Skip to content

the news to know from yesterday

December 3, 2010

One. A new book about legend and honorary president Alfredo di Stéfano, Di Stéfano. Historias de una leyenda, was presented yesterday at the Bernabéu, in the presence of La Saeta Rubia himself, FP and other club and city officials.  Also present were three of the four Argentines, Gago, Di María and Garay, and the honorary Argentine (?), Sergio Ramos (if you remember, he was also with the Argentines when Diego Maradona came knocking).  Or perhaps it’s because he’s the second captain.  Anyway, this is the third book in a series, with the first two about two guys named Cristiano Ronaldo and Raúl.

Thoughts on Sergio’s bright blue jeans?  They really catch your eye in the photos, since everyone else is wearing mostly neutral and/or dark colors!  Sergio seems to favor bright colored pants – see here or here.  He also seems to really like piping, and his shoes are very shiny!  And yay, a new book for Sergio to read; hopefully he’s finished Poderosamente by now!

Two. The team held a closed training session yesterday, with Cristiano once again staying in the gym, although all signs point to him being fit for the Valencia game, which is good since Gonzalo Higuaín has been ruled out.  Cris is expected to re-join the team in today’s session, along with Iker Casillas.  Iker had the permission of the club to travel to Zurich on Wednesday night to support Iberia’s 2018 World Cup bid, and returned yesterday afternoon.  He headed straight for Valdebebas after landing in Torrejón de Ardoz, and got his own private training session with goalkeeping coach Silvino Louro.

I prefer it this way, because Real Madrid’s site posted pictures of the session and even included a video!  If Iker had participated in the normal session, we wouldn’t have seen anything, since it was a closed session, and this way all the pictures we get are of Iker!

Three. Other changes to the line-up against Valencia include Raúl Albiol and Álvaro Arbeloa coming in for the suspended Ricardo Carvalho and Sergio Ramos (which means Raúl will get to play against his former team).  With at least three changes to our usual starting line-up, this game is a good chance to prove what Real Madrid is all about, and that includes a lot of heart.

Four. Meanwhile, Pipita headed to Barcelona yesterday to get that second opinion about his herniated disc.  He went to see Dr. Enric Cáceres, who had operated on Villarreal player Santi Cazorla last season for the same injury.  Dr. Cáceres said that if Gonzalo is currently receiving epidural injections, and he has to get better in three days in order not to have surgery.  If he does get better, he can rejoin the team next week.  But if by Monday, there are no improvements, then he should be operated on, with the recovery period from four to six weeks.

Five. And in other news, Iker and FP are expected to help read out loud the Constitution this morning in the Congreso de los Diputados.  They also participated last year.  Constitution Day is Dec. 6 in Spain, and it’s a holiday, yay puente!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer permalink
    December 3, 2010 12:52

    Love Sergio’s jeans. Love them. I like the green ones too, okay? The mandals were the real crime in that outfit!

    Looking forward to Arbeloa and Albiol getting some proper playing time, even though it means no Sergio for me to ogle. Hopefully Arbeloa can flash his abs at us again 😀 (My priorities may be slightly skewed…)

    Hoping for the best for Pipita, pobrecito!

    (Iker’s solo training session was adorable, but it made me think that he was in detention for skipping class or something :-p )

  2. December 3, 2010 12:58

    Thank you for the news!

    I am not calling Sergio Sexio for another few days, but the pants are adorable, I love them!

    I hope Cristiano will be ready to play tomorrow, but if he needs more time to be fully ok, lets give him. He seems to have the injury coming back quite often, no? I hope Pipita gets better soon, keeping my fingers crossed for him!!!!

    To find a silver lining in Carvalho and Sergio not playing, I am very happy that Alvaro and Raul Albiol will play. I wish them a great game. It will be difficult for the team, I think, for the first minutes to play, I hope they erased the memory of Monday. Or – they preserved the feeling of losing and remembering how awful it is, they would want to avoid it.

    Last but not least: hello Iker!

  3. Kristine permalink
    December 3, 2010 14:23

    I looove Sergios jeans! I loved the green and red ones too! I even thought his sandals were fine with the green jeans! Why cant men wear sandals?? I dunno, it just doesn’t bother me, as long as they aren’t wearing them with socks!

    Hoping Cris is really ok for the game, and saying a little prayer for Pipita!

    No Sergio makes me sad, but as Jennifer said…Arbeola abs (and other things) are nice as well!

    I hope they can all put that negative energy out of their heads, and play like the Madrid boys we all know and love!

  4. suzanne permalink
    December 3, 2010 14:24

    nervous for the match tomorrow. but super ecited arbeloa and albiol are playing. i really love those guys and hope they do well.
    praying hard for pipa!
    i like sergio’s jeans, though i can’t hate on anything that man wears

  5. inmybestdress permalink
    December 3, 2010 16:03

    Hahaha, in the link to Sergio’s green jeans, a post from August ’09 you wrote: “Ronaldo and Kaká seem to be getting along really, really well… we’ve progressed from casual chatting to hugging.”
    Aww, Cris and Kaká in the young stages of their relationship.

    Anyways. Yes, Sergio’s jeans are oddly eye-catching though I strangely prefer the green ones. They’re kind of legendary.

    Have a nice weekend 🙂

    • December 3, 2010 17:34

      I love all the colours of those pants too, he seems to have bought them together, I love even the ones that we’ve not seen yet! (althought I might regret saying that in the future) LOL

  6. Gilly B permalink
    December 3, 2010 16:24

    I agree with the general consensus is in favour or acceptance of Sergio + bright coloured jeans. The boy digs them. Deal with it *drops sunshades*

    These box fresh primary colours work better in the sunshine, but I guess he has enough of a sunny personality to compensate for it, so it’s all good 🙂

  7. Ava permalink
    December 3, 2010 16:39

    praying the epidural works! it could be amazing to have Pipita back so soon..
    I am glad Raúl is in the starting line up along with Álvaro , I hope they impress the pants off Mou tomorrow 😉
    And Sergio.. oh geez, where does he shop for his pants??

  8. nicoole permalink
    December 3, 2010 17:12

    sorry if this is a stupid question but what is a piping?

  9. Fernanda permalink
    December 3, 2010 18:12

    oh gosh..that pants are terrible…but I don´t know whay they look good at him..oh my God, what I´m talking about..haha..

    I think I’ve never said that before, but it´s never too late…i love your blog!! your updates and comments are just amazing!! thank’s for your good job!!!

    😉

    xx

  10. Pat permalink
    December 3, 2010 20:05

    New hope for Pipita.
    Let’s pray that everything goes okay.
    Besos from Brasil

  11. Michelle permalink
    December 3, 2010 23:12

    I found that goalkeeper training video fascinating! I’ve watched football for over 20 years but don’t think I’d ever spent any time at all thinking about what goalkeeping drills are like. Now I’m inventing exercises in my head. The more you know! (And yes, yes, Iker looks quite lovely diving all around the ground 🙂 )

  12. Deb permalink
    December 3, 2010 23:21

    “praying the epidural works! it could be amazing to have Pipita back so soon..”

    I am hoping this works too. My sister had a herniated disc several years ago and they gave her epiderals of cortisone and it helped. She’s been fine ever since. Surgery on the back is just too scary!

  13. YouNeverWalkAlone permalink
    December 4, 2010 01:29

    The only thing good, I think of practically *everyone* being injured or suspended or whatnot, is that others get a chance to play.

    Silver lining, my dears.

  14. Maisoun permalink
    December 4, 2010 03:01

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE Sergio’s jeans!!! He’s such a smart sexy beast! “See my tush, it’ll blind you as you watch me walk away!” hahah You KNOW he bought those jeans as a set! ….I wonder if any other brightly colored pairs will make an appearance….I dont even mind the shoes at all, he’s a lookin FINE! 😉

    “Gonzalo is currently receiving epidural injections” —as in Pipita is going to have a Pipita of his own? 😛

  15. mila_casillas permalink
    December 4, 2010 03:30

    Oh my Pipita. My heart yearns for your speedy return to top form. 😦

  16. Tash permalink
    December 4, 2010 04:10

    love Sergio’s jeans!!! I wonder if he has all the bright coloured ones arranged like the rainbow?
    hope Pipita recovers soon, his injury is breaking my heart 😦

Trackbacks

  1. weekend update « following Real Madrid…

Leave a Reply

