Skip to content

all set for Osasuna!

January 30, 2011

The team worked out in Valdebebas yesterday afternoon, with 22 footballers taking to the field.  One of them was Emmanuel Adebayor, who completed his first session with his new teammates.  Also on the field was Jerzy Dudek, with Tomy Mejías as the fourth goalkeeper, since Iker and Antonio were there as well.  Xabi Alonso and Marcelo were absent as both are still recovering from the flu, and no one wanted to risk them getting worse in the rain.

Marcelo’s case was more serious, as he didn’t make the convocatoria. Adebayor did, meaning that those who stayed behind in Madrid are the sick/injured/recovering from injury Marcelo, Pepe, Higuaín and Dudek.  Mateos missed out due to the coach’s decision, amidst rumors that he could be loaned out for the rest of the season.

Goalkeepers: Casillas, Adan, Mejías.

Defenders: Arbeloa, Albiol, Sergio Ramos, Carvalho, Garay.

Midfielders: Lass, Gago, Khedira, Xabi Alonso, Di María, Özil, Pedro León, Granero, Canales, Kaká.

Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo, Benzema, Adebayor (¡por fin!)

In Mou’s press conference, he said he was “happy to have three attackers,” but that he would also “wait for Higuaín with open arms” [who else is getting a mental image of that?].  To stave off any debate, he described Adebayor and Benzema as “different, complementary.”  Mou also expressed his belief that Manu would have no problems integrating with the team, because “these players are easygoing, honest and good friends.  In this locker room, any new player feels good, and those who left are missed.”

And in vintage Mou mode, he said, “I hold press conferences when I want to, not when you all [the press] want to… I come out when I think I should, not when you all think I should…  I don’t know how it works in other clubs, but in those that I work in, my assistants are here not just to hand out vests and set up cones, but to work, improve, learn and build their own futures.  In this sense, I like for Karanka to have the opportunity to know it’s like to hold a press conference.  No matter whether it’s him or me, what he says are my own words.  I hold responsibility for what he says, he’s as much of a coach of Real Madrid as I am.  Perhaps Rui Faría or Silvino will be next.”

On the way to Pamplona, Adebayor sat next to Cristiano Ronaldo and the two of them talked during for a bit during the 45-minute long flight (in English).  How did Manu get his suit so fast?  A couple of people must have had to work day and night to complete it, especially since he’s so tall.  And I wonder if Mahamadou Diarra had to give his suit back?  Or since it was made to order, he got to keep it, but he probably wouldn’t ever wear it again, no?  Meanwhile, Cristiano showed off another scarf splashed with the designer’s name in a prominent position.  I haven’t seen any other players wearing it, so I’m going to assume that it doesn’t go with the suit (since both are by the same designer) so cheers to Cristiano for buying local!

Meanwhile, these two canteranos looked good.  What a great birthday present for Tomás (he turns 22 today) – his first trip with Madrid!

In the city, Kaká and Garay were tasked with smiling and signing for the fans.  Kaká has one of the best smiles in football.

Meanwhile, Osasuna player and former canterano Carlos Aranda spoke with AS, and this is what he had to say about his experience in Real Madrid:

Q:  When you were in the cantera, you wanted to leave, but Del Bosque stopped you.  Is that what happened?

A:  When I arrived in Madrid, I was very young.  I missed my home a lot and so I wanted to return.  Del Bosque went to the airport to get me before I was able to leave and he convinced me to stay.  He was a very important person for me in terms of my education, and as a footballer.  He was the person who supported me the most.  I play football thanks to him.  

Q:  Are you still in touch with him?

A:  No.  But when I see him, we always speak for a while.

Q:  What did you learn from him?

A:  As a person, the most in the areas of behavior and manners.  It was something he was very insistent on instilling.  As a footballer, I learned from the advice of a person who grew up in the cantera of a club like Real Madrid. 

Q:  And of your time at Real Madrid, what were you left with?

A:  I owe everything to Madrid.  I’m a footballer because of the club.  They give you a firm base.  With me, they were were always wonderful and if I have to thank anyone, it’s Real Madrid.

And speaking of the cantera, Castilla will play Extremadura at noon today, so good luck to them!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. mar permalink
    January 30, 2011 12:51

    I wish a good fast recovery to the sick (and injured).
    I hope that Adebayor will not play tonight as he has only one training session with his new teamates, it would be illogical!
    As for Mateos they say that he was loaned yesterday to Aek Athens Fc until summer and with the option of extending the loan for the next season.

  2. IsaBella permalink
    January 30, 2011 13:07

    “Adebayor (¡por fin!)” – pure marketing, Una, nothing less. At least in my opinion.
    I think they started making the suit for Adebayor on the day he came to Madrid. So they had a few days 😉
    “Kaká has one of the best smiles in football.” – indeed. one of my unfulfilled dreams so far. need to start saving money 😉

    • January 30, 2011 13:27

      No, I meant that at last we have three forwards to call up.

      • IsaBella permalink
        January 30, 2011 13:31

        But Cristiano is not technically a forward, is he? oficially he’s a midfielder, just like Di Maria, Canales and Ozil, at least RM website says so.

      • IsaBella permalink
        January 30, 2011 13:34

        sorry, my mistake. just checked it.

  3. Kaká for life! permalink
    January 30, 2011 14:28

    ooooh, i’m sooo jelous of the people who saw Kaká!! They saw him smiiiiile !! So wonderful. I’m really really really really jelous!!

  4. Kristine permalink
    January 30, 2011 16:29

    I’m excited for the game! I thought Sergio was out of this game, didn’t he receive 5 yellow cards? I’m confused..

  5. LaBlanca permalink
    January 30, 2011 16:49

    but that he would also “wait for Higuaín with open arms” [who else is getting a mental image of that?]

    AWWWWW!!!!! I do I do!!!
    thats so sweet of him! I guess when Pipa heard that he made a few extra stretches for him hehe. Thats what I call motivation! 🙂

  6. LaBlanca permalink
    January 30, 2011 16:52

    forgot to say, Mou looks better now. Maybe he can sleep better now with another striker. 😉

    Btw. Castilla won again with MFC scoring again. Weak first half, much better second and great comeback. Sarabia was the best player.

Leave a Reply

