Skip to content

in case you missed it – the “sin” edition

January 31, 2011

In case you missed it – Osasuna vs. Real Madrid [2011-01-30, Liga jornada 20].

In Spanish, the world “sin” means without, and in this game, Madrid was without goals, without ideas, without freshness, without a healthy Xabi Alonso, without air.   The gap between Madrid and Barcelona now stands at seven points.

I know you could use some cheering up, so here is a little something to make today better.  The regular ICYMI post will be coming along shortly.

51 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2011 13:32

    lol that just made me laugh.
    what a nice idea 🙂

  2. maneesha permalink
    January 31, 2011 13:37

    this is my first time commenting but i just had to – THANK YOU.

  3. DebS permalink
    January 31, 2011 13:42

    ty Una

    I agree with everything you said. Xabi made a big impact when he came on but he can’t do it alone and God forbid if he ever gets hurt. And WTH with the ball boys throwing extra balls on the field?! Do thy really have no shame?

    The only good thing I can think of right now is the excellent save that Arbeloa made. Other than that…the pictures above are a great way to dull the pain. :{

  4. bbBenz permalink
    January 31, 2011 13:42

    una you know your reader to well.

  5. January 31, 2011 13:43

    After all my crying and wailing last night, this made me smile. It must be so very difficult to make an ICYMI post for last nights match. Thank you for this and everything else.

    • browneyedgirl permalink
      January 31, 2011 15:20

      Were you really crying? Wellllll I guess I have to admit that I did too, which I think was a bit stupid.

      • killer permalink
        January 31, 2011 16:55

        If u cry when Madrid lose to Osasuna, i would like to know what u did when we lost 5-0 to Barca???

      • Lily permalink
        January 31, 2011 18:25

        I cried too… 😦

      • January 31, 2011 19:15

        I was really upset at the end of the match and yes, I was crying. In hindsight it was irrational to expect a team to win every. single. match. but oh well.

  6. January 31, 2011 13:58

    :):):):)

    Thanks a lot Una, this has made me smile the first time today..
    🙂

  7. Luna permalink
    January 31, 2011 13:59

    I think I save this cap every time you post it.

  8. Agustina permalink
    January 31, 2011 14:01

    Oh yes! In this sad day that was what I needed! LOL 😀
    Thanks a lot ♥

  9. Reno permalink
    January 31, 2011 14:03

    Here we go again… ^^
    I’m still wondering what the hell has happened.
    But thanks Una for trying to cheer us up! 🙂

  10. Milleca permalink
    January 31, 2011 14:08

    Wahahahaha, Una. Wow. I snorted and laughed. Maybe you could have added the shirtless Iker in the post as consolation for the not-so-Sergio fans, although I love Sergio 🙂

  11. Laykin ** permalink
    January 31, 2011 14:10

    Thanx that really cheered me up!!

  12. January 31, 2011 14:11

    LOL the best ICYMI introduction EVER! 😉

    the game was a bit shitty, I have to admit, and I need to give it back to Osasuna, that did not win by accident.
    It also confirms my theory, that the problem in RM are not as much strikers (there are plenty guys who can score) but the defense! They have brilliant moments, but sometimes they are running like kids not knowing what to do, this should not happen to such experienced players! I have a feeling that they want to play forward too often, you know, total football of defenders, but if you are a defender you should defend first and than think about whether you can afford going forward! Otherwise the whole team (including strikers) is getting confused!

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 31, 2011 15:16

      I agree on the defense. The goal was a total Albiol’s fault. 😦

      • January 31, 2011 15:38

        they are just not n’sync with one another. Individually – they are very good, even excellent defenders (Carvalho!), but they are just not harmonised enough with eachother (I am not talking about Arbeloa’s wonderful save yesterday). Very often it was covered up (either by the attacks of RM or by the lack of good attacks from the opponents), but yesterday it was used by the opponents and with lack of goals from RM it caused defeat.

        I wonder how is Mou reacting to this. El Clasico was lost primarily, in my opinion, by the defense…..I hope they are working on it, constantly, even as we speak;-)

        • IsaBella permalink
          January 31, 2011 16:03

          they must, I don’t think Mou was pleased by what he saw… 😉

    • January 31, 2011 16:10

      When you press a lot of guys forward, you make yourself susceptible to breakaway counter attacks. It’s a gamble you have to make to score a goal. RM’s defense is really quite good campared to a few years ago. It’s one of the reasons why Iker is so good now – lots of tests… But, you just can’t win if you don’t score, so you have to pay the price every now and then by playing every man forward. The only problem is getting the BALL forward, too!!! They had so many chances!!! Osa played their hearts out, but we missed a lot. I can’t fathom why CR wasn’t given that free kick that Ozi ended up missing w i d e r i g h t O-o

  13. Aishah permalink
    January 31, 2011 14:32

    oh god you are perfect, Una! 🙂

  14. January 31, 2011 14:39

    Unamadridista… you spoil us!

  15. Kyrrdis permalink
    January 31, 2011 14:40

    For me, it’s the first comment too – I really needed something to cheer me up, thank you!
    ^-^

  16. mumblo permalink
    January 31, 2011 15:13

    My affection towards Sergio is like a younger brother. However, I’ll see photos or clips of him every so often that make me say, “Damn!” This one does it EVERY time. That boy’s body is INSANE.

  17. IsaBella permalink
    January 31, 2011 15:14

    Cristiano’s comment after the match: “este equipo [Osasuna] no jugo y gano; esto es futbol” translation: “that team [Osasuna] didn’t play and won; that’s football”

    I dare to disagree. It was Madrid who didn’t play. What else can I say? 😦

    Una: thank you. this picture always makes me smile. a huge muack to Sergio’s lovely everything.

  18. Kristine permalink
    January 31, 2011 15:15

    Thank You Una!

    Am I the only one who feels like a bit of pressure has been relieved? Now, they can focus on playing good football instead of having to constantly be right up there with Barca. Since the last Clasico, It feels like the pressure on our guys has been unbearable. I feel like next time they meet Barca, they will feel more comfortable and confident.

  19. mumblo permalink
    January 31, 2011 15:16

    Also, Una, thank you for following through with an In Case You Missed It. I know it can’t be much fun spending that kind of time and energy revisiting a loss, but I’m looking forward to your insights and humor. (And if you happen to have a shot of Xabi waiting on the sidelines to be put into the game, with his sweet little sick-face, I wouldn’t mind one bit. Pobrecito!)

  20. Jenny permalink
    January 31, 2011 15:21

    On the bright side, Mou and the boys can now worry about team-dynamics, team-chemistry, the defence, breaking in their new striker and getting some of the joy back – to say nothing of the Decima.

    If they learn to harmonize over the rest of the League season, worry slightly less about points, and get some of the joy back, the titles will follow.

    I can wait.

    • Milleca permalink
      January 31, 2011 15:55

      This, I must honestly agree. It’s what they have all been saying, they’re a newly structured team, with new players so we have to be patient.

      Or in Sergio’s terms, please be patience with (me) some help is going on.

    • January 31, 2011 16:12

      nice take, Jen. I like it. :^)

  21. January 31, 2011 15:27

    Haha! Thanks Una,this made me chuckle and snort too!

  22. amouria permalink
    January 31, 2011 15:31

    hahahaha, this is hilarious…

    • mar permalink
      January 31, 2011 20:04

      I laughted a lot too!
      I cannot stop smiling…

  23. AlbertaMadridista permalink
    January 31, 2011 15:38

    I am one of the few that are not devistated by this loss. The game was tough but you could see that they were trying and there were chances so they were not completely outclassed. If one of the chances had gone in we would be having a different discussion at this point.

    There was miscommunication and the team was very disjointed but they tried and I am okay with that. Also there is nothing like a loss to bring a team together.

    My attitude might be because I am a fan of the Edmonton Oilers who currently are sitting at 15 wins 26 losses and 8 overtime losses and yet the arena is packed for every home game. Therefore in my mind you support the team and winning is just a bonus.

    • barb permalink
      January 31, 2011 16:40

      Hello from a Madridista in Nova Scotia – you have a great attitude!

    • HermosaChica permalink
      January 31, 2011 18:03

      “Therefore in my mind you support the team and winning is just a bonus.” — thank you! That needs to be tattooed on every cynical “supporter’s” forehead.

    • Cassie permalink
      February 1, 2011 06:00

      Hey i’m from Edmonton too!

  24. Laryssa permalink
    January 31, 2011 15:45

    Best therapy ever.

    In my opinion, the problem is in La Liga. Real Madrid race is one of best in Europe. We would be leaders in England, Italy, Portugal or France, but in Spain is just impossible. It’s insane and ridiculous think that La Liga is probably (but I really hope not) decided in january.
    I’m more worried than sad. It’s normal loose a game or two. What sucks is that now we have so little chances. Our opponents hate us and will complicate every game and the opponents of the other team adores them and will never try so hard.
    But we are Madridistas by heart and we always believe that everything will be ok… (right Xavi?!). So, Hala Madrid today and always.

    • IsaBella permalink
      January 31, 2011 21:55

      “It’s normal loose a game or two. What sucks is that now we have so little chances. ” – I feel the same…

  25. gabriela permalink
    January 31, 2011 16:27

    LOL Una, thank you! You are my favorite person for the day!

  26. AlbertaMadridista permalink
    January 31, 2011 16:58

    Oh and thank you you made me laugh. You are awesome.

  27. Savannah permalink
    January 31, 2011 17:58

    BEST IDEA EVER!!! This totally cheered me up!! Thank you!!!

  28. HermosaChica permalink
    January 31, 2011 18:06

    LOL! Oh Una 😆
    Only this can make us all feel better! It’s like a brand new photo every single time, haha.

  29. canederli permalink
    January 31, 2011 18:39

    Thanks una, I needed that! 🙂 It was a rough day.

  30. lalitta permalink
    January 31, 2011 19:01

    Una you are a true genius !!! it dosen not matter how depressing the game was, after seing this photo of mi amor Sergio Ramos i will forever smile <3<3<3 i LOVE hiiiim

  31. Sunshine permalink
    January 31, 2011 19:08

    I love you, Una!!! Thanks for this and for everything you do in here!

  32. Lulja permalink
    January 31, 2011 20:21

    THANK YOU. ♥

  33. faith permalink
    January 31, 2011 22:22

    Game? What game? *wipes drool*

  34. Amy permalink
    February 1, 2011 01:14

    What a wonderful way to start the day, with Sergio and laughter at such a clever strategy, Una! As my sister-in-law said, the only thing better would be the torso shot with the tattoo….that one was also a masterpiece:-))

  35. ulong permalink
    February 1, 2011 01:27

    OMG Una!! haha, you are the best 😀

  36. Hala_Madrid permalink
    February 1, 2011 09:56

    OMG i thought you had posted the same ICYMI twice. You see, the wonders of Sergio Ramos always make my day. THANK YOU SO MUCH UNA, you’re the best. If i lived in Spain i would definitely would buy you lunch ; )

Leave a Reply

