Skip to content

all set for Villarreal!

January 9, 2011

Poor Sergio C. looked like climbing the slope was a bit of a struggle for him.  Xabi Alonso, on the other hand, was able to walk, talk and text at the same time.  And look his usual fantastic self, of course.

We’re all set to take on the Yellow Submarine tonight at 19h!  The call-up for the game is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Casillas, Adán, Pacheco.

Defenders: Albiol, Marcelo, Carvalho, Sergio Ramos, Garay.

Midfielders: Xabi Alonso, Khedira, Gago, Lass, Granero, Özil, Di María, Kaká, Canales, Pedro León.

Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo, Benzema.

Only one canterano made this list, Fernando Pacheco.  Pepe, Higuaín and Dudek are injured; Arbeloa is sanctioned; and it was the coach’s decision to leave Diarra and Mateos off the list.

Mou revealed later on during his press conference that the starting line-up would consist of: Iker; Sergio, Carvalho, Albiol, Marcelo; Lass, Xabi, Özil, Di María; Cristiano, Benzema.

Also touched upon during the press conference:

– Kaká will play whether we’re losing, tied or winning.  If we’re losing or tied, he has to come in because he’s the only attacking option that we have on the bench.  And if things are going well and the game is under control, he’ll play to get back into game shape and so that a teammate can rest.

– I like Granero more and more with each day.

– the response to the club not signing anyone in this winter transfer market is to work harder, to prepare training sessions and games as best as I can.  To arrive early and leave late.  We have to be professional and I’m a great professional.

– I don’t regret putting Pepe in the game against Levante because he could have also gotten injured at home or during the training session.

Meanwhile, Gonzalo Higuaín left for Chicago yesterday from Barajas with his parents, who in the end were able to obtain visas in time, and Carlos Díez, head of Sanitas-Madrid’s medical services team.  Pipita spoke to the press at the airport, saying that he’s very thankful for all the support he’s received from his teammates and the club (“FP and JV have helped me from the first moment”), and that he has a lot of desire to return to playing football and will try to return as quickly as possible because he knows the team needs him.  Pipita also revealed that there’s no exact date for his return, and asked for patience.

The group will meet today with Dr. Richard Fessler, who will perform the operation.  They’ll stay in Chicago until Jan. 18.

Pipita also showed off a new quilted jacket, this one in red!  He left Madrid wearing black and appeared in Chicago wearing red, since it was considerably colder in the U.S. than in Spain.

And congratulations to Rubén de la Red, who made his debut as a coach yesterday, helping lead – as assistant coach – the Juvenil A team to a 6-0 win over Flecha Negra.  Rubén also played more than 50 minutes in a charity football game organized by the Dedines Association in Getafe yesterday.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. Marie permalink
    January 9, 2011 11:09

    Even though I know he’s in Chicago for serious reasons, I hope he gets a chance to go out and see ‘the windy city’. I can’t actually vouch for how awesome it is because I’ve only been in an airport in Chicago I’ve never actually been outside to Chicago *snap* but I have some friends who live there and tell me it’s awesome. So maybe that will cheer him up a little bit! I hope he gets well super soon!
    And Una I think it is worthy to note that I love your blog so much that at the current hour of 4 AM here when I’ve awaken randomly and can’t go back to sleep my first instinct is to read your blog off my phone lol.

  2. LaBlanca permalink
    January 9, 2011 11:13

    I saw a video & gifs from Barajas where Gonzalo was holding his back. You could clearly feel how much in pain he is. Pobrecito! Hope the surgery solves everything well.

  3. IsaBella permalink
    January 9, 2011 13:23

    My mother suffers from spine problems so I know what it feels like on a daily basis. I wish Gonzalo all the best and I hope he will be ok ASAP.
    Abt the call-up: Xabi is the best Boss ever and there would be no Real Madrid without him; he is used to continental weather having played for LFC for quiet some time, so he’s ok wearing shorts I suppose 🙂
    Mou makes great advertisement for the water he drinks but I must admit that it is actually very good. I know and I understand that he is very unhappy about the lack of signings this winter. This is getting ridiculous but I suppose RM presidency has its purpose in it.
    BTW I read that Arsenal are interested in Albiol.

  4. sunshine permalink
    January 9, 2011 17:12

    this made me really happy:

    “I like Granero more and more with each day.”

    i hope this means more playing time for el pirata!

  5. January 9, 2011 17:22

    Poor Pipa, it’s FREEZING in the US right now. I live in the northeast and it’s so cold, but Chicago is probably worse. Anyways, I’m sure he’ll have a nice warm room to recover in!

    So I guess Mou is trying a 4-4-2 tonight? We’ll see how it goes. Hala Madrid!

  6. Maddi permalink
    January 9, 2011 18:04

    I actually started crying when I found out that Higuain is in Chicago because I JUST moved from Chicago (where I lived for 11 years, and I miss it sooo much) !!! It could have been me in that picture! I could have met him in person!! OMG… :(((

    Just curious Una, have you met a actual player in person and what was it like? Any surprises, funny moments?

    • January 10, 2011 09:27

      Well, when I met Iker, I got a picture with him and then I ran screaming down the street (I was eating at one bar, and some friends were drinking at another one down the street) to tell everyone, and then I stood outside the (first) bar and called everyone on my contact list to inform them.

      • IsaBella permalink
        January 10, 2011 10:45

        was he nice Una? 🙂 Just curious because I think it is typical of him, at least with me he was like a piece of chocolate 🙂 Iker is great.

        • Maddi permalink
          January 11, 2011 13:35

          Woah did you meet Iker too?? What was it like for you? Did you meet anyone else? (Sorry for asking so many questions… I’ve just had waaay too many fantasies about meeting Iker)

        • IsaBella permalink
          January 11, 2011 18:06

          @Maddi
          from Real Madrid I met Iker, Xabi and Sergio Ramos. I also met many other players from other teams. For the first time it was very emotional, it was like I was stuck in a moment. And the most important thing is that they look totally different in real life than on TV and pictures. I was amazed at the difference actually. 😉

      • HermosaChica permalink
        January 10, 2011 12:21

        Hahaha, that seemed like such a terrific scene!
        Might I suggest mass production of wallpaper depicting the two of you together? And, of course, it would only be proper for you to paste both the inside AND outside of your house with it. 😀

        I wonder how I’d react if I ever met any of the players. That’d probably be one of my slightly lunatic moments..

        • January 10, 2011 12:42

          For a while, it was my desktop background, my mobile background, my MSN picture…

        • IsaBella permalink
          January 10, 2011 16:07

          It is totally lunatic for the first time. At least for me it was like I lost all the blood all of a sudden. 😉 Like a saw a ghost or something. It was great nobody took a picture of me then :p I guess I looked like a zombie.
          Next time is always better. 😀

      • January 10, 2011 12:27

        Oh, the mental picture of this scene is so sweet! I can imagine your happiness Una!

      • Maddi permalink
        January 10, 2011 21:31

        Una you lucky, lucky duck!!! If I met Iker I would probably pass out from sheer joy and his hotness… did he say anything to you? Did he put his hand on your back when you guys took a picture? I wish I lived in Spain!!!!!! Then I would go stalking every single member of the team. (I would have a checklist with me of course) 🙂

        • IsaBella permalink
          January 11, 2011 00:23

          They usually put their hands on your back when you’re taking a picture 🙂

  7. La Pirata permalink
    January 9, 2011 18:38

    “I like Granero more and more with each day.”
    Oh, Mou, once again we are in agreement.

    And I’m so glad Pipita’s parents were able to get visas. Surgery is scary at any age. A girl was telling me she met him in the Chicago airport and that he was super nice, tall, sexy and that pictures/video don’t do him justice. Sounds like a wonderful man and hopefully his visit will be successful!

  8. January 9, 2011 21:17

    yeii! Kaka’s goal!!!! And I cannot believe I could not see the match and I just checked it in the internet. Great, great news for Kaka and Crispy!!!

  9. January 9, 2011 23:26

    “- I like Granero more and more with each day.” hehe that sounds like something I would say; hopefully el Pirata can play more!

  10. SoccerStar permalink
    January 10, 2011 03:04

    I love Gonzalo Higuaín. I am a medical student at Northwestern and have been at the hospital for the last 4 years. Seriously this is the best hospital and in the coolest place ever. I hope I can see him in the hospital or in the streets around his hotel to wish him luck. I have been keeping my eyes open looking around for him!!! He will be in the best hands im sure!

    • Maddi permalink
      January 10, 2011 21:32

      If you do, take a pic and send it to una!! like I said, I wish I lived in CHicago again…

  11. gtmadrid permalink
    January 10, 2011 09:30

    Hola, does anyone know where I can get the adidas neck warmer that José Mourinho has been wearing?, I’ve looked everywhere on the internet, but can’t find it. That was a awesome game today, I loved how Kaká had that sweet touch at the end! Gonzalo will be back and better then ever. You do a great job on this blog unamadridista!

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 10, 2011 10:45

      have you checked RM official store?

  12. Lily Montella permalink
    January 10, 2011 20:57

    Wishing Higuain a fast and speedy surgery and recovery! You are missed on the squad hope you are back for the next Classico!

Leave a Reply

