Skip to content

more from yesterday…

January 6, 2011

Pictures, words, videos, gifs, a game, information, and Mou, I mean more, although there is Mou as well!

One. Training looked fun yesterday, no?  Well, maybe for everyone except Iker, who was denied the chance to touch Xabi Alonso’s face.  That would make anyone upset.  I especially love how some of the players never stopped bouncing, as well as the players running in from the side to join in the fun, led by one Iker Casillas.

Two. MFC Álvaro Borja Morata Martín looked a bit confused and lost there among all the big boys – if you can count 19-year-old Sergio Canales, 22-year-old Juanfran and fellow 18-year-old but older by five months Fernando Pacheco the big boys.  However, that somehow manages to make him look even more adorable.

Luckily, Sergio and Pepe were there to help out and be his guide.

Three. And it’s time for another round of guess who?!  I don’t mean Mou, obviously.  Answers at the very end of the post.

Four. Meanwhile, it’s been confirmed that Gonzalo Higuaín will have his surgery in Chicago on Jan. 11.  For those of you in the area, he’ll be at Northwestern University’s Feinberg School of Medicine, with the procedure carried out by Dr. Richard G. Fessler, the head of the department of neurosurgery there (by the way, the Spanish press is asking why Spanish doctors aren’t good enough for this).  Pipita will leave for the U.S. this weekend, and be accompanied by someone from the medical staff of Madrid, who will also observe the half-hour procedure.

He tweeted yesterday, “hi everyone, how are you?  As you’ve seen in the press, on Tuesday I’ll be operated on in Chicago.  Thank you again for all your messages of support.”

Five. In his press conference yesterday, José Mourinho talked about Pipita, saying that he knew from the start that Gonzalo would have to get surgery (that’s why he’s TSO) and that he wouldn’t place any hope on Higuaín being back in two months time, but that they could motivate him by telling him that he would be useful in May, with Madrid hopefully still in all competitions.

He also revealed that there probably would not be a substitute for Higuaín, commenting that he didn’t have a lot of hope that the club would sign anyone in the winter transfer market.  Mou said, “I spoke with the president two days ago about this topic.  The club won’t sign another forward.  And being the club that it is, not just anyone can come” [and that is a problem with our club].  He went on to say, “it looks to me that we’ll get to the end of the season with this group of players, which means that no one will enter, and also that no one will leave.”

Mou also talked about MFC, saying that “Morata has to continue with Castilla, he trains with us but he’s not prepared to play on the first team.  If one day we don’t have Benzema, due to fatigue or injury or anything else, we’ll use another system, without a fixed attacking point of reference.”

As for the Levante game, which appeared to be the topic the journalists were least interested in during the press conference, Mou said that Benzema would start, as well as Gago, who would be the captain in the absence of the first four captains.  He said of Fer, “I liked him from the moment that I arrived.”  Adán will also make his first official start in a regular season game, Kaká will only play 25 minutes, and of Diarra, Mou was complimentary: “he has a lot of experience, he knows what to do on the field, he’s strong…”

Six. And for more Mou, check out this video from the Getafe game.  Oops!

I love the commentators:  “at least he didn’t swallow his gum, at least no one laughed…”  Although I think Mou will have noticed, even as he was falling, that Silvino was the only one NOT to reach out for him.  Being a former goalkeeper, you would think he would instinctively reach out to try to catch things.  Meanwhile, all the other assistants tried to help.  Someone probably didn’t get a gift from King Mou yesterday…

Seven. Oh, and Rubén de la Red is now the assistant coach of the Juvenil A team, after the reshuffling of coaches that took place earlier this week, with the most important appointment being Alberto Toril replacing Alejandro Menéndez as head coach of Castilla.  Go Rubén!

Eight. And finally, this very cute video.  It’s a letter to the Three Kings, like the one Cristiano was writing in Crackòvia.

Translation:

Dear Kings,

Since I’ve been a top goalie this year, my letter is a bit long, but I want you to know that all of these presents that I’m asking you for will make Madridistas very happy.

1.  A pair of gloves to stop shots like Iker, although they don’t have to be like his golden ones.

2.  A building blocks game, so that I can form a wall like Pepe and Carvalho do.

3.  An electric train as powerful as Sergio Ramos.

4.  A pair of ice skates, so that I can zoom around as fast as Marcelo does.

5.  A compass that will guide me like Xabi Alonso does on the field.

6.  A suit of armor to protect me, just like Khedira protecting the team.

7.  A remote controlled car so that I can control it just like Özil controls the ball.

8.  Some paintbrushes to draw like Di María draws up the plays.

9.  A bicycle so I can race and be as fast as Cristiano.

10.  A projector so that I can watch Higuaín and Benzema’s goals clearly on a big screen.

11.  A chess set so I can learn to how to strategize like Mourinho.

With all these things and many others that my team has, we’ll be going to Cibeles to celebrate the Copa del Rey, the Liga and La Décima, so don’t forget my plane ticket to London on May 28.

Nine. The answer to the guess who:  from left to right, Álvaro Arbeloa, Sergio Canales and Fernando Gago.  How’d you do?

32 Comments leave one →
  1. Ally permalink
    January 6, 2011 10:34

    I got Alvaro Arbeloa and Sergio Canales right 😉
    And lmao @ Mou falling! The dug out is not very nice to him, since he already hit his head and now this… xD

  2. amouria permalink
    January 6, 2011 11:06

    the letter is so emotional. i hope that our dream comes true…

  3. amouria permalink
    January 6, 2011 11:12

    i have a sense that Mou is not happy these days. may be an accumulation of frustrations with the admin. They ask him for titles but they want karim to grow. well, not the greatest combination. Perez loves karim, no doubt, but he should love the team more. something is wrong in the hierarchy and must be fixed asap.
    I TRUST MOU, NO BODY ELSE…

  4. Madridista for life permalink
    January 6, 2011 11:15

    It was Adán who ran in first and started it all, not Casillas, he stood a couple meters to the side. They are very alike but you can tell the diffrence if you look at the shoes.

    • January 6, 2011 11:18

      Or their clothing. What I meant was that others followed Iker in. No one followed Antonio in.

  5. Madridista for life permalink
    January 6, 2011 11:17

    Oh sorry, Adán started it all coming from the left while Iker came from the right with everybody. Btw Pacheco and Adán looks very alike.

  6. HermosaChica permalink
    January 6, 2011 11:48

    Oh Xabi, Iker needs a bromance buddy right now. Please be a doll and help him out next time! 😉

    *sigh* At what stage does it get warmer in Madrid?! I miss the tank top training shirts!

    Haha, I had no idea I was that appalling at these things! I only got Alvaro right, and that’s probably ’cause you can clearly see his head! *facepalm*

    Aww, I loved the letter to the Three Kings!

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 6, 2011 12:38

      in April HermosaChica. I do hope for a better weather in March though as I’ll be there to see our boys.

  7. January 6, 2011 12:16

    That letter made me smile. I hope that it comes true, and that we look forward to going to London this May.

  8. PepperPots permalink
    January 6, 2011 12:32

    Someone clearly misses his Becks! Haha! Face pincher Iker is adorable! 🙂

  9. IsaBella permalink
    January 6, 2011 12:42

    Madrid must sign a new forward and the presidency knows that. The only question is who it is gonna be. I do hope Mou and Perez will reach an agreement soon (also abt Kaka) because the situation is becoming quiet dramatic I would say.

  10. Kristine permalink
    January 6, 2011 15:08

    Haha look at Sergio hopping like a bunny rabbit, They are sooooo ADORABLE.

  11. emily permalink
    January 6, 2011 15:45

    They are a bunch of cute, bouncy boys! I always feel just a little bad about ogling at them, but how can you not?!!! They are all so adorable. Hala Madrid!

  12. faith permalink
    January 6, 2011 15:59

    Iker: “Alonso, let me see if that face cream you represent really works…”
    Xabi: “Of course it does! But you must not touch the face! It is trademarked and copyrighted!”
    Ikwe: “Come on please, after all I have to carry the bottle around in my murse for you!”

    The letter to the Three Kings is seconded and so on by all Madridistas! Not only see you in London, but in Cibeles after!!!!

    Happy Epiphany everyone!

  13. Nurul permalink
    January 6, 2011 16:14

    I got Alvaro right. xD!
    That letter is really cute, but this line is just beautiful:
    “Some paintbrushes to draw like Di María draws up the plays.”

  14. Unamadridistafan permalink
    January 6, 2011 16:50

    @Isabella I have a question for you: You seem to be complinning about kaka quite often. why is that? He is one of the greatest player maker in the world of football and mou is not stupid to get rid of him if thats what you are going for here. I actually think kaka getting better and playing more will help madrid chances to win something this year. Geez of all the players Kaka?! hate is really uncalled for. The most humble human being i ever seen is kaka.

    Cheers mate.

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 7, 2011 00:45

      I have my personal reasons not to be very fond of him. What I do like though are his one million dollar teeth 😀 I would like to get the number of his dentist even if I probably can’t afford him 😉
      I do appreciate Kaka’s skills as a player. I said that he is Brazilian magic. However, Mou DID admit that he is not suitable for his strategy, that’s all. I don’t hate him. I have my own personal opinion about him which I’d prefer to keep to myself. I’m sorry if I hurt your feelings or anybody’s who’s Kaka’s fan. No more abt him then.

    • January 7, 2011 04:21

      @Unamadridistafan Where’s a “Like” button to your comment when you need one.

  15. Andrea permalink
    January 6, 2011 16:51

    That letter is adorable!

    And I too got Alvaro and Sergio right 🙂

  16. Dina permalink
    January 6, 2011 17:44

    Just to point out that Dr.Fessler is some sort of a neuro inspiration for us here un the US and he sure as hell IS THE BEST in Chicago!!! I actually had the occasion to scrub in with him on a different kind of procedure last year when one of his patients had to be admitted in my hospital by emergency! He’s REALLY good, don’t know really about Spain’s best neuros, but at least Pipa’s in safe hands!!!

  17. Camera25 permalink
    January 6, 2011 19:03

    Wow, Captain Gago, what a way to come back!

    Who are the first 4 captains? Casillas, Ramos, Mahamadou?, and ?

  18. Sarah permalink
    January 6, 2011 19:43

    “Mou said that Benzema would start, as well as Gago, who would be the captain in the absence of the first four captains.”

    But Ramos the second caption. He is not techn. absent if you think about it. He’s there, he may not start (which usually does start as of right now I don’t remember nor find who exactly going to start the first half) but he’s still there.

    Do I even make sense right now because I feel like I don’t. lol

    • Sarah permalink
      January 6, 2011 19:45

      I took his comment as him saying NO CAPTION was called at all if that helps. hahaha

    • January 6, 2011 22:58

      It means “in the absence of the first four captains [on the field].”

      They need a captain on the field, at least to do the coin toss and exchange of banners and all that. So, if Sergio’s not going to start (i.e. he’ll be on the bench and not on the field), then the responsibilities fall to Gago.

  19. suzanne permalink
    January 6, 2011 20:11

    that letter was so great!!!
    these issues with signing someone new sucks so bad. we go free-for-all in the summers but when it becomes apparent that we need something in jan (esp with pipita’s injury and benzema’s sporatic play) the door gets slammed on the coach atm. and yet, they are canned for not producing the titles expected. sometimes it’s a bit frustrating, no?

  20. Lulja permalink
    January 6, 2011 21:05

    Hoo-ray, I guessed Arbeloa, probably just by his ass, and Sergio C., due to his angel-hair! I thought the third was Albiol, tho. Didn’t expect the A-team to split up! 😛

    Oh Pipita… I wish him all the best, hope he recovers safely, no matter how long it’ll take.

    By the way: If you take a close look at the second gif, you may slightly notice some descret posing in the background once again. Everyone wants to be as boss as Xabi. The secret person is doing a good job anyway!

    Thank you for the round-up, Una, and mucha suerte, jugadores!

  21. Ange permalink
    January 6, 2011 22:49

    *lol* … i got Alvaro right… thats about it… i like the letter… and Mou falling .. WOW!!! I was shocked that no1 laughed … I know if it was me on the bench or falling like Mou… I wouldn’t be able to keep a straight face

  22. Proudculé-SO? permalink
    January 7, 2011 00:59

    Dear Kings,

    Since I’ve been a top goalie this year, my letter is a bit long, but I want you to know that all of these presents that I’m asking you for will make Madridistas very happy.

    1. A pair of gloves to stop shots like Iker, although they don’t have to be like his golden ones.

    2. A building blocks game, so that I can form a wall like Pepe and Carvalho do.

    3. An electric train as powerful as Sergio Ramos.

    4. A pair of ice skates, so that I can zoom around as fast as Marcelo does.

    5. A compass that will guide me like Xabi Alonso does on the field.

    6. A suit of armor to protect me, just like Khedira protecting the team.

    7. A remote controlled car so that I can control it just like Özil controls the ball.

    8. Some paintbrushes to draw like Di María draws up the plays.

    9. A bicycle so I can race and be as fast as Cristiano.

    10. A projector so that I can watch Higuaín and Benzema’s goals clearly on a big screen.

    11. A chess set so I can learn to how to strategize like Mourinho.

    With all these things and many others that my team has, we’ll be going to Cibeles to celebrate the Copa del Rey, the Liga and La Décima, so don’t forget my plane ticket to London on May 28.

    KING REPLIES: It doesn’t matter. You’ll still lose 5-0 to Barca. LOL

    Mourinho sal el banquillo!!!!!!!

  23. January 7, 2011 03:25

    What were they all doing in the first gif? Why did they start bouncing? Looks like fun though lol.

  24. Unamadridistafan permalink
    January 7, 2011 17:36

    @Isabella is there anyone in the world of football that is not a fan of kaka?! I just don’t believe that whatsoever,regardless of if you are a rivary fan either or dont support his team. If you dont like kaka then something must be wrong with you. He is the whole package of human niceness. But of course you can have your reason not to be fond of him. Sure 😛
    P.S I’m a gooner fan.

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 8, 2011 06:07

      I take offence to your comment abt something being wrong with me. And will not continue this discussion any further. Have a nice day.
      P.S I do cheer up for Fabregas and Fabianski BTW.

Leave a Reply

