Skip to content

Sergio’s language skills demoted?

February 16, 2011

Or lost in translation?

During the presentation of his new Adidas boots today in Madrid, Manolo Adebayor had this to say, among other things:

on life in Madrid: I’m very happy… my teammates, the club, the staff everyone made it easier for me.  Casillas tries to speak English with me, Ramos tries to (as well) and I have a good friend in Lass.  I’m always happy, I was born to be happy and yeah, I’m a happy guy.

on Raúl: I would never compare myself with Raúl.  When I played with Morientes in Monaco, I asked him for Raúl’s shirt and now I have the signed shirt in my house in Togo.  He’s fantastic.

30 Comments leave one →
  1. HermosaChica permalink
    February 16, 2011 14:16

    “Casillas speaks English” — uhh..that caused me to conjure up dire memories of the video of Pepe Reina teaching Iker English..

    Despite all the claims and tweets, Sexio speaking English still feels a bit too good to be true. 😦

    • February 16, 2011 14:29

      Pepe Reina ess de worss wolky enn de worrl.

      • superfan permalink
        February 16, 2011 14:55

        Omg Una! Hahahaha. That video is pure fun! 🙂

      • February 16, 2011 18:59

        hahahahaah! 😉

      • HermosaChica permalink
        February 16, 2011 22:18

        Hahaha, that just made me watch it about eight times. 😆

      • my cat is evil permalink
        February 17, 2011 00:00

        I actually laughed out loud in the middle of the night like a crazy person! I hope it’s ok that I tweeted that quote, it’s too good to be overlooked!

      • farahmancunian permalink
        February 17, 2011 11:17

        Can I have a link on the video? I think I miss something MAJOR here 😥

    • IsaBella permalink
      February 16, 2011 16:40

      ‘Despite all the claims and tweets, Sexio speaking English still feels a bit too good to be true.’ – agree …

    • suzanne permalink
      February 16, 2011 23:05

      haha! i just watched that video again the other day. and died laughing like i always do. poor iker tries so hard! 😀

  2. February 16, 2011 14:32

    WHAT! Iker speaks ENGLISH with him and Ramos tries to!!!
    I want to hear Iker speaking English asap, the only time was in that Reebok commercial ages ago. Someone better force him to at least try to do it in public once because apparently he improved!

    • February 16, 2011 14:34

      oh yes I forgot the Reebok ” ayam wat ayam” and the pepe lessons were the only times I have heard him speak English.

  3. superfan permalink
    February 16, 2011 14:58

    Oh dear. The title made me laugh! Haha. I want proof of Sergio speaking in english. It’s going to be so epic. Hihi. 🙂

  4. ulong permalink
    February 16, 2011 15:44

    Do you know that ‘ayam’ means chicken in Indonesian?

  5. Ally permalink
    February 16, 2011 16:19

    HAHAHA that’s impossible! Iker doesn’t really speak English as far as I know xD
    and if he does know a few words of english, his pronunciation is very BAD, so I doubt it that Manu can understand him 😉

    • Debsen permalink
      February 18, 2011 03:23

      Doesn’t Iker’s brother have a hobby of going to bars and practicing English by speaking to random people?

  6. Corazon permalink
    February 16, 2011 16:31

    Why did you change the words of the interview? It clearly says that both Iker and Sergio speak English with him, there is no mention of ‘trying’.

  7. Cherrycake permalink
    February 16, 2011 17:01

    Haha, speaking of language skills…

    Ozi has obviously been caught in the act, using turkish swear words on the pitch. The website http://almanca.hukuki.net/mesut-ozil-voll-erwischt.htm claims:

    “Der deutsche Nationalspieler Mesut Özil wurde bei dem Spiel seiner Mannschaft Real Madrid gegen Espanol von den Übertragungskameras voll erwischt. Als der Linienrichter seine Fahne gegen ihn schwingte, sagte er geistesabwesend auf Türkisch: ‘Has..tir i.ne’, was im Fußball-Jargon so viel heißt wie: ‘Hau ab du A’ Auch in der 78. Minute als er den Platz für Diarra räumen sollte, wiederholte der 23-Jährige seine türkischen Fluchtwörter, dabei haben die Kameras die Szenen Stück für Stück festgehalten. Das Spiel ging jedoch für Mesuts Mannschaft Barcelona mit 1-0 glücklich aus.”

    Translates into: “German national footballer Mesut Özil was caught in the act during the game Madrid against Espanol. When the linesman waved his flag against him, he absentmindedly said ‘Has..tir i.ne’, which, in footballing slang, translates into: “‘get the fuck off, you asshole”. Also, in Minute 78, when he had to go off for Diarra, the 23-year old (well, yeah, we know, he is only 22) repeated his turkish swear words, which was captioned by the cameras accurately. The game, however, ended luckily with a win for Mesut’s team.

    Gotta love him. He will learn to be more careful. I bet the whole turkish nation is watching him…

  8. Elizabeth Parker permalink
    February 16, 2011 17:15

    “I was born happy and I live happily”

    This made me smile/laugh 🙂 Good for him!!!!

  9. coffeesunshine permalink
    February 16, 2011 17:44

    Ramos TRIES TO….
    hahaha, so hilarious! I cannot stop laughing.
    And I really like his comment about Raul, so sweet!

  10. February 16, 2011 19:01

    Emmanuel, just BE PATIENCE with Sergio!

    (the “be patience” is not getting old, after all those months;-)

    at least we know Sergio knows useful phrases: “this is for the whole team, no?” – it suits both the situation in the airplane back after winning WorldCup and receiving the cake from the crew and talking to the new teammates LOL

    Iker – the tape with the recording or it did not happen!;-))

  11. Lauren permalink
    February 16, 2011 19:14

    Oh yes I remember the video where Reina tried to teach Iker some English. 😀
    I never heard Sergio speaking English.. except in this video where he said “I am… Sergio Ramo.”
    Aww well at least he tries to speak it. Hope he improves a lot.
    I wonder if Iker could already speak English when David Beckham was playing for Real Madrid.

    • February 17, 2011 09:41

      Oh yeah, this stuff is legendary: I AM SERHIO RAMO, REAL MADRI PLAYA;-)

  12. D0li permalink
    February 16, 2011 22:55

    video of english lession

  13. Sonrisa permalink
    February 16, 2011 23:38

    It’s funny that he doesn’t mention Xabi, who speaks English quite well!

    Btw, amazing blog!

  14. Maddi permalink
    February 17, 2011 00:06

    Congrats to Raul for scoring against Valencia yesterday!!!

  15. Lissete permalink
    February 17, 2011 04:53

    I think you guys are under the impression that Iker speaks fluent English. He says, “Casillas TRIES to…as well as Sergio” So they both try to lol. I’m guessing Iker speaks it better than Sergio, but probably not a lot better.

    It’s tough to speak both languages fluently unless you’re speaking them all the time. Seeing that Iker and Sergio hardly ever have to speak English they won’t be able to speak it very well. Hell, Spanish was my first language, but I hardly speak it where I live and haven’t ever had to, so I can’t call myself fluent in it.

  16. February 17, 2011 05:29

    =( i’m giving him credit for trying though. Honestly, he’ll get there someday right?! right!? I hope so…

Trackbacks

  1. Twitted by bluebeta

Leave a Reply

