Skip to content

in case you missed it – the football connoisseur edition

December 13, 2010

In case you missed it – Zaragoza vs. Madrid [2010-12-12].

One. The fourth time was the charm for MFC Álvaro Borja Morata Martín, who got his long-awaited debut yesterday against Zaragoza!  He came in in the 89th minute and immediately had a shot at the goal.  After the game, MFC said of his debut, “it’s a dream to debut with Real Madrid.  I dedicate this to all my friends, to everyone in the club who helped me, to those who were always there for me and cheering me on when I wasn’t doing well, and to my parents, who were in the stands with my sister Marta” (they had visited him at the hotel in the morning).

I love how cariñosos Pepe (once again showing that he’s the official canterano cheerleader) and Marcelo are with adorable Álvaro!  Look at his cute little face!

Álvaro also said, “I wouldn’t sell the shirt of my debut for €20 million.  It’s for my parents and my sister, who are always there for me.”  Álvaro also dedicated it to all the boys who train in Valdebebas, sending them a message of hope:  “this is a sign that the youth system of Madrid works.”

In postgame declarations, Xabi said he was “very happy for [Morata].  It’s a shame that he didn’t score.  We hope he’ll play with us again,” while Iker said “he’s a very nice kid.  It’s great to have canteranos come to the first team.”  And Morata revealed that Mou told him before the game to stay calm, and congratulated him after.

I wanted to name this ICYMI after him, but he really only played four minutes.  If he had managed to score, this would have been the MFC Álvaro Morata edition.  So, I chose to name this edition after the three wonderful goals we saw in this game.

Two. Before the game, the other Álvaro, Álvaro Arbeloa, gave a hug to Zaragoza player Javier Paredes, who like him is also a Madrid canterano.  They played together at Real Madrid B between 2003 and 2005.  See, the cantera does work!

Meanwhile, Iker had his captain duties.  This was of course Iker’s 400 game in the first division, catapulting him into ninth place on Madrid’s all-time list.  And he once again wore long sleeves.  I guess I have to start getting used to that.

Three. Three gorgeous goals yesterday, two off sublime passes.  The secondary players, such as Marcelo, Lass – perhaps in his best game so far this season, showing off strength and precision – and Arbeloa, really shone in this game.  I remember when there was concern over the fullback positions, but now with these two, there’s nothing to do but praise.

This was Mesut’s first goal outside the Bernabéu.

Cris managed to incorporate almost all of his goal celebrations so far this season into one moment, no?  Cris Jr. wasn’t there, so there no thumb sucking, though.

This was Cris’ 17th goal the Liga, which he said “was one of my best.”  He also thanked his teammates:  “if they hadn’t provoked the foul, then I wouldn’t have been able to score.  I’m happy.”  I love how still Leo Franco was standing before, during and after the goal.

And Ángel di María formed three hearts (and one kiss) in his goal celebration.  Maybe one of them was for Pipita?

Four. Some signs of frustration from our players, but they still manage to be so cute.

Marcelo doesn’t want to be calmed down.

Five. Front and back.™

Álvaro Arbeloa.  He told “El Larguero” after the game that his entire family and a lot of friends were there, and he didn’t want to spend time speaking to the press because they didn’t have a lot of time before they were due to go to the airport.

Karim Benzema.  He looks good with a hood on.

Cristiano Ronaldo.  I want to take a pair of scissors and cut off that little tail on the nape of his neck.

Ángel di María.  He really is thin, isn’t he?  Fideo indeed.

Iker Casillas.  Loving the pursed lips, because he looks like he wants a kiss.

Xabi Alonso.  Even he’s overwhelmed by his classiness, good looks, style, charm, etc.

Six. Some of the skills in Cristiano Ronaldo’s repertoire.  He knows how to use his body well.

Seven. Self explanatory.

Eight. The Xabi Alonso pose section.™

It looks like our boy got a haircut (and wanted to show it off).  So here is Xabi’s beautiful head, from every angle.

And some posing.  Take a good look, since there will be no posing in the Sevilla game.

Nine. The Mou corner.

At his postgame press conference, Mou once again repeated the statement that “there is one set of rules for Mourinho, and one set for everyone else,” because he believes that there are coaches that can protest and ones that can’t.  He called the game “completísimo,” and praised Lass, saying he was the best in the game, and “incredible in all aspects.”  He also had good things to say about Cristiano, describing him a “phenomenon” and saying that his goal was one the “best in his collection.”

And of course, there was the fun facial expressions and gestures.

The best moment was in the 50th minute, when Mou hit his head on the roof of the bench.  Dr. Hernández had to attend to him.  It made Aitor laugh (he’s not the only one).

Mou also explained about the dog and cat statement:  “the dog and cat refer to the tactical system, not players.  The dog is playing with three forwards and a reference, with more aggression.  The cat is playing with a 4-4-2 system, without a reference, less offensive and with greater control.”  And he managed to launch another zinger:  “I thought everyone was intelligent enough to understand what I was saying, but they believed that Gonzalo was the dog and Karim was that cat.  It’s not like that.”  JAJAJA!!!

However, that didn’t stop the press from using the dog/cat analogy to describe the players.  Tomás Roncero over at AS had this to say:  “Benzema is a beautiful cat, Cristiano Ronaldo and Di María are pitbulls, Lass is a sleek dalmatian, Özil is a German shepherd, Pepe and Carvalho are Siamese cats, Xabi Alonso is a Siberian husky, Marcelo a chihuahua, Arbeloa a wolf and Casillas a Doberman with gloves.”

Jajaja!!!  I agree with most of them, but isn’t Cristiano supposed to be a leopard, due to his shoes?

Ten. And Castilla deserves a special mention, for their comeback 3-1 victory against Badajoz yesterday!  Badajoz scored in the 82nd minute, and things didn’t look good for Castilla.  But in the next seven minutes, Raúl Goni (left) and Fran Rico (right) scored, which, along with a Badajoz own goal, gave Castilla the victory.  Interesting fact: Goni is on loan to Castilla from Real Zaragoza this season.

This is the celebration for the Fran Rico goal.  In case you didn’t know, he’s Castilla’s captain.

Eleven. Looking ahead:  The team went home via airplane, after having to resort to taking the AVE to Zaragoza due to fog.  Marcelo and Xabi got their fifth yellow cards, meaning they will have to sit out the game against Sevilla.  Considering how well some of the players who are usually substitutes have been playing, I’m not worried at all.  I have faith in this team.

The players have today off, and Iker is expected to receive the Golden Glove trophy from FIFA today, in honor of being the best goalkeeper during the World Cup.

34 Comments leave one →
  1. KDJ permalink
    December 13, 2010 14:27

    “Benzema is a beautiful cat” -> I couldn’t agree more! He’s beautiful… I might start a fanfic about him, LOL. My imagination been running wildly over this french man. And he’s a Moslem!! My kind of man

  2. Cosi permalink
    December 13, 2010 14:49

    Cristiano a pitbull?! Even if not a leopard, he’s definitely a cat. But spot on with the Doberman with gloves! Although I’d say more of a foxy doberman. 🙂 *and no point in trying to fit Sergio into a cat or a dog when he’s a stallion!

    • Zee permalink
      December 13, 2010 19:44

      Ramos is a Stallion LOL! Benzema can be a scottish fold 🙂 no? HALA MADRID!!

      • Cosi permalink
        December 14, 2010 05:20

        Lol! Ya, a brave, charging stallion- something I’d always thought, and confirmed by everyone else on this blog a few weeks back! 😉 (when Cristiano’s leopard boots came out)

        Gotta love Mou’s witty jabs and stabs! And his directness. Cristiano’s goal was a phenom, and Mou had no problem saying so. 🙂

        Happy for di Maria- lol, ya, he’s pretty skinny…

        Great game, great debut, great overall!

  3. Guilherme permalink
    December 13, 2010 15:14

    Note that this is the first time the he (Ozil) actually celebrated a goal.

    • canederli permalink
      December 13, 2010 23:21

      Eh? I’m not sure what you mean by that. He’s celebrated all the goals I’ve seen him make.

  4. mumblo permalink
    December 13, 2010 15:52

    Another match where Xabi hasn’t taken any corner kicks. Mou eluded the question a couple of weeks ago when the press asked. Does anyone have any idea why this change was made?

    • Cosi permalink
      December 14, 2010 05:13

      I’ve been wondering the same thing 😦 Seems a bit odd…

  5. Reno permalink
    December 13, 2010 15:58

    Ha, finally!! Our favourite canterano got his debut! Oh, how I wish he had scored… but that would have been too perfect to be true.
    And how cute is Pepe? He really is the canterano cheerleader =)

    I don’t really like Xabi Alonso’s new haircut… He looks way better with longer hair. Wait a second… … … O___o whoa, this new haircut totally reminds me of Steven Gerrard!! …I’m not sure if that is scary or good…

    Aaaaw, Mou hitting his head… poor guy. Somehow. If I had been there, would have laughed at him forever… ^^

    Oh, and congrats to the Castilla team. Well done, and absolutely cute goal celebrations!!

    Thanks Una!!

  6. RealLisa permalink
    December 13, 2010 15:59

    Yes, yes YES!!! Finally MFC Morata debuted! YES!!! Sooo *happy*! “I wouldn’t sell the shirt of my debut for €20 million” now that should be the quote of the day.
    Looooooved Cris’s…umm goal?! Nooo that was a GOLAZOO, damn! Only he can score like that. I saw the expressions on Mou’s face, when Karim missed a few nice opportunities. It’s not that he didn’t played well, but..he kinda couldn’t get through Zaragoza’s defence. Por que Benz, por que? LOL Una, you’ve overdone yourself this time with the pictures. Love ’em! As for Mr. Perfect aka Xabi, I too noticed that he cut his hair, and it looks… *melting* How can be so perfect?!? That’s not even legal!!! I mean, it shouldn’t be. Lucky Nagore!
    Jajajaj Marcelo chihuahua?? I can totally see that! Nonononono Sergio is a wolf and Alvaro a German shepherd, I can’t imagine Ozil as that one. He’s more like.. hmm scottish shepherd maybe? Although I’m completely fine with the deer. 🙂

  7. Louise permalink
    December 13, 2010 16:20

    I love the dog/cat analogy. Marcelo=chihuahua is perfect. Xabi as a lead dog Husky is very good, too (he could also be a Border Collie–the ultimate herder, smartest dog on the pitch), as well as Iker as a Doberman protecting his goal.

    I would make Carvalho and Pepe Bull Mastiffs. Sergio is an Afghan Hound. I think Ozeil is more of a German Pointer than a German Shepard Dog, which suits Khedira better. Lass is an Akita. Cristiano is definitely not a pit bul; he’s a Standard Poodle–tough, very smart, but groomed to within an inch of its life. Pipita is a Golden Retriever–sweet, adorable, always going after the ball.

  8. jean permalink
    December 13, 2010 16:50

    thank u for this post una:):):):):):)

  9. AngelDust permalink
    December 13, 2010 17:54

    Morata Morata Morata 😀 😀 He did it!!! 😀 He was so cute 🙂 I love how he’s the first thing you mention. I was really hoping he would score though…that would have been amazing!!

    But does this mean that since he’s made his debut they probably will not call him up for the next few games, Una?

  10. December 13, 2010 18:03

    I like Siberian Huskies 😉

  11. Gillian permalink
    December 13, 2010 18:10

    Hmm…so, are we to add German shepherd to the list of nicknames for Ozil (along with Bambi – for his Bambi award, Baby Mesut and “Avatar Eyes”)? He’s racking them up.

    I know he didn’t score in the game, but I still adore Benzema SO. MUCH.

    As always, thank you for the Xabi pose section. It really does make my day 🙂

    • goldengirlsk permalink
      December 15, 2010 19:43

      My roommate (who obviously didn’t know about the Bambi award) thought he was called Bambi…bc he’s a deer trapped in the headlights!!!!

      I feel bad, but I actually cried from laughing…

  12. xoxoV permalink
    December 13, 2010 19:10

    VERY HAPPY FOR MORATA (great kid and mfc)!!!! Pepe and Marcelo both adorable canterano cheerleaders lol
    The dogs and cat statement is very funny and must agree they kinda got it on point with who is who. Cristiano’s goal was real good my fav.! I think that Di Mario said MAMA when he blew the kiss … & the golden glove trophy from fifa well deserved IKER!!!

  13. December 13, 2010 19:25

    Hi,
    I’ve got a small request – could You make a gif with Marcelo when he’s passing over (with head in “funny” way) the ball to the Casillas? Thanks a lot 😉 Greetings from Poland:]

  14. Siv permalink
    December 13, 2010 19:34

    “Marcelo a chihuahua” hahaha…that’s hilarious. It’s actually pretty apt too…

  15. ToujoursPetite permalink
    December 13, 2010 19:53

    Congrats to Morata!! Definitely looking forward to seeing him play longer than a minute, though. But I won’t lie, whenever I see him, I keep thinking about his fascination with Cris’ legs… Ah, never gets old XD

    “Özil is a German shepherd”

    Really? Our delicate little Ozil? I dunno, to me, he’ll always be like ~Bambi

    • YouNeverWalkAlone permalink
      December 13, 2010 23:25

      XD I don’t think he’s ever going to live that one down XD

      • ToujoursPetite permalink
        December 14, 2010 17:43

        Hahaha, not with us, at least!

  16. Ange permalink
    December 13, 2010 19:54

    i think I just watch Mou for laughs…Cause he always does or says something that i find really funny… & that
    GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL from CR7 was AMAZING!!!! that was like WOW!!! I couldn’t believe it… it was very beautiful!!! 😀

  17. amouria permalink
    December 13, 2010 21:04

    Well, my lovely lovely Una, thanks a lot for everything, especially that did not forget to bring Mou in. Please do it more often. I would also like to ask our ‘friends’ in this page to publicise your blog as wide as possible. Not because it is different and lovely, but because there is really really a growing hostility against RM (see some articles in As and Marca today and also refer to Mou’s reference to the way CR9 is received).
    I miss our tiger!! Ramos,, hope to see him soon together with the cute Lass and the handsome Khudaira.
    Have any one notice the way Ozil greets his substitute when he leave, my god, adorable. Love his sheer shyness.
    Una, you had long weekend, right?….hahaha

  18. Dina permalink
    December 13, 2010 22:11

    Iker will receive his Golden Glove trophy til January on that FIFA Ceremony where they’ll reward as well the best player of the year (aka Ballo d’Or) (aka a Barça player 😦 ) and the best coach of the year amongst other titles I suppose!
    Bu seriously, really wish el mister could give his chance to little Alvaro, I really think he’d surprise…but I get it that he’s firmly working on taking the pressure away from the kid, with no praising…BUT STILL!
    And what is it with your MFC bfr his name??? Is it Madrid Futbol Club or what???
    Lovely, lovely post! I saw Cuatro Deportes today and La Sexta Deportes as always and was waiting for ur part impatiently!

    • YouNeverWalkAlone permalink
      December 13, 2010 23:24

      When she says MFC I believe she is referring to the words “my favorite canterano” because she got tired of putting it in front of his name all the time. lol

  19. jean permalink
    December 13, 2010 23:44

    So Una I was wondering if its okay that I publicize your blog to some of the other Rm websites and forum that I visit.
    U deserve to get a lot more views, because your are doing a Fantastic job:):):):):)

  20. December 14, 2010 01:47

    Mou as always, epic!

    adorable Marcelo and Pepe!

    thanks for another great post UnaMadritista!

  21. December 14, 2010 03:03

    Great cats/dogs analogies. I hope Benz will upgrade himself to be, for instance, Lakeland Terrier very soon.
    Ozil may not look like a German Shepherd, but I think the author refers to the brain of German Shepeherd, as one of the most intelligent dogs, which, IMO does suit Ozil in that department.

  22. ulong permalink
    December 14, 2010 03:59

    “Marcelo a chihuahua”
    I can’t be more agree with that

  23. Michelle permalink
    December 15, 2010 05:50

    Madridista, you know how I always tell you FRM is rubbing off in a major way on me? When I saw Morata come on in the last minutes of the match I went, “Heyyy, it’s MFC Morata!” Even though he is far from being MY favourite canterano! 😉 I thought you might like that 🙂

    I did NOT like Xabi’s hair! It was the first thing I noticed, that he had gotten a haircut, and that it was NOT a good development. Not permanently crippling of course, but it looked like when boys get their hair cut and they go a bit too short and they look a little dorky until it grows back out to a better length. That’s what Xabi’s hair looked like today IMO. (Not that he’s still not one of the most perfect men alive.)

    Re super-skinny fideo Ángel di María — the first thing it made me think of was something someone submitted to the Guardian about him: “‘Everytime they say ‘Angel Di Maria’, I seem to hear the words ‘Unhealthy Maria’, and there’s a shot of him looking tired wiping his sweating face. Why?’ Can’t say why, but he certainly looks like a couple of decent meals would do him no harm.” I laughed then, and I laughed upon remembering it again today! (The mishearing, of course, is because the English comms pronounce his name an-HELL, instead of AHN-hel as the accent indicates, no?)

    Tomas Roncero is insane on the best of days… but in particular, I don’t agree with his animal choices! Cristiano is CLEARLY a cat, and very specifically a preening empress-like Siamese, all lithe and sleek and satisfied. Also, Xabi’s no Siberian Husky, what nonsense is that — Xabi Alonso is a FOX. I am leaving that statement as self-evidentiary. *nod*

Trackbacks

  1. a season’s worth of Mouisms « following Real Madrid…

Leave a Reply

