Skip to content

in case you missed it – the frustration edition (again)

February 27, 2011

In case you missed it – Deportivo vs. Real Madrid [2011-02-26, Liga jornada 25].

After the game, Xabi Alonso said, “we tried everything possible… and we fought until the end.”  That sums it up nicely, along with the fact in the 79th minute, the possession for the game was 66% Real Madrid vs. 34% for Deportivo.  And we’re beginning to look a lot like David Villa earlier this season, with everything hitting the post, no?  I’m not the only one who thinks so…

ONE. This also wraps things up nicely – frustrated players lying on the field.

TWO. And this – Mou spent some time and on several different occasions arguing with the fourth referee, and at one point Chendo had to intervene.  In the third minute, Mou put his hand on the referee’s shoulder to say something, and the guy removed it and asked Mou to return to the bench.  I love it.  And as the game went on, Mou had a few more choice words.  After the game, Mou said, “he should speak more politely with my players.”

THREE. When Iker was interviewed after the game, I couldn’t help but notice that even the La Sexta microphone matched him.  And with the bottom of his jersey missing, having been cut off, I wonder if that’s what he made his neck muffler out of, the one he wore in the Champions League game last week.

FOUR. It looks like a fun game, no?  Chase Cristiano and then hide and seek.  And at one point in the game, Cris decided to hang out next to Iker, claiming the post as his spot.  Maybe he was trying to make friends with it, so that it would be nice to us.  Meanwhile, Xabi never stops posing and giving directions, no?

I can’t believe the cameraperson didn’t go for a close-up at this moment.  Cristiano spent most of the game frustrated and unhappy.

Bonus Cristiano being Cristiano aquí.  He’s now the only player in the Liga to have played every minute of the campeonato.

FIVE. Telemadrid decided to go for split screens, and I like it because we get to see Mou’s reaction to the play on the field.  He’s resting his chin on his hands!  He brought his hand to his mouth!  He’s saying stop!  Sometimes, Mou is even more entertaining than the game.

And as cute as this moment is between Cristiano and Pepe, I can’t help but wish the cameraperson had chosen to zoom in on the front of Sergio Ramos at this exact moment.

SIX. I’m sure some of you are here just for Sergio Ramos, so here you go.

There are two things I like about the picture on the left.  One is the smiling Esteban.  Can you figure out what the other is?  And since we have the front (that’s your clue), here’s the back.

SEVEN. Marcelo and his Vicks.  How’d he manage to make it almost perfectly round?

EIGHT. Iker being Iker: organizing his defense and then being all captainy by preventing Pepe from getting into a fight/red card.

He didn’t have a lot of work in this game, but he felt as frustrated as we all did.

NINE. Both Mou and I were hoping that Esteban could do something to break the deadlock.  Though he didn’t manage to do it, he does have fabulous hair, no?

TEN. Speaking of fabulous hair… it’s so shiny!

ELEVEN. The Xabi Alonso pose section.™

When he wasn’t busy posing, Xabi was the conductor of the Real Madrid orchestra.

TWELVE. The banquillo. Does Manu have something in his hat to make it stay up like that?  And poor Kaká didn’t have a great game.  I wish Álvaro had gotten to play against his old team.

Eze Garay and Antonio Adán were left off the final game list and so watched the game from the stands.

THIRTEEN. Karim Benzema’s contribution to the game.

FOURTEEN. The Mou corner.

During his postgame declarations, Mou once again complained about the scheduling of games: “even though they’ll continue to laugh behind my back, I’m going to continue defending the interests of my team – the normal thing would have been for us to play on Sunday.  As a coach, I have to speak up.”  He also said the team had deserved to walk away with three points from the Riazor, although he did praise the effort put in by Deportivo: “I’ve watched them play many times this season and there’s no comparison because the effort they put in to this game was much more than in other games… in the second half, we played against a goalkeeper and 10 defenders.  It seemed that only one team was trying to win, but the rival defended their goal until they had no strength left.”

FIFTEEN. Looking ahead: the team will get today off, and return to work on Monday to start preparing for Thursday’s game against Málaga (once again at 22h).  Meanwhile, Castilla won their eighth straight (!) with a 2-0 victory against Cacereño at the Di Stéfano.  Jorge Casado and Denis scored the two goals.  Go MFC and co.!  And Jesé Rodríguez of Juvenil A had a great 18th birthday yesterday, as he scored a golazo in his team’s 3-0 victory against Toledo.  At least some of the teams are winning.

And look who was at the game… Miguel Pardeza!  Oh, and Aitor Karanka too!  And that looks like Emilio Butragueño’s head on the right.  Hope I didn’t miss anyone there…

58 Comments leave one →
  1. HermosaChica permalink
    February 27, 2011 15:13

    “I wonder if that’s what he made his neck muffler out of” — maybe he’ll start wearing scraps of his murse around his neck. As ugly as that will look, anything involving both Iker’s murse collection and a sharp pair of scissors is fine by me!

    I loved the bonus Cris photo! Petition to permanently make their shorts that short? 🙂

    “I’m sure some of you are here just for Sergio Ramos, so here you go.” — if I didn’t love this club so much, then part of that might actually be true. His gifs/photos here are gorgeous!

    “Does Manu have something in his hat to make it stay up like that?” — Haha, well his head sort of looks like a tadpole here.

    Also, why is the Málaga game on Thursday??

    • IsaBella permalink
      February 27, 2011 17:04

      too many teams, too many games to play and no time = Malaga game on Thursday 🙂 ah and TV broadcasting time 😉

  2. yedu permalink
    February 27, 2011 15:23

    Cristiano to be a father for the second time as reported by daily mail. Is this reason for not concentrating

  3. superfan permalink
    February 27, 2011 15:42

    This game was just too frustrating! But props to you for an awesome and fun-filled ICYMI. Thank you for finding the more interesting things in the game for this post. 🙂 I just don’t think there’s anything worth going back in this game. Ugh.

  4. xoxo permalink
    February 27, 2011 15:47

    “And with the bottom of his jersey missing, having been cut off, I wonder if that’s what he made his neck muffler out of, the one he wore in the Champions League game last week.”

    I wouldn’t put it pass him. Oh, I love our captain!

  5. IsaBella permalink
    February 27, 2011 15:58

    Frustration indeed. back to -7 😦
    ‘I’m sure some of you are here just for Sergio Ramos’ – coincido contigo Una 😉 however, staring at his sexy culito and his hair is never tiring 🙂
    Alvaro look super sexy at the pic from the bench mmmm
    (I’m looking for consolation after the hopeless draw…)

  6. erin permalink
    February 27, 2011 16:28

    title should be:
    in case you missed it – the benzema still is terrible in la liga games edition

    • mar permalink
      February 27, 2011 17:45

      and his only contribution still not that good! he has a layer…

    • DebS permalink
      February 28, 2011 16:41

      He missed 2 pretty easy goals. idk what happened but…. :\

  7. Proudculé!!! permalink
    February 27, 2011 16:32

    Boti boti boti, Madridista qui no boti!

  8. IsaBella permalink
    February 27, 2011 17:24

    oh Una, the last picture (!!!!) – you’re teasing us 😀

    • HermosaChica permalink
      February 27, 2011 18:52

      Aaah! I just saw that 😀 too damn gorgeous, I tell ya!
      I’m not exactly sure what he’s wearing, particularly on the bottom half of his body, so for now let’s just assume he’s nude.

      • IsaBella permalink
        February 27, 2011 22:29

        oooh, that would be too good to be true 😀 I ekhm am not a particular fan of the screaming turquoise of whatever it is :p and the shirt seems to have diamonds around the collar (!!) o.o

  9. Kat permalink
    February 27, 2011 18:21

    Sorry, I didn’t get what it was you liked about the picture with Sergio wit Granero smiling at the back. Either my eyes are going bad or I don’t like Sergio that much. But please, do let me know…

    Oh, the post, the post. Maybe they should start practicing with a smaller goal? Like , just smaller by the outline of the posts? Because this is getting really, really cruel, now.

    http://dontaskmetosmile.wordpress.com

    • February 28, 2011 03:07

      perhaps it involves the appearance of a tent…?

  10. Anna permalink
    February 27, 2011 18:31

    ELEVEN b) Oh I sure you didn’t miss anyone in the picture, but I’m wondering why there’s an empty seat next to Aitor to his right?:-? interesting, no?

    you are awesome Una!

  11. sortacrunchymom permalink
    February 27, 2011 19:24

    Haha! I knew when Xabi took that corner kick that I was going to be seeing it here in the “Xabi Pose” section! What a frustrating game…especially when Barcelona had *another* 3-0 win…I really wanted our team to do better than a 0-0 draw. What a disappointment.

  12. bbBenz permalink
    February 27, 2011 19:40

    I still HATE undershirt gawd damn!

  13. Maddi permalink
    February 27, 2011 19:58

    Thanks for cheering me up Una!! Your ICYMI posts always make me smile, regardless of the outcome.

    One good thing about the game is that Iker’s hair looks un-thin in the close up of him. Plus, his jawline is amazing…

    Poor Kaka, I hope he regains his rhythm.
    Barca still have Villarreal, Valencia, etc. I haven’t lost hope!

  14. Hala_Madrid permalink
    February 27, 2011 22:11

    I loved the CR7 bonus picture =) That was my fave!! I just wish we would not lose or tie any other game from now on. I don’t want to get used to this frustration games and posts =(

  15. February 28, 2011 00:23

    What. I thought Kaka had a great game. He has really improved the past couple months.

    • DebS permalink
      February 28, 2011 17:01

      IMO, he seemed to play well in the start of the game but then not so much…I think that’s why Mou subbed him out. Maybe he’s fitness just isn’t there for a full game yet?

      • March 2, 2011 04:48

        He’s not meant to play a full game yet. He’s not fit enough. But for someone who’s coming back from a five-month injury – keep in mind he played through his injury all through World Cup too – he had a great game. Idk, generally, I’m finding people are expecting too much of him, immediate results, when they don’t take into consideration that he was injured almost much all of 2010.

  16. February 28, 2011 01:36

    of course we’re not here just for Sergio, we’re here for you too! (and Esteban, and Pipita when he comes back, and everyone else…)

  17. brownkat05 permalink
    February 28, 2011 02:42

    in the last picture that’s totally sergio ramos next to aitor karanka

  18. jean permalink
    February 28, 2011 04:24

    great post as usual Una:)

  19. February 28, 2011 04:27

    This appears to be one tired team. And when the opponent plays every man on defense, nothing is getting through. I can’t stand it when the other team is willing to play for 1 point. Seriously – play the game, guys… *Now, if I were the President of Every League in the World I would make 0-0 matches worthless… and I would ban a few things ;-p*

    • DebS permalink
      February 28, 2011 17:10

      Exactly! Play.the.game! But Depor desperately needs the 1 pt to stay above relegation. They probably figured if they didn’t play 10 men on defense, they’d lose for sure and end up with zero instead of 1. I guess when ur struggling to stay in the league, that’s they way they approach games against the good teams. :\

  20. dewi arum nawang wungu permalink
    February 28, 2011 07:23

    Una.. i heard Ramos will leave Bernabeu this summer. According to Goal.com, his agent (who is also his brother) said that Ramos will count on several club at EPL.
    Tell me is not true, una. =( I love Sergio. I can’t see him wearing another uniform.

    • IsaBella permalink
      February 28, 2011 09:13

      Let’s hope it’s not true.

    • pnylove415 permalink
      February 28, 2011 12:07

      If 1% of the things goal.com published were true, it would be giving them too much credit. 😉 Don’t get worried just yet!

  21. February 28, 2011 12:32

    Before and after the game there was a lot made in the media about comments Mou made when he played at the Riazor in a CL semi with Porto in 2004. They were something like: “Os veo muy creciditos” or “Les veo muy creciditos” and “Os dije que estabais muy creciditos” and “Ya os dije que estábais muy creciditos”.

    What do these comments mean in English and why were they considered so offensive? Thanks.

    • February 28, 2011 15:38

      Before the game in 2004, Mou said, “Les veo muy creciditos” (I see them as very cocky). After the game, which Porto won, Mou said, “Ya os dije que estabais muy crecidos” (I already told you all they were too cocky). When the game ended at the Riazor on Saturday, the big screen showed the video of Mou saying those words.

  22. February 28, 2011 12:38

    Also, when you say Telemadrid showed split screens with one half focused on the bench, was that for the entire game? Do they often do that? And do Telemadrid show all of Real Madrid’s games? Thanks again!

    • February 28, 2011 15:35

      No, not for the whole game, as you can see from the rest of the screen shots. Telemadrid doesn’t air all of Madrid’s games.

  23. February 28, 2011 13:58

    I could only watch the last 20 mins of the game and it made me frustrated enough, so I am kinda happy I did not watch the whole part…

    but of course, the ICYMI kaes up for the team and is – as ALWAYS – enjoyable and fun! I love the gifs, the pictures, everything!

    As to Serhio’s hair – he definitely has done something to it, the gel is kinda gone, don’t you think? I am going with some haristylist’s intervention or just some nice women who made him stop using the gel on his glorious locks;-)

    Speaking of Sergio – yeah, I heard the rumours too, but in different version – that Rene said that few clubs are interested in Sergio and that the negotiations with RM are not over regarding the modification of the contract plus that there are some problems between Mou and Sexio regarding the fact that he does not fulfill the tactics on the pitch….I would just wait and see what would happen, but the rumours appear all the time and I do not believe them until proven they are true…

    Personally, I cannot imagine how he would want to move to another club, but after Fernando left Liverpool (my favourite EPL club!), nothing is able to surprise me. Not to mention the leaving of Raul and Guuuuuuuuti.

    • HermosaChica permalink
      February 28, 2011 15:43

      I love how you used “Sexio” amidst a rather serious paragraph. That definitely cracked me up. 😆
      I’d also like to mimic your thoughts regarding that issue.

      • March 1, 2011 00:29

        Using “Sexio” in random situations is, well, a bit of a law LOL

        Having said that – I’d hate if it was true that him and Mou might have had some conflicts, but hell yeah, I am sure that seeing them both angry at eachother would be one sexy spectacle, no? ;–))

        • HermosaChica permalink
          March 1, 2011 13:33

          “one sexy spectacle” — hahaha, that’s the best way to interpret this whole sticky situation.

        • IsaBella permalink
          March 1, 2011 16:31

          agree on the ‘sexy spectacle’ 😀

    • IsaBella permalink
      February 28, 2011 20:28

      I personally hated the gel so I’m happy it’s gone and I hope that it will stay that way 🙂 no matter for what reason but I would put the hairstylist for sure there since the hair looks too straightened. Anyway I like it, the new caramel shade is also very nice. Well, gorgeous, let’s not be afraid of certain words 😉
      I guess that sooner or later some of us get the need to develop and try something new in our career. Especially, e.g. in case of Fernando when your team totally sucks. I just hope that Sergio feels this later than sooner. And that the personality clash with Mou does not get in the way.

      • March 1, 2011 00:30

        I second the motion to not be afraid to use the word “gorgeous” 😉

      • DebS permalink
        March 1, 2011 01:07

        “Well, gorgeous, let’s not be afraid of certain words”

        Gorgeous indeed. Don’t hold back on us, Isabella! lol

        • IsaBella permalink
          March 1, 2011 16:32

          I won’t 😀

  24. Talang permalink
    February 28, 2011 16:06

    “And look who was at the game… Miguel Pardeza! Oh, and Aitor Karanka too! And that looks like Emilio Butragueño’s head on the right. Hope I didn’t miss anyone there…”

    Ramos is also there, saw the game, they zoomed him a couple of times ;p

    • February 28, 2011 16:09

      Do I need to work on my sarcasm? It appears that a few people don’t get me…

      • DebS permalink
        February 28, 2011 17:13

        give ’em time, Una. They’ll come around soon! lol

      • lalitta permalink
        February 28, 2011 19:55

        No you don’t, I totally get you! And I love you’r humor!
        I thought the coment was funy, though. There Sergio Ramos was with his sunglasses and his lovely head torning up over the others, and with your great eyes for details it was clear what you ment when you said: “Hope I didn’t miss anyone there…” Hilarious 😀

      • Michelle permalink
        February 28, 2011 20:03

        Pobrecita 🙂 I thought it was funny!

        • February 28, 2011 22:55

          Good, because I hope that no one would really think that I’d get excited about seeing Pardeza!

        • Jennifer permalink
          March 1, 2011 01:39

          Pft, I don’t know what you two are talking about, I only come here for the paparazzi shots of El Buitre’s hairline…

      • Anna permalink
        February 28, 2011 20:15

        that’s a shame…..’cause you are awsome:)) you remind me of one of my best friends, she moved one continent and one ocean away, and she was just like that, full of sarcasm…..oh Una….We love you and we love Sergio:D

        • lalitta permalink
          March 1, 2011 00:38

          Big “THUMPS UP AND LIKES” under your comment! ❤

      • March 1, 2011 05:34

        Don’t change for us, Una! It’s your blog. Do whatever you want. As long as whatever you want includes abs, thighs, front/back, Baywatch auditions, and Iker.

      • IsaBella permalink
        March 1, 2011 08:30

        Una you’re amazing, don’t worry 🙂

  25. goldengirlsk permalink
    March 1, 2011 08:08

    #SIX
    hahahahaha! ummm I’m def one of those people (at least 70% of the time). If i may speak for the Sergio Ramos fans out there, those 2 gifs we’re greatly appreciated

  26. C.R7FAN permalink
    March 2, 2011 18:47

    I am here for CRITIANO RONALDO and REAL MADRID you shuld post more good things about ronaldo and not bad thinks coz we all know that he is the best!

Leave a Reply

