Skip to content

the fact that they made kids happy makes them even more endearing to me

January 9, 2011

Real Madrid was the big winner and repeat champion at the Mejorada del Campo tournament yesterday, as they beat Barcelona 2-1 in the final.  Three of our players showed up to support the benjamines: Antonio Adán, the tournament organizer and coach of the Mejorada del Campo team; the so-effortlessly-stylish-it-hurts Esteban Granero, patron of the Los Piratas de Granero team; and Sergio Canales, cheerleader and moral support bringer extraordinaire.  The latter two helped Adán to hand out trophies at the tournament’s close.

How cute are these kids in their little uniforms?  They are so adorable… I was hoping that Los Piratas would have Esteban’s face on their jerseys, but no, they just have a drawing of a pirate.  Hopefully it’s modeled after El Pirata.

Adán was very pleased with the success of the competition, said that it was very special for the kids of Nuevo Mejorada, and added he was “very happy that players such as Esteban Granero and Sergio Canales supported this initiative.”  Sergio C., for his part, said that “tournaments like this one make me remember my childhood.  It’s great to collaborate with these types of causes and to see how excited the kids were.  I was very happy to help out Adán because we were all youth players at one time.”

I loved how the teams even had home and away kits, the adorable haircuts, how chubby some of the niños were… And I really can’t get over how cute the kits are.  Real Madrid’s are boring in comparison to those from Los Piratas, with the pirate drawing; the vibrant blue of Getafe’s kits; and Rayo Vallecano’s, with the bee on them.  I also love the little kid from Rayo’s pink boots.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2011 11:34

    Oh Pirata (taking dressing lessons from Xabi – although he is one of the *few* who doesn’t need them) and looking GOOD! :-p

    • La Pirata permalink
      January 9, 2011 22:56

      Agreed. I want the scarf, peacoat and man underneath.

  2. amouria permalink
    January 9, 2011 12:31

    all are adorable…

  3. Ayah permalink
    January 9, 2011 12:43

    First of all let me start by saying thank you so much for the amazing work you’ve been doing on this blog and la Roja’s, you have been phenomenal, I don’t usually comment but felt the need to today after this beautiful post I mean honestly how adorable are these kids and their little kits. I started reading your blog just for the fun of it, I wasn’t even a Madrid fan but you have truly endeared me to these guys, you have to be proud that you’re a fan of a great team like this (and this coming out of a Cule 🙂 . Again thank you so much and keep up the great work, looking forward to your next post.

    Ps: How hot is Esteban Granero, my Godness seriously, not fair.

  4. Marshmallow permalink
    January 9, 2011 13:27

    aw, the little ones are so adorable!
    Adan may be a future coach, y/y?

  5. HermosaChica permalink
    January 9, 2011 14:52

    I saw the photos first and thought “why are these men so small?!” *facepalm*
    Anyways 😆
    Awwww! Look at the tiny shin guards! And the Getafe kid’s little captain’s armband!
    Mini footballers! I want one, I want one! Oh wait..that’s wrong 😛

    And my my my..would you look at Granero?! Quite impressive, I must say. *sigh* Sexio, if only..

  6. January 9, 2011 17:05

    Oh my God look at the little captain’s armband!!!! I love the Barca-Madrid uniforms, too. And I’m so glad we beat them.

    Granero looks fantastic!! And I love all 3 of them for participating in this.

  7. January 9, 2011 18:20

    aaaawwwww, how cute are those kids? One day when I will have kids on my own, I promise to buy them little football outfits, even for the girls, it looks so adorable!!!

    The “adults” also look fine. Congrats for Adan for organising the thing, ver nice! Sergio Canales looks like he’s one of those little kids who just got tall so I do not really understand what he means by saying that this reminds him of his childhood – I mean how bad is his memory, his childhood was, like, yesterday!

    And Esteban (I love his name) – he should be Xabi’s assistant in the RM Fashion Police. He looks so well.

    • RealLisa permalink
      January 10, 2011 18:43

      Haha oh girl, thanks for this: “One day when I will have kids on my own, I promise to buy them little football outfits, even for the girls”, when I said the exact thing, everyone was looking me like “are you insane?” I’m glad I’m not the only one! You have my support. 😉

  8. Savannah permalink
    January 9, 2011 18:32

    Oooh I’m falling for Esteban now too!! He’s soooo Xabi-iss!! Madre Mia!!!

  9. Ange permalink
    January 9, 2011 18:37

    aaaaaaaaaaaaaawwwwwww tooooooo cute!!!!

  10. La Pirata permalink
    January 9, 2011 22:54

    Ayyy, bendito! Those kids are so adorable! Thanks for covering this and congrats to the RM youngster, one day you may grow up to be as flawless as the three in the photo. 🙂

  11. January 10, 2011 03:17

    They are all adorable!!!

  12. Canederli permalink
    January 10, 2011 03:32

    Mmmm, Granero looks yummy!

    “Sergio C., for his part, said that “tournaments like this one make me remember my childhood”

    I cracked up at this because what was that 3 years ago? 😉 He’s still a bebeh.

    The kids are adorable and I love how supportive our guys are.

  13. Alex permalink
    January 10, 2011 07:47

    Did we win against Barça? Best to get it in their genes as early as possible 😀

  14. January 10, 2011 16:04

    SO CUTE !!!

  15. barb permalink
    January 10, 2011 17:20

    I always enjoy “In case you missed it” posts; reading about the little footballers is just as much fun as reading about the big ones. Those little guys are so endearing – agree they could use some more colourful uniforms. Thanks for another entertaining read.

  16. RealLisa permalink
    January 10, 2011 18:50

    Aaaaw, the whole youth category has really grown on me, and that’s thanks to you Una! I even started to watch some of the games!

    Bravo Antonio, Esteban and baby Sergio (I love using their first names, it makes me feel close to them)!

  17. Lily Montella permalink
    January 10, 2011 20:53

    That issss sooooooo cute!!!! Your Blog is the best!!!!

    Greetings from Canada
    Lily

  18. jean permalink
    January 11, 2011 00:59

    so cute:)

  19. sweetubi permalink
    January 11, 2011 09:19

    Los Piratas FTW! Granero is hot.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention the fact that they made kids happy makes them even more endearing to me « following Real Madrid… -- Topsy.com
  2. Weekly News. - The Offside - Real Madrid blog
  3. spotlight on… Álvaro & Antonio « following Real Madrid…
  4. #13 with 12 days to go… « following Real Madrid…

Leave a Reply

