Skip to content

thoughts?

January 25, 2011
tags:

Sooo… Real Madrid has confirmed that it will be Emmanuel Adebayor who will be joining us in the winter transfer market.  Their official announcement did not say how much this whole operation cost, but El País reported that he came for free, with Madrid agreeing to take care of his salary until June this year, or the end of the season.  That would be about €4 million for the half season that he will be in Madrid.  The club will also have the option of buying him at the end of the season for €14-17 million (varies depending on the source).

Adebayor is expected to undergo a medical today.  And it looks like Mahamadou Diarra will see himself without a ficha as a result, and the club is hoping that he’ll find a new club.

I would have preferred Ruud van Nistelrooy.  Why couldn’t Madrid have given a better offer to Hamburg?  On the other hand, I can’t wait to see Mou defuse any drama Adebayor creates.

36 Comments leave one →
  1. giogravenstijn permalink
    January 25, 2011 23:21

    He’s a powerful center forward and a poacher,he scores a lot with his head. The only disadvantage ade is sometimes very lazy and a poor passer, but I hope for the best. Benzema will be more hungry, cause Ade hasn’t come here for a vacation.

    • Gilly B permalink
      January 26, 2011 12:15

      My only issue with Adebayor is his attitude. He was essentially shipped out of Arsenal because of his ego (in addition to the lazy displays and probable feeling that they got the best out of him at the time).

      If he listens and works hard, Madrid will have a lot to be happy about. But if not? Well, that’s his reputation done and not much help for the club- I mean, if Mourinho can’t get the best out of a player, not matter his ego, that’s a real word of warning to anyone!

  2. AlbertaMadridista permalink
    January 25, 2011 23:23

    Hamburg did not want to let him go. Ruud van Nistelrooy even offered to pay money (about a million euros I think) out of his own pocket if they allowed him to leave. So clearly money was not the issue there. It is too bad.

  3. LaBlanca permalink
    January 25, 2011 23:26

    im heartbroken Ruud couldnt come back!!! His message today made it even worse. Im soso soooooorry for him, for RM and for Madridismo.

    and sad for Mahamadou leaving through the back door. I just cant agree with the clubs attitude towards long-served players. =(

    I just dont know with Ade, cant be happy. Just hope for the clubs good hes behaving well and score goals.

  4. January 25, 2011 23:34

    I believe a lot of people had aversions against signing RvN too back in 2006 . He also had a bad rep, at least that was my impression of madridistas back then. Actually, I believe there was a lot of prejudice towards him both as a person and a player too – just a goal scorer, nothing more.

    He ended up carrying the team on his shoulders. A play point and an assist maker. AND: He ended up as a legend, a pichichi and a noble man that the crowd loved…

    Who knows about Ades arrival?

  5. Emily permalink
    January 26, 2011 00:04

    I’m a bit unfamiliar with how he plays and everything but I’m anxious to see him play. Considering how much Ruud was considering coming back, I would’ve preferred him.

  6. amouria permalink
    January 26, 2011 00:08

    Many say he is fantastic. I saw some of his videos, wow, he had a couple of incredible goals. He’s young, uses both foot, tall (will be the tallest in RM), great in head-balls. He’s so complete to be given for free!! Well, rumors about his mood and troubles with mates, but i am not worried at all. Mou knows how to manage such personalities. We had a dog and cat, not we got a panther…
    Hala madrid

  7. Fatima permalink
    January 26, 2011 00:13

    I really dont like Adeboyer…and for me it sucks that he will wear the white shirt:(

  8. Cindy permalink
    January 26, 2011 00:17

    Well let’s wait and see. Maybe Mr.Emmanuel Adebayor needed a change of clubs. I feel for Benzema though, I hope he does not give up and continue to improve.

  9. January 26, 2011 00:27

    “On the other hand, I can’t wait to see Mou defuse any drama Adebayor creates.”

    Yes, that would be very interesting.

  10. January 26, 2011 00:31

    Looking forward to see how he will combine into this team. Let’s hope he doesn’t create any conflicts 🙂 He has the speed and the goal instinct Benzema seems to be lacking!

    @unamadridista , please answer my email. I’ll resend it in a couple of minutes, since it’s been almost a week and I still didn’t get any news from your side :S (the email message is about a partnership with a new Cristiano Ronaldo website)

  11. SpecialJames permalink
    January 26, 2011 00:35

    I would have prefered RVN too, but Adebayor isn’t as bad as it sounds and definitely way better than Morata. I think Mou is comfortable with it and that’s what matters. I’d rather we go without strikers than acede to Hamburgs request. What do they take us for? Fools

    • Cristina permalink
      January 26, 2011 15:01

      He is obviously better… Morata is just beginning his career you CAN’T compare him with Adebayor. Were you expecting the boy to go out there and shine right away and score every time?? He needs to mature and improve his game before he is officially promoted to the first team or else he will just burn out and leave us dissappointed like most, if not all of us, are with Benzema.

  12. IsaBella permalink
    January 26, 2011 00:44

    Madrid desperately needed another striker. Let’s hope it is a good choice. 🙂

  13. January 26, 2011 00:56

    I’m kinda speechless. Let’s hope Adebayor doesn’t rock the boat too much.

    I’m hoping Mourinho can get the best out of him, and that Adebayor leaves his attitude in Manchester.

    Too bad about Ruud. Hamburg will regret it at the end of the season when he just walks away.

    • Sarah permalink
      January 26, 2011 11:25

      They’re fighting for a europe spot which is worth way more than 2 million

  14. January 26, 2011 01:16

    We all would have preferred Ruud i’m sure. I have conflicting feelings about that whole thing though – on the one hand, I don’t think we offered nearly enough for him, on the other, if we had managed to get it to work, we would have been leaving Hamburg in a terrible situation at the front (iirc, Ruud is their only un-injured striker at the moment – or something of the sort, i know their offense is in a bad state in any case), and considering that’s what we ourselves are trying to deal with, I wouldn’t have wanted to do that to another club. that said…if we had Ruud, I’d probably get over it pretty quickly… (hamburg fans on the other hand…?)

    I’ve done all my freaking out about Adebayor and the negative aspects of the transfer earlier – if he can score goals, and help score them, or somehow inspire Benzema into a sudden goal-scoring frenzy, then I’ll be very happy. I’m trying my best to reserve judgment until I see him play for us.

    and an unrelated side note- just because I don’t comment much and haven’t said it before, I wanted to thank you for all the translations (and general news-bringing!) you do for us here and on con la roja 🙂

  15. ulong permalink
    January 26, 2011 01:16

    my Arsenal fans ‘congratulated’ for this.

  16. Cosi permalink
    January 26, 2011 02:08

    Thoughts? In a word, pissed. Really thought the RvN deal would go through, and imo the overrated Adebayor, who has done nothing in EPL, will add one too many egos in the locker room and not enough to really contribute. NOT looking forward to it… but hoping i’m dreadfully wrong, for everyone’s sakes! 😦

  17. Maddi permalink
    January 26, 2011 02:41

    I wish him the best of luck (duh)!!! I would have preferred RvN too though, especially considering how much he wanted to come back and how sad he was when Hamburg didn’t let him. 😦 Poor Diarra, I really wish he could stay, he’s been with RM for so long… it’s sad every time someone has to leave, but Diarra has been so supportive even on the bench, defending his teammates from the referee, and cheering up his teammates.

  18. January 26, 2011 03:29

    the thought of Ruud was so nice that almost impossible, little part of me still hoped it’d be him…I also suprisingly enjoyed the gossip of Mou’s dream about Drogba, oh, that was so surreal but on the other hand – so intriguing…;-)

    anyway – I agree about Adebayor – an interesting persona, and coming from the Premier League. Whatever happens, I always remember the TSO’s words that this is the team still under construction, I trust in whatever experiments he makes, they will be to judge later, when we will see the bigger picture in the future (that reminds me that I desperately don’t want to hear about any possibilities of Mou going anywhere else, RM and him are destiny)

    I am a bit sorry about M.Diarra though, I kinda like him and I wish he stayed, although I get that it would maybe be better for him to go somewhere where he will have a chance to play more… Geez, sometimes I wish there could be 22-persons-playing-at-one-time-teams, so everyone could have their full time on the pitch 😉

  19. January 26, 2011 04:39

    i don’t know like i guess its ok cos he is a strong player but at his last club Man city he didnt play much and wasnt well liked ( actually not many people like him) Adebayor brings me mixed feelings. all i hope for is for the club’s well being Hala Madrid vamos a por la decima

  20. Mike permalink
    January 26, 2011 05:04

    Did you see RVN’s comment on Marca, he said he saw himself lifting the tenth with Mourinho.

    • PepperPots permalink
      January 26, 2011 09:36

      HUHUHU! This is just sad.

  21. Laryssa permalink
    January 26, 2011 05:05

    I also would have preferred Ruud. I love him very much and I really miss him. But now it’s done. I’ll support the team, coach and players no matter what. And I believe that everybody here feels the same.

    In my years as Madridista, I’ve seen a lot of strange people come to this team and Adebayor is one more in the long list of crazy signings by Real Madrid. It’s a shock, but I’m (sadly) used to this type of situation. I honestly wish Adebayor all luck in the world. I know some people are questioning his personality and character, but I think he deserves a chance to prove his worth on the field. Maybe he sucks, but maybe he can score a lot of gols for us.

    I honestly feel sorry for Rudd (and all the mess he was involved with his club and Hamburgo fans to get back to us) and Diarra. I hope the best for both.

  22. Najem permalink
    January 26, 2011 06:17

    I dont understand ,, Forlan , the best player in World cup , the great Striker is available ,
    and real masdrid brings ” Emmanuel Adebayor ”
    why ?

    this player is ” bad news”
    he brings bad influence to the locker room
    and fight with his coach and his team mate
    and most important
    he is not that good ,,

    he is not better than RVN , or Forlan , or even Nigredo ,,

  23. divine permalink
    January 26, 2011 06:57

    hmmm…this should be interesting. He’s a good striker- I think Jose can handle him, but how he’ll get on with the others is anyone’s guess. Granted, I m sure that might come back to bite me and he’ll end up pichichi.

    Ruud- Well I think it would be a bit much for Perez to swallow his pride after he axed him, and also he jsut seems anti orange you know? (ruud, van der vaart, wesley, royston, klaas, arjen…)

    Never a dull moment with Madrid!

    • LaBlanca permalink
      January 26, 2011 10:07

      Ade ending up Pichichi? No way! Cris & Messi will have to stop scoring then, and I dont think theyll do so, although I wouldnt mind if Messi did. 😛

  24. January 26, 2011 07:30

    i can’t think a single thought..

    Just why? why? why?

  25. Alex permalink
    January 26, 2011 08:00

    The dancing between Adebayor and Marcelo will be awesome and we could have a potential bromance at hand!

  26. January 26, 2011 08:18

    I think its kinda great, cause we need someone who can score.. and help us reach to the final and whatever else we can win.
    He’s 26, young but still experienced.. and he played for one of the hardest leagues!
    Welcome to Real Madrid, Emmanuel Adebayor!(:

  27. January 26, 2011 08:20

    Not the one I was rooting for.

    At all.
    But hey, we got a striker. Yay. *golf clap*

    I still want him OUT after this season ends though.

    BUY LLORENTE, goddamnit.

  28. mar permalink
    January 26, 2011 09:08

    i hope he will work hard for this club…
    what is “ficha”?

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 26, 2011 13:40

      literally, signing, meaning a place in the club with a full-time contract

  29. January 26, 2011 13:50

    I’d never thought particularly highly of Adebayor. He had one good season with Arsenal and started thinking of himself as the best striker on the planet. And he’s always struck me as lazy and having an extremely bad attitude.

    Anyway, if anyone can deal with him and bring the best out of him, it’s Mou. I hope this doesn’t backfire on Madrid.

  30. Lily permalink
    January 26, 2011 17:40

    Did not see this one coming honestly…

    But I am going to support it as that’s the only thing we can do right now.

    I want the team to win and I hope this new guy can bring it!

    I love Madrid but I hate how they treat their long served players

Leave a Reply

