and in the locker room. Mourinho talks a lot with us. He praises us, but at the same time he tells us what we have to do better.

Q: Mourinho just talks Spanish with his players. How well do you understand him?

A: I understand a lot during the team conferences. Talking is harder, but it’s getting better. I learn a lot.

Q: Do you lie on your couch in the evenings and learn vocabulary?

A: Yes, that happens. I have to do homework too. How much I learn per week depends on the amount of games we have. Usually five hours and three times a week.

Q: Five hours of learning?!

A: No, I learn in a playful way. We go out shopping or do role plays. Or I order something in a Spanish restaurant. It’s so rotational that time passes very fast.

Q: Do you already speak Spanish in the locker room?

A: Well, sometimes. When I arrived there I had to make a speech. I told them how proud I am to play for Madrid and I wished them all luck and health. I spoke German and no one understood me, but nevertheless they applauded afterwards.

Q: So you’ve settled in very fast?

A: Yes. On my first day everyone came up to me and told me how glad they were that I’m here.

Q: Cristiano Ronaldo too?

A: Yes he came up to me too.

Q: Ronaldo always has a stunning body in all the photos. Tell us, does he really have that many muscles?  [Jajaja… the journalists are men!]

A: Yes, he has a lot…

Q: Jealous?

A: Not at all, because he works very hard. He’s always the last one to come back from the training grounds and the last one to leave the locker room.

(Not the best idea, to prop his shoes on the white couch, no?)

Q: How many Ronaldo jerseys did you have to buy for your friends?

A: Just one, most of my buddies want my jersey.

Q: Did you make friends on the team?

A: I go out to eat with Marcelo and Higuaín very often [how do they communicate?]. And of course Sami Khedira. We’ve got some favorite restaurants we always eat at. Spanish food is very delicious.

Q: How many titles are you capable of winning this season?

A: A lot! La Liga, Copa del Rey, Champions League – the biggest club of the world wants all of them! There’s a lot of potential and we are on the right path. We want to prove this against Barcelona on Monday.

Q: Do you understand the meaning of “El Clásico” in Spain?

A: Of course, It’s the biggest derby of the world. It will be a fantastic game!

Q: Can there even be another club after Real?

A: I don’t think about that right now. I’ve got a six-year contract and I’m very proud to play here. I can’t imagine playing for a different club.

Q: Do you still follow the Bundesliga?

A: I do, on the Internet or on TV. I’ve got all the German programs.

Q: Your former club Werder Bremen is going through a big crisis. How do you feel about that?

Özil: I’m deeply sorry for them. But I’m convinced they’ll rise out of it.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Canederli permalink
    November 28, 2010 17:57

    Oooh! I’m so excited to see this! Thanks Julia and Una! I love that he hangs out with Marcelo and Higuan (and of course, Sami), they look like they would be fun to be around. I’m so pleased that he is settling in so well. It’s also semi-hilarious to see the Playstation That Destroyed A Romance ™. How is it that I have bigger TVs than Mesut Ozil? It’s super cool that he has an El Clasico foosball table. I think I need one of those. 😉

  2. Maisoun permalink
    November 28, 2010 18:29

    Haha he looks so lonely in the second pic! “Can Sami come play now?” 😉

    • JennyJenkins permalink
      November 29, 2010 00:12

      That’s an old picture, from when he played with Werder Bremen. Bild recycled it.

      • Canederli permalink
        November 29, 2010 03:30

        Doh! Of course! I didn’t even notice that his hair was shorter in that one until you mentioned it.

  3. Mary permalink
    November 28, 2010 19:26

    “Q: Ronaldo always has a stunning body in all the photos. Tell us, does he really have that many muscles? [Jajaja… the journalists are men!]”

    rofl! what kind of question is this? i guess men can be fangirls too!

  4. November 28, 2010 19:46

    Lovely, thanks a lot for the wonderful translation. I am amzed by your capacity to translate (with funny comments!). Blesses to you…
    Ozil, is such a talented boy, I agree with Perez, Ozil is one of the best deals of RM. He will come out as the greatest players in RM. We have to thank the egel eyes of Mourinho who ‘kidnapped’ him immidiatly after the World Cup.

  5. November 28, 2010 21:18

    I love him he’s so cute. But it amazes me how he settled down and furnished the house so fast. Does he live alone?

  6. lulu permalink
    November 28, 2010 21:27

    He is so adorable…
    And so is your blog!

  7. Siv permalink
    November 28, 2010 22:00

    aww I love all his post-it notes! I thought I would do that when I first started learning Spanish but nothing ever stays on my wall unless i put massive amounts of tape on it (like all my posters). I love being able to recognize some of the words in German because I only took German for about 2 weeks in the summer and I’m surprised I still remember it (without the help of the Spanish translation). He does look like he wants someone to play with in the 2nd picture..

  8. Sarah permalink
    November 28, 2010 22:13

    So cute!!!! Love him..I am so excited for the big game!

  9. Gillian permalink
    November 28, 2010 22:14

    Can he stop being so damned adorable? He’s so cute I cannot stand it 🙂

  10. colon permalink
    November 29, 2010 01:33

    “I spoke German and no one understood me, but nevertheless they applauded afterwards.”
    HAHAHAHAHA

  11. yuyutein permalink
    November 29, 2010 04:55

    Oh, Ozil! I love him 😀 His interviews never fail me.

  12. November 29, 2010 09:17

    Lovely interview, thanks Una and Julia!! Btw, this is a big house.

  13. RealLisa permalink
    November 29, 2010 14:04

    Aaawww Ozil, such a cutie! I can’t believe, he started playing for Madrid a few months ago, and I already love him! I was pretty sure I’m the only one who somehow finds him attractive – don’t know why! – but I can see I was wrong. 🙂
    Oh and I almost forgot: the interview is great!

  14. Soledad permalink
    December 2, 2010 00:30

    Very cool interview! Is this his new home in Madrid?

  15. Pato permalink
    December 11, 2010 20:48

    I know I’m late commenting, it’s just that I’ve just found this blog……and I really like it, since I’m sorta following RM too 🙂
    I’m a big fan of Mesut so being able to read this interview in English is really appreciated 🙂 Thanks!
    I’ll be coming more often!

  16. Ariadni permalink
    January 13, 2011 15:08

    Talented, kind, cute and witty… What else can we ask for…??!

  17. prabu permalink
    March 4, 2013 14:19

    i am from madurai-india. oh,it really seems to be rockzz. Any way enjoy your time with ur friends in madrid. I love him(ozil) very much because of his craziness and his humour sense.i wish him to face many success in his life.i follow him from my childhood days.i am eager to talk about him but i haven’t enough time.bye…

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Mesut Özil at Bild « following Real Madrid… -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

