Skip to content

I’m here today as a captain to answer your questions

December 1, 2010
tags:

Here are some of the first sound bites coming out of Sergio Ramos’ press conference this afternoon.  I’ll update this post later, if needed.

Originally, Iker was scheduled to speak, but Sergio asked the club to allow him to talk to the press.  During the press conference, he revealed that he had spoken yesterday with Puyol and Xavi to ask them to apologize, and he also asked everyone for their forgiveness for his expulsion.  He also recognized that his tackle against Messi was “a bad image for children,” that he was wrong to do so and that his intention was not to injure the player.  He added that, Barcelona played a great game, and the only thing left to do is congratulate them, because things turned out well for them and we had one of those rare days where nothing worked in our favor.”   And he wouldn’t be Sergio without also saying that he didn’t like some of the actions of the Barcelona coach and players.

As for Madrid, Sergio said that the team was hurt after the game for letting down the escudo that they defend, the shirt they wear, and that they didn’t like the image they projected, or the suffering of madridistas: “it gets to you.  Now is the time to bring out the pride that has always personified Real Madrid.  There have been good and bad moments, and Madrid has always come out on top.  We didn’t lose the Liga, it was only three points.  We have to continue working hard with a lot of responsibility and humility.  We have to be more united than ever, to be a piña and to keep going forward.”

He also touched upon his red card record, pointing out that he had never injured anyone in his expulsions, and a lot of them were double yellows, not straight reds, for protesting or wasting time.  He revealed that he was worried about the image he’s giving to kids, and asked for their forgiveness as well.

Sergio also said the club did well in appealing UEFA’s decision, because “we didn’t do anything bad.  We weren’t seeking to receive those cards, but each person can think what they like.”

And, he also threw his support behind Xavi for the Ballon d’Or:  “he’s one of the best candidates and a deserved winner, not only now, but for the last several years.  I hope a Spaniard wins it, and hopefully it will be Xavi, whom I have a lot of affection for.”

I’m really happy that Sergio took the initiative to speak out, I like what he said, I like that he accepted responsibility and I think he’s learned a valuable lesson, so we can only expect good things from our segundo capitán from now on.

82 Comments leave one →
  1. Tex permalink
    December 1, 2010 14:35

    His regret and sense of responsibility are quite touching. I’ve never been more glad he’s one of our captains.

  2. Maisoun permalink
    December 1, 2010 14:40

    “Sergio ASKED the club to allow him to talk to the press.” —See this is why I couldnt get so upset with him after the “incident” I knew he would come out and make it better and fix what had happened.

    Ok I hope we can all move past this soon because Sergio talking about “the suffering of madridistas” and asking the children for forgiveness, just makes me so sad 😦

    • Gilly B permalink
      December 1, 2010 17:53

      Exactly- we knew he’d make his apologies, and I’m impressed he took the opportunity of the first press conference to do so. Bravo Sergio! Onward and upwards 🙂

  3. suzanne permalink
    December 1, 2010 14:49

    very proud of him for handling the situation with maturity, humility, and grace. these are the reasons i love you sergio. we only hope you can learn and grow from this eperience. HALA MADRID!

    and i love how it’s mostly about images for children. awww, sergio.

  4. googoogal permalink
    December 1, 2010 14:54

    I feel like tearing up…

  5. December 1, 2010 15:24

    I’m glad Sergio did this. It shows that in the heat of the moment, people may act rashly without the intention to hurt others.

    I am, however, disappointed that you’ve received some distasteful comments from Barça supporters. Being somewhere in between a culé and madridista myself, I’d hate for everyone to have a negative view of all Barça supporters. I’m sure people will forget all about it in a couple of days (or even weeks, if that’s what it’ll take). Not that you would want to relive this match, but I wrote an entire post of it on my blog (which is usually about nail polish) and maybe that can help you see Barça supporters in a different way (:

  6. December 1, 2010 15:26

    The whole apologizing to the children is what got me. It’s nice to hear him accept responsibility for his actions.

  7. emily permalink
    December 1, 2010 15:30

    Oh please, ladies, he’s supposed to do this. Beg forgiveness, talk about the impressionable children, make the girls all gooey eyed at the sweetness of it all… Male athletes act badly all the time and this type of doe eyed plea gives them a free pass. Now, if he were ugly and weighed 284 lbs, we’d still be mad at him and calling for the guillotine. Eye candy goes a long way towards healing wounds. Really, all he had to do was walk up, lift his shirt, nod and say thank you. All is forgiven…

    • andrea permalink
      December 1, 2010 16:50

      I would forgive him even if he looked like satan personified, i mean dani alves

      • realmadrid23 permalink
        December 1, 2010 23:28

        LOL! That’s a good one.

      • Cosi permalink
        December 2, 2010 03:52

        LOL! Satan personified… All I’m going to say is, I’m still mad at my long-time favourite English Premier League footballer for a certain recent scandal, and I’m still calling for the guillotine- and he’s asked for forgiveness with his VERY good-looking doe eyes.

        An aggressive tackle on the field, in the heat of EL CLASICO? Not necessarily justified, but understandable, and easier to forgive. Especially since it’s a common fact that Sergio Ramos is all heart, which is what makes him such an effective player (and why I started watching him, back when he was still a little teen;)). AND especially if this guy basically hijacked Iker’s press conference (penalty-kick-belonging-to-Cristiano-style) in order to publicly apologize. He could’ve easily done it in an official statement.

        Talking about the children may sound like PR, but hell, you could say the same thing about Sergio’s work with his gazillion children’s charities, too. So PR or no, he’s making the world a better place by trying to set an example for children- and admitting his mistake and asking for forgiveness is, in itself, an example of taking responsibility for one’s bad actions. In the end, even if for some reason all his charity work is a publicity stunt, it’s still work, money, and time that he chose to put into charity!

      • febriana permalink
        December 2, 2010 07:58

        LOL this is funny

    • Laura permalink
      December 1, 2010 16:52

      Well, I’ve never forgiven Fabio Cannavaro for his statements about gay marriage, and had to forsake an extremely enjoyable crush on someone that I still consider one of the best-looking guys in the world – I just can’t call myself a fan of his anymore. But losing your temper on the pitch, doing something stupid and showing a lack of self control, that doesn’t make me feel like I’m betraying myself if I continue to like and support him.

    • canederli permalink
      December 1, 2010 16:59

      I think that’s a bit unfair. The boy can’t help that he’s pretty. Yes, he has a hot temper, but his kindness off the pitch speaks volumes about what a decent person he is. He’s been tireless in his charity efforts on behalf of children or have you forgotten that? Cynicism benefits no one.

      • emily permalink
        December 2, 2010 16:06

        Agreed. He is awesome with his charity work. I think it is teaching him a lot more than he thought it would about humility and respect for the young and helpless. It can’t hurt that he has two very classy gents (I & X) to look up to and learn from, though…
        Honestly I felt terribly for him when he started pushing his ‘friends’ around. Puyi played it up with an Oscar worthy/10.0 performance. But, I can imagine that it will only widen the rift between Serge and Pique. And we all know what happens when national teams have chemistry issues —-> France.
        And yes, my post above was VERY cynical… too much experience, I guess… But it got you guys thinking and talking about how we really feel about these issues. Una – you are awesome for putting up with us!!! BESOS!

    • Mary permalink
      December 1, 2010 17:27

      I’m not particularly under Sergio’s spell but what I read seemed pretty heartfelt and it’s not as standard as you think…can you imagine Zlatan saying something like this? Ramos is aggressive but not dirty (usually) so as madridistas we are giving him the benefit of the doubt.

    • Rojafan permalink
      December 1, 2010 18:26

      No, although many commenters on this blog are smitten with his appearance, many of us also are drawn to his passion for the game, his commitment to charity and good causes, the fact that he spent part of his very short vacation in Senegal with UNICEF, his obvious affection for his team mates. If you read this blog at all you would know this. As a mother of a son and a daughter, I applaud his apology. He didn’t have to do this. He doesn’t have to organize a charity football game and he doesn’t have to show up at his team mates’ charity sponsored events.
      I can’t imagine how it would feel to be humiliated by my arch rivals in front of thousands of their taunting fans, who had, the day before, been throwing rocks at my bus. He handled it badly, but he has admitted it. Who is to say how any of us would act in that situation unless you’ve been there?
      You’ll also find that many of us have little patience for someone who thinks all he has to do is “walk up, lift his shirt, nod and say thank you.” Please show some respect for our intelligence. If he was ugly and 284 pounds and had shown the kind of qualities we’ve seen in Sergio Ramos, he would still be forgiven. (But if he was 284 pounds he probably wouldn’t be nearly as quick on the pitch!)

      • Deb permalink
        December 2, 2010 00:27

        Well said! That is much better than the response I was going to make. :p

        He seems like such a good person and I can only hope that my daughter finds someone like him. 😉

    • Miche permalink
      December 1, 2010 18:51

      People who are considered attractive by other people cannot give genuine apologies?

      I’m not going to claim that he is or he isn’t something – I just think that it’s unfair to put people into a category and then judge them according to a stereotype.

      Maybe I shouldn’t even be talking about him at all.

      I am under the impression that you feel that the generalizations you made about fans’ responses to apologies, and those of female fans in particular, are true.

      There may people who think that way, but at least one person, this one here, doesn’t. I don’t speak for anyone else.

    • Lindsay permalink
      December 1, 2010 18:56

      Except he’s not talking to “ladies” and he’s not looking to get a free pass. Personally, I find him pretty unattractive (still love him) and I think he did the right thing in this conference. With all due respect, how ironically sexist your comment is and how much you oversimplify the situation irks me.

    • Sarah permalink
      December 1, 2010 20:23

      Not true, I’ve forgiven many ugly footballers when they’ve apologized in public.

    • lugifer permalink
      December 1, 2010 21:09

      waiting for the lifting of the shirt part….

    • December 1, 2010 21:14

      Oh bo ho. What he did wasn’t THAT BAD in the first place. We all do things we are not proud of when we are angry and the people who love us will forgive us no matter what. The same goes for Ramos.

    • Lissete permalink
      December 1, 2010 21:51

      Haha 284 lbs? Quite specific there 😉

      Anyway I agree with you partially because as we all know beauty will take you very far in life, but personally I don’t have a huge crush on Sergio as other madridistas have, and I think his apology is genuine. He’s still very young and I hope he learns from this to keep his anger in check.

    • December 1, 2010 22:06

      I agree and disagree. I understand and totally second you entire comment. Yes, the way people (principally female fans) are reacting is funny. Yes, I’m sure he received some instruction on what to say to which question (but that’s anyone holding a conference). But I won’t be as dismissive of his apology either because we know what Sergio Ramos is like (or at least, we like to think we know since none of us actually know personally). And I believe he’s a sincere person and meant every word. And I think him taking the initiative of asking to be the one to speak to the press speaks a lot for his character and his remorse. Also, I don’t think “real fans” would give him a free pass just for being eye candy. Real fans would’ve been genuinely disappointed him but would get passed it and move on because that’s what you do if want to support your team. Wow, this is long.

  8. December 1, 2010 15:37

    I was rather disappointed in him after the entire incident.

    I hope the boys can get past this and get back to being brothers from another mother 🙂 Would’ve been nice to see Iker speak as well, as the captain.

  9. ebrahim permalink
    December 1, 2010 15:45

    nice to see the values raul spoke of are not lost 🙂

    • realmadrid23 permalink
      December 1, 2010 23:31

      Raul is dearly missed on this team…his leadership and presence is something that can’t be replaced, not even by Iker.

  10. Culé here permalink
    December 1, 2010 15:59

    First of all I want to say that I’m happy to hear Sergio apologize. He’s always been one I respect from Madrid alongside Iker and Raul.When Barca lost 4-1 several years ago, Xavi did something similar. They bleed the colours of their club so I understand their reactions. This is why Madrid should focus more on their canteras. I’m serious. Barca has proved again that it’s priceless. Literally. Nevertheless, Ramos does deserve a 2-match ban at the very least. His tackle on Messi is easily worth 2 to 3 matches and his hand on Puyi, a match.

    So now you’ll be without Ricky, Sergio, Higuain and possibly Ronaldo for the next game. Amunt Valencia!

    CR7 should also apologize. Yes Pep shouldn’t have thrown the ball away but he threw it where the free-kick happened. All the Madrid players where stopping the Barca players and none defended Cristiano. That tells the whole story!

    Visca el Barca i Visca la maneta!!!

    • killer permalink
      December 1, 2010 17:03

      “All the Madrid players were stopping Barca players ,none defended Ronaldo” , I mean how biased can u get ? I know u are wearing Blaugrana tainted sunglasses but please stop saying the sun is not bright.

    • Mary permalink
      December 1, 2010 17:35

      I think the one funny thing about RM’s thrashing is the fact that cules are still so obsessed with us that they come to RM blogs to talk afterwards. Insecure fans are ones so wrapped up in the other team that they can’t properly enjoy their own victories. Sad.

    • gabriela permalink
      December 1, 2010 19:17

      Sergio could lick Messi’s feet in sorrow and there would still be a culé complaining.
      Are you guys never satisfied with anything? It must suck to be a Barca supporter if not even a 5-0 wins makes you happy.

    • Sarah permalink
      December 1, 2010 20:27

      Why would he apologize when Pep says it wasn’t a big deal? That would be perpetuating drama that neither Real Madrid nor Barca want to, because it was an ugly incident for both parties.

      Go watch the replay on Messi – Sergio didn’t make the contact, Lass did. Really, YouTube it, Lass was between them and collided with Messi’s knee.

      What do you even mean “defended?” Did you want them to punch Valdes? Sorry, our team is too classy to retaliate (and Cristiano stayed calm in the aftermath despite Valdes challenging him to fight. You really should watch the replay – Xabi shook his head at Pep flat out and ignored Pep’s attempts to justify his actions.

      • Kate permalink
        December 1, 2010 22:46

        I’m a neutral (honest) but Cristiano was not calm (and neither was Valdes, before anyone calls me biased). There’s a video on Cuatro where they lipread the players and none of them are innocent.

        • Sarah permalink
          December 4, 2010 07:02

          How wasn’t he calm? I SAW the video on Cuatro. He tried to walk away and all he said was “did you see what Pep did?” He didn’t insult or instigate more conflict. That situation could have spiralled completely out of control if Cris had reacted to Valdes trying to hit him, but he had the class to leave and let it go.

      • Kristine permalink
        December 1, 2010 23:47

        See! thats exactly what I thought too! I dont think Sergio even touched him!

    • Lola permalink
      December 2, 2010 04:38

      Once again proving the ignorance and unclassiness of Cules. It’s good to know that Madridistas have class and can actually criticize THEIR own team as well. You guys are immature as witnessed countless times and witnessed now in your message. Like Sergio said “in soccer the tables can turn anytime”

    • Iris permalink
      December 2, 2010 05:39

      Should have just stopped after your first sentence. 😉

  11. endlessinfinity permalink
    December 1, 2010 16:02

    This makes me like Sergio even more. He may be a hot-head on the pitch sometimes but he’s a total sweetie most of the time. Great responses by the vice-captain.

  12. HermosaChica permalink
    December 1, 2010 16:03

    Swooning aside, I’m glad he stepped up and acknowledged his mistakes as soon as he could, instead of hiding from everyone and hoping the controversy would die down. That is what I call maturity.

    By alluding to the children, he was sort of making amends with the charities he is collaborating with in case his actions made them look bad. Still, in my head, I imagined him gasping “oh, no! The kids!” after every bad tackle, hehe like a sweetheart.

    Also, I just thought I’d say that the subtle hue of pink on his cheeks is the most precious thing ever! Wait, didn’t I say “swooning aside”? 😉

  13. Zahra permalink
    December 1, 2010 16:18

    This post made me cry, so proud of our segundo capitán! Bravo, sergio!

    • killer permalink
      December 1, 2010 17:22

      If this makes u cry, i cant imagine what the match would’ve done to you 😦

      • goldengirlsk permalink
        December 2, 2010 07:18

        yea, couldnt even imagine

  14. Srini permalink
    December 1, 2010 16:28

    I am waiting to see what Crackovia makes of this. Am sure Guti will be involved in it as well .. and that Messi song adaptation by Guti 🙂

    • Lissete permalink
      December 1, 2010 21:54

      Ahh me too I can’t wait for the spoof on this by Crackovia! I know some people don’t like it, but I love the Ramos character and when Guti gets involved with him it’s great 😀

  15. Lix permalink
    December 1, 2010 16:37

    I am so proud of him.
    Enough said. 🙂

  16. inmybestdress permalink
    December 1, 2010 16:47

    I was waiting to hear what he’d say about the whole thing… I’m happy with this. I’m glad he specifically sought out this opportunity to talk about the match. Everyone makes mistakes, the important thing is how they deal with them and learn from them. I can’t pretend to be unbiased here– Sergio is my favorite player. But I really do think he’s proceeding in the best way possible.

    Also, while I of course don’t like him being suspended against Valencia (even though it is deserved), I’m going to look at it as a blessing in disguise… hopefully his break from matches will mean he comes back with a clean slate, a good attitude, and better playing.

  17. December 1, 2010 17:29

    So proud of him for doing this. He’s so great, and plays with so much heart. I love Sergio ❤

  18. sai permalink
    December 1, 2010 17:29

    No, CR7 shouldn’t aplogize to anyone including Pep, since it’s Pep who started to provocate by dwelling the ball. unless Pep apologize first then yeah CR7 should apologize too, but if tht’s the case then in every match every week there’ll be thousands apologizes words from hundrends players. bottom line don’t make such a big thing over every little things like this. Get over it.

    Btw i love Ramos even more, well said by our 2nd captain.

  19. Evita permalink
    December 1, 2010 17:32

    LOL. Um, this is called PR. When they start talking about little kids it’s usually PR. It’s nice that he apologized. Maybe some of the more over zealous Barca supporters will shut it now.

    • Deb permalink
      December 2, 2010 00:33

      my guess is that he’s taken a lot of flack from the press…even in the posts on his FB page, people have commented about the little kids who look up to him.

      That being said, and having seen him with his niece, I have to feel that his comments about the kids is more than a PR stunt, although granted it does help his image. 😉

  20. Jules permalink
    December 1, 2010 17:43

    I’m a third generation cule and I wanted to thank you for this blog (we might not always agree but even I can appreciate the beauty of Iker and Xabi as well as your fantastic writing style) and for your reasoned responses post-Clasico. My father always told me that what makes you a cule is not how much you hate Real Madrid but how much you love Barcelona. I hope Sergio’s apology puts an end to this. Puyi and Xavi have said they’re over it and they’ve moved on so now we can draw a line under it and leave it in the past.

  21. Deisi permalink
    December 1, 2010 17:44

    I applaud Sergio for stepping up and apologizing for his actions. I know he can be very aggressive on the field, but I never believe he does anything to purposely hurt another player.

  22. Malena permalink
    December 1, 2010 18:49

    I’m glad that everyone is cooling down a bit.
    I like a bunch of players on both teams and it’s quite horrible to see them slap and shove each other.
    BTW, when’s the next clásico? 🙂

    • PMom permalink
      December 2, 2010 22:06

      Grudge match in mid-April 2011.

  23. Ariadni permalink
    December 1, 2010 19:16

    Everything is much better now but… I REALLY miss Raul at such moments…
    In my opinion, Sergio still has a long way to go before he internalizes Real Madrid’s values.

  24. Delicious permalink
    December 1, 2010 20:02

    His apology was wonderful. I knew that he would apologize and take responsibility for his behaviour. And what he said about the kids… that was just amazing! An affecting apology!

  25. RealLisa permalink
    December 1, 2010 20:14

    That’s my Sexio! I’m so proud of him! Once again, we proved how classy (thanks Xabi for taking part in!) and responsible we are.

    And when you guys have already mentioned our captain, there are some rumors about.. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PXIl_Lpnis8&feature=player_embedded well, you’ll see! 😉

  26. December 1, 2010 21:10

    Everyone who went psycho on him for a moment of frustration should be ashamed. The boy is pure goodness ❤

  27. lugifer permalink
    December 1, 2010 21:19

    hit all the right notes.

    when hot heads cool, common sense prevails and the goodness of people come out. we all know sergio had it in him to do the right thing in the end. not only does he have a good heart, he has good, sensible people around him to straighten him out, if needed.

    whew! this episode got me distracted from the other kind of football which i’ve been following closely recently, where sergio’s push cannot even be considered as a serious tackle. 😉

    • Deb permalink
      December 2, 2010 00:40

      Funny that I saw the recent fight (sorry…can’t remember the specific players/teams involved) in “Football American” the same night as El Clasico. I remember thinking to myself….”oh boy and they think what Sergio did was bad? They should see this.”

      • lugifer permalink
        December 2, 2010 08:10

        houston texans v tennessee titans. andre johnson v some thug from the titans. no suspensions. both were fined something like 25k apiece.

      • lugifer permalink
        December 2, 2010 09:10

        here’s the vid for people to compare.

  28. lugifer permalink
    December 1, 2010 21:35

    when his temper is getting the better of him, sergio needs to count to 10, backwards, and in roman numerals.

    or, he could think of his little niece and what she’ll think of him if he does something like this again.

  29. Dina permalink
    December 1, 2010 21:42

    He did what was politically correct…I’m sure; was the situation reversed for Barça’s players; none of them would have done it; to no extent whatsoever!!!
    Pff !!!I didn’t wanna talk, but REALLY??? Are we supposed to take all the blames just becoz we lost???Sergio did well to point out some of Barça’s wrong behaviour (though he didn’t get into details) and I just can’t get a grasp on the fact that these people simply never get blamed for ANYTHING!!! Sergio’s been blamed day and night since his miscalculation on Little thing’s expense (Messi); fortunately nothing bad happened to him! (what would it have become if he was really injured?? :s) But no one thought it was right to at least sigh or roll eyes over what Barça’s player did to Cris!!!!! Two bad actions from both Villa and VV left the man injured and unsure for Saturday! And Pipa’s out for a while now (they say bad news always come in 3; I’m hoping the UEFA’s decision was the third and there’s nothing more left by the end of this year…)
    Sure, Cris is a “caliente” person and has no excuse whatsoever on what he did, but what a “respectable and admired” coach as Pep did, was way outta line!! What did the man do to you??? The most priceless was that vid where they showed Pep lying to Xabi; saying that he actually gave the ball to Cris and that it wasn’t supposed to be his fault… Xabi wouldn’t even look at him; soo solidary of him :sVery bad for ur shiny and diplomatic image Pep…
    And the thing I will never grasp either, is why do Barça players think it’s necessary to do the referee’s job and ALWAYS encircle people ,with defiance so vehemently??? Very rude (and scary!) Cris controlled himself, but Sergio just blew out to some of their faces:)
    No need to point at one by one of their players and what they did, but the thing I was able to come up with as a conclusion at the end is: YES they played spectacular! Yes we played like we were stepping on a football field fo the first time in our lives! YES they had what we didn’t; enough time! But NO for disgraceful victories and irrespectful celebrations! Our boys out there showed bad sides everywhere, but theirs simply can’t EVER play against us without provoking and picking up fights just for the sake of it! The saddest thing for me, is that people think they’re ALL so ethical and fair-play and respectful… they never get blamed, and if they do; it’s never quite spectacular nor mediatised as we get!!! Just because we’re Real Madrid; shame!!!
    ps:sorry I was just planning on writing the first sentence, I couldn’t help the tiping…

  30. noelle permalink
    December 1, 2010 22:00

    awww i just love sergio, i cant be mad at him

  31. jean permalink
    December 1, 2010 22:07

    Why should cristiano come out and apologize? the match ended , now its time to move on.I know that he wasnt supposed to do what he did but why is that RM is always considered as the “bad guys ” in most situations?If you want to EARN RESPECT , YOU HAVE TO SHOW RESPECT TO YOURSELF AND OTHERS FIRST.Bottom line is, Pep shouldnt have done what he did and yes Cristiano should have left it slide and some players defended Cristiano (as far as I can recall pepe, and some barca players did defend him).Im pretty sure that Cristiano is most concerned about his injury right now and he is not going to apologize(I dont think he should).
    Im glad that Sergio spoke about the incident and I agree with the things that he said.Like I thought sometimes you get caught in the heat of the moment and dont consider the consequences of your actions and Im glad that he did .
    Now lets all move on and concentrate on the next game against Valencia.Its going to be a hard one but I think that we can pull it off:):):):):):):)
    I also like what Ozil said about the game (even it wasnt included here).

  32. December 1, 2010 22:28

    For the record – I still think it is nasty to hit anyone in the face, no matter what, so with all my affection to Sergio, and as a member of Sergio’s pena, if I knew him personally he’d get some preaching from me (and a symbolic kick in the ass LOL) I still think he behaved badly and should not have lost his temper…

    Anyway, having said that, it is the best possible thing that could have been done in the situation so I am glad he did the press conference, of course. I kinda was surprised it was not done yesterday and I would be dissapointed if the conference did not happen at all.

    All in all, that’s what he should do – appear, explain (a fair statement that he did not injure anyone), apologise, say something to kids. I think it is the most important – the kids aspect – not because it sounds sweet and melts female hearts – but because kids are the ones who take things most literally. It is hard to explain them that you should not hit a friend just because you are nervous about the match, when they see the famous player behaving like that.

    and -for God’s sake – he should control himself the next time, if that’s possible;-)

    To be clear – I wrote this before I watched the interview to avoid being charmed by his little pretty face and -in consequence – avoid the risk of not being able to write anything objectively. Well, that’s how I am trying to control myself, ironically;-)) Thanks God noone came up with the idea of organising shirtless press conferences, seriously – no judgment of anyone’s actions could take place than LOL

    • December 2, 2010 01:10

      I just read the other comments as they appeared and want to just add to my comment (soorry!), that in my opinion someone’s looks of course should not affect our objectivity in judgment of somoene’s actions, but of course they also often do. It’s just human;-) It is, however, natural and human, to be more understanding towards the person we like (not only because of the looks, but in general). I admit my weakness for Sergio as a person (at least in the aspect I know of, which might or might not be a complete picture) and although I still am not fond of his behaviour during the match (the face snapping mostly, I am able to forgive the fouls as they were in the actual game), the mental image of the shirtless press conference just helps in cheering me up LOL

      Anyway, the Barca game is a closed chapter for me now, I am curious about what will happen in the next games!

      I also think a great advantage of this blog is that it concentrates on the affection (connected with fair, honest opinion when they play weakly) for one team and not on being aggressive towards other teams – I really like what the Jules’s father said about what is the essence of supporting a team!

      all in all, the fans have one thing in common – the love for the game, so lets all enjoy it!

    • goldengirlsk permalink
      December 2, 2010 07:13

      well said.

  33. reggaeballgirl permalink
    December 1, 2010 23:40

    Yayyyy! So proud of Sergio. This is what I hoped he would do. In the heat of the moment things happen. It’s what we do after we have had the time to calm down and think rationally that tells who we are. I never thought it was his intention to hurt Messi (or any other player) I was just scared for a minute that he seemed completely out of control.
    The fact he is mindful of his ‘red’ record shows that he really is trying to improve his image. I really admire him. It takes a big person to apologize in private, let alone publicly. Well done Sergio!

  34. Tash permalink
    December 1, 2010 23:55

    yes, what he did was wrong but he has apologised and it is time to move on 🙂

  35. Ange permalink
    December 2, 2010 00:30

    Abby-…”Being somewhere in between a culé and madridista myself…” ME TOO!!! I’m glad i’m not the only one….

    Sirne & Lissete – Me too…i live in America & i watch on youtube all the time…they great…& yea Sergio character is my fav

    & the comments that Sergio is good looking & we will forgive him …no..he has good body but looks only last for awhile…what really accounts is whats inside..his personality

    & i agree too me it looked like Lass hit Messi not Sergio…

    & on what Sergio said… I admire him for saying what he said… & for taking actions…it takes REAL MAN to admit his faults… & No1 is perfect…& I agree with what he has said…Xavi for Ballon D’or…& he is a great 2nd Captain for Madrid…

    Thanx Una for posting this… I knew & heard some of the press conference …but i didn’t know that he was the one that made that decision & ask to talk!!! 😉

  36. Hala_Madrid permalink
    December 2, 2010 02:12

    I love Sergio no matter what, even if he didn’t apologize, but since he did Thanks for apologizing .

  37. keyla permalink
    December 2, 2010 04:44

    Yes, I’m glad Sergio did this too. But I must say people aren’t what they say they are, their actions are what we really are. And Sergio as well as the whole team has dissapointed me, after the first goal they stopped fighting..and Real Madrid losing against their rival 5-0?? There is NO WAY! I’m really sad and I believe they must do something HUGE in order to have our love back I love the team of course! but right now, I’m dissapointed with the players and Mou as well. They were acting as the worst team ever as if they were xerez or something like that! This is not how professional players should behave and play.

  38. goldengirlsk permalink
    December 2, 2010 07:11

    Big big Sergio fan. Both his passion and his drive and it didnt hurt all the charity work he’s doing.
    His actions deeply upset me during El Classico. In fact I got 36 of texts from friends specially about Sergio saying “wow is he still you favorite after that” or barca friends saying “lol your favorite player is throwing a tantrum”….

    …All i can say is that I’m glad he apologized.

    I’m not going to be like: OMG HE SO HOT ITS OK LKALSF;JAKJF;LKASJ…SO HOT, SO HOT THAT I’M NOT MAD AT HIM ANYMORE

    ^which honestly though, I think its wrong to generalize and say thats why ppl on here arent upset anymore. Thats just wrong because not everybody is like that.

    I agree with Una and I hope he really learnt from this

  39. noelle permalink
    December 2, 2010 11:12

    Una i think u should post that picture of his thigh and butt cuz it would cheer me up and make everything better =)…. i kno, totally unrelated to the subject

    • Maisoun permalink
      December 2, 2010 20:50

      hahaha I totally thought that some Sergio booty would be part of the healing process!

Leave a Reply

