Skip to content

two to three more months!

December 18, 2010
tags:

(until he ventures to speak Spanish.)

AS has a nice interview with Bambi Mesut Özil, in which he talks about life in Madrid, whether Cristiano and Iker get along, what will happen when Kaká returns, and how his Spanish learning is going!  He’s very diplomatic, no?

Q:  How has your adaptation to Madrid been like?

A:  I’m feeling very good, I like being in a great city like Madrid.  The people are very friendly and my teammates have treated me very well and have supported me a lot.

Q:  What do you think of Lyon?  Who’s the favorite?

A:  We finished first in our group and I think that brings respect.  And we also respect our rivals.  We don’t have fear, we’re going to play our game and of course, our objective is to pass to the next round.

Q:  Is there a desire for revenge against Lyon?

A:  It’s not precisely revenge.  We want to win, play our game and not give the rival opportunities.  It’s a new season, and we want to advance as far as possible and bring the Champions to Madrid.  It’s a difficult task, but we hope to get to the next round.

Q:  Is there resentment between Casillas and Cristiano?

A:  I don’t think so.  I look around in the locker room and I see that they get along perfectly well.  That’s why I don’t think there’s anything true about that.

Q:  It’s also been said that some teammates don’t celebrate the goals…

A:  I celebrate with the entire team.  After each goal, you can see that the team is happy and that we all get together, you can see that we’re like a small family.

Q:  You’ve played 20 games, 19 as a starter, but after Christmas, Kaká will be back.  Who’s going to start?

A:  My goal is to play all the games, which is why I train very hard, but it’s up to the coach to decide.  I want to keep on improving, I feel great playing here and I think we can play well together.

Q:  You’ve scored five goals and given nine assists, including some wonderful ones that reminded people of Guti.  Are you the new Guti?

A:  Guti was an extraordinary player with a lot of personality, but I’m Özil and I want to be the best, but in my style.  You can compare me with other players, but I have my own way of playing and I’m going to do my best to improve to help out my team.

Q:  You appear to be quite timid off the field.  You’re young but we’ve seen your artistic talents.

A:  I did that for my sponsors and I had fun, but I don’t have the voice to be a singer.  I like football, and show business is not for me.  I’m a calm person, I like to be with my friends and family and to stay at home.

Q:  What is a day in the life of Özil like?

A:  I love Madrid.  It’s a very cosmopolitan city, I go out to shop, to eat at restaurants, I’ve been to visit parts of the city with teammates and it’s a city that I like a lot and I’m getting to know it more with each day.

Q:  What is your favorite type of food?

A:  Turkish specialties.  What my mother cooks, but I also like Spanish food.

Q:  What are you going to do this Christmas?

A:  I’m going to be with my family, and after that on vacation with friends.

Q:  Mourinho apparently wants the team to be in the concentración right after the new year starts [at 01:30h].  What’s your opinion?

A:  I don’t know anything about that, but that’s our profession and we have to do it.

Q:  You received death threats when you had to choose between Turkey and Germany, was it difficult?

A:  Everyone can have their opinion, but I knew that I was going to play for Germany because that’s where I was born and where I have my family and friends.  I received an invitation from Germany and after that one from Turkey, but I knew that I would play for Germany.

Q:  Did the World Cup change your life?

A:  It made me more well-known.  But I’m the same Özil as I’ve always been, the one that likes to be with friends and family and to enjoy football like a child.  I’m very proud of having made it to Real Madrid, to have been wanted by one of the best teams in the world.  The World Cup was an extraordinary experience and Spain was a just winner.

Q:  A desire for 2011.

A:  Health is the most important, along with being successful in football, achieving the personal goals that I set for myself.

Q:  How are your Spanish classes going?  When are you going to start speaking Spanish?

A:  I think in two or three months.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. johanna permalink
    December 18, 2010 10:55

    I love Özil, he seems so humble and down to earth.

    Thank you so much for posting this! 🙂

  2. amouria permalink
    December 18, 2010 11:18

    Una, my dear, can you put a picture of his departure from the pitch in which he greets his substitute? He only touches the figures of his substitute without hugs, smiles, etc….He ‘s such a lovely boy. I would love to have a son who has the same manners. I am sure that his mother has a great influence on his personality. Ozil does not have the stupid macho personality, a great example of the 21st century footballer…

  3. Deb permalink
    December 18, 2010 11:31

    Ohhh…he seems like such a nice guy. I’m glad he’s settling in the Madrid so well.

    And he received “death threats” for not choosing Turkey?! O.M.G.! I seriously can’t comprehend HOW the Turks expected him to play for Turkey when he was born and lived his entire life in Germany. I don’t get it.

    Also, isn’t Ozil Muslim? Why would they ask him about Christmas?

    “with Bambi Mesut Özil” – hehehehe Bambi is so fitting :p

    • HermosaChica permalink
      December 18, 2010 13:58

      Lots of Muslims don’t mind celebrating Christmas, especially ones who’ve lived in a non-Muslim country for so long. There’s no telling whether he actually celebrates it or not, but I think the question was leaning towards asking him what he was going to do during his time off.

      And I agree: he does seem like a pretty nice guy. 🙂

  4. December 18, 2010 13:39

    It broke my heart when he chose Germany over Turkey but I still love him ❤

  5. Tash permalink
    December 18, 2010 14:52

    He seems so sweet (and you’re right Una-he is very diplomatic)

  6. jean permalink
    December 18, 2010 16:17

    I like him.He seems like a nice guy:)

  7. lulu permalink
    December 18, 2010 16:59

    Yes, deffinately a nice guy, not a macho. I love how his family are the most important thing for him. Shame he broke up with his girlfriend. Must be really hard for him on his own in Madrid!!! (He could call me if he gets lonely…)
    With Kaka coming back, I hope he will still get playing time! Would be sad not to see him play any more!

  8. Emme permalink
    December 18, 2010 17:44

    Thanks for referring to him as Bambi!!! lol! He is so precious & sweet – not to mention an amazing footballer! I really think he & Sami Khedira have added an extra level of class to Real Madrid. I loved the Guti comment 🙂 Could you even imagine if there was a Guti 2.0?? (I know the comment was about playing style and not personal style, but I am just trying to picture Bambi in one of Guti’s hairstyles) Can’t wait until the Germans start speaking Spanish!!

  9. ToujoursPetite permalink
    December 18, 2010 18:09

    Guti was an extraordinary player with a lot of personality, but I’m Özil and I want to be the best, but in my style.

    Perfect answer, Bambi!! Be your delicate, little German self forever~

  10. pammy permalink
    December 18, 2010 22:01

    awwww. what an awesome guy with a great personality! i thought he couldn’t get anymore lovable. please keep on posting about stuff about him. he’s one of those players who you fall in love with instantly.

  11. lulu6 permalink
    December 19, 2010 05:42

    What?? Is this guy joking?
    “Are you the new Guti”, he asks…
    Doesn’t he know it’s 201Ö????? The year of the umlaut, anyone? LOL 😉

  12. Jennifer permalink
    December 19, 2010 14:02

    Aw, I can’t wait to hear Mesut speak Spanish! He always comes across as very thoughtful, and quite sweet; he’s definitely one of my favorite new players (the fantastic skills on the pitch don’t hurt, of course!) and I hope he continues to get playing time after Kaká comes back…

  13. barb permalink
    December 20, 2010 05:18

    Mesut is one of my favorite players to watch. Love the “Bambi” reference. One of the TV football commentators calls him “Avatar Eyes.” I think of him as “Gazelle” – huge eyes, very fast and graceful too! It seems he might end up with a lot of nicknames. I like that he doesn’t think he has to be a macho man.

  14. Diane permalink
    December 23, 2010 00:35

    Dear, I love this boy! I mean he is no Sergio, but he has his own perks. Does anyone have a picture of the art that he made, that the interviewer was talking about?

Trackbacks

  1. Top Posts — WordPress.com

Leave a Reply

