Skip to content

in case you missed it – the flying edition

January 14, 2011

In case you missed it – Madrid vs. Atlético de Madrid [2010-01-13; Copa del Rey quarterfinals first leg].

The 11-year unbeaten streak at the Bernabéu was extended with this victory last night.  As the headline in El País put it, “Atlético walks, Madrid flies.”  That was so true.  The team was a team last night, a cohesive unit, with play flowing from the defenders to the forwards, helped along by Xabi Alonso and Sami Khedira in the middle.  Finally.

I’m optimistic, but still cautious, because anything can happen in the vuelta.  However, Madrid has never lost a Copa del Rey series after notching a 3-1 game in the ida, so at least history is on our side.

One. I love these montages of mostly frustration showed by our players, because they all look so beautiful here, from Xabi asking people to calm down to the sweat dripping down Álvaro’s face, but for the most part the game was happier than this.

Two. We saw a very feisty Xabi Alonso last night, which is big news because it is so unusual.  Look at him get into it with Juanfran here!  Shoving?  Madly gesticulating?  Is that really Xabi?

Look at this 30-second clip from the game.  I count Xabi raising his arms and pointing 13 times in the 30 seconds, or once every 2.3 seconds, even switching arms when one got tired.

And when the game was at the 48:15 mark in the second half (3:15 into injury time, which was only supposed to last three minutes, and only 15 seconds before the game would actually end), Xabi was still arguing and getting into it with the referee.  That’s what I call intensity.  After the game, however, he said he was pleased with the performance of the árbitro.

Three. We got three goals from Sergio, Cristiano and Ozi.  But as usual, I enjoyed the celebrations more than the goals themselves (though they were nice).  Sergio jumped onto the advertising board ringing the field to celebrate with the fans, with Sami Khedira running after him to make sure he wouldn’t fall (sweet, no?).  Ozil did a fist pump of success and jumped as well, and this time it was Álvaro Arbeloa who jumped onto the pile.  Xabi was back to his classy, restrained celebratory style.

Sergio also sent out a kiss after the goal.  After the game, Sergio said, “it’s been some time since I scored and I had a lot of desire to score again, so that I could dedicate the goal to my grandmother, who’s not doing well.”  How sweet, again!

As for Cris’s celebration, he busted out a few moves – is that his version of the Dougie?  The timing of Pepe’s injury is so unfortunate because it came just as Kaká came back, and I had been waiting to see Cris, Marcelo, Kaká and Pepe celebrate a goal together.  Cris also did his customary thumb sucking and finger motions towards the palco.  I guess this means that it is for Junior, and not Richi.  Too bad.

Cristiano’s goal last night was his first against Atleti.  It also means that there are only two teams left in the Primera that he hasn’t scored against, Barcelona and Sporting (he scored against Levante in the Copa del Rey, but not the Liga).

Four. Pregame moments.

Kaká tries to sneak into the starting lineup, and our handsome captains.

The Ultra Sur never fail to display a huge banner covering the entire bottom part of the Fondo Sur whenever Atleti comes to visit, and this time, it was a simple one.  Stripes in Madrid’s colors flowed down the section, with the bottom reading “Valores Eternos” (eternal values).

Five. Iker exchanged his shirt with an Atleti player after the game, but unfortunately was wearing another layer underneath.

And of course, I can’t miss an opportunity to show off his perfect profile.  I’ve really never seen a profile perfect as this one.

In a postgame interview with COPE, Iker described De Gea as a “fantastic kid, a great goalkeeper, and the future of Atlético and the Spanish national team.”  David de Gea had an excellent game!!!  Madrid would have scored so many more if it weren’t for him.

Six. Fun moments.

Esteban Granero is even smooth and so cool when it comes to removing his warm-ups.  The jacket just kind of oozed off, didn’t it?  I assume this is how he does it, no matter what types of clothes he is removing.  And Ozi got the highest form of praise, a slap on the back from Mou.

Xabi was once again the father out there on the field, while Karim Benzema was captured biting his nails.

Cris showed off his compassionate side after a hard tackle on Tomáš Ujfaluši, for which he earned a yellow.  And Sergio played with former canterano Filipe Luis’ hair, in the presence of Filipe’s good buddy Álvaro Arbeloa (remember this?)

Seven. Front and back™ (and several other angles in today’s edition).

Álvaro Arbeloa.  A side and a back.

Cristiano Ronaldo.

I couldn’t choose between these two back pictures since they were both pretty great.  Which one do you prefer?

Esteban Granero.

He wear wearing what looked to be a piece of dirty string in his hair as a headband, but he managed to make it work.  Despite the fact that he was in the game for less than five minutes, he made front and back.™  That’s a notable achievement, no?

Iker.  An under and a back.

Marcelo.

Sergio Ramos.  A side and a back.

Xabi Alonso.

Eight. There was an article in Marca today, their “topic of the day” and it was all about how everyone now covers their mouths whenever they say anything on the field.  Luckily, Iker and Cris didn’t, because otherwise we wouldn’t have these cute little moments.

Nine. The Xabi Alonso pose section.™

Look carefully for Xabi being a tease.

Ten. The Mou Corner.

He had a pretty calm game.

In his postgame press conference, Mou spoke on several subjects.

On his players, he said, “Benzema is working more than ever for the team; he’s not egotistical.  What he lacks is a bit of hunger to score, but he’s a great player.”  Of Ozi, he said, “physically, we can see his progress in stepping up his intensity, the rhythm of play and continuity.  He’s playing fantastically.”  Mou was aslo complimentary towards Arbeloa, describing him as “a very serious boy on the field, he’s compact and reliable.  I like players like him, which are the ones that coaches usually fall in love with.”

Mou also comforted Benzema after he subbed him out and the Bernabéu subjected him to some whistles.

He also said that “we want to go all the way in the Liga, Champions and the Copa.”  Yes, yes and yes.

Eleven. Postgame stuff.

Sergio got a jacket at the end of the game, but poor Álvaro was ignored.  That was because Álvaro was headed straight to the locker room, while Sergio was interviewed by the Canal + crew.  I love how his eyes just kept roaming around.  To the left, to the right, at the interviewer, off into the distance…

Twelve. Other game notes:  there was a minute of silence before the game, and the players wore black armbands, for actor Juanito Navarro, who died last week.  He was socio number 36 of Madrid, never missed a game and had even run for president at one point.  Ozi was left wondering who in the world that was during the moment.

Thirteen. Yesterday’s tweets.

Xabi’s going to Coldplay’s concert, and Álvaro had to pay €38 for parking.

Fourteen. Looking ahead:  the team held a training session this morning to start preparing for this weekend’s game against Almería, which will close out the first half of the season.

Meanwhile, the second leg of the Copa del Rey quarterfinals will take place in one week’s time, on Thursday Jan. 20 at 22h in the Calderón.

41 Comments leave one →
  1. blanco for life permalink
    January 14, 2011 15:59

    Iker shaves his armpits 🙂

    I liked the way Ronaldo helped to put on Ujfalusis headband after he tackled him. (this act is not shown here on the blog)

    • Ally permalink
      January 14, 2011 17:46

      lol, I thought exactly the same about Iker when I saw the picture xD

      That’s very nice of Cris!

    • Ava Mendez permalink
      January 14, 2011 21:48

      HAHAH…i was thinking that too…. iker and his razor.

    • Maisoun permalink
      January 15, 2011 07:12

      LMAO! I was thinking the same thing when I saw his pits 😛

    • Hala_Madrid permalink
      January 15, 2011 08:56

      Yes i saw Cristiano doing that too, that was a nice gesture. We have good players.

  2. Louise permalink
    January 14, 2011 16:18

    Wow, Xabi was feisty during the match! It even made SportsCenter on ESPN here in the US. I like it! (As long as he stays out of trouble.)

    • emily permalink
      January 15, 2011 04:09

      I missed Xabi on the ‘Center?!

  3. blanco for life permalink
    January 14, 2011 16:29

    Which program do you use for editing the videos etc?

  4. amouria permalink
    January 14, 2011 17:07

    COMPLETE GAME & COMPLETE BLOG. Una: you have a classy taste and eagle eye. I envy you 🙂

  5. sweetubi permalink
    January 14, 2011 17:27

    I like fierce Xabi or fierce Iker or fierce Sergio or fierce ..the list cont

  6. HermosaChica permalink
    January 14, 2011 17:30

    I’ve spotted this newfound feistiness from a few of our players recently, most notably Xabi and Marcelo. Weird, right?

    “And Sergio played with former canterano Filipe Luis’ hair” — well I hope Filipe’s hair makes Sergio miss his own long luscious hair. And is it just me or does Sexio’s hair seem to get shorter and shorter each week?! Also, I was practically bouncing off the walls when he scored! His dedication was incredibly sweet.

    I’m definitely loving all the crazy angles in the front and back section! And “which one do you prefer?” — oh how can we possibly choose?!

    Favorite gif of the post: the one with Iker and Sergio clapping. “Our handsome captains” indeed. *sigh* Oh, Una you spoil us 😉

    Also worth mentioning, De Gea really did have a great match despite conceding three goals. I’m really excited about seeing him take over from the big boys in La Roja.

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 15, 2011 13:41

      Marcelo fierce? I haven’t noticed that…. For me, Marcelo is like a mascota of the team, always funny and dancing 😀 I was very disappointed by Xabi’s attitude though because he’s my idol and to see him behaving like this makes me really sad 😦
      I don’t think Sergio’s hair is shorter, I think it’s just the haircut, you don’t see when it grows 😉 I like the caramel color (not because I have the same 😉 it’s just better than the blond 😉

      • HermosaChica permalink
        January 16, 2011 12:33

        Yeah! He’s been overreacting and getting mad more often on the pitch. But during the training sessions he’s still the same lovable, huggable Marcelo.

        Hmm, I’m usually a “the darker the tastier” type of girl, but I honestly love Sergio the way he is! 😀

        • IsaBella permalink
          January 16, 2011 12:50

          well, I hope it was just that one time and then it will all go back to our normal Marcelo and Xabi (have I already said how much I adore him? 😉

          as far as the hair goes I’m the blond/nut/caramel lover 😀 that’s why I adore Sergio’s hair (I will really need to stop myself from touching it 😉 and I have exactly the same color, it’s very natural and warm 😀

  7. bbBenz permalink
    January 14, 2011 17:43

    what actually happen in the vid? i don’t really understand..
    what a sweet goal dedication by the Stallion:)
    I hope Karim can score in the upcoming match! he needs some confidence injection!

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 15, 2011 14:12

      “what a sweet goal dedication by the Stallion:)” – the Stallion! I love this nickname 😀

  8. Clara permalink
    January 14, 2011 17:51

    I love IKER … FACT!
    and Xabi…
    your blog is amazing!! Congratulations! 🙂

  9. mar permalink
    January 14, 2011 18:24

    nice post, thnx! can anyone understand what iker and cris shout?

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 15, 2011 14:09

      I think Cristiano shouts “oh fuck”, no idea about Iker, though. 😉

  10. Jenny permalink
    January 14, 2011 18:33

    They crowd were screaming Ozi’s name “Ozil, Ozil” after he scored – and he deserved it. Man of the Match, in my view (and, judging from TSO’s comments – his Man of the Match too).

  11. January 14, 2011 18:38

    I loved this game, the first half was intense, De Gea was great.
    Iker and his perfect profile shots are just perfect !

    By the way Una, I listened to his interview in COPE and he was asked about pique and shakira? 😀 My Spanish is not that good but I think he said that he doesn’t know anything and doesn’t meddle in people’s lives but then I heard Sara’s name too, they were talking fast, can you help with that part?

    • January 15, 2011 11:20

      Yes, they asked him about Piqué and Shakira. He said he doesn’t like to talk about others’ private lives but he hopes everything goes well for Piqué. I didn’t hear anything about Sara.

      • January 15, 2011 16:55

        Thanks Una, I won’t believe the Shakira thing unless I see some evidence because its just too weird,

        • IsaBella permalink
          January 15, 2011 17:06

          it is weird, indeed, Shakira is 10 years older than Pique, but as they say, you don’t talk about tastes. 😉

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 15, 2011 14:08

      Shakira has broken up with her fiance after 11 years, because she has an affair with Pique.

  12. LaBlanca permalink
    January 14, 2011 19:21

    “Cris also did his customary thumb sucking and finger motions towards the palco. I guess this means that it is for Junior, and not Richi. Too bad.”

    he was asked about the hands celebration and his reply was exactly this:
    Cristiano
    Honoring my son.- @abbeymayor hey Ronaldo, what does that sign u do with ur hand when u score mean?

    and there was another interesting reply:
    Cristiano
    ¿Qué te gustaría ver? @ChrisCiro Como dedicarias un gol a tus seguidores de Twitter? amo tus celebraciones de Gol 😉

    I do think he tweets by himself meanwhile.
    —————————————————

    Anyway, Una great work again!!!! Wow Xabi!!! his lil devil unleashed. 😀

    Loved Alvaros tweet yesterday. Hes just perfect for twitter.

  13. Ange permalink
    January 14, 2011 20:38

    I know … I was like WOW!!! XABI ALONSO!!! …. Cris hard tackle on Tomáš Ujfaluši … Tooo me … was KARMA!!! … cause it looked…just not has hard as the same tackle Ujfaluši did on Lionel Messi… *lol* … awww I love Sergio Ramos… he is sooo SWEEEEEEEEEET!!! sooo sweet that you want to eat him up….. *lol* j/k … I’m happy that RM won… but I did feel bad for David De Gea…

    THANX UNA!!!

  14. January 14, 2011 20:44

    I missed the match, and this amazing post of yours helped me recap it perfectly.

    PS: I love your close up pics! 😉

  15. Danielle permalink
    January 14, 2011 20:57

    Also Cristiano tweeted about an hour ago that the things he does with his hands after he scores goals are to honor his son. I’m sorry it still looks like to me that he wants to squeeze someone’s boobs when I see that gesture lol

  16. Gillian permalink
    January 14, 2011 21:14

    Can I be next in line to comfort Benzema?

    Ozi has the cutest, most adorable face.

  17. Kristine permalink
    January 14, 2011 23:38

    One of my favorite games so far this season. And Sergio scored! So excited for him, it’s been too long.

    What a scrappy, feisty game..Loved it! I love to see two teams challenging each other, so much more exciting than a one sided game. Our boys had to work for this win.

    I love our boys/Men!

    Fantastic job as always Una! You make my day.

  18. IsaBella permalink
    January 15, 2011 01:13

    Atleti walking, Madrid flying: I love this headline 🙂 I must admit that the game gave me some scratching the walls moments, though, especially when Madrid started losing 0:1… but of course the result was very good, and like Una I am optimistic the about the vuelta game.
    The feisty Xabi: I was shocked at some of his actions, he definetely looked very angry… I hope it was just a bad mood day, The Boss is The Boss 🙂
    I loved the Sergio-Sami goal celebration, simply adorable 😀 and of course I was jumping when Ozi scored, played great like always.
    well, imagining what’s underneath is sometimes hotter than actually seeing it 😉 I meant Iker with the shirt off 🙂 I would argue about his “perfect profile” but of course it is a matter of taste.
    De Gea: yes, it was his game and my congratulations. He was really impressive, I am not surprised that Del Bosque wants to call him up.
    Cristiano and Sergio caressing Atleti’s players: unforgettable 😀 and also Sergio’s backflip and Iker’s and Cris’ backs 😀

  19. January 15, 2011 01:30

    Great blog as always!

    I don’t think Mesut was wondering who it was. I think he was instead wondering why the fans wouldn’t keep their mouths shut during the minute of “silence”. Honestly, I was wondering the same.

  20. Tpuppie permalink
    January 15, 2011 01:45

    Yeah, not sure how I feel about the armpits. And his hair needs some attention. He may have less of it than he used to, but letting it get long and poufy in the front isn’t the answer. Still love him though!

  21. xoxo permalink
    January 15, 2011 02:01

    Oh Benzema, you sure do love biting your nails: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=owEZJuYjSOI

  22. barb permalink
    January 15, 2011 04:54

    More thanks than usual for this – I couldn’t get the match on my TV cable (boo!) and had to miss it. Granero is becoming a favourite of mine – he’s got his own unique style. And agreed about Iker’s absolutely perfect profile – I’ve only seen similar ones on Greek and Roman statues – he’s keeping good company 🙂

  23. January 15, 2011 05:27

    aww he dedicated the goal to his grandmother!

  24. Maisoun permalink
    January 15, 2011 07:24

    “Sergio also sent out a kiss after the goal.”

    ……………………………….I’ll just keep pretending it was for me 😛

    More goals, more kisses, WIN, WIN!

  25. PepperPots permalink
    January 15, 2011 14:35

    Iker’s face on the first GIF. Uh… wow! That’s just so sexy.

  26. Madridista Amsterdam permalink
    January 15, 2011 20:11

    OMG!! I LOVE THIS TOPIC.. I recently found this blog online and I just wanted to say it is amazing. Daily I search the web for news about my Real, but the stories here about everyday stuff, stories about the personalities of our players (especially CR7&Marcelo) and the many fascinating facts are just delightful to read. Keep up the great work!

    Hala madrid

Leave a Reply

