Skip to content

back to the Liga

February 10, 2011

It’s time to return our focus to the Liga, after the international break.  Madrid will train today at 16h.  Meanwhile, here’s a look at the “important” news from the last several days.

ONE. In the absence of more than half their team due to the international break, the eight players left in Madrid (Pepe, El Pirata, Kaká, Sergio C., Peter Lion, Manolo, Dudek and Adán) trained with Real Madrid C yesterday by disputing a mini game.  The first team was reinforced with Castilla’s Juanfran, Jorge Casado and Iván González, while RMC and the first team also “exchanged” players so that Gonzalo Poley played with the first team and Antonio Adán defended the goal of RMC.

The first team ended up winning 2-1 behind goals from Canales and Kaká, while Óscar Plano scored for RMC.

And a bit of good news: it looks like Ricardo Carvalho will be available for Sunday’s game against Espanyol, after missing out on Portugal’s game due to injury.

According to Marca, Sergio C. is once again a happy camper in Madrid after a heart-to-heart with Mou.  The club had received an avalanche of offers during the winter transfer market for Sergio’s services, but Mou asked the Cantabrian to stay, because he knew that working with players of the caliber that Madrid has would be great for him.  He didn’t promise him minutes, and also said that he wouldn’t stand in his way if he decided to leave, but Sergio C. felt comforted by that conversation.

TWO. Afterward, the first player press conference in a long time took place (the last time was Esteban Granero on Dec. 31).  Emmanuel Adebayor spoke to the press (in English), using the opportunity to clear up some rumors about him.  He said, with regards to his reputation as a polemic footballer, “I come from Africa, from a very poor country, and playing in Europe is fantastic.  I want to win titles and when things don’t go as I want, it affects me on a personal, emotional level, but I don’t create problems… People judge you without knowing you… I’m a nice person.  I like to play and joke around with my teammates.  I’m not problematic.  The people who know me say I’m friendly, that I’m always laughing.”

With regards to his adaptation, Manu said, “Casillas and the rest are helping me to integrate, and I feel the affection they have for me.  I don’t have any problems in communicating, because a lot of my teammates speak English:  Ramos, Ronaldo, Pepe, Granero, Marcelino – he loves speaking English.”  Wait a minute, the Brazilians and Sergio speak English?  I hope the club starts making them give press conferences in that language (if we return to having players hold press conferences, that is).  I can just hear Sergio, “I’m super happy, no?”

As for Mou, Manolito said “he’s an excellent person.  He knows what to say to make you understand.  It’s always important to know what he expects of you.  For me, it’s great to work with someone like him.  I know it won’t be easy, but I believe that by working hard, I’ll carve out a space for myself.”

He also revealed the first Spanish words he learned: “buenos días, cómo estáis, gracias afición y gracias compañeros” (good morning, how are you, thank you fans and thank you teammates).  There’s no way that those were the first words he learned.  The first one was probably “joder” followed by “tío” and then “súper contento, no” if Sergio were around.

THREE. In an interview with L’equipe, Zizou made clear that his position in Real Madrid is not “fictitious” and that it’s an actual job.  He said, “I go to every training session, I meet with the coach and other personnel every day, and I have my office.”  He described his tasks as “observing, analyzing and talking with José Mourinho to provide him with another point of view,” as well as traveling with the team to Champions League games.

FOUR. The international friendlies round-up.  Our players did very well, but the important thing is that no one came back injured!

France beat Brazil 1-0 in Paris, behind a goal by Karim Benzema.  But he had to suffer to get that goal, because he was on the receiving end of a karate kick from Brazilian player Anderson Hernanes (much like the one Nigel De Jong gave Xabi in the World Cup final) in the 40th minute.  This time, however, Anderson was immediately given a red card and ejected.  Poor Karim!  He played 86 minutes in the match, while Marcelo didn’t play any minutes.  Zizou was at the game as well (as you could see in the video).

Over in Switzerland, Argentina beat Portugal 2-1, but there were no losers for Real Madrid because both Ángel di María and Cristiano scored.  Cristiano played almost 60 minutes, while Di María was subbed out at the 65-minute mark.  Fernando Gago played about half an hour, coming in for Ever Banega.  Eze Garay didn’t play.

Both Mesut Özil and Sami Khedira played all 90 minutes in Germany’s 1-1 tie with Italy.

And at home – in Madrid and at the Bernabéu – Spain beat Colombia 1-0.  Iker, Sergio and Raúl Albiol played the entire game, while Arbeloa played 35 minutes and Xabi 75 minutes.  According to AS, these five will be allowed to travel to the Vatican with the RFEF on Monday (since it’s an off day anyway) for an audience with the pope.  The trip is optional for the players, but the RFEF would like as many players to go as possible.  Raúl Albiol said last night after the game that he would go if the pope agreed to baptize his daughter.

FP, Jorge Valdano, Miguel Pardeza, El Buitre, José Mourinho and Aitor Karanka all attended the game.

FIVE. It appears that Dani Parejo will be returning to the Bernabéu next season.  Getafe recently communicated to Madrid that they would like to footballer to fulfill the four years of his contract with them (ending in 2013), but Madrid’s response was that Parejo is already in Mourinho’s plans for next season, as the natural substitute to Xabi Alonso.  If Dani does come back, Madrid will have to pay El Geta €5 million (pocket change for them) in compensation.

SIX. More cantera news:  apparently, Mou is thinking of taking Juanfran and MFC along with the rest of the team to the Copa del Rey final, in order to reward them for their contributions, as they both played in earlier rounds of the competition.  What a nice gesture!

SEVEN. And have a look at this video of the best goals of the cantera.  Of course, MFC Álvaro Borja Morata Martín makes several appearances, both as a goalscorer and as a cheerleader!

23 Comments leave one →
  1. Hala_Madrid permalink
    February 10, 2011 10:12

    I also laughed when Adebayor said that Sergio speaks english. I was really surprised but hey maybe he does lol. Our guys represented us very well i’m so proud of them, they did awesome with their national teams. I just hope que no nos pasen factura on Sunday. Great post UNA thanks again!

  2. IsaBella permalink
    February 10, 2011 10:47

    ‘People judge you without knowing you’ – you couldn’t have said it better Manu 🙂 I do hope he’s a nice person and that I’ll be able to understand his African French ja ja 😉
    Sergio speaking English? O.O rather Spanglish I would say and with ‘much help going on’. :p
    Una, I would add ‘puta madre’ to the first Spanish words for Manu. 😉
    The French National Team should change the camisetas designer because this one really sucks.
    what’s wrong with Albiol’s daughter? why can’t she be baptized?

    • Pam permalink
      February 10, 2011 16:09

      what’s wrong with Albiol’s daughter?

      I don’t think there is anything “wrong” with her. If a human being cannot be baptized, it does not mean there is anything wrong with him or her.

  3. bbBenz permalink
    February 10, 2011 13:36

    Benzema looks super happy when he scored a goal fr France during the friendly match against Brazil. he looks alive and seems like he’s having a good time in France:) he doesn’t look like a sad puppy like he always do in Madrid’s match but maybe it’s just me. anyway hope he’ll play well and enjoy his time in Madrid even more!

  4. suzanne permalink
    February 10, 2011 13:39

    sergio ramos speaking english…i think i just died. lol! accented english + sergio = me dying. agreed una, players should have english press confrences ever once in a while. i’d particularly like to hear el pirata 😉

    so glad all of our boys came back ok. benz had an amazing match…was really glad that idiot didn’t injure him. what a reckless, rediculous, horrible challenge!!

    super happy, no…lol!

  5. Gabriela permalink
    February 10, 2011 13:40

    I’m so sad about what happened with Karim in Brazil’s match, not only because of him but also because of Hernanes ): Hernanes is my all time favorite player ever and he was so happy to finally get called up for the national team. I can’t believe something like this happened, he’s the sweetest guy ever and he never did anything possibly similar to that. I’m sad he’s going to be remembered because of the karate kick. Good thing Karim is ok and not injured, or things would have been even worse!
    I still don’t know how Karim managed to come back in one piece, besides the karate kick he kept feeling something on both legs and had to get medical care more than twice through the match. I won’t be surprised if he suddenly shows up on Sick Bay later, even if they say no one came back injured from yesterday international duties.

    I’m also sad about Sergio Canales ): He should get loaned out, I don’t see how not playing will do any good to his career. Being around amazing players is not the same as actually playing with them. I hope FP won’t go in another Midfield Shopping Spree on summer, so Sergio C. can get more playing time next season.

  6. amouria permalink
    February 10, 2011 13:53

    Zizo: “I go to every training session, I meet with the coach and other personnel every day, and I have my office.” He described his tasks as “observing, analyzing and talking with José Mourinho to provide him with another point of view,” as well as traveling with the team to Champions League games.”

    Wow, very tiring job….if I were him, I wouldn’t speak at all because this is any thing but a job.
    I say clearly that Zizo’s statement is very offensive to people who do real jobs, who work, who strive hard to get something on the table. It is very true that Zizo and all players and ex-players live in another planet….

    • February 10, 2011 15:12

      He wasn’t paid when he was advising FP, so it wouldn’t surprise me if he’s doing this for free.

    • DebS permalink
      February 11, 2011 00:06

      really? bitter much?

      How is what they do any different than executives at companies? I’ll tell you…it’s not. Zidane is a consultant…much like an accountant, lawyer or computer tech would be. They get paid the big bucks because of their expertise at what they do.

      How can you appreciate the skill and beauty that is soccer if you have such disdain for the players & staff?

  7. superfan permalink
    February 10, 2011 14:13

    Thank you for the news recap, Una!

    “but Madrid’s response was that Parejo is already in Mourinho’s plans for next season” …already in Mou’s plan NEXT SEASON NEXT SEASON NEXT SEASON. Yey!! Can I just say that that line alone makes me super happy! I really really want Mou to stay with us for more than one season. 😀

  8. HermosaChica permalink
    February 10, 2011 14:54

    Aww, look at the little madridistas absorbing as much as they can from watching the big boys train! However, my jaw would hang down much lower if I was in their position..and may I add that drool will most likely be involved..a lot of it.

    Wait, what?! Sorry Adebayor, I need audible proof that Sergio can finally speak English. And hahaha, I’m sure Marcelo walks around the pitch saying “siiix fooot..sevin fooot” all the time. 😆

    • DebS permalink
      February 11, 2011 00:07

      ‘“siiix fooot..sevin fooot” all the time. ‘

      lol brilliant!

  9. February 10, 2011 15:01

    So Albiol’s condition for meeting the Pope is that he baptizes his daughter? 😀 I am sure the Pope can make such an exception its not like he has anything else to do 😀

  10. February 10, 2011 16:23

    SERGIO SPEAKS ENGLISH?!?!

  11. Amy permalink
    February 10, 2011 17:10

    When I saw Benzy get karate kicked, my first thought was – did he just get “Alonso-ed” or did he just get “DeJong-ed?!” It was so similar! Then again, who wouldn’t want to be just like Xabi….

  12. February 10, 2011 23:00

    To Mourinho! More of Morata/Canales next season please.

  13. Gillian permalink
    February 11, 2011 01:09

    I saw some footage of Emmanuel’s interview and OMG, I think I am in love!

  14. February 11, 2011 02:24

    Yessss pleasseee bring Morata and Juanfran to the Copa del Rey final…

    And that video is just WAY. TOO. ADORABLE.
    We have talent, and our talent is also adorable. Doesn’t get much better than that.

    Is it just me or does MFC like to jump on everybody? He’s so adorable!<3
    I loooveee Sarabia and Ismael too 😀

  15. Agustina permalink
    February 12, 2011 14:53

    Karim playes very well when he is on his National Team, he plays so much better with them! Mh… maybe is because he has Yoann Gourcuff playing with him… Maybe Florentino should buy him so Karim can play better!! 😉

Leave a Reply

