Skip to content

in case you missed it – the second place edition

January 17, 2011

In case you missed it – Almería vs. Real Madrid [2011-01-16, Liga jornada 19].

Well, we finished the primera vuelta in second place, and if we judge by this game, the second half of the season will be a difficult one.  But since I’m an optimist, I’m going to focus on the positives.  We’re in second place, which is not at all bad, we’ve only lost once and we’ve showed signs of brilliance in some games.  Karim Benzema didn’t start the game, but when he came in during the second half, he was able to change the game and was an integral part of the only goal.  Plus, we really do have the best looking team, no?  (More on that later).

ONE. This was pretty much my reaction the game too, sarcastic laughter and entreatment.  Only I’m not as adorable as Mou or Cris when I do it.

TWO. El Pirata’s goal was a beauty.  So was the celebration by this little Madrid fan in Almería.  Gooooooooool indeed.

THREE. Here comes the part about our adorable players.

Sergio Ramos was the most popular guy around in the tunnel, as he greeted Almería’s players, including M’bami, who had played in the Champions for Africa game, and chatted with everyone.  Also keep an eye out for Xabi stretching.  It’s mesmerizing.

They’re so cute, no?  I wonder what Kaká is signaling?  Maybe it’s a message to Marcelo, since he starts out with his fingers reading “12.”

This was Kaká’s first start of the season.  He said after the game that everyone was upset, including Mourinho, since obviously no one was content with the result.  Meanwhile, Marcelo was subbed out, because Mou didn’t like his passive attitude, especially during Ulloa’s goal.

FOUR. There was something about sitting on or standing near the banquillo that made our players extra pretty, or in Marcelo’s case, pouty.  And how did Karim resist biting his nails when Antonio was doing that exact thing next to him?

Kaká was seen putting ice on his knee, the one that was operated on.

FIVE. More beauty.

SIX. Free kick posing.  Unfortunately, neither Xabi’s smoldering nor Cristiano’s little entreaty to God worked.

SEVEN. I love this picture.  Look at the Germans!

EIGHT. Xabi and his hand motions.  What does that circling thing mean?

NINE. And on the subject of Xabi, the Xabi Alonso pose section.™  Today with tongue.

TEN. Fun moments with Cristiano.

ELEVEN. Iker and Almería midfielder Fabián Vargas got into an argument as the game ended.  As Iker was trying to kick the ball, Vargas got into his way to delay him and bumped him.  Both of them started jawing at each other before Álvaro Arbeloa and then other players got into the middle.  Vargas explained on twitter (here, here, here, here and here) after the game that Iker had tried to take a shot at him and insulted him because “el señor Casillas was feeling helpless because they couldn’t win against a humble team and lost points in the race for the title.”  Very classy.

I love how Álvaro and then Marcelo came to defend Iker.  Who’s turned on by seeing how forceful Álvaro can be?

TWELVE. More consolation, in the form of Ozi taking his shirt off after the game.  Unfortunately, the camera person did not zoom in.

He wore his “1 million Facebook fans” boots.  What will be the next milestone before he can get new ones?

THIRTEEN. Front and back.™

Zipi.

Zape.

The pose-striking Cristiano Ronaldo.

Iker.

Richi.

Ozi.

Sergio Ramos.  I wouldn’t mind him defending me like that.

Random fronts and backs – Khedira, Granero and Marcelo.

FOURTEEN. The Mou corner.

Before the clock had reached one minute into the game, Mou was already writing in his little notebook.  This is the face he wore for most of the game, when he wasn’t laughing, that is.

In postgame declarations, Mou congratulated Almería for playing a good game, and said that he was confident that the team can win the Liga, since “we’re only at the midpoint of the championship and it’s possible to make a comeback” and that he expects the team to improve in the second half.  He also said of the refereeing, which once again caused a lot of controversy, “when I can’t say anything good about it, I prefer not to say anything at all.  I’ve known this referee since the first time I was in Spain.  We all change with the passing of the years, but Mr. Pérez Lasa is exactly the same in 2011 as he was in 1996.”  His parting shot was, “I hope Pérez Lasa won’t get assigned to us or Barcelona in the second half.”

My favorite shot of Mou of the night.  Runner up goes to the official with the side eye.

FIFTEEN. Meanwhile, over at Castilla, MFC (that’s my favorite canterano, if you’re just joining us) Álvaro Morata scored a goal as our boys routed Universidad de Las Palmas 5-0.  The other goalscorers were Pablo Sarabia (twice – a goal and a penalty), Juanfran and Joselu.  My favorite was Pablo’s goal.  The other highlight was the debut of Juvenil A player Jesé, who came in for Juanfran in the 69th minute.  Game summary here.  Castilla is currently ranked 10th in their division, six points from fourth place.

Special front and back™ for the little ones.  Morata is number 9, by the way.

Esteban Granero, Madrid’s resident cantera expert, told “El Larguero” after the game that Morata is still too young and needs to mature, but he has a lot of potential.  He added that MFC is a “good person, which is important.”  I love that El Pirata felt the need to add that, because it shows that he too is a good person.

SIXTEEN. To end on a fun note, here’s a video of a slightly obsessed Cristiano fan, though she’s not anywhere near the league of those Sergio-obsessed fans.

SEVENTEEN. Looking ahead:  the players have today off, and will return to training tomorrow.  The next game is Thursday’s Copa del Rey quarterfinal vuelta against Atlético.

50 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2011 14:25

    I died laughing at that Mou side eyes photo. Be right back.. *faint*

  2. sara permalink
    January 17, 2011 14:27

    it was not real madrids best game, but it is healthy to not win all the time .. anyway i loooooooove them so much, muchos gusta !!!!! and sergio ramos was fierce !! i notice that the camera was zooming on him a lot of times ❤

  3. Jami permalink
    January 17, 2011 15:01

    Well does this mean that we aren’t getting the Liga this year? I’m going to try to be positive and hope things won’t happen as I suppose they will.
    Oh and I discovered a website call Marca yesterday. I always heard people mentaining it so I thought I should go. Bad time though. Everyone seems to hate Real Madrid. There was so much laughter about yesterday’s game. About them losing to the last team on the table. Is there really so much hatred (antimadridismo) in Spain?
    To make things worse my dad, a cule, laughed too, he was always wanting Real Madrid to lose. And I guess it half happened yesterday.
    But like I said I hope the team learns and changes things.
    Oh and I keep thinking about Cristiano’s free kick, about it hitting the top of the pole, what if it had gone in? Oh well.

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 17, 2011 15:42

      you know, I was watching the first half of the game yesterday at work with a friend who is a total Barca fan. I saw him smiling under his nose and it made me really sad 😦

    • mumblo permalink
      January 17, 2011 17:08

      The comm on the stream I watched said that that with our draw yesterday that it was pretty much decided that Barca would win La Liga this season. I think it’s pretty depressing that at the half-way point of the season, people are already considering it’s over. I will remain supportive and hopeful, but I’m not sure I can stop that little part of my brain that fears they are right.

  4. Kristine permalink
    January 17, 2011 15:08

    Ehh. What a game. Our guys were entertaining and super hot, but that’s about it. I was annoyed yesterday, but its not like we dropped down to tenth place or anything! It ain’t over til the fat lady sings!

    I did watch some of the Barca game, I forced myself. If we can get the right mix and stick with it, I think we can be just as tight as they are. Its obvious that the Barca team have been together a long time, the passing skills seem to be second nature to them. Seems effortless. Our men don’t have that confidence and efficiency yet. We do need another striker! that’s for sure!

    Ozi took off his shirt! Wow, looked really good from afar. He seems to have gotten very fit!

    Keep your chins up guys! We believe in you!

    • January 17, 2011 17:51

      i watched the barca game too, and every time they scored and scored again i was like dayyyuuuumm… when will the day that they will lose comes,so we can catch up to their points.

      • IsaBella permalink
        January 18, 2011 00:33

        I hope for that day, too…. although there is this part of me that fears that it will never come. 😦

  5. Clara permalink
    January 17, 2011 15:21

    iker was not happy. in the game against Athletic, xabi was angry. iker was down yesterday … or I’m crazy and see things that do not exist …

  6. Jami permalink
    January 17, 2011 15:23

    Oh it’s Alvaro’s birthday today.

  7. mar permalink
    January 17, 2011 15:25

    let’s hope mou is right and we will win the liga…
    thnx for number 16, it made my day after that match.!

  8. bbBenz permalink
    January 17, 2011 15:28

    I’m happy that Karim made a contribution by assisting the only goal fr the night. yay Karim! I’m praying for Madrid to win and play fantastic for the rest of the season!
    una what did the girl write for Cristiano? it’s in Spain~

  9. HermosaChica permalink
    January 17, 2011 15:30

    Aww, look at Sergio being a little social butterfly! I was anticipating a scruffy Sexio, so the silkiness of his clean shaven skin took me by surprise! I definitely approve 😉
    Did anyone else get the sense that they all looked extra specially handsome in the dark kits?

    “Who’s turned on by seeing how forceful Álvaro can be?” — *innocently raises hand*..

    Haha, I loved the Castilla front and back section! Definitely not as saucy as the big boys, but there’s potential: look at Morata attempting a Boss pose!

    All in all, I was glad this was one of those matches where I had to multitask whilst watching. Call me crazy, but it still feels like there’s hope. I’m not going to dwell over this match too long; just think how the players must feel! All there’s left to say is: (Álvaro style) ¡¡HALA MADRID!!

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 17, 2011 22:46

      I absolutely love the dark kits!! 😀

  10. IsaBella permalink
    January 17, 2011 15:39

    As I have already mentioned in my previous comments, I am very sad and disappointed by yesterday’s game and the fact that we drew when a victory was a must makes me cry out loud. I think it is fair to say that yesterday we practically lost La Liga. Barca made a record of points by the half of the season and it would be a miracle if we actually caught up. The only hope now would be the Champions League and the Copa. Of course, everything can still happen and all my good vibrations and positive energy goes to Mou and the boys. Please don’t give up. I support you no matter what.
    Now the optimist and fun part 😀 Karim made the only goal with his brilliant assist to Granero, c’etait genial Karim!! 🙂 Xabi streching is a total fantasy 🙂 When the camera showed the little boy’s celebration I almost started crying, it was so touching!!
    Cristiano’s facial hair: a hundred times yes!!! 🙂
    wow Iker in a fight, I can’t believe my eyes!! he must have been really angry at that guy….
    I adore Ozi’s boots, they look super nice.
    Sergio Ramos super beautiful as always, and undoubtedly Xabi (but I have already said that, haven’t I 😉

    • nadi permalink
      January 19, 2011 00:26

      Isabella 🙂
      I love you and I love your comment 😉

      • IsaBella permalink
        January 19, 2011 01:09

        Thank you very much nadi 🙂

  11. 201(1)özil permalink
    January 17, 2011 15:39

    Thank Una for “in case you miss it” its always so fun to read. The day after the game I always look forwad to read it. When I see the Real Madrid games I start to think about the Mou corner, front and back, Xabi posering etc. I love Özils1MiO shoes!

    Thank soo mutch for doing this!

  12. amouria permalink
    January 17, 2011 15:42

    Couldn’t sleep, couldn’t laugh, could NOT do any meaningful thing. Was upset with the 4-2-4 plan. It was examined many times and failed, so why you try it again dear Mou? why? Now, we are at the mercy of other teams to win the opponent so as to have some hope. As I said earlier, the BAD 9 is much better than NO 9.
    Mou: your mistake costs us the Liga.
    Una, I wish i have a little bit of your optimism…

    • Hala_Madrid permalink
      January 18, 2011 08:51

      I know exactly what you’re talking about. Same here, trust me! i don’t know what to do when the team loses or there’s a draw like yesterday’s that is so important. I’m upset too and i hate that the rest of my day depends so much on the damn scores. However, looking at the bright side we’re only half way through, we can still recover! Cheer up my friend and don’t forget Hala Madrid!!!

  13. Andrea permalink
    January 17, 2011 15:43

    What a game…

    Thanks for the screenshot of shirtless Ozil! I saw that someone was shirtless, but I could not figure out who it was. Why, oh why, couldn’t the cameraman zoom in?!

  14. January 17, 2011 15:50

    I HATED THIS GAME! The only amusing thing was watching Mou’s sarcastic laughs, he forced me and my dad to join him! That last free kick from Cris should have gone in.
    The Vargas guy should just shut up and stop portraying himself as the innocent guy from the poor club, he started it all .

  15. Sayu permalink
    January 17, 2011 16:27

    our team are the most good looking in la liga ❤ and they look hot in their away uniform! i didnt enjoyed the game. the first half was boring. good thing that our players are too beautiful to watch or i could have just slept.

  16. RMFan permalink
    January 17, 2011 17:49

    Great post as always! aand a bit sad since camera person did not zoom in Ozi at the glorious moment when he took his shirt off.. 😛 It wasn’t their greatest game but now I’m looking forward to the game on thursday!! #HALAMADRID!

  17. January 17, 2011 17:57

    “Who’s turned on by seeing how forceful Álvaro can be?”

    Me me me!! I also thought that Iker was extremely hot! I’m tuned on by both of them…

  18. ebrahim permalink
    January 17, 2011 18:08

    thanks una i giggled :).

  19. emily permalink
    January 17, 2011 18:09

    That idiot Vargas is full of crap. He was the one who took the first strike initiative when he laid his left elbow into San Iker’s chest. I really liked Iker’s body positioning during the resulting man vs midget head bump festival. The little twit should get a 3 match ban for jumping into Iker like that.

  20. January 17, 2011 18:22

    so who’s up for joining me in a campain called ” we want more of the mosqueteros” its about tweeting sergio, alvaro, xabi asking for more pictures of the mosqueteros and perhaps convincing albiol to open a twitter

  21. La Pirata permalink
    January 17, 2011 18:34

    Gooooool de Granero! The only highlight in a frustrating, tough to watch match but what a highlight! 🙂

    And there still is a lot of season left and Mou is not afraid to try different things tactically in order to succeed like his substitutions yesterday or his different formations for Villarreal. I hope he can find the right combination and may the one loss be the only one.

  22. YouNeverWalkAlone permalink
    January 17, 2011 18:35

    I was feeling kind of depressed over the Real Madrid Almeria game, but the special ICYMI post for the babies (aka my beloved Morata and Sarabia) cheered me up considerably. Thank you so much!! 😀

    And I completely agree with you about El Pirata…such a sweetheart! 😀

  23. Lulja permalink
    January 17, 2011 18:41

    “I love how Álvaro and then Marcelo came to defend Iker. Who’s turned on by seeing how forceful Álvaro can be?”
    Me, totally.

    Haha, that Cristiano fan truly is no comparison :D, but still cute!

    I hate how everybody is acting as if the Liga was already over. God, who knows, maybe Barca fails the next match against Hércules again? Some people seem to forget that both teams’ players are only human.
    It’s not been the greatest match, but one of my favorite ICYMIs. Thank you!

  24. Gillian permalink
    January 17, 2011 19:06

    I could watch #5 of this post on an endless loop.

    Cris looks SO. CUTE. in #6.

    As always, Xabi looks Boss.

    “Karim Benzema didn’t start the game, but when he came in during the second half, he was able to change the game and was an integral part of the only goal.”

    -I just can’t shake my faith in Benz. The negative press about him just makes me support him that much more.

  25. Ange permalink
    January 17, 2011 20:25

    I can’t believe how they played … It didn’t look like the same team… They should have scored at least 5 against them… BUT … they still have alot of Liga left… 🙂

  26. January 17, 2011 20:28

    I love how you always bring the bright side of things UnaMadridista!

    I could not watch the game, but it seems I maybe should not download it to watch, but stare at the gifs in this ICYMI instead, they are all sorts of precious!Thanks!!!!!!!!!

    Sexio, Crispy, XABI, oh my, great gifs!

    Angry Iker is also pretty nice to look at, I will not lie to you, fierce!

    But above all, the Mou section rocks! This guy is a star in his own league when it comes to expressions!

  27. DebS permalink
    January 17, 2011 20:58

    That was not a good game at all. The guys just seemed so out of sync and the passing/corners weren’t good at all.

    I do have to say that the lineup Mou used in the first half did not work, AT ALL. Cris needs to be on the left wing. Having him up top doesn’t take advantage of his strengths. I thought Kaka played well but you could tell the rest of the team were not used to him being out there, at least in that position.

    And yes, Benzema may not be scoring but when he’s out there, he does have an impact on the game. Also, it allows Cris to play on the left where he’s most effective. Granero also did well, once he was subbed in.

    I thought Sergio & Arbeloa had the best games out of everyone. Even Xabi was having a rough day. Not sure why Mou didn’t start Carvahlo but Albiol doesn’t do well in the centerback position, imo. He played much better in the previous game when Mou shifted Albiol to the right wing & moved Sergio to centerback, imo. But then, with Arbeloa playing so well on the right wing, Albiol wouldn’t get much playing time, if he didn’t play center back, I expect.

    And kudos to Ozil for exchanging shirts AND having nothing on underneath. I was hoping there would be a close up pic somewhere since they didn’t have one on ESPN. Ah well, keep trying Ozil… 😉

    Overall, a frustrating game to watch.

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 17, 2011 22:53

      I also try to get an ESPN broadcast since there’s Mario Kempes commentary 😉

      • DebS permalink
        January 18, 2011 00:47

        It was only one ESPN3.com for me. It was Tommy Smyth and some other guy that needs to get fired (sounds like he’s reading it off a script).

        They were talking about how Mou is not a big fan of Sergio, especially after the red card at Barca and that Arbeloa would start over him, if Pepe was healthy. Of course, then they kept saying that Arbeloa had to be careful since he’d already gotten a yellow card. Ummm…hello? That was Albiol.

        The dimwit kept calling players the wrong name. i.e. Marcelo instead of Arbeloa..AFTER Marcelo had been subbed out and, obviously, Marcelo would have been on the wrong side of the field. Guess you can’t get good help these days.

        I love watching matches on GolTV because Ray Hudson is the color commentator. Funniest guy ever!

        • IsaBella permalink
          January 18, 2011 12:47

          I simply adore listening to Mario Kempes and the other guy that I don’t remember the name of…. And the ESPN broadcast is always of good quality.

          This is just an impression, as I have only spoken to Sergio a couple of times and I have never seen Mou in my life, but I guess that both of them have specific personalities that sometimes don’t get along. However, I think that they do appreciate each other professionally. Either way who plays or not is Mou’s decision and I trust he makes the right ones.

          Ha ha it’s very easy to mix Arbeloa and Albiol and there is a joke that Mou simply says Arbiol not to get confused 😉

          I usually watch games in Spanish so I don’t know the English speaking commentators but I believe they make fun of it 🙂

  28. Allbe permalink
    January 17, 2011 22:06

    I’m not usually an Alvaro lover but DAMN the way he stood up for Casillasand in the almost headbutt between Iker and Vargas, Iker looked really HOT!!

    • DebS permalink
      January 18, 2011 00:47

      yeah…was glad Arbeloa stepped in. Certainly didn’t want to see Iker get a red card. He was really pissed.

      • DebS permalink
        January 18, 2011 00:53

        lol just watched the gif again. How cute that the Almería player that stepped in between Arbeloa and Vargas barely comes up only to Vargas’ shoulder.

  29. PepperPots permalink
    January 17, 2011 22:52

    Feisty Xabi and now feisty Iker! Woooh.

  30. Marie permalink
    January 17, 2011 23:00

    Una I’m positive you looked cute laughing sarcastically. All Madridistas do. ;] Anyway yea I didn’t actually watch the game. I only followed it on twitter and on tumblr but I just wanted to cry. It was just not my sports day at all. Madrid tied to the bottom ranked team (though I don’t mean that disrespectfully, quite obviously they’re good) and the Lakers lost to the Clippers.
    I’m trying to be optimistic because let’s face it, it was one game and there’s a lot more to come. I just wish that we didn’t fluctuate like this. As in when we do have a bad game, we have a BAD game. But again at least we didn’t lose. So I’m probably just exaggerating.
    Anyway do you know anything about if we’re actually going to get another forward? And what happened to Ozi? I’ve been reading that he has some kind of injury?
    Thanks for the post 🙂

  31. JulieFromParis permalink
    January 17, 2011 23:14

    Feliz cumple mister Arbeloa!! not the best start for a b-day results being wht they are. Still hala madrid! must say i agree with valdano when he says its a pity karim isnt getting more playtime since hes always quite decisive no?

  32. ulong permalink
    January 18, 2011 03:08

    i love that little Madridista…
    big hugs and kisses 😀

  33. Siv permalink
    January 18, 2011 05:33

    Una, I share your optimism, there’s still a lot of Liga left! My stream got cut off right when Granero scored and I only saw the part when the kid celebrated (which was better than nothing). Love the Sergio gif and the Mou picture was just priceless.

  34. Miria permalink
    January 18, 2011 12:45

    The game was 2am-4am my time, I was sleepy but somehow managed to force myself to watch it till the end, hoping for a miracle that never arrived. The commentator really pissed me off to no end. He kept blabbering about how Barca will win La Liga (he also ridiculed Madrid players in every games he commented on) and here I thought that professional commentators shouldn’t make bias comments like that >.>
    If Barca keep winning EVERY single games from this point onwards, then obviously they will win the Liga. But we will NEVER know that. Shit happens. For those who follows EPL, surely remembers how invincible Chelsea looked like at the early of the season when they won 3 games with 6 goals each. They doesn’t look that fearsome now, do they?
    I’m not an optimistic, nor a pessimistic. If we win, it’s great (I’ll be smiling ear to ear for the whole day, LOL XD) but if not, there will always be next year. It’s not the end of the world, no?

  35. nadi permalink
    January 19, 2011 00:42

    OK, Its just a match, and its not over till it is over.
    what annoys me the most, why do the small teams turn into prostitutes and allow Barcelona to screw them with 8 goals (Almeria-for example), and when they play Madrid, they become nuns and refuse to widespread their legs like what they do when they receive Barcelona, and they just simply park a bus in front of their net and thats it.

    I apologize to all the readers for this comment, or the way i described the situation, but this is to most of my belief is the closest description to what happens when small teams play Madrid and Barcelona.

    A British sports analyst described Barcelona recently as: the darlings of the Liga,
    comparing to the premier league and meaning that ,when the small teams play against Man. Utd. they don’t make such a miss, but when the same teams face Chelsea, Arsenal or Liverpool, they make them a big trouble and refuse to get defeated easily…. and thats exactly what happens with Barcelona.

    so from now on we will call them the DARLINGS 🙂

    good night people and see u all on Thursday night

  36. Kat permalink
    January 19, 2011 06:41

    I am late with my comments because, as with the Barca game, I go on a news blackout with a draw or loss. I’ve missed out on a lot, apparently!

    Oh my goodness! That Fabian Vargas doesn’t know how lucky he is to get THAT close, face-to-face with Iker. There are millions of girls (and some boys, too, for sure) that would have killed to be in the same position as him!

    And it’s so surprising to see Iker so feisty! He usually is the one breaking the fights up, not the one who needs to pulled away. But I am liking this side of Iker!

    http://dontaskmetosmile.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

