Skip to content

it’s official… reading is sexy

December 3, 2010
tags: ,

Especially when it’s done by the likes of (the lately very much in demand) Iker Casillas and “we’re all expecting to see your abs on Saturday” Álvaro Arbeloa!

The two of them, along FP and their national team head coach Vicente del Bosque, were some of the famous people participating in an act of reading all of the articles of the Spanish constitution this morning in the national congress to commemorate the 32nd anniversary of the document.  FP read first, followed by Álvaro and then Iker, who once again (it happened last year too) got the most applause of the day.

Let’s hope Álvaro tweets something about this – fingers crossed for a picture of him and Iker, but with no thumbs showing, of course!

I’ll have to wait for a video, but if Álvaro cracked up while reading it, I would love him forever (not that I don’t already).  And look at that smile on Iker’s face as he looks at Álvaro.  That sums up nicely why I love these boys so much.

I love how VDB is looking on proudly at them with affection, because they really are his boys.  It seems to be reciprocated too!  And I also find it endearing that the coach puts on glasses every time he reads.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Tex permalink
    December 3, 2010 16:51

    The picture of Iker from RM — the whispering girls in the background are *killing* me.

  2. December 3, 2010 16:56

    Álvaro’s smile awwwwwwwwwww ❤ I really hope he tweets something.

  3. Claudia permalink
    December 3, 2010 19:46

    I saw them when they went to UCLA for their pre-season tour and I have to say that Arbeloa was the nicest player that I have ever met. He signed autographs for as many fans as he can when he was finished with their training and then signed again when the team was leaving. There was even a ManU fan who wanted his autograph, but the fans (in a playful way) said nooooo!!!! Arbeloa was looking at the guy like he was still going to sign, then the Noooo! got louder, then he asked the fans if he should give the autograph and they said NOOOOOO! so, arbeloa looked at the guy shrug his shoulders and smiled at the guy and said goodbye to the fans. Ps. Kudos to the Manu fan, he was very nice and took the joke well. Btw, sorry if this is off topic.

  4. December 3, 2010 19:51

    DO you know how the readers are picked? I understand Iker and del Bosque but Alvaro? I love him but why was he picked as opposed to another player?

  5. camille permalink
    December 3, 2010 19:56

    That is such a cool tradition.

  6. Deb permalink
    December 3, 2010 23:10

    That is so cool that this is done in Spain!

    And the guys are just too cute!

    As for VDB, he probably needs them for reading. Sadly, I know the feeling. :\

  7. Maisoun permalink
    December 4, 2010 01:16

    If I was there, I dont think I would have taken in a single word being read….and not just because I dont speak Spanish 😛

  8. mila_casillas permalink
    December 4, 2010 03:25

    Yay it’s good to see Alvaro getting some limelight. They look like they had a good time =]

  9. Diana permalink
    December 4, 2010 03:37

    Awww, I love them! ❤

  10. barb permalink
    December 5, 2010 02:51

    Just love your blog – when I started reading it a few months ago I expected to see football only – but great to see the players in other venues. Reading and football are top of my personal list of interests, so really liked this post!

  11. Lily permalink
    December 8, 2010 19:04

    Alvaro’s appeal is often underrated, I think. I have no problem with that, though- I get to appreciate him all on my own!

    And yes, reading does look very appealing here- can you imagine how lovely Iker or Alvaro would look in glasses (VDB looks like a sweet old grandpa, they really are his boys, hehe!)

Leave a Reply

