Skip to content

what he should have done on Tuesday

December 17, 2010

As mentioned earlier, Iker helped to hand out presents to children this afternoon with the foundation of the Clinica Menorca.  And of course, there he was asked about two pertinent topics, getting Lyon in the Champions League draw, and his relationship with Cristiano Ronaldo.

With regards to his relationship with Cris, Iker said, “there are people who want to create controversy and say there is a bad atmosphere when the truth is the opposite.  Cristiano and I get along very well.  Each person is different, but that doesn’t mean that there’s distance between us or a confrontation.  There are no groups or cliques.  In the locker room, there is a great atmosphere.  We have to get move on and stop talking about stupid things.”

He also added that right now he “agrees a bit with Di Stéfano in that I think that my teammates are the best.”

I’m glad he was so direct and forthright this time, instead of trying to tiptoe around the situation and making it worse.  This is more captainly behavior, no?  Now hopefully the press will stop fixating on this thing, although I’m sure they will find/make up something new to focus on soon.

As for Lyon, Iker said that it’s a serious rival that requires prudence and respect, especially in light of what happened last year.  He added that they’re not going to France with revenge in mind (unlike me).

He also touched upon the Sevilla game, saying that neither he nor the coach nor the club are concerned about the defense, because “it’s well-covered and we have players that can play several positions.”

It looks like Iker’s been scarf shopping with Sergio and Pepe, no?

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Cosi permalink
    December 17, 2010 17:10

    Brilliant, clearing the air of all that talk. Hooray! Let’s move onto other non-stupid things now, lol. 🙂

    Btw, am I imagining things or does Iker have a sunglasses pimple on the bridge of his nose? It’s not the first time I’ve seen it, either… not that it matters, though!

    • emily permalink
      December 20, 2010 19:26

      It’s just a mole/overgrown freckle thing. You see it in every close up shot, unless it gets photoshopped out.

  2. realmadrid23 permalink
    December 17, 2010 17:10

    Good for Iker to come out and say it how it is. It is more captain like behaviour but he’s not yet at the Raul level. I think Raul, in terms of captain like behaviour, was a 10 and Iker is just trying to work himself up. I love Iker, but damn…I miss Raul so much. It’s funny how all this stupid news always comes around the Champions League time, we have a few months to really get behind all this Cristiano-Iker stuff to really focus on Lyon.

    • Mel permalink
      December 17, 2010 19:30

      I knew what he meant in his first interview. I think the person who called Iker to interview him didn’t let Iker know what was the situation which is really common in talk shows and Iker’s there all like, “hmm what is up with this rumor now?” Glad he cleared it up though and I really like his sweater, I just hate the scarf haha

      • Sarah permalink
        December 19, 2010 01:22

        I understand that Iker was well-intentioned and what he probably meant with the first interview, but as a captain, he has to be prepared to be ambushed. Look at how Xabi handled it; he was ambushed by interviewers who were even more vicious, but he was categorical in his denials. I love Iker and I’m proud to have him as my captain, but he needs to learn to be more blunt and direct. This isn’t the last rumor he’ll have to deny.

        • Mel permalink
          December 19, 2010 19:58

          I totally agree with you but it’s his first year as captain so I’m giving him time to adapt. They’ve always had Raul to say things and so I think Iker will probably learn as time goes by. I remember the first few years that Raul became captain. He was pretty new at this stuff too.

    • Mel permalink
      December 17, 2010 19:31

      oops sorr that was supposed to be a comment not a reply >.>

    • Ariadni permalink
      December 17, 2010 19:57

      realmadrid23, I couldn’t agree MORE with you about the ”Raul level” you mentioned!!
      I appreciate Iker too, but Raul will always be our Captain Fantastic! ❤

    • Fatima permalink
      December 18, 2010 03:21

      Your comment just made me miss Raul so much!! Though I have been a Real fan 4 a long time, I only just started watching all their matches (or the ones I could) last season.
      I miss Raul, because he meant so much 2 the team and he always seemed perfect 2 me…
      For me no one can get 2 his level, sorry 2 say but not even Iker.

  3. ebrahim permalink
    December 17, 2010 17:33

    ja!ja!ja!ja!

  4. Maddi permalink
    December 17, 2010 17:57

    Is it me or does Iker’s hair look a different color from the front than from the side? It seems a lot lighter… hopefully he’s not losing too much hair!! I don’t want him to look like Robben in a couple of years… I can’t really picture him with a shaved head.

  5. mar permalink
    December 17, 2010 18:53

    good for you iker that you didi us una said: act as the captain…if only you listened to her in the fashion area too…

  6. Dina permalink
    December 17, 2010 22:28

    Excellent attitude capitan!!!! He also specified that Messi was the Ballon d’Or of this current year, hence the best! And Cris was the year before him, which meant he was technically considered as the best ! And said that if he were to be asked who was the actual best he would tell you that he’s not the person in charge to determine that and that there R many journalists who were in charge of that task!
    I also liked what he said about his relationship whith Cris and the locker romm ambiance in general, especially when he talked about Marcel who’s a joyfull and fantastic guy, as well as Pepe and Cris! And that is a pretty young group with a very healthy athmosphere amongst them and that they were united and are the kind of people who don’t like it when ppl from outside try to create controversy and problems btw them all especially when they all get along so well! Basically that’s all he said ’bout THAT particular subject!

    • Sarah permalink
      December 19, 2010 01:24

      Can you give me more details on what he said specifically about Marcelo, Pepe, Cris, etc?

  7. December 18, 2010 00:15

    The scarf looks like an early Christmas gift from Pepe.

  8. mila_casillas permalink
    December 18, 2010 00:19

    Thank you Iker. Was that so hard to say?

  9. comeatme permalink
    December 18, 2010 03:27

    What does he mean he agrees with Di Stefano??

    • December 18, 2010 12:35

      Di Stéfano had said earlier in the week that he prefers Cristiano over Messi.

  10. December 18, 2010 15:31

    That first picture is absolutely precious!

    I totally agree that Iker is not yet the captain that Raul was, but he’s only had a few seasons at it, so let’ give him a chance. Plus, I think he hasn’t anticipated that his relationship with a sports journalist was going to cause complications like this.

    http://dontaskmetosmile.wordpress.com

Trackbacks

  1. the Christmas lunch – a fashion review « following Real Madrid…

Leave a Reply

