Skip to content

in case you missed it – the neighborly edition

January 4, 2011

In case you missed it – Getafe vs. Real Madrid [2011-01-03].

Well, Getafe played a great game, but we came away with the win, a great start to 2011, no?  I’ve always liked Getafe, even before all the canteranos started going there, for their history, and because at times I just got frustrated with Real Madrid and needed another nearby team to support, and of course Atleti was out of the question and I’ve never liked Rayo Vallecano, so Getafe was it.  (And what a golazo from Dani Parejo last night, no?  He made an excellent impression on his probable future boss.)

Cristiano showed why Madrid can’t be without him, shouldering the offense – he had three opportunities in the first seven minutes!  Di María also had a great game, but the headlines are all about Kaká, who returned after six months out.

One. Let’s start with some fun moments.  Xabi and Álvaro danced their way to forming the wall, and Cristiano showed just how cold it was in Madrid last night.

Two. Goal celebrations!  Cris sucked on his thumb for Junior, Ozil kissed his ring (or where a ring would be if he were allowed to play with one) and Cris and Marcelo danced their way through the third goal celebration.  Was it because Kaká was on the bench that they decided to celebrate this way?

I love how the rest of the team has their game faces on, but Marcelo and Cris are in their own, animal-inspired world.

Three. Pregame fun.  Jordi gets a hug from Álvaro (they both should have tweeted about this; poor Jordi only tweeted that his finger was injured because Ozi stepped on it), and Miguelito gets a wink from Cristiano.  I love it when former teammates remain friends!

Four. Kaká came in in the 72nd minute for Benzema, showing that he’s recovered from the knee surgery, and that the 14 hours of therapy a day (it all added up to 580 hours in the gym and 230 with the physios) had paid off.  His last appearance with Madrid was on May 9 vs. Athletic, and with Brazil it was July 2, with surgery taking place on Aug. 5.

Richi (yes, I’m going to call him that from now on) said after the game that he was “very happy to return to the field and play a game,” and that “the team is playing well right now and I have to earn my place.”  He admitted that “I’ve had very difficult moments.  What I missed most were the small things: attending the concentración, training, being together in the locker room, playing in front of the fans… I missed the joy of playing.”  He thanked his wife, his parents, his parents-in-law and his friends, adding that “I’ve received a lot of text messages from friends, former teammates and people who are happy with my return.  I thank them all.”  Richi also thanked “Mourinho because he’s helped me a lot during this entire time, he gave me a lot of confidence.”

And a detalle on the part of Kaká:  he wished Higuaín a fast recovery, saying, “I spoke with him before Christmas.  When a player is seriously injured, he feels very alone and even though the others try to help him, he feels alone in that moment.  We have to be by his side, tell him he’s going to play again and be the great player that he is.  I hope he can return as soon as possible, and I wish him all the luck in the world.”

He also tweeted this.

Five. Iker, frustrated and bossy.

Six. It looks like Ozi is in much better shape now, compared to before!  His tummy is much flatter now, and I see some definition there too (hopefully it’s not just shadows).

Seven. Iker and Sergio affection: Sergio leans in for their customary pregame kiss, and then pats Iker on the ass later on during the game.  Oh, to be Sergio in those moments…

Eight. Álvaro Arbeloa was expelled after receiving his second yellow, which means he’ll be out for the Villarreal game (see, I told you… when will there be a game when all our defenders are available?)

When he lifted up his jersey to reveal that he was wearing another shirt underneath, everyone (ok, me) was disappointed.  And I love how he always comes out with tape for his socks.

The sending off also meant that Esteban Granero couldn’t get in the game, which would have been very special for him, since he used to play at the Coliseum.  He was even on the verge of checking in and all.  Pobrecito.  Instead, Mou put in Garay to shore up the defense.

Nine (I). Front and back™ – the Real Madrid edition.

Álvaro Arbeloa.  He clearly didn’t think the ref was doing a good enough job.

Cristiano Ronaldo.

Iker.  With a man who has clearly been inspired by his style right behind him.  That man needs glasses, and to be saved from himself.

Richi.

Marcelino.

Bonus backs.  In the first one, if I covered up the numbers, could you tell which one was Sergio and which one was Sami?

Nine (II). Front and back™ – the Getafe (players who are former canteranos) edition.

Jordi Codina.  Love the pink jersey and the matching gloves.  Hoping Adidas will pick this color for Iker some day.

Was I a bit mean in making the gif for his back?

Miguel Torres.  Technically, it’s a front and a side, but who’s complaining with that thigh staring back at you?

Pedro Mosquera.

Dani Parejo.  Fabulous hair.

Ten. The (reverse) Xabi Alonso pose section.™

With his supposed friends hijacking his usual poses here, here…

… and here – all over the place – is it any wonder that Xabi is the only one not to pose with his hands on his hips in this picture? (He’s the second one from the left).

Xabi started talking with the refs right after the game ended, and continued as they made their way into the tunnel.

Eleven. Postgame fun.  Cristiano shows once again why time and time again others cite him as one of the most friendly and supportive players on the team.  He hugged former teammates Miguel Torres and Pedro Mosquera after the game.  I imagine if Pepe – the número uno canterano cheerleader – had been there, he would have done the same.

Twelve. The Mou corner.

José M. said after the game that it was a “strange” game…

…but that the team had deserved to win…

…even though “I didn’t like my team as a team…

… it’s not the time to criticize and I can only say positive things about my team…”

…because this was the first game of the year and so not a good indicator of anything.  He also described Kaká as a “súper jugador.”

Mou also left us with these moments.  On the left, it looks like he’s listing the 13 errors expressing his displeasure with the refereeing, and on the right, he sort of pulls a Pep Guardiola – but in this case, it was because Di María had collapsed on the ground injured and Mou wanted to make sure he was ok before the game was resumed.

Thirteen. Other notes:  Pedro León got a big round of applause when he stepped onto the field with the other substitutes, and Rubén de la Red watched the game from a palco.  He also got a big cheer.  Also in the stands:  Sergio Canales and Fernando Pacheco, the descartados.  It looked warmer on the bench.

Fourteen. Looking ahead:  Madrid held a closed training session today at 11:30h to begin preparing for the second leg of their Copa del Rey round of 16 game against Levante on Thursday in Valencia.

Fifteen. And Gonzalo Higuaín returned to Madrid yesterday from Buenos Aires.  He was greeted by a crowd of journalists, but didn’t want to comment on anything, limiting himself to “I don’t want to talk, it’s not the right moment.  I’m calm, I feel better but there’s still some time to go.  When the decision is made I’ll talk.”  Pipita met with the medical staff and Mourinho today to discuss the next step, which basically means when and where he’ll be operated on.

It’s really no surprise that he decided to wear one of his favorite black quilted jackets, no?

I hope you enjoyed this ICYMI – I had a lot of fun writing this one!!!

50 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2011 14:55

    Why aren’t players allowed to play with rings?

    • Kat permalink
      January 4, 2011 15:14

      Because it could cause injury, as far as I know.

    • Kristine permalink
      January 4, 2011 15:34

      Apparently, someone got their finger chopped off during a game because he was wearing a ring. I don’t know the details.

      • Allbe permalink
        January 4, 2011 16:21

        I think it was a portugese player named Paolo Diogo.

    • emily permalink
      January 4, 2011 17:26

      Pretty much every professional (and most youth) sport bans rings and metal of any kind, except knee braces, and even some sports control them. And it’s not just one situation that has brought this about. Basketball players get their fingers ripped off when they catch them on the hoops. They get caught in long hair and rip your skin. Rings are just dangerous. They get caught in everything.

  2. Sunny permalink
    January 4, 2011 15:02

    I could tell Sergio from Sami because he’s in his usual long sleeves. :p

    • HermosaChica permalink
      January 5, 2011 17:53

      That was my initial thought too! Although, it would be a sin for me to not recognize Sergio’s lovely booty. 😉

  3. KDJ permalink
    January 4, 2011 15:03

    On that Ozil goal celebration GIF, I swear that I can see his mouth reciting “Alhamdulillah.” How I love him even more for being a very religious Moslem :))

    • January 4, 2011 20:17

      Agreed! ozil is a charmer:)

    • ulong permalink
      January 5, 2011 01:26

      Really? I didn’t notice that…

  4. Kristine permalink
    January 4, 2011 15:20

    Great Recap as usual Una!

    This game kept us on our toes for sure! It was exciting to watch.

    I can always tell Sergio’s back from Sami..Sergio’s hair is sleeker, and he has a more defined V-shape.
    Some great shots of the guys. Cris’s thigh mmm..
    Cris and Marcelo celebrating, ADORABLE!
    That picture of all them posing! I knew that would make into today’s ICYMI post!

    I was so excited when it looked like Esteban was on his way into the game, and then they tricked me. Boo! And Boo for Arbeloa getting a red card..just BOO!

    I just love these guys.

  5. January 4, 2011 15:20

    “their customary pregame kiss” – is this just something between the two of them? Does Iker or Sergio kiss anybody else? Sergio, maybe but I haven’t noticed if Iker kisses anyone else but it could be because the camera just isn’t on him… It’d be cute if this was just something between the two of them. Haha… I swear, I’d rather that they were gay and be together, than for them to be with women who aren’t me. Hahaha.

    http://dontaskmetosmile.wordpress.com

    • Danielle permalink
      January 4, 2011 17:12

      This is something between only Iker and Sergio that has been going on for a while now. It’s a ritual now pretty much but I wouldn’t suggest anything romantic about it lol

      • January 5, 2011 09:20

        They’ve been doing this since Sergio’s first season at Madrid. I filmed several videos of the moment from different games that season!

        • IsaBella permalink
          January 5, 2011 09:48

          do you go to Bernabeu to see Madrid games Una? 🙂

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 4, 2011 18:13

      I love your comment 😉

    • ulong permalink
      January 5, 2011 01:29

      Iker used to kiss Beck before the game. But it’s been so long ago…

  6. La Pirata permalink
    January 4, 2011 16:13

    What a great recap, this game was fun to watch. And I did not know Ozil was married – I’m learning new things. Oh, and Esteban, Pobrecito, but he loves the club so much, so I’m sure he was happy about the win regardless. 🙂

    • January 5, 2011 09:17

      Ozi’s not married.

      • La Pirata permalink
        January 5, 2011 16:39

        Oh! Is the ring kissing mean a dedication to something different? I had thought it was like for your wife, haha.

        • IsaBella permalink
          January 6, 2011 00:08

          maybe he usually wears a ring on this finger which means smth but I sincerely don’t know….

  7. amouria permalink
    January 4, 2011 16:24

    I very much liked your special corner for Mou. This is great.
    I was waiting the whole morning to read your blog and was wondering why you were late. The answer is clear: you were preparing a great post. thanks a lot, Una

  8. emily permalink
    January 4, 2011 17:19

    It wasn’t Miguelito’s thigh that was staring… it’s our eyes!
    CR’s run of play goal was unreal. Few players can hit it effectively while doing the splits. Was nice to see Kaka with a genuine scoring chance, too. I was stripping paint during most of the game, but I always listened for the announcers (Phil and Ray) to get excited, so I was able to see the key moments. Can’t wait for the replay later in the week. It will probably be on while I am at work, though, as usual…
    Great work U!!! U know exactly what we want to see posted!

    • HermosaChica permalink
      January 5, 2011 18:14

      Stripping paint, eh? I was slicing paper, piles and piles of it, haha. I’m always Miss Busy-Boots during the most entertaining matches! I also got told off a couple of times for having the volume up so high. 😛

  9. emily permalink
    January 4, 2011 17:51

    Why hasn’t some recent fashion designer held a fashion show with ONLY the world’s hottest footballers as the models? And charged a fee to get in. This should be how it’s done. Why be exclusive with the invitations and all the fancy high fallutin’ ya-gotta-know-someone-to-get-in mumbo jumbo? Fangirls would fill a stadium and the product wouldn’t even make it to the shelves, it sells so fast. I see dollar signs! The only problem would be cleaning up the dead bodies after the swimwear portion of the show… Yes, I know D&G has their yearly underwear thing, but I am talking about a full runway w/Becks’ pecs, Carbo Gourcuff, Iker, Miguelito, Canna, CR, Serhioooo, etc. etc… I am certain that I would pass out.

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 5, 2011 10:07

      @emily I almost passed out seeing them so close that I could touch their faces and they were dressed 😉 and I thought I was too old for that as my teenage days are long gone 😉

  10. IsaBella permalink
    January 4, 2011 18:05

    @UNA: I thought I was completely crazy about Real Madrid but what you do is amazing. Keep it on. 😀
    As far as the game goes:
    1. Unfortunately I missed the match as I was at work but I must admit that the result was kind of shocking for me… I suspected a greater win but I’m very happy with the result anyway. 🙂
    2. Cristiano is insopportable but he is essential for the team and I congratulate him on the goals. Apart from that, he definetely exaggerates with solarium: that thigh looks simply terrible. BTW I wonder how his son is doing.
    3. I am not happy abt Kaka’s retun but it’s only my personal feeling and I’ll survive. And I think Mou will have to survive too if ManU do not make up their minds soon.
    4. Mesut Ozil is fantastic, I cannot get my eyes off him and his goals 😉 I congratulated him on Twitter yesterday.
    5. Xabi Alonso expressed a superb wish two hours before the game: he asked if there was a Blackberry radio app 😉 I am glad he installed it and that he could relax.
    6. I am surprised that Alvaro speaks English on the pitch ?
    7. Sergio and Iker must show off all the affection they can being two captains, and considering what Iker said in the interview: “we have some confrontations”; BTW I can always tell the difference between Sami and Sergio: they have totally different moves and body shapes. ah, and Sergio has praised Iker today.
    8. It is not cold in Madrid at all 🙂 Where I live it’s 10 degrees colder.
    9. and finally: Gonzalo: fingers crossed for the fastest recovery possible

    Congratulations to RM for the three points and to Una for the fabulous analysis.

  11. UnamadridistaFan permalink
    January 4, 2011 18:23

    Hahaha I love this ICYM, I also love the mou section where you make his face expression go with his words. Hahaha Awesome stuff. You could see how much excited kaka was glad his back. Man he is great player to be out that long. Hope Pipita comes back soon. The xabi pose copycat was awesome as well. Di maria is so good and threatening when playing every team looks like they are out to get him. And that gives time to ozil and ronaldo to score. If only benzima could score every game. Plus he saved madrid some difficult times Angel indeed.

  12. January 4, 2011 18:24

    great recap as always!
    cristiano and marcelo ❤ hahaha I just love the picture!
    and I love how sami runs straight up to mesut after the third goal! so cute

  13. Betta permalink
    January 4, 2011 19:30

    I LOVE your ICYMI Una! It brights up my day 🙂
    Anyway, I haven’t noticed if you wrote this news on your blog, so I’ll just put here the link for who’s interested :
    http://www.mirror.co.uk/celebs/news/2011/01/02/mum-of-cristiano-ronaldo-s-baby-is-british-student-and-she-wants-baby-back-115875-22820633/#ixzz19srMBlrN
    it’s about Cristiano Jr’s mum who wants her child back (here in Italy they talked about it a lot last days)

    I’m so excited Richi is back!! 😀

    • January 5, 2011 09:24

      No, I didn’t write about that and I won’t be writing about that.

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 5, 2011 10:02

      (rolling my eyes) what a surprise… 😉

  14. Emm permalink
    January 4, 2011 19:37

    Haha brilliant ICYMI !!

    i especially loved the Jordi Codina back gif :L:L
    So happy kaka is back 😀 and i still love miguel torres ❤
    xx

  15. January 4, 2011 21:32

    I loved this match. Both teams played well and Getafe were amazing.
    And I agree with Arbeloa, this referee is the worst EVER! I still can’t get over how he sent off Schweinsteiger in the world cup’s Germany vs Serbia and caused Germany to lose the game. Complete idiot.

    • January 6, 2011 12:29

      was this the same ref as in the gemany vs serbia game?! that ref……
      but I’m pretty sure it was klose who got sent off.. or am I wrong? :/ I remember how upset I felt after watching it that game, of course it’s not easy to be a ref and they can’t see everything but it’s just so very frustrating when things like that happend.

  16. Ange permalink
    January 4, 2011 21:39

    awww I love the group hugs!!! it was soooo nice to see!!!! *lol* Cris & Marcelo … I wonder if thats what they do with their children(Marcelo does have a kid right???) I think the ref was unfair with Alvaro…Pobre de Iker… I glad he was ok… that hit really scared me!!

  17. barb permalink
    January 4, 2011 22:59

    Great post . I couldn’t watch the live game, but followed the results online – so relieved when RM won! The downside of following (and loving) a team is the feeling that you might be getting an ulcer when your team looks as if it could lose… and I was having that feeling last night. Very happy that Ozil scored, and against a good team too.

  18. Madridista permalink
    January 4, 2011 23:23

    Alright i understand there must not be many straight dudes like myself on this site lol but im sure many of you would love to see this video of kaka making pepe look a fool 🙂

  19. January 4, 2011 23:31

    “Eleven. Postgame fun.” Did Chris get injured during the game? He looks like he’s in a lot of pain in those gifs. 😦

  20. Maddi permalink
    January 4, 2011 23:44

    When I saw Kaka on my computer screen (when watching the game) I screamed… he is the whole reason why I fell in love with this sport, and of course, RM. I am SO glad that he is back, but it is sad that someone has to give up his spot for Kaka’s place. I cant wait for him and Cristiano to form the greatest duo in the world!!!!

  21. LaBlanca permalink
    January 5, 2011 00:28

    omg that gif of codina!!!! LOL you should send him in twitter … ah nah thatd be mean.

    Great summary Una. I enjoyed it a lot once again.

  22. faith permalink
    January 5, 2011 00:59

    “Xabi and Álvaro danced their way to forming the wall…” when I saw this during the game I loved how Alvaro kept calling Iker asking where they should stand.

    “That man needs glasses, and to be saved from himself.” Hahahaha – you are so funny Una! I love your thought process!

    “The (reverse) Xabi Alonso pose section.™” – PapaBoss’ lessons to his teammates are taking effect. Now we know what he’s really saying when he goes up to the goal celebration group.

    Una, after a really hard day at work, (where I was upset partly because I didn’t have time to check your blogs), I finally got to read ICYMI and my bf commented, “You came in with a scowl and now you’re grinning ear to ear. What are you looking at?”
    Of course it was your blog. I’ve just noticed that whenever I read this I AM smiling. I do love our boys, but it is also your writing style. So thanks for making my day better and all your great work about RM and LaRoja!!!!

  23. January 5, 2011 01:21

    Oh, so much eye candy I don’t know where to look!!!!!

    I am also starting blushing looking at Mou, I might come back to staring at the younger ones maybe…LOL

    It was a very interesting game, I liked that. Although it scared me few times, Real defense, Real defense!!!!

    I loved the return of the Richi (lovely nick!)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I also liked Xabi discussing something with the refs, fierce!

    Front and back section – ooooooooh. what else can a girl say

    Thanks UnaMadridista for another edition of the great ICYMI, you are lovelyyyyy!

  24. Miche permalink
    January 5, 2011 02:39

    Thanks for the summary! I really enjoy reading these after a game.

    Aww, I’m glad Cris had a little moment with Migi before and after the match (he looked rather sad walking by the third goal celebration, and I can’t blame him).

    Speaking of goal celebrations, it’s kind of cute that while Marcelo and Cris were celebrating together, Sami and Mesut had their own little moment, too.

    I really hope everything goes well with Pipita’s surgery, and his recovery goes very smoothly. Best wishes and good luck to him.

  25. January 5, 2011 05:41

    Best thing for me in this post was the photo with all the Madrid players doing the Xabi pose, and Xabi being the only one not doing it. I laughed so hard! We’ve got an army of Xabi “posers” now. At least they look good! 😀

  26. January 5, 2011 14:13

    Una, you’re the best. Thanks for all your re-caps!

  27. HermosaChica permalink
    January 5, 2011 18:41

    That still shot of Cris and Marcelo’s goal celebration is priceless! Their hilarious reactions make the goals even more exhilarating.

    I hope this butt-slapping thing becomes contagious and spreads across the whole team! *gasp* But imagine Xabi slapping someone’s behind! Unthinkable! Speaking of Mr. Classy, those posing impostors are NOT impressive, hmph! Believe you me, I’m all for backside views of our footballers, but nobody poses like the Boss. 😉

    A gif in place of a “Back” photo?! *sigh*.. Simply genius, Una! *cough*doSergionext*cough* 😀

    Pipita, Pipita, Pipita. I’m incredibly disappointed at his forthcoming absence. I really hate this “one more man down” situation. And as for the quilted jacket and matching cap: if that’s what keeps him happy at this point, then so be it! A pair of Kermit pants à la Ramos wouldn’t make me mock Pipa in his condition..

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 6, 2011 00:12

      oh imagining Xabi slapping someone’s behind is more that attractive 😀

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention in case you missed it – the neighborly edition « following Real Madrid… -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

