Skip to content

the news round-up

February 15, 2011

In this news post:  a bit more on the Espanyol game, off-day activities, lots of nostalgia and more.

ONE. More from yesterday.  Iker warms up, and tosses the captain’s armband at Chendo.  He shouldn’t treat it that lightly.

Meanwhile, Marcelo said he ran past all his teammates when celebrating the goal because he was “very thirsty” and so his mission was to get to the sideline for some water.

According to Cuatro, Cristiano reproached him (on the right) for not celebrating with his teammates.  I don’t know why Marcelo responded by lifting his shirt, but I’m not complaining.

And hugs all around for Antonio Adán.  Of note:  after the game, Mourinho said, “Antonio played like a veteran.”  This is of note because José Mourinho hardly ever calls his players by their first names, so this is the highest praise.

As you could see from the end of the game, Mou was the first one to go into the locker room on Sunday night, which he did while pumping his fists and shouting, “¡vamos, vamos! ¡Así, así, así!”  Iker was right behind him, so that he would be able to give his teammates high-fives as they filtered in one by one.  When Marcelo entered – unsurprisingly, Pepe and Cris were stuck to his side – Mou told him, “congratulations.  You played for two people, for yourself and for Di María.”

I have to admit that I never saw Marcelo as captain material – especially since he always looks like an overgrown kid out there – but he was simply enormous on Sunday night.

And I like these quotes from Emmanuel Adebayor after the game:  “I’m playing for more than the three titles, but the most important thing is the team” and “I failed three times in front of the goal, but I worked until I could work no more.”  He also expressed satisfaction with his adaptation to the team, and said, “I want to stay here, because in the less than one month that I’ve been here, I’ve been able to confirm that this is the greatest club in the world.”

TWO. Madrid has decided it will appeal Iker’s red card against Espanyol, as they believe it was not deserved.  The club is hoping that Competition will not sanction the goalkeeper with a one-game suspension, and that he’ll be able to play this weekend against Levante.  Competition will announce any sanctions today, and if Iker is slapped with a suspension, Madrid will appeal.

THREE. José Mourinho took advantage of the two-day break he gave his team to travel to London, where he was seen watching the game between Fulham and Chelsea, along with JM Jr.  The game ended 0-0, so it wasn’t too exciting, as you can tell by JMJ’s reaction, below.

I like the matching hoods.

FOUR. Summer plans:  according to AS (where this wonderfully dorky photo is from), Madrid will once again hold their pre-season training camp at UCLA, and play three games in the U.S. before heading to China, where they will play one game in Beijing and another in Shanghai.  Next season’s pre-season will begin at the start of July, with the U.S. stage taking place in the third or fourth week of that month.  Madrid will then travel to China in the first week of August, and return to Spain to play the Supercopa against Barcelona, assuming that one of them wins the Liga, of course.

For new Madrid fans:  the photo is from 2005.  From left to right are Rubén de la Red (now an assistant coach with Juvenil A), Álvaro Arbeloa, Juanfran (now with Atleti) and Roberto Soldado (now with Valencia).

P.S. – no wonder Álvaro is always trying to make his hair stand up now.

FIVE. Gracias, fenómeno.  The original Ronaldo announced his retirement yesterday, saying “I can’t take anymore.  I wanted to continue, but I couldn’t.  It’s very hard to give up something that made me so happy, and although I was mentally prepared to continue, I lost the battle with my body.  I’ve had a beautiful, marvelous, emotional career… I’ve made many friends and I don’t remember making a single enemy.”

Is there any of Milene in Ronald?  He looks exactly like his dad!!  I can’t believe how big he is now; I still remember when Milene was pregnant.  And how cute is little Alex?

Here are the reactions of several madridistas:  Kaká, via twitter, thanked his former teammate for “everything you did for the sport, soccer, Brazil  and for the thousands of people around the world.”  Emilio Butragueño called him the “best center forward I’ve ever seen” and “a constant threat.”  And his former coach Vicente del Bosque remembered him as “a happy man as a person and as a player.  He made everyone who was by his side happy; he’s a charming kid.  We shared a locker room for a while and I don’t have any complaints, only good words to say about him.”

Meanwhile, Becks called Ronaldo “an amazing person” on his Facebook and said it was “an honor” to play with Ronaldo and “become his good friend.”  And Sergio tweeted that he wanted to send his regards to his ex-teammate and friend Ronaldo, adding “thank you for all those years of football, for me, you were the greatest!!”

SIX. And another former Madrid player, Raúl, is back in Spain, as his Schalke will play Valencia tonight in the Champions League.  Raúl was the first person to pass through Manises, where he was met with fans, some of whom were wearing Real Madrid shirts and holding up signs that proclaimed things like “Raúl, artist, always a madridista” and “we’ll always be with you, the eternal ‘7.’”

Raúl received the visit of his good friend and former Real Madrid teammate Fernando Morientes last night in the hotel where his team is staying.  Raúl and Fernando, reunited!!!

SEVEN. And “El Larguero” traveled to Istanbul, to Guti’s house to interview him.  We find out that Guti would like to be a coach when his playing days are over, concretely in the cantera of Real Madrid.  I can’t imagine this, unless he matures a bit, no?  He also said that he misses Real Madrid, and would have loved to play for this current team.  In addition, he praised Marcelo, saying, “he gives it his all during the games, and it’s a pleasure to watch him come up the wing,” and Özil and Di María for “adapting very well.”

As for his life in Turkey, he lives alone in the Asian section of Istanbul.  His daily routine consists of “getting up at nine, going to the training grounds to have breakfast, training at 10h (I don’t know how he doesn’t wait between eating and training?), eating lunch there (a lot of Turkish food but he doesn’t mind), going home and going online, playing a bit of guitar of watching movies.”  His lunch yesterday consisted of chickpeas with sauce, lamb and a bit of rice.  We also found out that he has erased two tattoos:  one that he got when he was 18, and the other the name of a person (Arancha?).

Have a listen here.

36 Comments leave one →
  1. Myan permalink
    February 15, 2011 09:11

    Do you have a link to the article on Real Madrid’s preseason plans by any chance?

  2. Kat permalink
    February 15, 2011 11:51

    Marcelo must have been really really really thirsty, judging from his actions. He almost hit Alvaro on the chin pulling away from him.

    And that’s how Ronaldo reproaches someone? With a little dance? Cute! Haha.

    http://dontaskmetosmile.wordpress.com

    • justme permalink
      February 15, 2011 22:56

      I think Cristiano was saying to Marcelo something like “we were supposed to dance to celebrate, why did you take off like that?”. To which, Marcelo replied by showing his stomach to indicate he was thirsty.
      I find their relationship pretty cute/hilarious lol.

      • Cosi permalink
        February 16, 2011 04:57

        oh yes, of course! that was SO obviously what they were saying. Haha!

  3. suzanne permalink
    February 15, 2011 13:22

    YEA!!!! i know what my vacay plans are this summer!!! i WILL NOT miss my boys this year!

  4. February 15, 2011 15:36

    That little interaction between CR and Marcelo is quite adorable. “Sooo, you’re too good, you couldn’t come and have a dance with us?!” ” My belly, it was thirsty!!!”

  5. lalitta permalink
    February 15, 2011 16:01

    I was a little disappointed over Marcelos goal celebration, why did he push the others away? However i LOVE Ronaldos little dance, it is so adorable! And he is RIGHT! I don’t care how thirsty Marcello must have been, he should’nt push his teammates away like this, i can udnerstand if he where energic and excited but thats not a great reaction from him.

  6. lalitta permalink
    February 15, 2011 16:28

    please somebody, what does El Indio de Camas means? (said about sergio ramos <3)

    • February 16, 2011 04:43

      Pepe Reina called him that. It means, literally, the indian of Camas. Sergio comes from the town Camas and he does look like a Native American. I would love to see him in a loin cloth, astride a leopard appaloosa. Who wouldn’t want to smoke that peace pipe?!
      He is also the Bill Gates of Camas… ;-}

      • lalitta permalink
        February 17, 2011 21:44

        Thank you, that explains a lot! And I would definitly smoke it lool 😀
        But when Bill Gates??

        • IsaBella permalink
          February 18, 2011 09:46

          I guess it’s because of his ekhm ‘economic status’ 🙂

        • February 18, 2011 14:24

          I think it might be from a Crackòvia skit?

        • February 23, 2011 14:46

          It is from one of the Crackovia skits where Serhio skypes with Gutierreth in Turkey and he’s all proud of himself for finally setting up the computer cprrectly. ‘Soy el Bill Gates de Camas!’

    • Cosi permalink
      February 16, 2011 04:57

      The Indian of Camas ;P

    • IsaBella permalink
      February 16, 2011 08:45

      The Indian from Camas.

  7. Jenny permalink
    February 15, 2011 17:38

    I do hope Mourinho isn’t “scouting” Chelsea for a surprise return to his old team in May. I don’t mind if he goes there, of course, I just want him to spend a few years in Madrid first.

  8. Jenny permalink
    February 15, 2011 17:40

    I should just mention that Adebayor was absolutely tremendous – he did everything right. Unfortunately, so did the Espanyol Keeper.

    I foresee many fabulous goals in his future.

  9. IsaBella permalink
    February 15, 2011 18:10

    I adore Mou’s photo with his son 🙂
    Turkish food is delicious, at least in my opinion. ayyyy erasing tattoos…. I can feel the pain.

  10. Hala_Madrid permalink
    February 15, 2011 20:50

    I’m so happy they’re coming back to UCLA i went last year, and i got to see them practice. I’m going to ask for vacation when they come, it’s worth since that’s the only time i get to see them and take pictures of them. I’ll share them i promise =)

    • IsaBella permalink
      February 16, 2011 08:48

      I’m going to Madrid three weeks from now and I’ll try to take some decent photos in the fan zone so I can share them with you. 🙂

      • Hala_Madrid permalink
        February 17, 2011 07:56

        That will be awesome, Thank you so much!! Let us know how it goes, good luck!!!

        • IsaBella permalink
          February 17, 2011 10:37

          I’ll do my best 🙂

  11. Maddi permalink
    February 15, 2011 21:51

    Woah –is that Alvaro in a UChicago shirt?! YUM! My defender and my school!!!

  12. LaBlanca permalink
    February 15, 2011 22:44

    OMG Ronald looks exactly like his dad!!! WOW! Havnt seen pix of him for a while. How old is he now?

  13. Cammy permalink
    February 15, 2011 22:45

    UCLA for training, I am so there.

    • Hala_Madrid permalink
      February 16, 2011 07:51

      Did you also go last year?

      • Cammy permalink
        February 16, 2011 21:01

        I went to the rose bowl game but not the training. Don’t they sell tickets to the practice/training?

        • Hala_Madrid permalink
          February 17, 2011 07:59

          They did last year for a day but it was through LA.Galaxy i missed that one, because i didn’t know about it. Luckily i ended up going the last day of practice and Mou was so nice to let us all know that he was having an open practice and it was free btw. I don’t know how things are going to work this year but i will be glad to go to both of them even if i have to pay : )

        • Cammy permalink
          February 18, 2011 04:40

          If you learn of anything about the UCLA training, please let us know. Did you get good photos from last time? I was so jealous of the the photos I saw on flickr.

        • Hala_Madrid permalink
          February 19, 2011 09:19

          I got ok pictures because i was by myself that day. So I wanted to take advantage to see them so close in person = ) but for sure i’ll let you guys know if i know anything about UCLA.

  14. February 16, 2011 03:31

    Do you know the dates the team will be in the US? I am planning on going to Madrid this summer and I will probably die if they are here in the States while I am in Spain!!

    • Hala_Madrid permalink
      February 16, 2011 09:57

      I think they will be here late July/ beg Aug

    • mari_madridista permalink
      February 16, 2011 23:41

      Ugh, unfortunately, I KNOW I will want to die during that time. I go to school in LA, but over the summer I will be back home- over 2,000 miles away!!

      Better luck to you!

  15. Cassie permalink
    February 16, 2011 07:26

    Well definately booking off July this year I just hope they release the dates soon so I can start my planning and saving

  16. Bill permalink
    February 16, 2011 10:04

    I know I’m not doing this awesome post justice by focusing on Álvaro, but how adorable is he? I love how he’s almost clinging to Marcelo, trying to keep him from running away, and how frantically he pats Adán on his back in that other gif. XD

  17. Ang permalink
    February 18, 2011 00:38

    what cities are they going to play at & why cant they have a classico here in the USA!! … cause I would love to see a live game like Real Madrid vs FC Barcelona …. just for the simple facts that 1.)they 95% of them are goodlooking players 2.) 99.9% of them are great players .. and 3.) I want to know if they call have sold out game… or have a higher attendance record the American Football(NFL)

Leave a Reply

