Skip to content

in case you missed it – the one goal was enough edition*

January 21, 2011

In case you missed it – Atlético de Madrid vs. Real Madrid [2011-01-20, Copa del Rey quarterfinals second leg.]

Well, Madrid didn’t play its best football, but they were still better than their rivals.  Madrid will now face Sevilla in the semifinals of the competition.

I think this line from El País sums up everything that’s been happening lately quite nicely: “In Madrid, if the internal debates are extinguished, then the best may still be to come.”  Or, as Álvaro Arbeloa put it,”we have to all go in the same direction.  We can’t be shooting ourselves in the foot.”

* aka the Atleti still can’t beat us edition.

ONE. Let’s start off with fun moments.  This time, I can make out what Iker is saying: “¡Vamos! ¡Hostia!”  Meanwhile, Sergio shows some frustration and Cris laughs at talks things over with the ref.  And poor Sergio C., he was all set to check in – while looking a bit nervous and fiddling around with his hair – when Sami Khedira went down and Fernando Gago entered instead.  Ok, that wasn’t a fun moment for him, but Sergio C. looked adorable, no?

TWO. Why oh why did the camera not zoom in at this precise moment?

THREE. The beautiful goal, set up by Sergio and finished by Cristiano.  Let’s hope their little goal celebration will put an end to all those rumors that Sergio wants out because he doesn’t get along – sigh – with Cristiano.  It really looks like Sergio, and Xabi as well, are saying “¡toma!

Cris also did his usual dedication to his son, and Mou regaled us with a prolonged strut down the sideline, complete with hand motions.  Cris also did the classic Raúl “shhhh” gesture.

FOUR. I love Álvaro Arbeloa.  I love how he kept rolling his eyes at the referee, and I loved it when he got all confrontational and rough.  Mmmm…

FIVE. Postgame declarations:

Sergio, the former Sevilla player – we know it’s not going to be simple against Sevilla, which is a great team.  But we have a lot of hope pinned on the Copa and we’re going to fight to reach the final.

Raúl Albiol – I’m the only one on the team that has won the Copa, but it’s the only cup that I have.  If one of my teammates wants to exchange a Champions League trophy for it… now, it’s time to face Sevilla.

Arbeloa – the injury to José Antonio Reyes was an accident, completely involuntary.

SIX. Cute niños at the Calderón, including Benjamín Agüero, who was sitting on his father’s lap.  He looks like he needs a bit more head support though.

SEVEN. Iker and his crew.

I love how there are four persons around the player lying on the ground (Khedira) and every single one of them is ignoring him.

EIGHT. Front and back.™

Iker.

With Iker, front is always going to come in second to profile.

Kaká.

Marcelo.

Mr. Perfect.

Sami Khedira.

Unfortunately, there were no “fronts” for him because he spent most of the time face down on the ground, so all we have are “backs.”

NINE. Our beautiful banquillo. It was really cold last night.

Further proof comes in the form of Kaká having to remove like ten layers of clothing before getting to his kit.  He also had to move to stay warm while waiting to check in.

TEN. The Xabi Alonso (perfect) pose section.™

Xabi used a variety of his usual poses – hands on hips, hand raised, hand pointing…

… but also showed some new poses, which I expect will be added to his repertoire.

I love how his head is swiveling back and forth here (left) and how the cameraman finally gets it right (right).

Xabi smolders (left), and then shows a lot of class -as only he can, and would – by refusing to get drawn into a confrontation with Juanfran (right).  If I were Juanfran, I’d be so sad that Xabi ignored me.

ELEVEN. The Mou corner.

In his postgame press conference, Mou talked about the chants of “Mourinho, die!” from some people at the Calderón.  He said that he had no problems with it, and even complimented those fans, saying, “they stayed until the very end, when the game was already decided by the 20th minute.  Those are fantastic fans, and my hat goes off to them.”

As for his future – the game itself always seems to be the least popular topic at these press conferences – Mou said that, “few rumors end up being the truth.  I want to stay until the end of the season (pause).  It doesn’t matter if I have a contract for 10 years, because at the end of the season, if everyone is happy, the coach continues, and if not, he doesn’t.”  Mou refused to answer any questions about his relationship with Jorge Valdano.

Meanwhile, this is what the players said about el míster after the game:

Marcelo: we’re with José Mourinho to the death.

Iker: the mister has his personality, his character and his way of being, but he’s a committed person.  He knows that people worship him and that he’s number one, and this creates a lot of envy, which is why people chant things about him in stadiums.  He’s happy in Madrid, and the club is happy with him as well.

Xabi:  Mourinho is happy and is the coach that we all want.

TWELVE. Other game notes and looking ahead, sponsored by the duo of Esteban Granero and Fernando Gago, whom we don’t see enough of, especially in the case of El Pirata.

– Pedro León and Pacheco watched the games from the stands.

– Sami Khedira suffered a blow to his right ankle, and had to be subbed out in the 81st minute.  He has a deep bruise in the area and the team will watch over his evolution for the next few days to see if he’ll make it to Sunday’s game against Mallorca.

– After the game, FP went to have dinner with madridista Plácido Domingo, who is celebrating his 70th birthday.

– Madrid trained today in a closed session to start preparing for the game on Sunday.

– Madrid will face Sevilla in the semifinals of the Copa del Rey, with the first game on Jan. 26 (the RFEF is really rushing this competition along this year, aren’t they?) at the Sánchez Pizjuán, with the vuelta scheduled for one week later, on Feb. 2.

30 Comments leave one →
  1. IsaBella permalink
    January 21, 2011 15:12

    I didn’t see the whole game, but the most important thing: the goal made me smile like crazy. The first thing that crossed my mind was: well, so they don’t hate each other that much, do they? Of course, I meant Sergio and Cristiano. 😀 Una is right that now finally we can put an end to this press crap.
    Sergio is totally sexy when he’s annoyed. And I love Alvaro Arbeloa (why the hell can’t I have the Spanish teclado??? ) too, especially in these gifs 🙂 I used to completely ignore him but now he’s one of my favorites 🙂
    “I love how there are four persons around the player lying on the ground (Khedira) and every single one of them is ignoring him.” – a big like under that Una 🙂
    I adore when you say it is cold in Madrid Una: it is one of the hottest cities in Europe, +4 in winter is really warm. Here it has been +5 for two weeks and it is the warmest winter ever 🙂
    One of the many things I love about Spain: they eat in the middle of the night 🙂
    My two hopes after the game: that Mou stays with Madrid as long as possible and that Sami plays on Sunday.

  2. hala permalink
    January 21, 2011 15:26

    the rfef really really really want a real madrid barcelona final, the money made from that game will be huge. dont be surprised if you see calls go for madrid against sevilla and for barcelona i dont even need to say, they get calls their way all the time

  3. Laykin ** permalink
    January 21, 2011 15:34

    Omg..no Sergio??!!

  4. hala permalink
    January 21, 2011 15:40

    also if real madrid and barca do make the final then they will have 2 games back to back because the 2nd el classico game at the sb will be the 17 of april while the final is the 2oth, that week will be massive and imagine if they meet in the champions league semifinals that i would imagine happen in april too

  5. Ally permalink
    January 21, 2011 15:55

    Yey, we survived this round… Bring it on Sevilla 😀

    aww.. poor Khedira… Nobody is looking at him…o.O

  6. Pammie permalink
    January 21, 2011 16:00

    a flawless in case you missed it again! I like sassy Álvaro too and the Xabi pose section is my favourite of course. 😉

    I don’t like that the semifinals are already starting next week. They need more rest or they’ll be all tired (or even worse injured) once the champions league starts again. 😦

  7. Annee permalink
    January 21, 2011 16:09

    Great recap, as always. That look Xabi gave as he walked away from Jaunfran was better than any fight he could get in. He’s so…..perfect.

    And I agree, love when Alvaro gets feisty. Protecting Iker last week and this week getting into it with Diego Costa. Hot.

  8. PepperPots permalink
    January 21, 2011 16:25

    I am liking Kaka’s warm ups more and more. Haha.

  9. DebS permalink
    January 21, 2011 16:40

    I thought Sergio had a fantastic game! He seemed more of his normal self yesterday. Sergio just seems so passionate about everything when he’s on the pitch, the arm waving, the facial expressions, etc. Cris is the same way but his antics usually make me laugh. Such a character he is. And Arbeloa…I saw the eye rolling in the game and just knew it’d show up here. Too funny!

    Moving Marcelo up to left wing was different but it worked. And his part in the goal celebration was hilarious. Una, I think it was like 1/2 sec. after the gif above but Marcelo jumps up over the huddle and does like a lion roar. I laughed so hard when I saw that.

    Poor Sami. He was getting abused yesterday. Then the one time he was down on the pitch, he got hit in the head with the ball. That is just so sad that no one’s even paying any attention to Sami in that pic. :'{

    Poor Canales. I was glad that Mou was going to give him a chance and then Sami had to come out. Poor Benzema looked so sad on the bench too.

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 21, 2011 17:53

      “I thought Sergio had a fantastic game! He seemed more of his normal self yesterday.” – I agree, especially the pass to Cristiano. Flawless.

    • Lulja permalink
      January 21, 2011 19:53

      Agree with everything you said!

  10. January 21, 2011 17:09

    I really hope Sami’s okay for Mallorca and the semi-finals next week. They really are speeding it along!! I wonder when the final’s going to be, at this rate.

    I thought Marcelo was fantastic with the freedom he got in this match. I’m glad we have a variety of options. Sergio had his best match for quite a while. His cross to Cris was perfect.

  11. emily permalink
    January 21, 2011 17:41

    Yes, Serhio does look comfortable playing forward, doesn’t he? He must not-so-secretly want to be a striker again! He really causes problems when he plays forward on the right wing. His pace and fine qualities are indispensable when he has his good head on his shoulders. Here, if someone seems to be having really good recent form, people will say that ‘He must be getting laid’. ;-p
    When he made that feed into Cris for the goal, I got so excited for them. It was almost like they planned it to happen in the game, to help dispel the crazy talk. Let’s just say it couldn’t have come at a better time. Although, I would have liked to see a bit more one-on-one time between them during the celebration.

  12. January 21, 2011 19:14

    Khedira getting injured during the game made me all emo because Forlan (!!!!! I love that man tbqh. Classy as hale during the WC and has such good sportsmanship, did you see him chat with Sergio Ramos during the game despite being on the opposite team) and Iker went over, and Forlan was the ~only~ Atleti dude over him… ♥

    If Mourinho leaves the club after this season, I will cry a river. Seriously. Classy intelligent Frenchman Zidane better work his persuasion skills if things are going bad.

    I feel bad Canales too. He gets nervous but I have so much faith in him. He’ll be a great star for RM one day, as long as higher-ups don’t sell him off to some lame ass club that’s not RM, lol. … Also, I just want to mention that Kaka’s new haircut. So much cleaner and fresh and speaks ~new start in career~ 🙂

    • January 21, 2011 19:20

      * Correction: I love Kaka’s new haircut.
      Yes, this warrants a proper typo correction. 😀

  13. Emme permalink
    January 21, 2011 20:40

    Una – I love your blog & don’t get a chance to comment nearly enough! I really loved the little note about FP having lunch with Placido Domingo. My mother loves the Three Tenors (well, I guess there are only two now) & I grew up listening to them. I did not know Placido Domingo was madridista!

    poor Sami!!! Shame on those boy for not paying better attention to him! 🙂

    • January 22, 2011 13:41

      Plácido sang the special centennial hymn. It still gives me goosebumps every time I hear it at the Bernabéu!

  14. blanco for life permalink
    January 21, 2011 20:46

    There’s a new interview with Özil in the german magazine ‘bild’!

  15. Kat A. permalink
    January 21, 2011 20:52

    Ever since I saw that Vogue shoot, I will never look at Xabi the same – his look was really smoldering in the gif, no? :dreamy sigh: Nagore is one lucky lady! He and Arbeloa are two guys that I have really come to love after reading this blog. And lol at Arbeloa rolling his eyes and at Kaka shaking his hips to stay warm! I really hope that Mourinho doesn’t go at the end of this season! He obviously knows he has the devotion of his crew and players. Perhaps this is one of those things were they have to win a trophy for everyone to shut up -_-

  16. Stella permalink
    January 21, 2011 21:01

    Sami, oooh! I got so upset then I saw this, just standing around him and talking. Whats up with that!? Marcelo, Iker and Forlan shame on you boys! Sami in my heart <3.Its so fun that the bench look so cold +4 is so warm, we have -20 C here sometimes. Did not like Marcelos wing thing, I think Benzema should play and they should go back to that. Hope Mou stop testing things and make the players more confident as the bigining of this season.

  17. Maisoun permalink
    January 21, 2011 21:33

    Frustrated Sergio–I keep imagining baby Sergio gesturing in that same dramatic way!

    Kaka’s warm up dance…..I bet he did that same dance before he conceived his daughter XD

    Xabi ignoring Juanfran…thats definitely his “Bitch please!” look…I love it!

    hmmmm….so Sevilla on the 26th…added pressure on the boys to win since its Mou’s bday (and mine) no birthday present better than a victory right?

  18. Katarina permalink
    January 21, 2011 21:43

    Just a question Una, what does Toma mean???? Does it have to do with all the media reports between Ronaldo and Ramos?

  19. January 21, 2011 22:27

    I just have to say that I love the things you do, all the work and time you put into this! I’m from the beggining a Barca fan and I still am, but your blog has made me sway between the two rivals a bit. I’ve never been good at picking a side, i’m always in the middle, even in football. I guess you can say that I’m a fan of the spanish nationalteam and supports the players, not the different teams.

    I realise that this comment is pretty useless and not so relevant to the subject, but keep doing exactly what you do. Me and all the rest appreciate it, even those who ain’t true madridistas 😉

  20. Barbara permalink
    January 21, 2011 23:55

    I hope Sami is okay — I wish Real Madrid thought more of his talents/ability.

  21. madrista permalink
    January 22, 2011 02:30

    i loooved sergio and ronaldos goal celebration, so adorable !!

  22. January 22, 2011 08:33

    lol at #6, Ben definitely looks like he could use some head support, very uncomfortable position there! and #7 looks a bit like iker just flicked the back of forlan’s head, but that was probably just the angle. I do remember someone flicking forlan’s hair during the wc though, which was pretty funny

  23. January 23, 2011 05:58

    Hey Una, what does “hostia” mean?

Leave a Reply

