Skip to content

shouldn’t it be ochenta y cinco?

January 7, 2011

Well, NFL (that’s fake American football in case you don’t know) star Chad Ochocinco is currently visiting Madrid, and he and Cristiano have been tweeting away regarding their plans all week.  Today he showed up for the closed-for-everyone-else-except-famous-people training session, and tweeted these photos.

On the left: wearing a LV scarf that several members of Madrid’s team is probably dying to get their hands on or already own (yes you Cristiano), Ochocinco posed with one of the Champions League cups.  Good thing he’s pointing at it, or else I wouldn’t have known why he tweeted that picture.

In the middle: Kaká tying his shoe!  Cristiano in the background!  Wow!

On the right: everyone except Cristiano and Kaká wondering who the hell that big guy in the middle is.  Especially Sergio Canales.  They probably don’t watch “Dancing with the Stars.”  Xabi looks tiny!

More more more!  Ok, Sergio Ramos and Xabi Alonso now know who he is too.  It’s a shame about the pose though.

Who else is waiting for the PePe and Pepe picture??? Or maybe he only goes for those players with twitter accounts?

In any case, I’m glad the photographer learned to use the camera by the Xabi photo.

It’s here!  PePe and Pepe!  And with TSO, except in the shoe area.  Oh Mou… what were you thinking…

Ochocinco said of his visit, “To meet some of the players I look up to and enjoy watching from the States and meet them in person and actually watch them train is pretty cool… I do watch the games, I’m able to get everything that’s shown here.”  He went on to say, “I admire Cristiano a lot.  He’s very fast, although slower than me (laughs).  I would like to compete in a race against him.”

The scarf would go with Cris’ outfit, no?  Although he might end up a bit too blue then… Rest of the pictures from Madrid’s web site here.  I expect they will release a video too.

55 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy permalink
    January 7, 2011 13:16

    Hahaha what do I have to do to attend a close training session with Real Madrid.

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 7, 2011 13:28

      I wish I could help 😉

  2. IsaBella permalink
    January 7, 2011 13:32

    The LV scarf looks amazing 😀 though I am more excited by the premiere of the new Nike T90 Lasers that Sergio is wearing. I totally love them. P.S I don’t follow American football so I had no idea who this Ochocinco guy is 😉

    • Sarah permalink
      January 7, 2011 22:35

      don’t worry I’m from America and I didn’t know who he was UNTIL he got his own love reality show on vh1 hahaha

      • IsaBella permalink
        January 8, 2011 06:14

        love reality show? O.o 😉

      • HermosaChica permalink
        January 8, 2011 14:24

        Ohh he’s THAT type of “celebrity”? *eek*
        I actually thought he was a football player as in “soccer” player. But then I had an “..oh.” moment when it was made clearer over here.

        • IsaBella permalink
          January 8, 2011 17:20

          well, maybe he gets bored from time to time and found himself entertainment…. 😉

  3. IsaBella permalink
    January 7, 2011 13:35

    oh BTW Una: Xabi is really tiny, I was simply shocked when I saw him for the first time in real life. I always thought that he was tall and very fit but the truth is he’s very slim and much shorter than he looks like on TV. Looks beautiful anyway 😉

  4. Deb permalink
    January 7, 2011 13:37

    I wonder if Cris knows him from his days at ManU? I also saw Rio Ferdinand tweeting Ochocinco “@ochocinco when are u in the uk bro??”

    lol @ Canales He definately looks like “who the heck is this guy?”

  5. Therese permalink
    January 7, 2011 14:08

    Very funny! Ochocinco plays for my hometown team. He’s a big deal here.

  6. phiemdu permalink
    January 7, 2011 14:48

    Haha, I’m anticipating for the double Pepe picture too! 🙂 No picture with TSO tho, what a pity IMO.

  7. suzanne permalink
    January 7, 2011 15:36

    i love ochocinco (and laugh at the nickname all the time). he’s really funny and pulls crazy stuff on the sidelines. lucky getting to meet all the merengues 😦 damn thumbs up is KILLING me!!!

  8. January 7, 2011 15:38

    LOL kinda sweet how excited he was to be there and meet the players!

    I had a small idea who he was, I only knew the name, and I just checked him in the internet -oh my, what a funny guy he is! he changed his last name himself LOL

  9. Christina permalink
    January 7, 2011 17:11

    i’m glad that he was excited to see the players and sorry if this offends anybody but this man really annoys me. it seems more like he is stalking cristiano-and the other players after his tweets last night- and doing it for the attention rather than because he’s a fan. i’ve never cared for him too much and again don’t want to offend others this is just my opinion

    • Margie permalink
      January 8, 2011 04:17

      I agree with you, it seems cute from afar but to Cristiano and the others it would definitely be annoying.

      • Margie permalink
        January 8, 2011 06:05

        (although, Cristiano did call him “friend” on twitter… well, I’d think he was annoying anyway)

        • Sarah permalink
          January 9, 2011 01:36

          That’s because they’ve known each other forever… Mou too.

    • Canederli permalink
      January 8, 2011 16:49

      He’s good friends with Cristiano. He’s hardly stalking him. They’ve known each other for awhile.

    • Sarah permalink
      January 9, 2011 01:35

      No, he and Cristiano have been good friends for quite a while. He and Mou have known each other since Inter, too, you can find a picture of him and Mou from way back on Google.

  10. Marie permalink
    January 7, 2011 17:11

    Haha ochocinco is great! I don’t go for his team (I’m not really a fan of any particular team but I’m just forced to watch since I live in TX and everyone in TX LOVES football) but when I do chance to watch him he’s hilarious. I love his little dances when he scores. Lucky him! I wanna go to Madrid!

  11. January 7, 2011 17:41

    okay, okay, I had to post once again: I devoted like another 30 mins of my life now to introduce myself to the Ochocinco and it is a time well-spent! I cannot believe I was unaware of the adventures of this guy!!! I do, do, do hope that he will post more of the pics from his time in Madrid. Not to even mention the vids. lol

  12. canederli permalink
    January 7, 2011 17:57

    I love how he’s such a RM fangirl! He’s hilarious and seems like a really fun, sweet guy.

    His tweets from the evening when he was out clubbing are hysterical:

    http://community.livejournal.com/ontd_football/3132829.html#cutid1

    Read into the comments because he was tweeting Kaka, Sergio and Cris to wake up and join him down at the club and he would teach them dances. It was so cute.

  13. IsaBella permalink
    January 7, 2011 18:43

    OMG I love Mou’s outfit 😀

  14. January 7, 2011 19:38

    Hahahahaaa I have been dying over this all day. He was hilarious last night tweeting them all saying “wake up!!!” from Buddha Bar. He’s also been saying he’s going to teach them how to dougie (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OnPJmDc0b_M) . That would be absolutely amazing… and Marcelo and Cris could incorporate it into their goal celebrations.

    Also his picture with Sergio made me realize how big Sergio is.

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 8, 2011 06:16

      he is indeed very tall, I discovered that too when I realized that I need to look up seriously to look at him 🙂

  15. Katherine permalink
    January 7, 2011 22:35

    Sorry if this is really obvious, but why is Ochocinco called Pepe? I love the way Cristiano made sure that his manbag was in the photo, Rule #1 of Cristiano (and the like’s) fashion: Never Neglect Accessories!

  16. Katherine permalink
    January 7, 2011 22:39

    and by the way, the title of this post is spot on! you would think that before legally changing your name to your athletic number translated into another language, you would check to make sure your translation is correct…

    • Michelle permalink
      January 9, 2011 08:20

      I know, I lol’ed at the title too. One of my friends (most of my guy friends watch NFL handegg) told me that Chad was planning to change his name AGAIN soon, to Chad Hachigo. (Hachi and Go are 8 and 5 in Japanese. 85 is more properly Hachi Ju Go. But we know that niceties like that don’t bother Mr Johnson…)

  17. Ange permalink
    January 8, 2011 00:00

    yea he likes to joke around here and was on Dancing With The Stars … has a show with teammate TO … he actually change his name OchoCinco… but rumor has it that him & TO wont be back with the NFL Team…he was cracking me up last night because… he was at a club at like 2 in da morning (Madrid Time) clubing a tweeting all the guys from RM to come to the club… *lmao*…

    NFL here is as big as La Liga is in Spain (but I think the fans over in Spain are a little better)

  18. Lissete permalink
    January 8, 2011 00:42

    I’m American and I don’t know who this guy is. Contrary to popular belief, not all Americans watch the NFL 😉 I also don’t watch Dancing with the Stars lol

    • cisarovna permalink
      January 8, 2011 11:48

      Me either. I know more about him now from his hang out with RM than anything he has done in the US. But I am loving his tweets, he is such a madridista!

  19. justme permalink
    January 8, 2011 00:50

    He seems genuinely happy to be here so I can’t hate, it’s not like it’s some fake RM fan.
    Lol forever @ the pic with Mou though. The socks/sandals combo paired with the big smile is amazing.

  20. Dalena permalink
    January 8, 2011 01:34

    Maybe I’m missing something or being slow, but I don’t get Chad being called PePe… o.O

    • Nycee permalink
      January 8, 2011 03:55

      He said on his twitter that he randomly met a Mexican family in Madrid who were all fangirled by him an his NFL career and they nicknamed him pepe.

  21. cisarovna permalink
    January 8, 2011 11:46

    I am ROTFLMAO at 85’s trash tweets @ the Barca boys. Too funny. He is a serious madridista.

  22. A. (another one, the one that is the member of Serhio's pena) permalink
    January 8, 2011 13:13

    not to mention he teased the Barcelona players on twitter, telling them that they will meet cause he’ll play for RN, hilarious “Hello Carles, are you sleeping” LOL I am curious what will happen next ;_)

  23. emily permalink
    January 8, 2011 16:33

    Chad Johnson is a total flaming a-hole in the eyes of most American football fans. He is a distraction in the clubhouse – his flamboyant behavior is looked down upon by his own teammates, although they would never say it in public. You all are only seeing the media seeking/shameless self-promoting side of him. His selfish contract dealings and quitting on plays and demanding the ball/making like he is more than he really is are the things that turn off most people. He has a lot of skills and talent, but he has never REALLY done anything (win Superbowl, establish a record, acted modest) The height of his stupidity was a Monday Night game, he scored and ran to the sideline and put on a Hall of Fame jacket, insinuating that he will someday earn his way in. I don’t think so. He is the poster boy for the new wave of ‘I’m bigger than the game’ anti-stars. It makes me sick to see him standing there with the Merengues. They are totally devoted to team and he is only devoted to 85. Incidently, he gave himself his nickname. I don’t know how it goes in Europe, but here in the states you don’t give yourself a nickname, your friends and family do. It’s just looked upon as egotistical and stupid. Sorry for the superlong post, but this just fired me up. I can believe that he is a RM fan – sure, and his fame is the only thing that got him in the Bernabeu door.

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 8, 2011 17:22

      I understand what you want to say. If he’s really like that then well…. he probably just wanted to show himself off in Valdebebas.

    • Margie permalink
      January 8, 2011 20:40

      Thank you for this post. I don’t know anything about the NFL and I think a lot of people here don’t either and simply like Chad because he’s a Real Madrid fan.

      Personally, I think it looks a bit like he invited himself to the training session, even if Cris said okay.
      Also I don’t like the sh*t-talking to the Barcelona players he’s doing on twitter, even if I don’t like Barcelona.

      • canederli permalink
        January 10, 2011 17:38

        He was *joking* with them. And Pique was giving it right back to him. They had a cute back and forth going. I doubt any of them were seriously offended. Or took him seriously in general. The dude was just being silly and boasting and teasing them. I think they can take it.

        • Margie permalink
          January 11, 2011 01:32

          Well I’m glad Pique took it well, I agree it’s nothing serious, but I still think it’s stupid.

    • Sarah permalink
      January 9, 2011 01:38

      You realize Mou called himself the special one, right? And most football players are jerkoffs… The important thing is that he loves Madrid and is friends with C. Ron and Mou.

      • Margie permalink
        January 11, 2011 01:25

        Just FYI Mou didn’t call himself “The Special One” , that was a nickname given to him by the British press. He got it because on his first press conference in Chelsea they were asking if he thought he could succeed in Chelsea, being skeptical, so he felt he had something to prove, and said “please don’t call me arrogant, because what I’m saying is true, but, I’m a European Champion, (he had just won the Champions League with Porto), so I think I am a special one.” (meaning one of a group of good/”special” coaches). Also he’s said before he doesn’t like it when people say Mourinho is the best coach in the world.

        And Mourinho and Cristiano are true team/club people, they are unselfish and try to help the team. There is a difference between being self-confident and being selfish. They work harder than anyone else and give 100% for the team every day. Chad Ochocinco does not seem to be someone that does this.

    • Therese permalink
      January 9, 2011 04:57

      Emily, I don’t follow (American) football well enough to know specifics, but I have the exact sense you do about him. I know a lot of (American) football fans who absolutely can’t stand him. Total egomaniac.

      • IsaBella permalink
        January 9, 2011 12:43

        I know a lot of European football fans who cannot stand Cristiano for the same reason. Ego inflated to the maximum. However, if you’re at least a good player that can be forgiven. 😉

        • cisarovna permalink
          January 10, 2011 05:14

          I was thinking the same!

        • emily permalink
          January 10, 2011 05:15

          CR has every right to have a big ego. He knows how to get the biscuit in the basket, whether by his foot, or someone else’s. So, it may be annoying to see the occasional pouty business when he gets fouled, or when he fakes an injury, or hangs out with dill weeds like 8 5, he still has room and time to grow.

        • IsaBella permalink
          January 10, 2011 10:53

          Emily, I agree with you. I also get pretty annoyed when I see him playing or giving interviews but when he scores I scream of joy. 🙂

    • liz permalink
      January 9, 2011 22:56

      I stopped reading at “flaming.” Really?

  24. cisarovna permalink
    January 8, 2011 18:47

    Of course it is partly for the attention, that’s the point of a public twitter account or celebrities. But it seems like Cr7 and 85 have been friendly for awhile PLUS there is a business connection there. Same company that made 85’s iPhone app is making one for CR7 too. Also convenient how CR7 now has positive press after a few bad stories. Just saying I don’t think CR7 minds this attention, and probably helped orchestrate the whole event. Still a fan, just keeping it real.

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 9, 2011 12:48

      I agree. You always do what you can to improve and sell your image. If it sells well, meaning that people love you for who you are selling to be, then your PR manager gets a raise and everything is fine. If you get bad press for a few days then you intend to get better one by e.g. inviting or arranging a meeting with a friend of yours at a training session.
      Very true what you say cisarovna.

  25. liz permalink
    January 9, 2011 22:57

    una this entry is filled with passive aggressive hate towards him, why?

    • January 10, 2011 09:28

      I guess there are people who don’t like him. Just like it is with a lot of athletes.

Trackbacks

  1. in case you missed it – the sidelines edition « following Real Madrid…
  2. the Friday news update « following Real Madrid…

Leave a Reply

