Skip to content

Pipita’s back (in Madrid)

January 20, 2011
tags:

It looks like poor Pipita already had to report to Valdebebas, despite arriving in Madrid only earlier this morning.  He sat down to chat with the team’s web site and TV channel, and this is what he had to say.

They also made him to some cheesy poses.  Maybe someone should tell Pipita that posing with his thumbs up like that will hurt his back.

On how he feels: I feel a complete relief in my head and in my body.  I’m feeling more upbeat and feel that I can face anything now.  I don’t know how much time I’ll need to return to playing, but I’m very happy and eager to start the recovery process.

On the operation: the doctors had told me that I could leave the hospital on my own feet, and wanted to send me back to the hotel on the same day.  But we decided to spend the night there as a precaution.  On the day that I left the hospital, I started walking around Chicago and I could walk hours and hours because the happiness I had from things going well made me forget everything else.

On the support from his teammates and fans: I get emotional when I think about my teammates wearing the t-shirt supporting me.  I sent them all a message of thanks.  I’ve received a lot of messages of support from the web site and from different social networks.  It makes me proud not only as a player but also as a person.  I have so much happiness that I’m sure that everything will turn out great.

On being appreciated as a footballer and a person: no one remembers the titles you won when you retire from football, they remember if you were a good person and that’s the most important thing for me.  Obviously, my job is to play football and win titles.  But if you’re not a good person, you can’t enjoy that.  And that’s something that I value a lot, something that my family and Real Madrid taught me.  I was educated well and my family and friend have always helped me to see things realistically.

On wanting to play: I can’t explain how much I want to play.  If being on the bench is hard enough, imagine having to watch all the games from the stands for months.  But, that’s what I have to do now and I have the mental strength to overcome these things.  I hope to get the best out of this situation.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. 201Özil permalink
    January 20, 2011 15:21

    “Maybe someone should tell Pipita that posing with this thumbs up like that will hurt his back.” I love this (LOL), oh yes someone should tell him (and all his teammates and all the other players in the world) that it hurts his back and my eyes and my brain, every time a see thumbs up. I hate the lame thumbs up posing (I wonder who startes this enoying thing). No one, not even Pipita looks good doing it.

    Hope he get well! Miss Pipita sooo mutch!

  2. LaBlanca permalink
    January 20, 2011 15:40

    awwww. I find it amazing how he speaks. Hes an admirable mental strength. Already proved it whenever criticized harshly in the media.

    As Pedja Mijatovic already said:
    “Gonzalo is a very special guy. He is where he is because an exceptional mental strength unusual for a guy of his age. Five minutes of talk with him are enough to realize that youre infront of someone exceptional.”

    oh and thank god hes put that awful hat off from this morning. That was horrible!!!

    LOL! Una I loved your comment with the thumbs!!!

    What a yearning view in the second pic!!! Vuelve pronto Pipa!!!

  3. LaBlanca permalink
    January 20, 2011 16:03

    “On the day that I left the hospital, I started walking around Chicago and I could walk hours and hours because the happiness I had from things going well made me forget everything else.”

    that tells how scared he was! Id have been like that too in such a situation. Speedy recovery Pipita! We miss you!

  4. Ariadna permalink
    January 20, 2011 16:23

    Happy Happy Happy!

  5. Vigdis permalink
    January 20, 2011 16:35

    SERGIO RAMOS LEAVING REAL MADRID?????

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 21, 2011 09:05

      I don’t think so. At least not right now. He basically denied it in the post-match interview. “Rumores hay muchos pero verdaderos pocos”.

  6. IsaBella permalink
    January 20, 2011 16:41

    I admire you Gonzalo. Keep up the good work, fingers crossed!! 🙂

  7. January 20, 2011 16:50

    I’m so glad to see him back – thumbs up and all!!

  8. January 20, 2011 17:01

    Happy to see him back in Madrid! Now keeping my fingers crossed for a good recovery!!!

  9. blanco for life permalink
    January 20, 2011 18:31

    http://www.realmadrid.com/cs/Satellite/es/1330037004216/noticia/Noticia/Xabi_Alonso_recibio_el_Tambor_de_Oro.htm

    Una, check this out! At minute 3:20 Xabi gives his wife a kiss on the cheek, and Nagore gives one back. Truley a perfect couple, they seem so happy.

  10. January 20, 2011 18:37

    Welcome back Pipita, we missed you. I hope to see him back on the pitch as soon as possible.
    ” I could walk hours and hours because the happiness I had from things going well made me forget everything else” – how adorable!

    BTW, 2 thumbs up in two pics, why do our players love to pose like this all the time? could be the photographer’s fault .

  11. Hala_Madrid permalink
    January 20, 2011 19:34

    Yeah Pipa is back! i miss him so much in the games : (

  12. Fay permalink
    January 20, 2011 21:06

    Get well soon Pipita!

  13. Sunshine permalink
    January 20, 2011 21:09

    ”Maybe someone should tell Pipita that posing with this thumbs up like that will hurt his back.” – hahaha! Una, you rock! 😀

    I can’t even express how happy I am that Pipita is back and feeling better! I know that it’s really hard for him not to play, but he has to focus on recovering and returning ASAP!

    Btw, is it just me, or he lost some weight? He looks slightly thinner! His face isn’t so round anymore (and I love it!) 😉

  14. Zparklemotion permalink
    January 20, 2011 21:54

    Pipita! :’)

  15. LisaLP permalink
    January 21, 2011 01:34

    Sooo happy for him!! And I really really hope that AFA (Asociación del Fútbol Argentino) dont make him play the Copa America without being 100% healed!

  16. Deb permalink
    January 21, 2011 02:12

    Glad to hear that he’s so upbeat! I’m sure the pain relief must help too.

    luckily he’s already back in Madrid. Tonight/tomorrow’s forcast in Chicago has -30F with wind chill. brrr!

  17. Gina permalink
    January 21, 2011 02:50

    It’s nice to see him back and all smiling again! And what he said made me go teary. Such a beautiful person, he is.

    Get well soon, dear Pipita.

  18. Yasamin permalink
    January 21, 2011 05:45

    awwwww isnt he cute?

  19. January 21, 2011 18:21

    “On the day that I left the hospital, I started walking around Chicago and I could walk hours and hours because the happiness I had from things going well made me forget everything else.”

    This kinda makes me wish he got lost in Chicago, so we North American fans could visit him lol…

  20. Emme permalink
    January 21, 2011 20:45

    He is so precious! And so upbeat. Recover quickly, Pipa!

    Who at Real Madrid is telling them to make a thumbs up sign whenever they get their photo taken??? I would like to see them fired!

  21. Camera25 permalink
    January 22, 2011 13:15

    Welcome back, Pipita!

Leave a Reply

