Skip to content

yes, circus does come to mind

January 20, 2011

Update:  a number eight has been added to this post!

Let’s start with something fun first, before going on to the circus (and not in the good, Javi Martínez way) news.

ONE. The team met up at Valdebebas – once again at 22h, meaning Iker has almost perfected his negotiating skills – to start the concentración for tonight’s game.  There must be some rule that at least one person has to look silly in a hat, because yesterday it was Cristiano’s turn, again.  And there’s obviously a rule that at least one person has to flash a thumbs-up as well.

Meanwhile, Z&Z were inseparable – they really look like they are actually joined at the hip – as were the Argentines.  I hope the latter two make an effort to include Eze because he looks so sad with his usual partner in crime missing!!  By the way, who is that person that is so busy – and camera shy – on the phone in the background?  It kind of looks like Aitor Karanka.

As for the players’ outfits before they changed into their Madrid gear, well… here are my guesses as to what each player was doing right before reporting for the concentración.

Karim – filming a rap video (he removed the gold chains before arriving at Valdebebas) – preview here?

Cris – watching fashiontv

Iker – blending into the neutral colored wall / floor of wherever he was, causing people to wonder where he was

Carvalho – doing housework

Richi – taking a jog with the other soccer moms on his block

TWO. Now, onto the circus news.

As stated in an update to this post from yesterday, the RFEF has claimed that the sarcastic comment about Mou published in a news report on Tuesday was written by an intern, and does not reflect the opinion of the federation.  This is the lamest excuse ever.  The spokesperson of the federation said, “as soon as we saw it, we immediately removed it.”  So, no one bothered to read what was going on the web site of the Spanish Football Federation beforehand?  How can the RFEF be responsible for running a football competition, much less the World Cup-winning Spanish national team, if they have idiots like that in their ranks?

THREE. Meanwhile, there are rumors – I hate that word – that José Mourinho is not happy with Madrid, due to the endless debate about whether another forward is needed.  [Side note:  doesn’t the name ‘Jorge Valdano’ seem to appear each time a coach is branded as upset?  And we all know who is behind him.]  AS reported that Mou is considering abandoning the club after this season, because he’s upset with the treatment he’s received in the last few months.  Sigh.

At the end of his press conference yesterday, Mou was asked why he seemed so upset.  His answer?  “Because I want to leave.  I want to leave…”  He didn’t finish the sentence, so we don’t know whether he wanted to leave the press conference or the club.  Someone stop the coaching carousel!

Just another day at the circus that is Real Madrid.

Related to all this, doesn’t it seem like Mou has aged a lot in the last six months?  When he first signed with Madrid (left), he was bright-eyed, fresh-faced and energetic.  Now (right), he looks more withdrawn, scraggly and gray.

FOUR. Now onto the non-controversial news.  Iker Casillas was one of the guests on radio program “Al Primer Toque” yesterday, along with the kid man (not a kid, because the tabloids are all abuzz that he’s apparently dating 25-year-old singer Edurne) who will occupy the opposite goal tonight, David de Gea.  During the chat, which took place in “El Rincón de Iker” at El Acebo (the same table that Zipi and Zape sat at), David expressed his admiration for Iker, saying, “he’s the best in the world.  He’s a reference and a motivation for all goalkeepers.”

Meanwhile, Iker spoke about the game, saying that it’s going to be a great one, and that the team is going to the Calderón to win, because they’re conscious that the quarterfinal winner has not yet been decided.

Iker looks very… warm, doesn’t he?  And neutral.  And though you can’t see it, rest assured that the purse accompanied him on this outing.

He also touched upon everyone’s favorite subjects these days, Mourino and (especially when it comes to Iker), Cristiano Ronaldo.  Of the former, Iker said, “we intend for Mourinho to be the coach for many years to come.  I’m the captain and I’m telling you this.  He has the best possible profile to be Real Madrid’s coach.  He treats all the players the same and the only thing he wants is for his team to play well and to win games.  And he’s happy with the team and the club.”  And on Cris, Iker was more diplomatic than he has been in the past: “he’s a perfectionist and that’s good for the group, because he transmits that desire to win to the rest of us” [shouldn’t the rest of you already have this?].

FIVE. Meanwhile, some good news too: Gonzalo Higuaín was given a clean bill of health from Dr. Fessler yesterday: “everything was perfect and I didn’t see any problem in the patient that would hinder his recovery process.”  Pipita and co. will return to Madrid today from Chicago.

Update: Pipita’s back!  He arrived this morning and told reporters that he’s “good and happy.  Everything is going well, and almost all of the pain in my leg that didn’t allow me to play is gone and now the countdown until I can return begins.  I’m confident that I’ll be able to return before the season ends.”

P.S.  He’s wearing a silly hat.  Good to see he hasn’t missed a beat.

SIX. And Cristiano is not so good with numbers – though I bet he’s very good at keeping track of how many goals he’s scored, and how many times he can call Ricky in a day before Caroline yells at him.

I want to know who the “we” is.

SEVEN. As to the “surprise” promised by Marca in their Cristiano Ronaldo interview series, well, it was just another award.  That’s a bit of a letdown.  I’m sure everyone was secretly hoping for photos of Cris Jr.

Cris Sr. won the “Champions No. 1” trophy for being the best footballer in last year’s Champions League (what?).  The award was determined by fan voting via Marca and Italian newspaper La Gazzetta dello Sport.  No wonder Cris won it then.

During the photo session with the stars, Cris commented on how much it weighed, and said he couldn’t pose on the floor with it, because “these pants won’t let me.”

EIGHT. Cristiano Ronaldo is no longer the face of Armani Jeans, Real Madrid fan Rafa Nadal is the new one!  Here. It’s worth the click, I promise you.

44 Comments leave one →
  1. Hala_Madrid permalink
    January 20, 2011 09:25

    I really hope that Mou meant that he wanted to leave from the press conference and not from the club. It will be so annoying if another coach came, he’s the best in the world. We need him! By the way i think Cris looks lovely in every picture, I actually like the hat on him. To be honest, I don’t care what he wears, he looks so damn good to me lol

    • Pammie permalink
      January 20, 2011 13:32

      I also hope that he only wanted to leave the press conference. Mou’s doing good work with the team and having new coaches all the time won’t give us the stability we need.

      • Hala_Madrid permalink
        January 20, 2011 19:31

        Thanks Pammie!! Well the captain said it so let’s believe him. Ahhh and I also hope the news about Sergio Ramos are also false. I haven’t seen any news denying that he’s going to leave. Sergio Ramos needs to tweet ASAP : ) we need him too.

        • IsaBella permalink
          January 21, 2011 09:25

          He denied it in the post-game interview.

  2. ulong permalink
    January 20, 2011 09:50

    yes Una, i notice the change in Mou too…

    • Gilly B permalink
      January 21, 2011 11:50

      If Mou ever rocks up to a match in his training outfit, THAT is when you know for sure things aren’t good. From sharp suit to touchline scruff- that was the sign at Chelsea.

      I hope he does get the support though- no doubt he’s a fantastic coach who is perfect for this team right now. I mean, if Mou can’t succeed at RM, who the hell can??

      • Emme permalink
        January 21, 2011 20:14

        You are totally right. I am really afraid for RM if thing don’t work out (meaning at least some championships) with Jose. If it doesn’t work out, it’s a pretty good indicator that it’s the organization that is the problem and not the coach. The revolving door and the constant buying and selling cannot go on much longer.

  3. georgia permalink
    January 20, 2011 09:52

    will you be posting ronaldos last interview with marca?

  4. Ebrahim permalink
    January 20, 2011 10:03

    Valdano forced WS and Van Der Vaart and Robbben, he also went against MP advise to keep WS, now JM, valdano OUT!!! Enough is enough! :e

  5. Ebrahim permalink
    January 20, 2011 10:12

    I will cry if jose leaves! VDB now this 😦

  6. HermosaChica permalink
    January 20, 2011 10:16

    “Carvalho – doing housework” — lol!

    Iker’s outfit is terrible, I’m sorry but it is. And look at that slightly manlier version of a Mary Poppins bag 😕 (yes I’m aware that it’s a convenient travel bag, but on Iker, that’s honestly what it looks like to me).

    Cris tweets about a lot of boring things, but every once in a while he commits an avoidable blunder that makes us all giggle. Gosh Cris, Lady Gaga doesn’t even have anywhere near that number of followers! 😆

    I’m not even going to address the Mou rumors *sigh*.

    • Savannah permalink
      January 21, 2011 03:43

      I hope you realize that it’s not Cris tweeting.

      • HermosaChica permalink
        January 21, 2011 12:05

        I’m aware that it isn’t. No one has that much time on their hands to answer that many random fans’ tweets. I just thought some of his fans here might get a little touchy if I emphasized that it wasn’t him.

        • IsaBella permalink
          January 21, 2011 14:04

          I wonder who’s tweeting on behalf of Cristiano 🙂

  7. January 20, 2011 10:48

    “Carvalho – doing housework”

    I love that. I was thinking the same thing when I watched the video of them arriving at Valdebebas. Like he was in the middle of something at home and then had to rush really quickly so he wouldn’t be late for the concentración. No time to change. Hahaha. Thank you so much for your posts, Una. They really make my day.

    This Mou thing also worries me a little. I hope it’s just that he’s stressed or really fed up with the press, especially with this whole RFEF-interngate incident. I hope everything’s going well with everyone in the club, there’s just too much going on. I read somewhere that there’s a French journalist purporting that Sergio Ramos wants to leave Real Madrid and there’s a ton of English clubs trying to court him. And that it’s a bust-up with Ronaldo that’s motivating him, allegedly.

    But I think this is just a rumor. Especially because you’d think if there was even a hint of Sergio leaving, it would have already been all over the Spanish publications and so on.

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 20, 2011 13:31

      The “news” today claim that it’s Arsenal and ManU that want to buy Sergio. no comment on that :/

      • Hala_Madrid permalink
        January 20, 2011 19:33

        I read that too but I hope it’s not true. We can’t lose Sergio : (
        NOOOOOO!!

        • IsaBella permalink
          January 21, 2011 09:13

          I seriously doubt these revelations.

  8. January 20, 2011 10:50

    I hope and pray that Mou doesn’t leave us. I want him to stay with us for the full four year term. He’s the best for heaven’s sake!!

    On another note, didn’t he say that he wanted to fulfill all four years of his contract with the club? Pleaseee stay Mou!!

  9. IsaBella permalink
    January 20, 2011 13:26

    Una why do you call Arbeloa and Albiol Z&Z? I don’t get that…
    Your comments about the outfits are hilarious (especially abt Karim removing his gold chains 😀
    Frankly speaking I understand why Mou is upset with the club, but I really wouldn’t like him to give up, not now, please 😦
    Iker looks really annoyed and bored at the table, no? 😉
    Gonzalo’s hat is truly silly but I’m glad he’s back safe in Madrid.
    I bet the “we” are Cristiano and Ricky 😉 on the phone 😉

  10. faith permalink
    January 20, 2011 13:52

    Great post Una!
    LOL about Iker and Carvalho in number 1. Looks so totally true!
    And number 6 almost made me choke! …before Caroline yells at him!!

  11. blanco for life permalink
    January 20, 2011 14:15

    http://www.resultados-futbol.com/foto/jose-mourinho-presentacion-real-madrid_148726

    Well, this ia also a picture from the presentation and I can’t say he looks so bright-eyed, fresh-faced and energetic as you say. I don’t think Mou have changed too much. Really it depends on the picture.

  12. browneyedgirl permalink
    January 20, 2011 15:09

    Yeah I noticed that Mou has changed a lot. He’s under so much pressure. Not only from the team but because daily there’s a new headline or two or like yesterday many, written by the press. At first I thought that he should’ve changed his attitude…but that would be impossible. And I shouldn’t ask for that. He shouldn’t leave that would suck really bad.

  13. Jenny permalink
    January 20, 2011 15:47

    Valdano is a creepy shit whose hold on the club is beyond me! He sleeps in a coffin. It is entirely possible he’s only kept his job because he’s threatened to suck the blood out of the board members if they don’t behave.

    If you sign the best coach in the world you should take his advice and sack your sporting director when he causes trouble!

  14. Bekah permalink
    January 20, 2011 16:09

    Thanks for the roundup! Ugh, I REALLY hope Mou sticks it out…

  15. sweetubi permalink
    January 20, 2011 16:34

    I see that too. Change in Mou 😦 No longer GQ look, old n no glow. I thought the glow is back at Ballon D’or award though.
    He used to be the most attractive man on the sidelines, I blame the snood. He really should not wear the snood anymore, SAF was right all along, it doesn’t look good..

  16. canederli permalink
    January 20, 2011 16:59

    Argh. An “intern”? They can’t be serious.

    I will be incredibly upset if Mou leaves. I think it would be a big mistake. The club needs to respect him and what he brings to the table. The players seem so happy, we’re playing well for the most part. Why is JV trying to screw things up?!

    Also, any updates on the Sergio rumors? The club hasn’t commented nor have you, una(to my knowledge). I think it sounds like complete and utter bull.

    • January 21, 2011 08:55

      Because I don’t believe any of them. And because there’s hardly any mention of them in the Spanish press.

  17. Emily permalink
    January 20, 2011 17:05

    All these rumors about Mou leaving and this silly rumor that Arsenal and Man Utd are pursuing Sergio Ramos are worrying me just a tad more than I’d like.

  18. Ally permalink
    January 20, 2011 17:06

    I don’t like Iker’s teddybear-look… I do like your observations on the player’s outfits 😀

    Update: O.O Rafa looks pretty good in those foto’s. Definitely worth a *click* 😉

  19. January 20, 2011 17:13

    LOL at the outfit description!

    and off topic, but Una – you caused me looking at the pics of Nadal: Rafael, darling, when the hell did you grow up to look so hot like that!

  20. January 20, 2011 17:15

    wonder if cris and benzema went together ( they do live close by each other)

  21. Sunshine permalink
    January 20, 2011 18:47

    Eze looks so lonely! Ohh how I wish Pipita would be back already… It’s so sad that when Garay started training with the team again Pipita got injuried and they didn’t even get the chance to spend some time together! 😦 Thus, I’m extremly happy that everything went well in Chicago and Pipa is back in Madrid! Hope to see him on the training session soon (accompanied by Ezequiel off course!)

    ‘Richi – taking a jog with the other soccer moms on his block’ – that’s exactly what I thought when I saw this pic of him! lol

    ‘Cris commented on how much it weighed, and said he couldn’t pose on the floor with it, because “these pants won’t let me.” ‘ – hahaha hilarious! 😀

    And OMG! Those pics of Rafa are the definition of hotness!

  22. Ange permalink
    January 20, 2011 19:06

    awww my favorite none twins … Z&Z … they do look like they are join at the hips … *lol* … Its a miracle with all the time they spent together and the fact that Raul loves is BlackBerry that he hasn’t gotten a twitter account….

  23. Lauren permalink
    January 20, 2011 21:09

    Thanks for this great post. Oh God I hope these are just rumours and nothing more that Sergio and Mourinho will probably leave. And we all know how disappointed many players will be if Mourinho leaves because they really like him (and they mention that a lot).

  24. suzanne permalink
    January 21, 2011 01:22

    i will seriously cry if mou leaves. enough is enough with this inner bickering and backstabbing at the club. i’m so, so, so sick of it! and as to the ramos rumors, that’s rediculous in my opinion. he’d leave? when he’s vice capitan? and loves madrid? for the epl? if they said seria a, maybe i’d pay more attention, but not epl.
    so glad pipa’s back in madrid 🙂
    lol at your comments about the outfits!!
    so disappointed no cr jr pics 😦 gee, what a great surprise, marca :rollseyes:

  25. Kai permalink
    January 21, 2011 03:49

    Wow I always ignored the media simply because they love to cause controversy in anything relating to Ronaldo, Mourinho, and Real Madrid. But this time I’m actually getting pissed off. How many stories will they make up about teammates falling out with each other? Holy shit this is going too far. And it always has to be Cristiano that’s targeted too. Just because he garners views. Mourinho will leave RM eventually but definitely not now. I see from his conference that he’s getting really annoyed too.

  26. January 21, 2011 18:29

    “Carvalho – doing housework

    Richi – taking a jog with the other soccer moms on his block”

    And sadly, they are my two favourite players on the team. Richi’s ‘old man’ fashion looks adorable on him though.

    I dislike the rumours but I remember that you also dislike posting rumours, but you’re posting these rumours which makes me think that there is some truth to them, though I really hope not. I want Mourinho to stay even if he dislike the top-level management. He’s an amazing coach. Liked him since he started coaching at Chelsea, even though I don’t like Chelsea themselves, lol. He’s charismatic, charming and a genius. What’s there not to like? Oh, and he’s rather decent looking for a middle-aged man, heh.

    “how many times he can call Ricky in a day before Caroline yells at him.”

    OOOOOH. That is a good one. I can totally see that happening. 😀

    • January 22, 2011 13:40

      Well, in order to write about Mou’s response, I have to state what the rumors are, so that things make sense.

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 22, 2011 15:39

      “he’s rather decent looking for a middle-aged man” – he’s rather hot I would say 🙂

Leave a Reply

