Skip to content

my two céntimos

November 30, 2010

(Note: post updated with answers to some of your questions.)

Barcelona outplayed Madrid, that’s clear.  It’s no surprise either, given that they’re a finished product, and we’re a work-in-progress, as many have said before.  In that sense, it’s hard to even compare the two teams.

There’s nothing to do now but learn from this and move on, and hope that the race for the Liga won’t come down to this game come May.  In any case, Madrid had to lose sooner or later, and I’m glad it’s sooner, so that we will know where we can improve and then act on that.  I know and they know that we can play better.

As for my thoughts on the incidents, I think Cristiano could have been more mature – he shouldn’t shove anyone – and not let Barcelona get to him.  He knew that they would do anything to rile him up and he played right into their hands.  That said, Pep Guardiola’s behavior was extremely immature (I can see the ball boys doing that, not a coach) especially for a coach, and one that prides himself on being a rational intellectual.

And it’s great that Sergio Ramos plays with so much emotion, but he does have to learn to control himself.  Like Cristiano, he allowed the Barcelona players to get inside his head, and we can’t have that.  I’m quite disappointed in him, and a little disappointed in Puyol as well for exaggerating the effect of the shove (maybe he got some tips from Pep at the half?).  Carles is a strong guy – as he likes to show us – and there’s no way that he’s going down in response to that amount of force.  But at least his comical reaction and somersault made me laugh, at a point when I didn’t think it would be possible.

Also not cool or mature:  Piqué holding up his hand to the crowd to signal a “manita” before the game was over.  Of course it would be Piqué who would do this.  The Camp Nou lapped it up, as I knew they would, because they’ll forever be bitter towards Madrid, and they’ll never get over their grudges, as seen by some signs saying that Mou will forever be a translator.  Well, who can blame the Barcelona faithful, as all the real big names made the move from Barcelona to Madrid, not vice versa.  The Bernabéu, on the other hand, is mature enough to know when to support their team, and when to recognize a stellar performance by the opposition, as shown when they applauded Ronaldinho and booed their own team.

On a side note, Sergio’s 10th red card tied him with Fernando Hierro for the most in Real Madrid history, but with a big difference:  Sergio got there in 175 games, while it took Hierro 439 games.  He’ll be out for the game against Valencia, along with Carvalho, who received his fifth yellow of the season.  Depending on what UEFA decides today, it could be a while before we see Sergio play again.

But what was nice was what some of the Barcelona players said after the game (Madrid’s players were prohibited from speaking).  Puyol said, “Those things happen.  I went to defend a teammate because to me it looked like a very hard tackle.  But what happens on the field stays on the field.  I have a very good relationship with Sergio Ramos and it’s already forgotten, I have other, more important things to think about.  I have a lot of friends in Real Madrid, and there are no problems in that sense.”  Meanwhile, Iniesta commented, “At the end of the game we exchanged greetings, and we wished each other luck.  On the field everyone has their own interests, which is normal.”  It’s good to see some of them have class.

I also liked what Mou said after the game:

– Barcelona played a fantastic game.  My team played fantastically until today.  But we have to continue.

– who knows if we’ll return to this stadium this season.  Last year, I left here with a defeat in the first round of the Champions League and two months later I went from here to the final of the Champions, while they watched it on television.

– I hope this doesn’t psychologically affect the players.  I spoke with them for several minutes and I told them that the championship and the season did not end today.

Well, if anyone can pick these shattered pieces up and glue them back together again, and make them stronger in the process, it’s José Mourinho.

And look at that, today is in fact Tuesday!  (But it’s also a postgame day without an ICYMI – I’m sure you can understand why.)

For all those wondering:

– a manita literally means small hand, but in football it means a five-goal tally (since there are five fingers on the hand).

– when Mou was at Barcelona as Bobby Robson’s assistant, he did act as a translator, but gradually moved up to assistant, which the Barcelona fans cannot seem to accept.

108 Comments leave one →
  1. Fatima permalink
    November 30, 2010 14:05

    This just made my day a lot easier. It has sucked totally! But we’ll learn from our mistakes and I hope we win next time

  2. November 30, 2010 14:11

    Piqué is an absolute douche. Sorry to stoop to name calling, but that’s what he is.

    ‘Mou will forever be a translator’ – o wow ppl. Way to stay classy forever. Seriously, you couldn’t do better than that?! *snickers*

    Pep lost my respect last night. I really expected better than that from him.

    I’m expecting the team to come back strong against Valencia, but I’m nervous now. Sergio, Carvalho and Pipita. Eeeps.

    I am really praying hard about the UEFA decision. What time does that come out? Any idea?

    • November 30, 2010 19:10

      i agree with everything u said

    • MsLaSuerte permalink
      December 1, 2010 00:03

      it has already come out.
      – Mou will miss the next match and will pay a fine of 40,000 euros.
      – Xabi and Sergio will miss the next match and will pay 20,000 euros each.
      – Iker will pay 10,000 euros.
      – Dudek – 5,000 euros.
      – Real Madrid FC has to pay 120,000 euros.

      That’s really a bad bad streak for our club…
      But we’ll survive!!!

  3. KDJ permalink
    November 30, 2010 14:16

    I also thought that Puyi somersault was exaggerated enough to make me rolled my eyes and laughed. And the ‘allegedly’ elbow shoving by Carvalho to Messi. Oh please, Carvalho wasn’t even facing him, and it’s not his fault that Messi is only elbow height. Good call by the referee for giving Messi the yellow card. And don’t get me started with Valdes. I despised the mockery look on his face every time Cristiano failed to conduct an attack. You might expect that from the supporters (which they did), but not from a player. I felt like I want to smack his face and put an end on his mocking smile.
    Thus said, I do not agree with Cristiano & Sergio acts. It was uncalled for, and they should’ve known better. But I feel them, those Barcas boys weren’t nice also. And the whole Camp Nous was hostile towards them. The Cules needs to learn from the Madridistas how to respect. I enjoyed watching Arbeloa went all rough, Sergio hot blooded act, they all look sexy!
    I’m not gonna defend my team, cos they did play badly. We have to be able to criticize them, not just loving them blindly. Admitting that they played badly doesn’t make us a less Madridista. Barcelona played superbly, and Madrid wasn’t even on the same class. We have to look forward, and push ourselves to be better. I have faith in my team 🙂

    • November 30, 2010 14:36

      ” Oh please, Carvalho wasn’t even facing him, and it’s not his fault that Messi is only elbow height.” – lolololol!!

      Also I despise Valdes. I use to respect most of the Barca team (the key word here being use to!) but he is one twerp that I hate. He’s one person I wish Sergio had slapped really hard. I’m not defending Sergio here, and like you I wish he hadn’t done what he did. He is our captain after all. But since he was taking off anyway, I wish to hell he had just kneed Valdes hard or something. Now that would have made me cheer for sure.

      I was really heartsick till I read Mou’s speech. It made drying the tears a bit easier.

    • mari_madridista permalink
      November 30, 2010 15:49

      Oh man, Your comment about Messi being only elbow height made me literally cry from laughing!! And I would have thought that impossible last night. I was so down yesterday about the loss, but after copious amounts of chocolate and a good night’s sleep I think I can finally move on. I hope it is the same for the team, if not already then at least very soon.

      I’m new to loving Real Madrid–I saw them play for the first time this season and was smitten (by their skills, but they’re not bad to look at either ;))–so it was really hard for me to see them lose for the first time, especially to Barcelona. Not because I hate Barcelona or anything, but I hate their fans. They are so cocky and rude. All those “antimadridista” scarves the crowd had during the game got me extra annoyed. Love your team–fine, we all love our teams, but there is no need to be so hateful to other teams and their fans. I know it’s not all of their fans and I know that every team has fans like this, but they seem to either be a larger group or at least more vocal about their hate because I see it from Barca fans more than anyone.
      That’s partially why I love your site, unamadridista; we love RM, but we can admit that Barca played better last night and get on with it. No Barca bashing–well, just a tiny bit from us in the comments because it still stings a little.

      • emily permalink
        December 1, 2010 00:19

        the Anti-madridista scarf actually points to a greater enemy in the minds of the Catalan people. They perceive Castillian Madrid as the oppressor of their nation and are sworn to despise and battle against everything that has come to represent that oppression. This goes back a few years…

        • mari_madridista permalink
          December 1, 2010 01:35

          Ah, thank you for informing me. Admittedly, I know shamefully little about countries outside of my own. But not from a lack of interest so thanks again for telling me.

    • November 30, 2010 16:01

      Your last paragraph = brilliance. I completely agree- we can’t act like this is the end of the world, even though it may feel like it, and our (and more importantly Mou’s) critiques will only make them a better team.

    • Sarah permalink
      November 30, 2010 17:03

      Love your post! I totally agree with every word you and Una wrote.. 😀

    • November 30, 2010 19:15

      i wanted to smash my macbook when i saw Valdes’s smug look.

      • goldengirlsk permalink
        December 2, 2010 07:32

        no joke, broke the side of my labtop

  4. KDJ permalink
    November 30, 2010 14:25

    What Pep did, and the reaction from his players only prove how immature they are. They might be the better players (at the moment), but that doesn’t mean that they’re the better team. They’re like a bunch of frat boys, no class.

    • hazrd permalink
      November 30, 2010 16:21

      Knowing how to play well, and knowing how to be ethical are two different things.

  5. miya permalink
    November 30, 2010 14:25

    like the coach said, its not the end of the season. now when we meet again in Madrid a win will be even that more pleasurable. and with the types of players we have i know they are hungry for it.

  6. JennyJenkins permalink
    November 30, 2010 14:40

    I didn’t think it was possible for me to respect Puyol more – but his comments after the game were really class! He’s one of nature’s gentlemen.

    I adore Sergio, but he could learn from Puyol in that respect.

  7. anonymous permalink
    November 30, 2010 14:46

    I have to admit Im not a Madrid Fan, I have always supported FC Barcelona, but I have a lot of respect for RM and some players, especially Iker (who i think didnt deserve to miss 5 goals) but in reality Barca was a better side in this game, but the difference between top 2 is just 2 points so everyone has a chance to win!
    Also, I really hate this stupid excuse everyones using now (that Barca is a finished product etc) its just lame, both teams got new players, just have to admit that in THIS game Barca was better!
    And finally, Ramos was not right pushing Carles and Xavi, but it happens its a part of the game.
    Good luck to both teams!
    ps, really looking forward to Valencia vs RM, they’d either break down or kill Valencia!

    • emily permalink
      December 1, 2010 17:10

      Both teams got new players? Barca put one ‘new’ player on the field- a guy who’s already been playing WITH these guys on the National Team for years. Therefore, that argument is moot.

  8. juliet permalink
    November 30, 2010 14:47

    I’m sorry, but the team who was really immture was Madrid……they just lost it! I mean, I understand that they’ve been humiliated, but at least behave like real men! not like a bunch of 4-years-old! and doesn’t matter what Guardiola did to Cristiano, it did not worth a shove like this….I think Cristiano should start show some respect, because a really great player doesn’t have only talent (wich Cristiano oviously have) but also required respect for others and modesty. In this area, Christiano need to improve. and about Sergio, what did you excpect? he was always like this.and about the crowd, I’m sorry to tell you this, but theur is NO WAY that the Barnabeu crowd would have acted differently if this result was in in their favour. Real hates Barcelona just as mich as Barcelona hates Madrid.

    • yep permalink
      December 1, 2010 02:56

      That’s right. I find it ridiculous that some madrid fans are talking about how barcelona does not have respect? Wow. Point in case: Jose Mourinho? Cristiano Ronaldo? Sergio Ramos? Great examples of disrespect for all of you blind to see it. That said, I think neither both sides are innocent or ‘saintlike’. It was an intense match and it showed.

      Some madrid fans are new and do not truly understand the rivalry between the two clubs. It has a long history that involves politics, oppression and fascism. Read up about it before complaining about how the match is just football and wondering why some barcelona fans or some madrid fans would be so riled up about el clasico.

    • December 1, 2010 03:15

      why are you on a real madrid blog if you don’t like the team
      Pep should immaturity too…barcelona fans act like he’s the saint of all saints but sry..he shouldn’t have done that
      And messi, iniesta and crew dive much more than ronaldo…and if u watched real madrid games you would know that

      so, don’t come on to a real madrid blog to bash them if you don’t have any clue what you’re talking about…it makes you look like an idiot

  9. anonymous permalink
    November 30, 2010 14:48

    and also, stop trashing pique!! and least he knows how to play some real football!!!

    • Paul permalink
      December 1, 2010 02:06

      Isn’t this a Real Madrid blog? I think Real Madid fans can say almost anything about opposing players because this is a Real Madrid site. If you want to praise Pique, go to a Barca blog.

      It’s the way you posted condescendingly. Don’t tell a Real Madrid fan to “Stop trashing Pique”. It sounds like you have something stuck up your butt like Victor Valdes. Plus, your anonymous so it seems like you’re a coward.

      I say this not to be mean. Just telling you how it is. 🙂

      Hala Madrid

  10. Niina permalink
    November 30, 2010 14:53

    Thank you for this post. I’m sure it wasn’t easy, but it made me and probably a whole lot of folks feel better.

    I think Barca won by psychology this time. As said, they got in our heads and on our nerves. Cris was so frustrated, Sergio ticked off and there were a lot of nervous fumbles. Iker seemed like he wanted to quit. That’s something to learn from and I look forward to seeing the confident, bold Real I’m used to on the pitch again.

  11. mickymacky permalink
    November 30, 2010 14:54

    I’m sorta glad I’m not the only one who found Puyi’s stuntlike reaction to that shove comical. And there really is no shame in finding Madrid’s first season loss under Barca. The Catalans were apparently sublime in this match (couldn’t watch it on the telly unfortunately) and it was an away game that already had its share of controversy and hype even before the kickoff, so…

    It’s a tough lesson and experience for los Blancos but I still personally think that, up until last night, Madrid’s momentum in going into this season with lots of new blood was amazing. I really found them entertaining to watch. And bumps along the way like this loss is needed once in a while (would be nice if this is their first and only loss though lol).

    So just bring on the rest of La Liga 🙂

  12. RealLisa permalink
    November 30, 2010 14:59

    It hurts. A lot. It’s better than last night, but still.. Pep lost my respect too. I’m speachless. I’ll just say, I believe in our boys and I know that they can do it! Oh and I’ll miss Sergio, but as much as it hurts, he deserved it.
    It’s okay Una, we understand you. And I’m sure no one missed this game.

  13. Jami permalink
    November 30, 2010 15:01

    Una, I been following your blog since I first became a RM fan a year ago. Since then, I have never seem them lose so bad. And never expected it to hurt me so bad either. But as I sit here in school and read your words you make me feel a little better…

  14. emily permalink
    November 30, 2010 15:15

    IWIMI (I wish I missed it). Miss is the word of the day. Madrid missed the net. Heck, they were missing from the field. I missed Valdez mocking, and I missed the end (watched replay)(ASTONISHING! ohhhhh Serhio?? Porque?? ). Iker missed a great game. The only great thing to come out of this game was Ray Hudson’s commentary. ‘Orgiastic goal’, Barcelona’s ‘melange of magic’, and best of all, about Messi – ‘He could follow you into a revolving door and still come out first’. Barcelona certainly showed the world a melange of magical passing – 684 completed – that’s A LOT, but also they were masterful at picking the pockets and controlling the pace. Unbelievable.

    • Deb permalink
      November 30, 2010 23:51

      Yay! Another Ray Hudson fan! I absolutely love this guy! Just found out he has a twitter account where some of the phrases from the games make it to his posts.

      He also pointed out how Pep was in the wrong in the incident with Cris. Yes, it was a mind game with Cris and sadly it worked. Although shortly after that incident, Madrid seemed to get back in the game…until that third goal. 😦

  15. Ana permalink
    November 30, 2010 15:44

    Amen and thank you for this post (and this blog), couldn’t say it better myself.

  16. HermosaChica permalink
    November 30, 2010 15:45

    Well, what do you know, it really is Tuesday! I’ve been fending off Cules/glory hunters all day, and it’s nice to come here and be surrounded by fellow Madridistas.

    I think it’s incredibly obvious that we weren’t as good as we should have been; that being said, neither my faith nor my patience will ever run out on Real Madrid, so I’m absolutely sure that we will bounce back sooner or later. I would have rather lost to Barcelona than to a team that’s squashed all the way down at the bottom of the table.

    As for the hard tackles made by some of our boys: completely understandable. It takes a lot to be able to legally dispossess Barca throughout a match, so resorting to that type of play isn’t surprising.
    If it was a different player who “shoved” Pep, there wouldn’t have been nearly as much hype as there was when Cris did it. It was ridiculously silly for some of the players (no names mentioned) to get involved in that situation.

    I choose to 100% support Sergio, even after he had a terrible game, both technically and emotionally. I distinctly remember seeing his face right after he “assaulted” Xavi, and the frustration and angst were mapped all over his face. His acts were fueled by raw emotions, and nothing else, I’m certain. Once again, there shouldn’t have been a cluster of players arguing and flailing their arms at themselves and at the referee. However, much appreciation goes to Puyol for his words regarding the matter.

    The only logical thing to do would be to learn from our mistakes, and put our trust in the hands of Mou and the entire team. Regardless of whether we lose 1-2 or 0-7 in whichever match, I shall remain a proud Madridista.

    Hala Madrid!

  17. Vigdis permalink
    November 30, 2010 16:03

    What did it mean the sign “Manita” that Pique did? and the thing he ment by Mou beeing a translator?

    • tpuppie permalink
      November 30, 2010 22:44

      I don’t understand these two things either. Help a newbie?

    • Deb permalink
      November 30, 2010 23:54

      good question. Google Translate from Catalan to English is “humanity”. I’m guessing it must mean something else?

      • emily permalink
        December 1, 2010 16:39

        Manita literally means little hand (mano), but can have other meanings – little girl, child… but this specific incidence is talking about when he held up 5 fingers after Jeffren’s goal. Translator refers to back in the day when Mou worked as an actual translator at FC Barcelona.

  18. November 30, 2010 16:09

    not sad about the defeat just sad for the attitudes Real Madrid showed

  19. Cosi permalink
    November 30, 2010 16:13

    Thanks for the summary of what we’re all feeling, Una. Definitely makes the day feel better. Honestly, Barcelona was amazing and played, as Iker has said many times, comfortably together like one force, while RM still has to gel as a team with so many new players (and coach). And if there’s one team who could beat RM, it’s a team with 2/3 of the NT, plus Messi.

    I’ll skip on commenting about Sergio (harness that heart of yours, boy!) and Puyol (come on, Tarzan. Really?).

    It was nice to see Iker run in to intervene and cool things down… and also direct coy Pique back to Barca’s side of the pitch. Very like a captain. Thanks, Iker.

    The most important thing now is (for Sergio to stay on the right side of recklessness) to get back on our feet and demolish the rest of our games.

  20. Katy permalink
    November 30, 2010 16:24

    To be fair, I think that saying Pep provoked Cristiano is wrong. Pep was keeping the ball from Cristiano to give it to one of his team who he thought had won the throw in. He wasn’t trying to get a reaction. Cristiano firstly shouldn’t have demanded the ball off Pep, it’s the linesmans decision and the shove was classless and immature. Pep always holds himself with maturity and respect as proven by his comments on the incident after (these things happen on the pitch, it was nothing, etc) when he could be hamming it up and trying (probably successfully) to get cris punished. There is no excuse for that complete lack of respect towards an established manager on his home ground.

    Now obviously, I read this blog and I love to follow Madrid and Barca- I know you’ll probably think I’m a cule but believe it or not I’m impartial!

    Messi shocked me a bit as Carvalho did elbow him but his fall was definitely delayed and that is generally unlike him.
    Puyi also was definitely over theatrical but sergios actions shocked me a lot particularly as he hit both puyi and xavi who are both some of the most established and repected NT players and he is comparitivly a young gun.

    Piqué was a little immature but I must admit the Manito made me laugh and I didn’t see too much harm in it as it was to his home fans not directed at the away fans or at the bernabeu. We can’t really say too much on this action considering mou’s similar behaviour last time he was at the camp nou…

    Anyway, I think Madrid will recover and all the disputes will as they said be left on the pitch so it’s not so much to worry about. They were just outplayed this time around.

    Hope I haven’t offended anyone! Just my 2 cents and as I said, I was an impartial viewer!

    • emily permalink
      December 1, 2010 00:30

      Messi does have a bit of a reputation for flopping…

  21. jean permalink
    November 30, 2010 16:34

    Even if what Ramos and Cris did wasnt correct, I still understand why they did it.Yes those should have been more calm but sometimes the emotions and the passion for the game can get the best of you.
    There is always the next game against barca a bernabeu we just have to come back better, and stronger from this defeat.
    I hope they wont let this affect them too much because this should only motivate them to work harder.I love our team , I believe in them.Lets just say that yes they were outplayed by barca but Mou and each one of them will find a way to come back on top .Hala Madrid!!!!!!!!:):):)
    I think that there is some existing animosity between some players in the spanish nt team.And its not because Puyol said yesterday that he forgave Sergio because they are ” friends” that everything is ok.Hopefully there will fix their problems also.
    Im looking forward to see tomorrow training pics and I hope that at least some of them will be smiling:):):)
    I dont understand why RM is most of the time painted in a “negative light” in the sports press.For example if Cristiano or another Rm player did the amount of diving that some Barca players did yesterday, we would have never heard the end of it but because its barca its not a big deal.

  22. madrid permalink
    November 30, 2010 16:46

    dani alves was the only nice guy to cristiano, in the video of the pep shoving dani actually consoles cristiano and even gives him a pat on the back, maybe he knows how big a jerk pep is, like how etoo and ibra know too

  23. Hala Madrid permalink
    November 30, 2010 16:51

    I was having a conversation with a friend of mine, and she agreed that whoever thinks Pique is good looking seriously needs help, I say this because I have heard girls actually find him attractive. He is the biggest idiot out of all, he might be talented but his attitude is just disgusting. He reminds me of Alonso in F1, anyways, to each their own. I don’t even want to get started on Valdes, he’s not worth any words.

    The game was horrible from the opening whistle. We can honestly say that the style of play of Spain from the recent World Cup, can be significantly attributed to the Barca style and not of Madrids. I think Xavi and Iniesta run Spain, without them the NT has no motor. These two have an awesome display of understanding of the team and the game.

    I’m not really disappointed in Sergio Ramos in the tackle on Messi. As someone who plays football, if you have a 5-0 lead in an important game like this one, and you try to run up the score in INJURY time, you’re going to get tackled in a very bad manner. Messi had it coming…however, the shoves to Puyol and Xavi were not necessary.

  24. November 30, 2010 17:04

    We, the fans of RM and the lovely Mou, have the luxury to mourn and cry. This is not the case of our boys; they have to work it out, feel the anger, swear to improve, train harder and bring us joy again. I am sure that Mou is excellent in that. We love RM, we support it even or especially during these difficult times.

    • Paul Galactico permalink
      December 1, 2010 02:11

      Beautiful post!
      I agree.
      I love Real Madrid even more after this defeat.
      Mourinho is too good of a coach and we have too much talent to faler. I just hope our minds aren’t affected too much. Or more importantly, the players minds haha!

  25. d.brasil permalink
    November 30, 2010 17:09

    “I’m quite disappointed in him, and a little disappointed in Puyol as well for exaggerating the effect of the shove (maybe he got some tips from Pep at the half?). Carles is a strong guy – as he likes to show us – and there’s no way that he’s going down in response to that amount of force. But at least his comical reaction and somersault made me laugh, at a point when I didn’t think it would be possible.”

    I total agree !

  26. Ava permalink
    November 30, 2010 17:16

    Guardiola’s little antic was the most pathetic.. I actually happen to think he’s a fine coach, so he really disappointed me. It was completely unnecessary, and is something you’d expect from a disgruntled child!
    Having said that I do believe Barca deserved the win, what I’m having trouble understanding is how we fell apart at the seams so easily..?! I mean there was hardly a glimpse of the side we’ve been used to seeing since of late..
    It’s all done now, the only thing left to do is write it off as a learning experience, I’m hoping they nurse their bruised egos and move onwards and upwards from this 😐
    also a question Una; do you know when today the UEFA decision is due to be made?
    and any word on Pipita’s injury situation?

  27. Maisoun permalink
    November 30, 2010 17:25

    Ugh! Trying not to get emotional everytime I read something about RM, whether it be positive about the future or negative about yesterday.

    “There’s nothing to do now but learn from this and move on, and hope that the race for the Liga won’t come down to this game come May. In any case, Madrid had to lose sooner or later, and I’m glad it’s sooner, so that we will know where we can improve and then act on that. I know and they know that we can play better.”

    —Una your words are wonderfully theraputic! Thank you.

    P.S My empathic Ipod knows just what I need to hear…’Fine Again’ by Seether…Dont worry Madridistas we’ll all be fine again soon! 😉

    • blueforever10 permalink
      December 1, 2010 01:05

      Haha I was listening to Seether last night too on my iPod!

  28. Sarah permalink
    November 30, 2010 17:46

    Hala Madrid! Onto the next game… Our boys are smart, strong players they will recover! Wonder when/if they will speak to press

  29. rojafan permalink
    November 30, 2010 17:49

    I couldn’t get a stream in the first half, so I just watched highlights now. It’s ironic that in the altercation between Pep and Ronaldo, (which also makes me lose respect for Pep)it seems to be players like Sergio Ramos and Pique who are trying to calm people like Valdes down. How things changed by the end! Why, oh why, did David Villa’s ketchup bottle have to open against Real Madrid?
    Finally, a red card was inevitable since almost everyone had a yellow by then and maybe some of the more hot tempered players should have been subbed off by then.

  30. lugifer permalink
    November 30, 2010 17:56

    una,

    what’s a manita?

    re: puyol, defending a teammate isnt the primary job of a captain. he should have a cooler head than that. seems to me there is no captain material in barca. and tumbling in the face of a shove was a tad too much, again, especially for a captain.

    check out busquets (i think it was him). after placating puyol he finds the ball just lying around and runs away with it kicking it towards the madrid goal. he’s such a kid.

  31. November 30, 2010 18:03

    everything was so exagerrated in this game that now I am starting to really see the comical side of things;-)

    I think it all will be fine. For a moment I thought that Mou is so calm because he wants the players to just try playing without his directions to see how they would do it. See, I am able to believe that all he does, even loosing, is planned by him to teach the players how to be better LOL

    anyway, the spectacular loss, like yesterday, is better than a usual loss, as it really strikes and is a cold shower and the wins after a spectacular loss are also more spectacular. I do hope!

  32. netty permalink
    November 30, 2010 18:44

    Thanks for your words, i`m still sad and speachless

  33. canederli permalink
    November 30, 2010 18:55

    And the UEFA decision has come down…
    http://www.uefa.com/uefa/footballfirst/matchorganisation/disciplinary/news/newsid=1570988.html

  34. yuyutein permalink
    November 30, 2010 18:56

    Thanks, una. I 100 percent agree with what you said… It’s tuesday here as well. I’ll get over myself and stop being so depressed.

  35. November 30, 2010 19:04

    bb, so there gonna be a week-off for ICYMI?

  36. November 30, 2010 19:27

    I seriously can’t wait for the next clasico. Hopefully we will be well prepared and win it with CLASS from our players and us fans.

    I don’t blame neither CR or Ramos for what they did. And I actually love them more for it. I just hope the UEFA go easy on Ramos cuz it’s not that big of a deal.

  37. November 30, 2010 19:50

    I’m a Barca fan (I feel like I keep announcing that) and I agree with everything said on here. Barcelona wasn’t innocent. Pep, Messi and Puyol did exaggerate (I don’t think even I would’ve rolled over from Sergio’s face shove and I’m 5’1). And also Barca fans should be more respectful towards competitors. The rock throwing was just way out of line and made us look bad. I didn’t think Pique’s ‘five’ or high five or whatever it was was too inappropriate. It did look a bit show off-y but I think maybe it was also just heat of the moment. He was excited that they were winning in their hometown in front of their people. It must be huge pressure off their chests to not let them down. Anyway, sorry Una for being disappointed. I love your blog. Both this and Vamos Espagna…keep it up!! 😀

  38. November 30, 2010 20:06

    What’s a manita?

    • MsLaSuerte permalink
      December 1, 2010 00:17

      liitle hand, meaning Pique’s hand jesture asking the stadium for support.

      • Margie permalink
        December 1, 2010 05:42

        asking for support? no, he made the gesture because Barcelona scored 5 goals, right?

        • MsLaSuerte permalink
          December 5, 2010 16:45

          so, he combined the two things, I guess:) showed off with those five goals and asked for a round of applause.

        • Margie permalink
          December 6, 2010 09:32

          oh i see what you mean 🙂

  39. mar permalink
    November 30, 2010 20:09

    i agree with you in everything…we played badly and barcelona played suberb. well i have two questions:
    a) what did Pep do that made cris sove him? my internet connection after the first goal was bad till the start of the second half, so i lost some things.
    b)what does “manita” mean?

    • Deb permalink
      December 1, 2010 00:11

      The ball went out of play and it was Madrid’s ball. Cris went to get the ball for a quick throw in but Pep picked up the ball and held it away from him, towards his own player. Cris, snatched the ball out of his hands and pushed him backwards (maybe to get him out his way so he could throw the ball in?).

      • Danielle permalink
        December 1, 2010 04:44

        the ball went out of play and rolled to the sideline Pep had the ball Cris put his hand out asking for the ball to be handed/thrown to him instead Pep threw the ball away from Cris onto the ground. Cris got pissed off at Pep and shoved him in the chest making Pep kinda tumble backwards. All heck broke loose people shoving swearing etc. Victor Valdes got a yellow card for leaving his position and Cris got a yellow for the shove etc

        • mar permalink
          December 1, 2010 23:26

          ok thnx!!

  40. November 30, 2010 20:10

    Lets show the world how good we are as a team destroy Valencia and pick up the pieces because we will beat Barcelona the next time. I think we should go into the transfer window when it opens and get a good left back and a solid midfielder to hold the team firmly.

  41. Margie permalink
    November 30, 2010 20:15

    this game actually made me realize how much I love this team and never want to see them lose ❤ ;_;

    • Paul Galactico permalink
      December 1, 2010 02:13

      I agree Margie! I’ve been saying this to all my friends.

      Madrid Siempre!

      • Margie permalink
        December 1, 2010 08:30

        yay a guy on here! (just teasing :))
        (an assumption from your name)

        all true madridistas will support their team in the good times and the bad 🙂

        • Paul Galactico permalink
          December 1, 2010 19:06

          Of course Margie!
          And even though I am straight, all this ‘sexy’ talk about the team makes me want to know what kind of hair and bath products they use hahaha.

          It’s all about appearance!!! :p

        • Margie permalink
          December 2, 2010 01:20

          lol xD I’m sure girls would appreciate that xD
          I am a horrible fangirl to be honest, or at least, I hardly ever fangirl about looks
          but this blog is still awesome 😀

          (I think Real Madrid is known as the team where all the best-looking players play–it seems to have that reputation xD)

  42. Mel permalink
    November 30, 2010 20:19

    Sergio Ramos is sooooo hot, when he’s mad! I was getting worried, because of the card situation, he hadn’t gotten many up until the cl game against axaj. The old Ramos was disapearing, and now he back 😀 yay.
    He could almost book himself a nice vacation, because he won’t be playing for a while now….

  43. Sunbird permalink
    November 30, 2010 22:11

    I have no words to express how i felt after the clasico.
    This morning i woke up with faith in my heart and the need to comfort my team.. because now more than ever we need to back them up,show our support to the players and the coach.We have a very young team, a new coach and only 4 months of work .
    I wish i could write to them and let them know thatwe believe in them and that this is only a bump in the road. a big hug to all the madridistas out there 🙂
    Hala Madrid!

    • Deb permalink
      December 1, 2010 00:12

      Sergio, Cris, Higuain and Xabi all have twitter. 😉

  44. key permalink
    November 30, 2010 22:26

    everything seems thats against us now, we have 3 players out mou is losing a game as I heard and we lost against our rival..but well, letshope we all going to learn from this and better things we’ll be happening. even though I’m really really dissapointed with mou I dont know if he planned this whole mess I hope not.

  45. Hala_Madrid permalink
    November 30, 2010 23:03

    Just one game for RAMOS, what a relief!
    Trust me we’re going to come back and Mou is going to make sure we win this battle. He does not like to loose and that’s what i like about him same with Cris if they were giving us 100% before, Mou is going to make sure the players give 150%. I believe in our team, it is going to be difficult but we’re just two points away. Hala Madrid!!!!

  46. ebrahim permalink
    November 30, 2010 23:51

    manita is spanish slang for little sister. I can not see how this refers to the best club of the last centurey…….madrid for now and forever 🙂

  47. Ange permalink
    December 1, 2010 00:11

    ok…i started following futbol this summer be4 the start of the World Cup & became of a fan of the Spanish National Team…& after the world cup i start watching La Liga for the 1st time.. & i know its wrong to say this but i’m both a fan of Real Madrid & FC Barcelona…& yesterday it was my 1st clasico & i was soo excited because they are both amazing/good looking players & coaches…& my un bias opinion… is that well …
    1. i thought it was funny when Victor Valdes hit his head on Gerard Pique’s shine..& then said something & was like yelling *lmao*

    2. Xavi scoring that GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL!!! I was soooo proud of him…cause too me I see as…a guy who has been Cule all his life & will always be Cule..scoring the 1st goal in “EL Clasico” in Camp Nou on FC Barcelona’s 111th Birthday…too me it was amazing..that & it was pretty cool the way he did it…that & he is the 2nd captain of Spain scoring on the 1st Captain..

    3. Cristiano Ronaldo… cause c’mon ok yea Pep..didn’t want to give him the ball *lol* … but he shouldn’t have pushed him..& it was funny seeing Andres Iniesta “sweet sweet Iniesta” getting pissed & defending Pep..but i also so Cris laughing or smiling & then he went to a lil kid being piss face idk that how i would describe it..

    4. That 2nd goal…it caught Iker of gaurd he stop David Villa but didnt see Pedrito there to get the rebound.. & right their I had mix feeling… Happy that Pedrito scored since he is part of La Roja..but was W.T.F …where was the defence … cause some1 could have help stop that…

    5. The third & fourth goal…some said David Villa was offside or w/e & that it shouldn’t have counted..& other say it wasn’t… Personally due to the fact that I new to this..& still never see offsides or w/e they call it…but if their was one thing 4 sure David “El Guaje” Villa scored against his friend Iker Casillas like he said he wanted too…& I got to admit that was a pretty pass by Messi…& David looks soo cute when his smiling…& Iker looks soo sexy when he is pissed off..& one of the comments here in the USA i think it was ESPN Deportes…is that “Barcelona son los unicos que pueden sacar a Casillas de sus casillas” or something like that..

    6. Alvaro for Marcelo..I was soo happy to see him…he played really well when he came in…I wish he would play more but I understand that Madrid as alot of amazing players…but I was sad not too see Chori..& after what happen the day be4 when they came in…by that Gang of Criminals…he should have played…& for those who dont know…The Boixos Nois broke the window on the bus of Real Madrid where Alvaro & Chori sat…

    7. SERGIO RAMOS GARCIA..i very disappointed in him & when & pause & did slow motion on it…to me it looks like both Serigo & i think it was Lass both hit Messi…& Sergio slap pushing Puyi…i was in shocked i couldn’t believe it…& when i came out of shocked i was either Sergio is really strong or Puyi lost his balance & when he was hit he thought he could fly for a second…& then when he was coming out he kinda punch push Xavi neck jaw area…& i was like what the hell got in2 him..but then i put my self in his shoes…& i t wrong what he did but…u lose ur temper & u do thing with out thinkin..it just comes to show no1 is perfect…but if he keeps doing this…he might need Anger Managemente Classes…

    8. Iker & Pique… i thought that was soo cute & funny how Iker was pointing his figure & yelling a Pique…like dad would do to his son if his son was in trouble… & with Geri did that 5 with his hand “manita”…it was towards the end.. & i thought it was funny..& c’mon every1 knows Geri hit his head when he was lil & he was also probably dropped..soo he is a lil special *lol*… & he always acts like a lil kid…& he even said it ..he was acting or felt like a lil kid…so i 4give him…that & i didnt see the big deal..but then again am NOT devoted Real Mardid fan…i just like seeing good football or as it is called here in America Soccer..

    & my last thing…Real Madrid will bounce back…i have no doubt about it…everyone had an off nite..they let ppl & things get to them…& they will do better…& i have to give Kudos to the boys from Barca Puyi … for saying what happens on the field stays on the field & him & Sergio are friend Xavi… for saying that Sergio doesnt need to appoligize because things like this happen..but it was uncalled for what he did to Messi & that Cule should celebrate but not add or provoke “que non hagan leña del árbol caído” or something along those terms… here is the artical if u want 2 read what Xavi said http://noticias.lainformacion.com/deporte/futbol/xavi-afirma-que-hoy-es-un-dia-para-ser-cule_0rClfpOYlJUjSQlXdsm7g3/

    well we got the rest of La Liga… HALA MADRID!!!!

    • Anna permalink
      December 1, 2010 01:32

      WTF “GHETTO PUERTO RICAN…”
      I’m puertorrican and this is an insult to all of us…don’t be racist

      • December 1, 2010 07:02

        I’ve taken the part that offended you out.

      • Ange permalink
        December 2, 2010 01:04

        i’m sorry…I didn’t mean to offend you…I’m Puerto Rican too…it was suppose to be taken as a joke…not to offend any1…sooo where from Puerto Rico are you from… I was born in Ponce but have family in Yauco…best coffee ever 😀

  48. December 1, 2010 00:20

    Why do they call Mou a “translator” anyway? Does anyone know?

    • Cosi permalink
      December 1, 2010 04:56

      It’s how Mou started at Barcelona- Una’s updated the blog post above! 🙂 Cheers

  49. Ava Mendez permalink
    December 1, 2010 00:28

    What did Pep do that’s soo outlandish? And Sergio was just sad.. i feel for him.

  50. emily permalink
    December 1, 2010 00:37

    So, Una, looks like the kids want to know what a manita is… Do you have it in GIF yet?
    Thanks for your great post. Everyday you get more responses. It’s nice to see it growing. I lurked for a long time, thinking I was just gonna move on, bu tyou have a great writing style and I really enjoy your ‘flava’. Take care!

  51. Ana permalink
    December 1, 2010 00:40

    kinda funny to know that there are cules reading this blog lol

    • Cosi permalink
      December 1, 2010 04:20

      Lol, I know! I think a lot are coming in from Una’s La Roja blog… don’t blame you guys (or probably more accurately, gals)- after her amazing World Cup coverage, how can you not follow Una??

  52. Carolina permalink
    December 1, 2010 02:00

    I felt so horrible yesterday but now I’m over it. It’s Tuesday, like Mou said, and the team just needs to get back up. We’re #2 and 2 pts. behind.

  53. Margot permalink
    December 1, 2010 03:05

    Hello, I love your blog about the national team and came across this one through it. I was reading the post and some of the comments to see how the Madridistas were taking their loss, and forgive me, as I’m a die hard Culé, but I thought I’d just add my two cents.

    Basically, I don’t understand how Barca were the “immature” ones. We played superior football and we won doing it, so of course we were happy, and of course we celebrated. Honestly, how is that immature?

    First of all, I am shocked by all the hating on Piqué. The match took place in Camp Nou, not the Bernabeu. The manita was an appeal to the home fans. It wasn’t directed at the Madrid fans, and it certainly wasn’t directed at the Madrid players. The whole 5 thing has special significance for us–it’s the fifth time we’ve beaten Madrid by a scoreline of 5-0. You’ll understand if we are ecstatic over our victory, you’ve done similar things (Raúl hushing us, etc), and the idea that Madrid fans are more respectful is absurd. You just haven’t had anything to celebrate for the last 5 Clásicos.

    Secondly, Cristiano Ronaldo was downright disrespectful to Guardiola. Pep has a habit of picking up the ball when it comes to him out of play and passing it to whoever needs it. In this case, he’d thought Barca had won it over so he was handing it to us. In no way does that warrant Ronaldo pushing him. THAT was immature and childish. Also, Valdes coming out of his net to argue with Ronaldo might have been over the top, yes, but it was a sign of how much our team respects Pep. If you hadn’t noticed, Iniesta also had words with Ronaldo over it. Iniesta. What does that tell you?

    And finally, Sergio Ramos shoved Puyol in the face pretty hard, and Xavi too. That is immature and childish, not to mention he behaved that way towards his national teammates. It was downright disgraceful. In addition, Carvalho elbowed Messi in the face and deliberately hand balled to keep Pedro from scoring and Messi was manhandled and shoved around and fouled repeatedly. Compared to that, I don’t understand how you can even say Barca was behaving without class. I mean, just look at what Puyol and Iniesta and everyone said afterward.

    • lugifer permalink
      December 1, 2010 21:04

      that’s your take.

      1. guardiola was clearly try to piss off ronaldo. he stooped low so he doesnt deserve respect, which is not to say that ronaldo had any business having it out with the opposing team’s coach. both were wrong.

      2. the push of sergio was not sufficient for puyol to take a tumble. give me a break. immature for a supposed captain of a team.

      oh an nobody is disputing that sergio was in the wrong.

      3. xavi should have been more mature than to pile on. he’s older than iker for goodness sake. no wonder he’s not captain of the nt.

      4. messi was clutching at carvalho’s waist with his right hand. go and watch it again. that is why carvalho raised his arms. messi should not have touched carvalho in the first place.

      some madrid players were out of line as well as some of the barca players. seems like victor valdes in the end took the example of iker and played the peace maker. but in the beginning he was out for blood and he looked like a caged animal in the penalty box.

      what is clear to me is that the barca players really have it in for ronaldo. their hatred for him is palpable. even david villa got into it. the propensity to demonize the enemy is totally IMMATURE.

      barca needs somebody who is captain material. someone with a cool head that they can all respect and emulate, someone like iker. they all seem to get hot under the collar at one point or another even those are mature in age like puyol and xavi.

      the difference with madrid and barca fans like you is that madrid fans call out their players when they are in the wrong while fans of barca seem to be blind to their players faults.

  54. Lissete permalink
    December 1, 2010 04:52

    Wow I’m so glad you weighed in on this. Barcelona fans are so extreme in their love for their team! I’ve posted on other blogs and I’ve gotten told off and cursed at for pointing out the bad sportsmanship on Barcelona’s side as well as Real Madrids. Everyone likes to see Real Madrid as the bad guys and while it is true that they acted very foolishly(cristiano and sergio) you can’t look at Barcelona as angels here. I was very disappointed with Pep! I can’t believe to see someone of his stature and position act like that!

    I hate to say, but even Messi disappointed me a little. I’m a very big fan of Messi(I know he plays for the opposing team), but I can’t help but think he was laying it on a little thick everytime he was tackled or injured by another player. Especially at the end! While he was “limping” away I couldn’t help but notice that he looked like he was holding back a grin. I know both these teams are rivals, but this was too much. It just brought out the ugliness on both sides I think. I was impressed by Mourinho that he didn’t lose it and also by Iker Casillas. I felt so bad everytime the camera would go to Iker. Poor guy 😦

  55. Yash permalink
    December 1, 2010 05:24

    Pep can resign as coach of BARCA and accept the new post of ball boy, now that he is an expert in playing mind game with opponent. He needs a punch for acting as if he was a victim. Anyone from Spain give him.

  56. Emme permalink
    December 1, 2010 05:57

    I am so glad this blog exists because I just have to say this: I am flaming hot mad with Pep because I always liked him!!! And I am double flaming hot mad with Victor Valdes!!! Does he have some sort of problem that he has to react to everything like a brute. uuuugggghhhhh – I cannot deal with him.
    I am very sad about this loss & disappointed that the boys gave into some of the mind games. I just hope they can move past this. It truly is not the end of the world in the grand scheme of things and life in general. Life goes on 🙂 Does anyone remember Jose’s infamous ‘pressure’ interview? I think it is very appropriate right now 🙂 Chins up Madridistas!! Turn your frowns upside down. We still have Xabi to look at 🙂

  57. Madrista permalink
    December 1, 2010 06:10

    As a real madrista, I still support Madrid no matter what! and for all the madrid haters, i just thought it would be nice to show them just how much we love our team by making a facebook page! Join here and show your love! I’m hoping that some of the players from Madrid will also see it too!!

    Join here and show your support! http://www.facebook.com/pages/I-still-support-Real-Madrid-even-after-they-lost-5-0-to-Barcelona/173693609321477

  58. December 1, 2010 07:54

    Here’s a GIF of Pique doing the “Manita” for the curious ones:

    This is my first comment here even though I’ve been reading the blog for months. Keep up the good work, unamadridista, your commitment and passion is nothing short of inspirational. 🙂

  59. Lary permalink
    December 1, 2010 21:03

    Call me crazy, but I thought that just Madrid fans visited this blog. I understand that Una is a success and Con La Roja is my second favorite blog, but I can’t understand why a culé fan would visit a blog called “Following Real Madrid”… And came here just to troll us is a completely disrespect.

    I agree that Sergio and Cris were wrong to react in the way they did. But that do not mean that we have to accept culés fans trash them here. I really don’t like Barcelona and the attitude of some of their supporters and players just make my rejection grow. If the situation were reverse, we will be the bad and pretentious club that doesn’t respect their opponents. But Barça can do whatever they want because they are the “good” guys… This is so unfair.

  60. Ange permalink
    December 2, 2010 02:27

    I want to apologize to any of my Boricuas that I have insulted saying that I was going to go “Ghetto Puerto Rican on Cristiano Ronaldo”… I hope everyone knows that I am 100% Puerto Rican…I was born in Ponce, Puerto Rico…& I am the FURTHEST THING!!! from RACIST and it really hurts that someone says & thinks that I am racist..cause I AM NOT!!!!….I was joking around saying that…my family & other Puerto Ricans that I know…said they didnt find it insulting or racist in any way…Once again I am VERY VERY SORRY!!!

  61. January 2, 2011 11:11

    messi is a best player.. thanks for this sharing ..

Trackbacks

  1. Top Posts — WordPress.com
  2. Top Posts — WordPress.com

Leave a Reply

