Skip to content

Karim makes the rounds & other news

February 21, 2011

ONE. A couple more moments from the game yesterday.  I love Cristiano playing with Sergio’s hair and the boys dancing!  And doesn’t Xabi look dreamy there on the bench?  The boys are so cute, aren’t they?  Now you see why I love the pregame moments?

But why doesn’t Álvaro tweet from the bench?

TWO. Karim Benzema’s the most popular man in Real Madrid these days, as Madrid is set to face his old team Olympique Lyon on Tuesday in the Champions League.

Like Lass, Karim’s whole face changes when he smiles, no?

With that in mind, his presence was requested by Marca, El Mundo (which brought Karim and Manolo together), bwin and Real Madrid’s own website (so far, at least; there may be more appearances).  Of note:  he spoke French to bwin, and a mixture of French and Spanish (not together) to Madrid.  Highlights from each chat:

bwin:

“For me, José Mourinho is a fantastic coach.  He managed to changed my mentality.  Now I’m a fighter… I’m very happy, but I still want to be stronger on the field and solidify my place with Real Madrid.  Cristiano Ronaldo is the best player in the world of all time, and sometimes I use him as inspiration to make plays, because I’m also a forward.”

Real Madrid:

He didn’t say anything new or of importance, but the pictures were nice.

You know he was just itching to make a thumbs-up gesture.

Marca:

Karim said, “I have confidence in myself and I believe my teammates have confidence in me as well… If I start, I’ll give it my all and if I come off the bench, I will also try and contribute what I have.  The coach will decide on the team and I’ll await my moment.”

Marca also traveled to the Bron neighborhood of Lyon, where Karim Benzema grew up.  The house belonging to the Benzemas which Florentino Pérez visited (and had a drink in) back in June 2009 is now empty, because Karim purchased another house for his family some time ago.  That was the only time FP had ever gone to the house of a player to convince him to come back with him to the Bernabéu.

The next stop is the College Saint Louis-Saint Bruno, where Olympique’s youth team players study.  Cristophe Rage, the man in charge of the third-year students, said that Karim studied there for two years, when he was 13 and 14:  “he was more discreet than the others.  He spoke very little [things haven’t changed!] but he worked very hard.  He wasn’t the most gifted one or the best, but he was the one who worked the hardest…. he was very persevering.  His father woke him up at five each morning so that he could make the school bus.  His family was fundamental in getting him to the elite.”

Rage adds, “some of them already believed that they were stars and it was complicated to make them study.  Karim was one of the few that showed an interest in school.  He was very tranquil, very reserved, and he didn’t let his dreams carry him away.  He was very quiet in class.  He worked hard in order not to let his parents or his coaches down.”

It sounds like Karim has always had his head on straight, no?  And his parents have taught him very well!

El Mundo:

El Mundo brought Karim Benzema and Emmanuel Adebayor together.  The first thing they said was, “we’re very good friends and we’re compatible.”

Stop teaching Manu your bad habits, Karim!!

Karim on Manu: there’s no competition here because both of us want what is best for the team.  Adebayor’s signing didn’t bother me in the least, because anything that helps Madrid is good and he has a lot to offer.  He’s very good, and a coach needs alternatives.  I already followed him when he was at Monaco, and when he made the move to Arsenal, he was already spectacular. 

Manu on Karim: we’re very good friends, and we want to win many things with Real Madrid.  I get along very well with Karim; he helped me to adapt during my first few days here.  No one should view us as rivals.  Karim does incredible things, the goal he scored against Sevilla in the Copa was spectacular, a sort of welcome gift for me, because he scored it one day before my presentation.  I wasn’t surprised in the least.  He’s capable of this and much more.

Karim on other things: Mourinho made me mature, he made me feel stronger.  I am a better player thanks to him, I’m progressing and I feel stronger physically and mentally.

Manu on other things: I communicate with the captains, with Casillas, with Ramos, in English.  And Lass Diarra is always watching out for me, he’s a great source of support.  I’ve only been working with the coach for a few weeks, but I already know why he’s considered one of the best in the world.  He pays attention to the smallest details and he has very clear ideas.  From the first day, he told me clearly what he expected of me and while looking me in the eyes.  I don’t regret coming.  Now I have to work hard so that they’ll continue to count on me.

It’s also said that Karim is more extroverted and communicative this year, and Manu includes him in his craziness.

THREE. Madrid will hold a training session this morning before traveling to France this afternoon.  Once there, José Mourinho and Ricardo Carvalho will speak to the press at 19h in the Gerland.

FOUR. And looking ahead to Madrid’s next rival, Deportivo:  a special thing occurred yesterday in the game between Deportivo and Almería.  In the 95th minute, in a desperation attempt, Dépor’s keeper Dani Aranzubia scored – that’s right, the goalkeeper scored!!! – a header that tied the game 1-1, which was also the final result.  In this way, Aranzubia became the first goalkeeper in the history of the first division to score a header (goalkeepers have scored nine goals).  So, two things:  be careful against Dépor, and there’s still hope that I will one day see Iker score a goal!!!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. IsaBella permalink
    February 21, 2011 10:03

    Cristiano can we switch jobs please? You’ll go to study and work and I will fix Sergi’s hair 😀 It would be fantastic if Alvaro tweeted from the bench, let’s hope one day he will. Like ‘Xabi is fixing his scarf right now’ 😉
    Una, I’m sorry to correct you but please, there is no such team as Olympique de Lyon (maybe in Spanish) but the right name is Olympique Lyonnais…. Polish commentators make the same mistake BTW.
    ‘I communicate with the captains, with Casillas, with Ramos, in English’ – well, when can we finally hear that Manu? 🙂 and don’t spoil our Karim please 🙂

  2. February 21, 2011 10:22

    Those gifs are CAPTIVATING! Good catch, Una. Was Cris pretending to be the narrator of a hair treatment/conditioner advertisement? ‘If you want super soft, super wavy, super manageable hair…’ 8^P

    • lalitta permalink
      February 21, 2011 22:12

      hahha that was a good one! No matter what Cris was doing, i would not mind trading places with him!

  3. February 21, 2011 10:29

    Actually, the interview with realmadrid.com was an old one, but they waited and posted everything he had to say about Lyon until yesterday. You can se that he wears the same clothes as on the link.

  4. ulong permalink
    February 21, 2011 10:53

    the last picture is like a family photos 😀

  5. bbBenz permalink
    February 21, 2011 12:12

    Benz loves school hell yeah! he’s a quite person hell yeah! he’s gonna score against Lyon hell yeah! Hala Madrid! and oh Manu got the “thumbs up” habit at the end lol. love Karim’s outfit btw 😀

  6. Annee permalink
    February 21, 2011 15:23

    Ha, as soon as they showed the shots of Manu and Mesut alone on the bench I though for sure Xabi and Alvaro would be sitting together. Sure enough, they were the next shot. 🙂

    Cute pics of Karim and Manu. It’s nice how well Manu seems to be fitting in with the team. Another reason I love these boys. They always welcome the new players so well.

  7. Kat permalink
    February 21, 2011 16:19

    Those Manu + Karim pictures are hilarious. Like high school boys doing it on a lark.

    And, yes. Xabi looks like he’s ready for another Vogue.es closeup with that hair. Ugggh. The perfection hurts.

    http://dontaskmetosmile.wordpress.com

  8. Maddi permalink
    February 21, 2011 22:59

    Iker scoring would be amazing. Maybe they should let him take a penalty someday.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Karim makes the rounds & other news « following Real Madrid… -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

