Skip to content

he needs to score more so he can dance more

January 14, 2011
tags:

Just a few days after Juanma Castaño complained that Real Madrid doesn’t allow any of its players to be interviewed by Cuatro, that they only get to speak when playing with the national team (I assume he means the Spaniards), but in private or on the phone, the channel gets an interview with Marcelo.  Coincidence or not?

It’s a quite a cute little interview.  Here are the best soundbites.

– the last song I’ll listen to before the derby is Lil Wayne’s “Six Foot, Seven Foot” (I love the accent!).

– a derby is a derby, no matter what positions the teams are in.  It’s going to be a difficult game, and Madrid likes to play games like that.

– I celebrated my goal against Atleti by imitating the dance of a crab in Brazil.

– I’ve been to Cibeles two times with Madrid; it was a wonderful, great thing.  We’ll give everything we’ve got in order to return.

– I speak the most with Pepe; I don’t know if it’s because of the language.  I’m always with Pepe and with Cris, and sometimes with Kaká.  Cristiano is the best in the world both on and off the field.  He’s a “top” guy.

– Casillas is a captain, not a sheriff.  He’s also a “top” person (“top” is Marcelo’s favorite word).

– there are people who want to destroy the good relationship we all have.  We’re very united, all of us – Spaniards, Portuguese, Germans, everyone…

– Mourinho doesn’t need to change anything about him.  But others should change the way they perceive him.  We see him as a father, who defends us to the death, who always sticks up for us.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Sunny permalink
    January 14, 2011 16:21

    I’ve been waiting all season for a goal by Marcelo.

    • HermosaChica permalink
      January 14, 2011 16:47

      Same here! I bet he practices a little dance before matches just in case, haha.

  2. Sunshine permalink
    January 14, 2011 16:40

    My baby Marcelo! I love him more and more every day! And I don’t even know when I fell for him… He’s definitely a TOP guy! 😛

  3. HermosaChica permalink
    January 14, 2011 16:45

    Ohh I was just minutes away from asking you to translate this! Thank you!! 😀

    I spent all morning laughing at his “siiix fooot..sevin fooot”. Gosh, I love this guy, not to mention his contagious smile/laugh.

    As hilarious as his little dance was 😆 of all creatures, why did he imitate a crab? I wonder if it symbolizes something in Brazil.

    • Aline permalink
      January 15, 2011 14:53

      Actually, here in Brasil, there is a tv program that invented this crab dance (dança do siri) a couple of years ago. So become a mania in Brasil. In every ocasion, people start to dance it: behind of reporters in live links, with brasilian celebraties, in turistic points, etc (the national team of basketball danced to celebrate a win.) U can watch the “DANÇA DO SIRI” on youtube, if U want.

    • gabriela permalink
      January 15, 2011 15:50

      It’s the dance of a TV show here in Brazil! it was famous a while ago, people called up crowds to make crab dance and record to send it to the show xD (the show is called “Pânico na TV”. Just type “dança do siri” on youtube and you’ll get a glimpse of it!
      Siri is a type of crab we have on the beaches here, it’s small (and tasty 8D) and walks just like the way demonstrated on the dance. If you ever drop by some beach here, don’t forget to ask for “casquinha de siri” on the restaurants 😀

      • HermosaChica permalink
        January 16, 2011 12:41

        Thank you to both Aline and gabriela!!
        I just watched a bunch of videos; I wish we had a hilarious national inside joke! 😦

        Haha, this is yet another reason why Brazil is so high up on my list of places to visit before I’m old and frail.

  4. January 14, 2011 17:10

    Oh man, when he gets a goal… It’ll be joyous, and I’ll be super happy for him.

  5. amouria permalink
    January 14, 2011 17:12

    “We see him as a father, who defends us to the death, who always sticks up for us.”
    Yes, and you will miss him badly when he leaves (god forbid)! See how Snijder expresses that: I go to death for Mou 🙂

  6. Jenny permalink
    January 14, 2011 18:36

    He’s such an adorable, personable little fellow. If this translation is anything to go on, he expresses himself really well!

  7. January 14, 2011 20:29

    He’s seriously one of my favourite players. I mean, how can one not love this guy?! He’s an amazing player and is just too cute for words to boot!

  8. Ange permalink
    January 14, 2011 20:29

    awwwwww i love marcelo

  9. andrea permalink
    January 14, 2011 22:35

    I can’t wait till he scores cause he deserves it and I’d really like to see his celebration.
    That “journalist” is so rude.

  10. IsaBella permalink
    January 15, 2011 00:41

    a goal against Atleti? did I miss something? O.O
    a huge thanks Marcelo for praising Mou 😀

  11. January 15, 2011 03:24

    I LOVE Marcelo!!! So hilarious!!! Thanks for this, because I don’t feel like I know anything about him!

  12. Deb permalink
    January 15, 2011 04:19

    Man I love this guy! I hope he scores more too!

  13. Alicia permalink
    January 15, 2011 23:33

    I really, really like Marcelo. He’s hilarious and he never fails to entertain us! Cristiano’s goal celebrations would be less entertaining without Marcelo.

Leave a Reply

