Skip to content

news briefs

January 13, 2011

The fun stuff from the past several days…

One. I always love to see how Madrid players come dressed for the concentración, because they all have their own styles, some good, and some bad.

Yesterday, Sergio, Cris and Iker were on the bad side (as well as anyone carrying LV luggage), while Esteban, Álvaro (minus the LV suitcase) and Fernando were on the good side.  I’m quite impressed with how our canteranos dress.

Also on the bad side:  Kaká and Marcelo’s gesture.  It’s also always entertaining to see the players struggling to get up the slope where the bus is parked, as you can see here and in the pictures below.

It’s also fun to see the individual touches the boys bring to the official gear.  Álvaro opts for shorts and tights, just as he does during the training sessions, Sergio keeps his hat on (and sucks on a lollipop) and once again Xabi is carrying a book.  And a different one from last time too!  And Albiol accessorizes with the best accessory of them all, a great smile.

Two. According to today’s Marca, Mou used bottles of water and Coke to explain the changes in tactical strategies to the players during the halftime of the game against Villarreal.  That night, as soon as Mou entered the locker room, not even taking the time to take off his coat, he turned on a screen, but it didn’t light up.  So, the coach began to collect bottles of water, and placed them on the floor, while asking his assistants to bring other bottles from around the locker room.  Mou arranged the bottles, with Real Madrid as the bottles of water, and Villarreal as Coca Cola.  He began moving the bottles around to explain the changes to his players, saying things like, “Xabi, you’re this bottle, and you’re this one, Sami.”

In case you have trouble picturing this, Marca kindly provided a drawing of how they assumed the locker room looked during the halftime break.

This is the real takeaway point of the article.  I LOVE the attention to detail – each player’s hair is completely correct (Sergio’s even has shine!) although perhaps they were a bit generous with Carvalho.  And that’s exactly how I imagine Ozi and Cris looking, and I love Iker with the glove propping up his chin and the pensive look.  I wonder why they decided to give Albiol a drink.  And check out the reserves!  Kaká has his arm around Sami!

Three. Gonzalo Higuaín was released from the hospital yesterday afternoon (he came out walking) and is resting up in his hotel in Chicago.  He told the press that “everything had gone well.”  A fun note:  Pipita took a taxi back to the hotel as a precaution despite the distance being only 100 or so meters, because the sidewalks were iced over and covered with snow (the fact that he wasn’t wearing a jacket probably influenced the decision too).  He’s scheduled to stay in Chicago until next Wednesday, leaving after one more revision with Dr. Fessler on Tuesday.

Four. We can expect to see the return of former canterano Juanfran Torres tonight, after he signed a four-year deal with Atlético.  He last played for Real Madrid in 2006.

Five. Over at the Sami Khedira Fanpage, there is cute article on Sami Khedira, from his former club Stuttgart’s magazine Dunkelrot (I love that mutual love still exists between Sami and his former club!).  The interview took place when Stuttgart’s youth team was in Madrid to play Getafe.  They meet at the Real Café (go there if you have a chance!), and take a visit around the stadium and museum.  Sami tells the magazine that Mou is the best, and that Iker and Cristiano are “quite normal.”  Go take a look!

Six. Nothing too fun in this week’s Crackòvia episode, but we did get a musical number between FP, JM, Sergio and Kaká.  There are subtitles in Spanish when they sing, so you can get the point.  The basic point is that Mou wants a forward, FP tells him there’s no money and to use Kaká, but Mou doesn’t want Kaká.

Seven. And José Mourinho is one of the models of Adidas and Porsche Design Sport’s 2010 fall/winter line, along with Stefan Edberg and Jochen Schümen.  He makes a pretty good model, no?  The outfit is totally him.

31 Comments leave one →
  1. Ebrahim permalink
    January 13, 2011 07:46

    Once again my heart bleeds!

    I hate seeing former Madrid youth return, while I am happy they have made a career elsewhere, it disappoints me(greatly) they where not given the chance at the club that brought them up.(I’m also sick of the opinion that Barcelona has a better youth system then us! We literally provides at least one starter to every Primera division(Barcelona =Eto) team! Not to mention many Barcelona (biggest) youth do not originate from the area)

    Lets hope our former youth does not haunt us(again!).

    :).

    Madrid derby :D:P can not wait to see the ultra tonight, i love them!

  2. Ebrahim permalink
    January 13, 2011 08:02

    Thanks for the link una!

    I really appreciate interviews because you get to hear about the player not the personality the media has created to sell papers.

    What i noticed

    For each of them it is like a dream come true. They are now on the big stage of world football, on José Mourinho’s perfectly trimmed chessboard. Quiet, almost devotional, the otherwise lively young talents are standing on Khediras workplace – awestruck young teenagers.(This is what makes our club so unique for many opposition players stepping onto our home turf is a dream come true)

    We have not won a title in two years, something which is totally irreconcilable with the image the club has of itself.(The clubs expectations are so high!)

  3. IsaBella permalink
    January 13, 2011 09:16

    Sergio’s hat together with the Miami-Vice outfit made me cry as well as Cristiano’s scarf (I mean the Armani logo couldn’t be bigger, could it?). BTW what does Sergio have in his mouth while walking to the bus? a Chupa-Chups? 😀 oh Una does mention that it was a lollipop, sorry fot missing it.
    Xabi with a book: that’s my man 🙂 I wonder what he’s reading, detective, adventure, history? 🙂
    I’m so glad that Gonzalo is out of the hospital, but didn’t the doctors tell him how to dress when he gets out? 😉 looks like in Chicago the weather is similar to what we have here.
    Una, I was at the Real Cafe 🙂 it’s a very nice place but way too expensive 😉
    and Mou in the ad: CLASSY 🙂

    • Kristine permalink
      January 13, 2011 15:01

      Chicago in January is FREEEEEZING. Can’t believe Pipita went outside like that!

      • IsaBella permalink
        January 13, 2011 15:36

        Warsaw in January is freezing, too 🙂 now it’s +3 however and it should stay so until the end of the month, I suppose in Chicago it’s a bit colder now if there is still snow on the streets.

      • Sarah permalink
        January 14, 2011 02:49

        I KNOW!!! THIS BOY IS CRAZY!! I mean we were having some nice weather but once it snows IT SNOWS!!

    • Ange permalink
      January 13, 2011 19:25

      yea here in the USA …. earlier this week .. had snow in 49 of the 50 states… at least thats what the media said… but some more then other…. and right now checking the weather…. its about 23 degrees Farenheit(-5 degrees celcius) but it feels like 32 (0 degrees celcius) … with a chance of 1.8 inches of snow …

      • IsaBella permalink
        January 15, 2011 00:25

        +5 and rain now :/ all snow has gone

  4. amouria permalink
    January 13, 2011 09:26

    Somehow i didn’t like mou posing for commercial campaign! he doesn’t need it… perhaps i am an old fashion person…but any way, such poses lack dignity, in my view of course!

    • Margie permalink
      January 14, 2011 09:39

      I agree, I don’t like it at all and I love Mourinho! I think I like him smiling better!
      And what in the world is a Porsche clothing line anyway?! lol

  5. annette permalink
    January 13, 2011 10:42

    Oh, my tennis heart skipped a beat. Do you happen to have Stefan Edberg’s campaign photo as well? Couldn’t find it online, only Mou’s.

    • January 13, 2011 12:23

      oh, I had the same reaction, Stefan Edberg!;-)

  6. January 13, 2011 12:26

    1) Gonzalo- I hope he’s optimistic and the recovery will be fast and all will be good!!!!

    2) the cartoon is AWESOME, I think I will save it!

    3) last but not least – it’s one of those times, when Sergio is actually wearing something worse than Cristiano. A total hat distaster Sexio, a total disaster!!! it begs for some spanking! LOL

    4) I can’t wait to see the match too!

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 13, 2011 14:36

      “it’s one of those times, when Sergio is actually wearing something worse than Cristiano.” – I totally agree. 😉

  7. SanIker permalink
    January 13, 2011 13:26

    Your website is great. I found it by accident, now I drop by everyday to read the team news. Keep up the good work !!

  8. blanco for life permalink
    January 13, 2011 13:59

    annete:
    Google “Adidas Porsche edberg” on pictures and they will pop up!

    Una:
    I was thinking of starting a blog (not footballrelated) and I was wondering what program you use for cutting videoclips etc?
    Thanks

  9. HermosaChica permalink
    January 13, 2011 14:27

    I absolutely loved the Marca sketch! But I didn’t realize that was Carvalho until I saw the number on his shorts; however, I do love both cartoon and real life versions of Marcelo and Iker.

    “(and sucks on a lollipop)” — yeah, I’m gonna start living on those from now on.. But the hat..really? Show us the hair, Sergio! It’s one of our favorite things about you!

    It being spinal surgery, I thought it wouldn’t even be possible for him to walk so soon 😕 ..Well, I guess that’s why I’m not on my way to becoming a doctor, hehe. Pipita walking, and NOT wearing a quilted jacket is definitely great news! All is good in the world. 😛

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 13, 2011 14:58

      “(and sucks on a lollipop)” — yeah, I’m gonna start living on those from now on.. But the hat..really? Show us the hair, Sergio! It’s one of our favorite things about you!”
      you know lollipops are bad for the teeth 😀 anyway I have long hair (like half of my back) and I don’t have even a half of what Sergio has, I envy him in that matter. :/
      it is really hard to recongnize the players in the sketch is it? I had a hard time with that, too 🙂

      • HermosaChica permalink
        January 13, 2011 15:36

        ..Oh, well..teeth are overrated anyway 😛
        I know! Seriously, next time they’re in a hotel, someone needs to break into Sergio’s bathroom and tell us what magical hair products he uses!

        • IsaBella permalink
          January 15, 2011 00:34

          oh, I’d love to have the so-called Hollywood teeth 😀
          I think that Sergio simply has naturally thick hair, otherwise he would have nothing by now with all the dying 😉 it looks great anyway, like you want to instantly touch it to see if it’s real :p
          I can ask him abt the shampoo if you want 😉

  10. Kristine permalink
    January 13, 2011 15:22

    Call me crazy, but I think they all looked really cute! Sergio has worn a similar hat in the past. It makes me wonder if hes hiding some kind of surprise under there? hmmm.. we’ll see.

    Iker looked like he just tumbled out of bed, but its kind of adorable.

    So happy to see that Higauin is up and about, though I cant believe he went outside that way in Chicago! Chicago is FREEEEEEZING in the winter. Windy and brutal.

    Thanks for the post Una! Love the gifs and the cartoon!

  11. blitzen permalink
    January 13, 2011 15:51

    Even as a cule I can say that Mourinho looks great in that picture!

    And the story about the bottles is awesome.

  12. Mel permalink
    January 13, 2011 16:55

    I will bee forever scared from seeing Crakovia Sergio Ramos with no shirt……………….
    The real Sergio Ramos is a bit different with no shirt. Much hotter, and less hairy…

  13. January 13, 2011 17:46

    Mou looks fantastic! Thanks for this whole post, I loved the Marca thing! Really cute. So glad Pipita looks like he is doing well… is it normal for people to walk around two days after back surgery?! Either way I’m happy to see it. As always I love your fashion commentary… Sergio really enjoys matching, doesn’t he? Sigh. But I like the lollipop, that was kind of adorable.

    Can’t wait for the match. Hala Madrid!

  14. Ange permalink
    January 13, 2011 19:26

    Thanx UNA!!!! 🙂 great post like always!!!

  15. January 14, 2011 00:39

    Hola!!!I managed to watch the match, well, interesting. Quite tense, wasn’t it? This young gk of Atletico was what prevented RM from like 3 or 4 more goals;-|)

    anyway, besides (yes, still) being a bit worried about our defense (even though only 1 goal was lost today) I have 2 matters of importance (high)

    1) whatever Sergio was hiding under the hat, the hat worked. Is it a magic hat for head goals? If so, he is a bit forgiven for it’s dramatic looks;-)

    2) what is the problem between Sergio and Kun, they always seem to fight so much… I have a huge problem with that because I love Kun’s little son Benji, who is so cute and adorable and is basically one of the prettiest kids I have ever seen, that I cannot possibly stop liking him just because his papa is fighting with Sexio every time they see…LOL

    3) can someone please tell me, WHAT exactly happens lately to Xabi? Besides being bossy and, well, The Father, he is so damn angry while playing I could not believe my eyes. And today was probably the most angry Xabi I’ve seen this season, why is that!!!

  16. Hala_Madrid permalink
    January 14, 2011 04:43

    I also think they all look so handsome. I definitely don’t pay attention to their fashion lol, by the way here’s a link for an interview of Marcelo. AWW he’s so cute i love him too. And Yes we won the derby.. Ramos scored and Cris scored against Athletic for the first time yeahh!!
    any way here’s the link, It’s in Spanish though!
    http://www.cuatro.com/deportes/videos/marcelo-hay-gente-quiere-destruir-vestuario/20110113ctoultpro_37/

  17. Malena permalink
    January 14, 2011 05:22

    For once I think Sergio actually looks decent.

  18. soccerStar permalink
    January 14, 2011 06:24

    Ahh, I live on the block that G. Higauin is walking around on and work in the hospital but I still haven’t seen him. Poor me. Good to see he is walking around after spine surgery! Oh Una how do you get such great pictures? Thanks for the post.

    • HermosaChica permalink
      January 14, 2011 16:34

      Seriously?? I would’ve started camping outside in that area weeks ago! 😛

Trackbacks

  1. Cristiano Ronaldo at Marca (II) « following Real Madrid…

Leave a Reply

