Skip to content

in case you missed it – the therapy edition

February 7, 2011

In case you missed it – Real Madrid vs. Real Sociedad [2011-02-06, Liga jornada 21].

Well, this game certainly helped to relieve the pain we all felt after last week’s Liga game.  Cristiano found the back of the goal again, and Madrid won back the affection of the fans, as did Kaká, with his early goal.  It’s good therapy, no?

ONE. Pregame rituals.  These almost have a sort of hidden camera thing going, no?  Xabi dances around and then pulls a disappearing act, while Cristiano just pulls on his shirt.  I didn’t think it was possible for him to wear a shirt that was too tight, but I guess it was!  And though you can’t see his head, Kaká was obviously staring at Cris the entire time.

TWO. The starting line-up was quite unusual, as we saw the inclusion of Eze Garay, Kaká and Adebayor, with Khedira, Benzema and Ángel di María watching the game from the bench.  Poor Karim looks a bit sad.

THREE. The players wore black armbands (Iker wore white) as a sign of respect for Antonio Mezquita, who passed away Sunday morning.  Castilla and Real Madrid C did the same, and also observed a moment of silence before their games.  I think that’s something the first team should have done as well, because Iker Casillas wouldn’t be in the photo below (and Esteban Granero wouldn’t be on the bench) if it weren’t for Antonio Mezquita.

FOUR. The goals.  When it rains, it pours.

Kaká started off the four-goal night with this beauty in the eighth minute.  He celebrated by forming “CC” with his hands for wife Caroline Celico.

Cris continued the goal fest, and no one was happier for him than his two partners in crime, Kaká and Marcelo.  I love how Marcelo looks like a little kid, content with hugging the back of papá.  Cris dedicated his goal to his son, while Mou wasn’t impressed at all.  I like how Karanka claps, then realizes that Mou didn’t react, so he pretends that his main purpose in moving his hands was to smooth back his hair.  And Rui Faria’s delayed reaction.

Before the first half was over, Cristiano had scored another goal, this time off a header.  He was very excited about it.

And Emmanuel Adebayor closed out the night with Madrid’s fourth goal in the 89th minute.  Let’s hope he doesn’t only score at the end of the games!  I loved the little celebration he and Marcelo had, which included a fake out high five.  I wished they had danced though.

Madrid actually scored FIVE goals last night, because Real Sociedad’s goal came off an Arbeloa own goal.  I love Xabi’s little tantrum right after, and Iker’s reaction.  Puta madre indeed.  Pobrecito.

FIVE. There is something strangely fascinating about watching Cristiano Ronaldo breathe.  And I love how he says “no.”

Do you like to be separated from Kaká?  Would you ever wear non-designer labels?  Is the CR7 line pretty?  Is there any hair gel left in the locker room?

SIX. After the game, Emmanuel → Manu → Manolo → Manolito was asked how his Spanish was coming along, and he answered – in castellano – “poco a poco amigo.  Es un poco difícil, pero voy poco a poco” (little by little, friend.  It’s a bit difficult, but I’m coming along little by little.”  Good for him!

It was great seeing Sergio Canales playing again, and he was received with applause when he checked in, something he was thankful for after the game: “I’m very happy with the reception the Bernabéu gave me, which showed me that they have affection for me and that’s very important for me… I want to continue working and trying to participate more with this team.  I enjoy playing with Real Madrid a lot.”  Sergio C. also revealed what Mou’s instructions for him had been:  “he told me to stay calm, and he wanted all of us to play at the same pace to score another goal.”  Well, mission accomplished then!  Sergio also told COPE that he didn’t want to leave in the winter transfer market, despite all the rumors saying otherwise.

He has such a cute little face.

SEVEN. During the game, the Ultra Sur exhibited two signs.  The first read, “Al contrario de vosotros, nosotros estamos con las víctimas” (unlike you all, we support the victims).  This was in allusion to the participation of eight Real Sociedad players in a march for jailed ETA (the terrorist group) members one month ago.  Several minutes later, out came this sign:  “¿El Kun Agüero? Ni regalado” (Kun Agüero?  We don’t even want him as a gift!).  Normally, I don’t condone a lot of what the Ultras do, but in this case, I agree with both signs.

EIGHT. The Xabi Alonso school of defense.

Lesson one:  get up close and personal with the man you are defending, especially when it’s Raúl Tamudo, who has a history of scoring against Madrid.

Lesson two:  when all else fails, just shove your man out of bounds.

Ricardo Carvalho obviously graduated summa cum laude, as he’s observing lesson one perfectly in his defense of Xabi Prieto (another person with a penchant for scoring against Madrid).

NINE. Fun moments with Kaká and Ozi spreading their arms out wide.

TEN. The man with the perfect profile made a great save – “la segunda parada del siglo” according to COPE, with the first one obviously being the one against Sevilla last year.  And Iker showed again why base layers should be banned, banned, banned.

ELEVEN. What did Cristiano have in his bag of tricks last night?  An espaldinha and a taconazo. Not Xabi shabby at all.

TWELVE. The Xabi Alonso pose section.™

Xabi’s back to posing while doing corners!

The two Xabis (Alonso and Prieto) are good friends, as Prieto said in an interview several days before this game.  They hugged it out at the end, along with Jon Ansotegi.

THIRTEEN. These two players know how to sub out in style!  Ricardo Carvalho clapped, blew a kiss, waved and did a thumbs-up all in about four seconds.  He must have had family there because he was waving like crazy during the team photo before the game too.  Meanwhile, Mesut was concerned about his hair.  First, he smoothed it back with his left hand and when that wasn’t enough to keep it back, he used his right hand.

FOURTEEN. Front and back.™

El Chori.

The sort of birthday boy.

Eze Garay.

Marcelino and his Vicks mess.

FIFTEEN. The Mou corner.

After the game, Mou said “we’re here to end in first place, but if we end second, there’s nothing wrong with that.  The important thing is not to give anything away.  If we play our part and we end second, we will go on vacation with our heads held high.”  Amen.

When asked if he thought Cristiano was going through a dry spell, he didn’t even let the reporter finish the question, saying “NO!” immediately (Papá Mou defending Cristiano again?).  He continued, “no way.  I’ll tell you all what I told my players.  I don’t have one thing for my players and another thing for the press.  And what I told CR was that even if you don’t score another goal from now until the end of the season, your year will have been fantastic.”  He went on to say – in vintage Mou style – “in addition, everyone has Cristiano in their sights.  Since he’s 1.85 meters tall and strong, it appears that he can take anything they give to him.  Meanwhile, there are others that the rivals are afraid of touching (referring to Messi).  Cristiano is a beast.”

With regards to the actual game and its unusual starting line-up, Mou remarked, “it’s the same old story.  If I make rotations and we don’t win, you all will think I’m irresponsible and that I’m gifting the championship to our adversaries.  If I play with the usual line-up, then I’m irresponsible because I give too many minutes to some people.  When the minutes are spread out like they are today, you ask me why Canales played so few minutes.  In this club – actually it would be better to say with the press – it’s always like this.”  I love him!

Mou also praised the niño Mesut Özil, saying, “he’s fantastic, Madrid has a player for 10 years and he’s won everyone over.”  He also said he was content with Adebayor, that Lass is a starter, that the return of Marcelo was positive and that Kaká played a very good hour.

And when asked if La Real had made it easy for them, Mou replied,

Are you seriously asking me this?  Do you really work for Real Madrid TV?  Are you sure?  You shouldn’t be (the journalists have to identify what media outlet they work for before asking questions).

JAJAJA!!!

Meanwhile, Mou’s neck muffler lasted five minutes yesterday.  After five minutes, it was gone.  I wonder what it did to offend Mou?

And Zinedine Zidane told French TV program Téléfoot that he speaks with Mou every day when he’s in Madrid, because he’s interested in what he can contribute and what Mou is thinking of.

SEVENTEEN. Meanwhile, Castilla continued their excellent winning streak when they beat Pontevedra 2-0 behind two goals from Pablo Sarabia to win their fifth game in a row.  However, MFC Álvaro Borja Morata Martín’s scoring streak ended at four games.  Castilla is now third in Group 1 of Second Division B.

EIGHTEEN. Looking ahead:  the team will enjoy two days off before resuming training on Wednesday.  However, 15 of the players will be on national team duty and won’t be back until Thursday.

34 Comments leave one →
  1. wandering again permalink
    February 7, 2011 14:44

    I’ve been waiting for this recap. Ahhhh. You made my day Una!

  2. February 7, 2011 14:49

    I loooooove this post!

    Cristiano IS a beast!! Unlike Messi who’s so small and fragile, I also think that ppl are afraid to tackle him. Him being only elbow height to everyone. LOL

    I laugh like crazy over that Mou’s quote to the reporter, hahahaa.. Aaand. I’m glad you have found love for Ozil, reading some of your recent posts. He’s adorable!!

  3. blitzen permalink
    February 7, 2011 14:57

    As a cule, I hope Mou sticks around for a long time. He is great entertainment value!

  4. faith permalink
    February 7, 2011 15:03

    Marcelo hugging Cris’ back during the goal celebration = Awwww

    Cris’ saying no = hilarious (especially the gel in the locker room)

    Xabi’s school of defense – Where do I sign up to volunteer?

    Thanks again Una, as always a brilliant ICYMI

    • mumblo permalink
      February 7, 2011 15:21

      Sometimes Xabi tackles like he’s still in the EPL. I love it!

  5. mumblo permalink
    February 7, 2011 15:20

    I am beginning to hate international friendlies. No rest for the weary! I hope everyone comes back safe and sound.

  6. Kat permalink
    February 7, 2011 15:56

    As usual, brilliant post. Great game, and it’s nice to see Kaka getting his groove back. It’s been a long time coming.

    I love how, after the OG, Xabi turned, posed with his hands on his hips for a couple of seconds first, then proceeded with his tantrum. Our man has his priorities in order and not even an own goal will make him forget it.

    “Do you really work for Real Madrid TV? Are you sure? You shouldn’t be .” – AHAHAHAHA. I love this.

    http://dontaskmetosmile.wordpress.com

    • xoxo permalink
      February 7, 2011 16:05

      LOL! that quote is amazing.

  7. mickymacky permalink
    February 7, 2011 15:58

    one of your funnier recaps una:) thanks!

    i wonder if there is not one journalist left that hasn’t been victimized by mou lol… they really should know better…

    and that ‘No’ gif of Cris is already famous– for me it goes right up there with that of him with his arms akimbo, head tossed back, and laughing disdainfully at (what I suppose is) some f*ckery around him.
    this guy is a footballer first, showman second… love him!

  8. xoxo permalink
    February 7, 2011 16:00

    This is the first game I got to watch without downloading. And what a game it was! I love the rush of adrenaline I get when I don’t know what the outcome will be. It is so addicting. I might have to forgo sleep until May. Ha!

    I am so happy for Cristiano. It’s so nice to see him being rewarded for working so hard. And so near his birthday, too. Ozil’s disbelief when his goal was disallowed was adorable. I think I’m falling in love with the German. Help!

    Great recap as usual. Thank you so much. I look forward to your posts with as much excitement as the games themselves. 🙂

  9. February 7, 2011 16:03

    Fabuloso!
    #5 – Classic humor, Una. Picture yourself sitting on top of CR while he’s laying there, all sweaty and exhausted… O-o
    #10 – I KNEW you would make a base layer comment after that… wanted to text you immediate, but, sadly, I CAN’T! } :-
    #15 – In Hawai’i (used to live there) they have a word for the look on TSO’s face in that picture – He’s giving someone ‘Stink Eye’.
    YFC has lovely hair!
    Does anyone else beside me feel terribly for Peter Lion that he sits all the time now? At least, when he was with Geta he got to play every game, keeping his match fitness up, and he got on TV more frequently. He looks muy delicioso in blue. I really miss him. :,-{

    • IsaBella permalink
      February 7, 2011 21:19

      “Picture yourself sitting on top of CR while he’s laying there, all sweaty and exhausted… O-o” – fabulous comment! 🙂

  10. February 7, 2011 16:17

    iker leaning back at the goal post after his “puta madre” moment was quite precious. poor thing needed a hug

  11. xoxo permalink
    February 7, 2011 16:33

    Bah! Benzema looks so sad all the time. Poor thing. I want to hug him and tell him everything’s gonna be all right.

    • HermosaChica permalink
      February 7, 2011 19:26

      I like to think that maybe that’s just his neutral facial expression. I get “oh my God, are you okay?!” comments very often, and 90% of the time I’m completely fine! 😛

      • Andrea permalink
        February 7, 2011 22:29

        Hermosa, the same things happens to me! So I like this theory about Benz 🙂

        • bbBenz permalink
          February 8, 2011 07:30

          i like to think that’s just his neutral expression too. he got a lot of sympathy from the girls tho 😉 gah i wanna hug him now

  12. Evita permalink
    February 7, 2011 16:41

    Can someone tell me about that terrosit organization you were talking about? Is there classification of terroist orgs different in Spain than say the US and Israel? Again great stuff!

    • IsaBella permalink
      February 7, 2011 23:03

      ETA is a Basque org “fighting” for independence of pais vasco.

    • February 8, 2011 16:44

      Euskadi Ta Askatasuna (no relation to Una!) are a paramilitary group that have been responsible for numerous bombings, killings and kidnappings in Spain. They seek independence for the Basque Country (el pais vasco). Real Sociedad are from San Sebastian, in the Basque Country. (They were always the usual suspects until Al-Qaeda threw their turbans into the random acts of violence ring)

  13. Hala Madrid permalink
    February 7, 2011 17:03

    Very nice recap. Loved every bit of Mou’s quotes! LOL

    Thanks for the translations.

  14. Marie permalink
    February 7, 2011 17:03

    We just have the best coach in the world there’s no other explanation. I simply love him. The way he handles the press may seem harsh to other people but I think he’s completely in his right. I mean seriously what’s up with journalists today? They ask the stupidest questions! They poke around to spin a story instead of writing the facts. And I concur with Mou, Cristiano IS a beast. He’s always marked by at least two-three players (which I don’t blame since he’s…well…A BEAST) and then people have the audacity to say he falls by himself. HA! And though I don’t feel spiteful at all towards Messi, Mou’s comments are totally spot on. I’ve seen Barca games and God forbid you touch him or people stay away from him as if he was contagious.
    Anyway don’t let Crackovia Cris hear you call him a beast, he might just take it the wrong way. 🙂
    Thanks Una for another great post.

  15. amy permalink
    February 7, 2011 17:13

    hahah great recap thanks

  16. Lily permalink
    February 7, 2011 17:48

    The game was awesome I have been waiting for this for a long long long time 🙂

    Benzema looked so sad I feel bad for him it will be okay though he’s a great player and he’s going to come back soon!!!

    Pat on the back for alllllllllllllllllllllllll the boys 🙂

  17. Sahar permalink
    February 7, 2011 20:19

    I can’t stop laughing picturing kaka watching cristiano trying to loosen up his shirt because you know he was. I am surprised kaka didn’t help him. Also cristiano and the whole Chelsea team wear tight kits. I think soloman kalou actually beats cr when it comes to playing in tight shirts.

    Also if you pay attention when kaka scored cristiano was practically pushing people off of him to get to kaka. That is love. I’m so happy kaka scored and had an assist. A CrisKa goal!!!

  18. IsaBella permalink
    February 7, 2011 21:16

    Therapy indeed. I was happy to see Madrid finally playing well and winning with no problems.
    Sitting on the bench at Bernabeu is like the most exciting experience you might have there (apart from seeing the showers ;), I felt like I was stepping on the Moon while being there for the first time. Unforgettable. I always go there if I have time.

  19. ulong permalink
    February 8, 2011 01:25

    since i read you blog, I have so much fun just by reading it.
    thanks again Una 😀

  20. Meredith permalink
    February 8, 2011 02:22

    i live for your site. thank you for showing me the best of RMA and especially CR7. i love him. my bucket list has 1 item: see ch7 play. gracias.

  21. barb permalink
    February 8, 2011 04:13

    I particularly enjoyed these pictures and gifs: angry Iker; ferocious Mou; crabby Xabi; big-eyed Ozil (Banbi!). My world is so much nicer when these guys win, and your blog is the icing on the cake.

  22. Agustina permalink
    February 8, 2011 05:23

    I loved loved loved this game and I loved your recap maybe even more!
    It showed me again all the reasons why I love this team, after some sad moments recently. And also, the main reason why I started following RM was Kaká, so it was great to see him score and play from the beggining of the match!
    Some comments: 1) Watching Cristiano do that with his shirt and all I can’t think is “take it off! now!!”
    5) I could watch Ronaldo breathing all day 😉
    6) Canales is the cutest thing I’ve ever seen!
    15) There’s no other like Mou. I loved his response to the RealMadridTv reporter. And I hope we never see the neck warmer again, I hate it

  23. Bekah permalink
    February 8, 2011 10:41

    Ahh thaaank you so much for the recap!! I haven’t been able to watch any games for the past couple weeks, and probably won’t be able to until May… so sad about that! Unless I get internet. So I will be depending on your fantastic ICYMI’s 🙂

  24. Maddi permalink
    February 9, 2011 01:37

    Iker’s save took my breath away. Too bad I cant find it on youtube. 😦

  25. Clarisse Shaina permalink
    February 9, 2011 16:30

    The bit with Cris saying “NO!” was the best! GREAT JOB! 😀

Trackbacks

  1. today’s news bulletin « following Real Madrid…

Leave a Reply

