Skip to content

all set for Málaga & other news

March 2, 2011

It looks like Esteban got a haircut!

ONE. Madrid held their last training session before the midweek game against Málaga, tomorrow night (22h) at the Bernabéu. The absences at the session were Pepe (flu and fever), Garay (muscle problems in his right abductor; he was unable to complete yesterday’s session), Khedira and Higuaín, while Sergio Canales has recovered from the left ankle injury he sustained in training last week and was able to join his teammates for the first time since then.

TWO. All 20 of the healthy players were called up for the game, which will be Manuel Pellegrini’s return to the Bernabéu after he was fired at the end of last season.  I hope he gets a good reception from us in appreciation of all that he did last year.

Goalkeepers: Casillas, Adán, Dudek.

Defenders: Carvalho, Sergio Ramos, Albiol, Arbeloa, Marcelo.

Midfielders: Xabi Alonso, Özil, Canales, Di María, Lass, Kaká, Granero, Pedro León, Gago.

Forwards: Cristiano, Benzema, Adebayor.

THREE. During his press conference, Mou was in an offensive mood.  He once again criticized those who decide the schedule of games, and it’s not worth repeating here what was said.  He also called one journalist “a hypocrite” but later apologized.  And he said that the “club’s communication strategy is for me to show my face.”  As for Pellegrini, Mou remarked, “if I were kicked out of Madrid, I wouldn’t go coach Málaga, but rather a big team in Italy or England.”  Pellegrini wisely chose not to respond to that.

FOUR. It’s being reported that Madrid has renewed the contract of one of their most promising starlets, Juvenil A forward Jesé Rodríguez.  His new contract ties him to the club until 2014, and according to Marca, the buyout clause is a cool €30 million!  Not bad for someone who just turned 18, no?  Jesé has already debuted with Castilla and should be playing with them next year.  At the same time, Madrid also extended the contract of Jesé’s teammate, central defender Derik Osede, who has been with Madrid since he was nine.

FIVE. Competition has rescinded the yellow card that Pepe received against Deportivo last week for “approaching a rival player but without ending up insulting or threatening him,” meaning that his yellow card count currently stands at zero, after he served a one-game suspension against Getafe in jornada 17 for accumulating too many cards.  Not that this matters right now, because Pepe is sick and missed the call-up.

SIX. Esteban Granero is already making a splash on twitter.  He’s been Xabi-esque so far, as he’s tweeted about literature, and in both Spanish and English!  He also found the time to respond to his former Real Madrid teammate Juan Mata, who asked for tips from his followers on how to beat Barcelona.

Today, he tweeted about his choice of music before today’s training session.

And I love that he’s following Quique González!

SEVEN. Meanwhile Cristiano Ronaldo tweeted about visiting Banco Espirito Santo’s HQ in Madrid (Cris is the face of the Portuguese bank).  I love the picture on the left where it looks like Cris is struggling to stay awake in front of all the numbers and charts, or at least wondering what it’s all about.

EIGHT. And this week’s Crackòvia, in which we’re introduced to Ángel di María.  Of course, they made fun of Sergio’s “tres puntos” gaffe from the Champions League game.  I love the gaitas at the beginning!

Yes to the shorts, although I don’t know why the people of Crackòvia believe that Ángel wants to be like Cris.

MO: The (Mallorca)-Barcelona game is over, they won 0-3!

SR: What?

MO: 0-3.

SR: Ohhh.  If you speak Catalan, I won’t be able to understand you!

CR: It will be up to me to win the game for Madrid, like always.  Because you all are idiots.

ADM: Yes, that.  You all are idiots.

Ángel di María: he’s called “the skinny one” or “the beanpole.”  I suppose I don’t have to explain why, no?  He’s so thin that when he showers, he has to be careful not to be washed down the drain.

ADM: You’re an idiot, and you’re an idiot.

CR: And YOU’RE an idiot, and you’re not even a starter.

ADM: Yes, that.  You’re not even a starter.

CR: No, YOU’RE not a starter.  In addition, you’re ugly.  Ugly players shouldn’t be able to to sign with Madrid to protect the image of the team.

SR: It’s a good thing then that you and I are a couple of sex symbols.

ADM: Shhh, Guardiola’s starting his press conference!

SR: You can hear that?

CR: I’m not surprised, with those Dumbo-like ears that he has…

MO: What’s he saying?

ADM: He’s saying that they played best during the first half hour.

CR: This is terrible!

ADM: Yes, this is so terrible!

MO: Barça, once again seven points ahead of us.  They’re so far away that even I can’t see them.

CR: No idiots, I’m talking about the fact that Messi scored and I didn’t.  He’s going to beat me to win the pichichi.

ADM: And he’s going to beat me too.

SR: What bad luck!  We’ve lost three points again, just as we did against Lyon.  But a tie away from home is not a bad result!  Although it would have been better to tie 1-1.

CR: What are you saying, you idiot?

ADM: Yes, what are you saying, you idiot?

SR: I’m only saying that because away goals count double.  But there’s no need to panic, because we’re definitely going to win the second leg in the Bernabéu!

MO: No, we already played in the Bernabéu during the primera vuelta and we won 6-1!

SR: What?  We already won 6-1 in the Bernabéu?  So, we’ve already qualified!

CR: You idiot, this is the Liga!

SR: It doesn’t matter whether it’s the Liga or the Champions!  If we win 0-0 here and win 6-1 in the Bernabéu, who’s the winner?  We are!  Think about it Cristiano!

Children of Crackòvia, please forgive my teammate, because with so many competitions, he gets mixed up.  It’s clear that the Liga and the Champions League are different.  They’re as different as… baloncesto and básquet (both are terms for “basketball,” which Sergio apparently didn’t know, as per his Real… interview).

40 Comments leave one →
  1. ulong permalink
    March 2, 2011 14:34

    This is my fav,
    ‘Ugly players shouldn’t be able to to sign with Madrid to protect the image of the team’
    Because it’s so true! I always think so 😀

  2. Real Madrid permalink
    March 2, 2011 15:48

    Another good news. El PIPA is back to work!! 😀

  3. amouria permalink
    March 2, 2011 16:30

    Mou, in whatever he says or does is defensing his team, as he usually repeats: TO DEATH WITH MY TEAM AND PLAYERS. This may not fall to the taste of some fans or journalists, but whatever, I love his dedication to his work, he is my idol…
    I wished you translated the full press conference dear Una because he said so many correct things about the schedule. He is a person that does not hide and does not accept unfairness.
    I La liga, people perhaps are used to like nicy nicy, but he is a man of England, where you are entitled to speak your mind freely. Hypocrisy exists everywhere of course, but in La liga, it is over-tolerated

    • Margie permalink
      March 3, 2011 02:26

      But the schedule will never be fair for every single team, it’s just the luck of the draw, not a conspiracy against Real Madrid.

  4. amouria permalink
    March 2, 2011 16:37

    A comment on Ugly player: What about Derenthe, the Dutch player? No offense, but this guy is not a king of beauty.
    What to do if all our players become really attractive when they step in our team?
    by the way, I love the beauty of Lass, he is the beautiful mole on real madrid’s cheek….. 🙂

    • March 2, 2011 22:39

      Who cares how they look, as long as they play well and are committed to the team?

      • Paddy permalink
        March 3, 2011 13:48

        Commitment is the key. Not like players like Kaka who never stopped mentioning the name of Milan untill he got screwed up with injuries

  5. Andrea permalink
    March 2, 2011 18:01

    Tread lightly, Mou. We all enjoy your snark, but no one likes a jerk.

    Angel does seem to go down a bit easily on the field, no? I don’t want to use the word “diving”, but he and Cris are both a bit dramatic sometimes. Perhaps this is one of the commonalities that Crackovia is alluding to?

  6. IsaBella permalink
    March 2, 2011 18:10

    ‘if I were kicked out of Madrid, I wouldn’t go coach Málaga, but rather a big team in Italy or England’ – I agree on that with Mou.
    ‘when he showers, he has to be careful not to be washed down the drain.’ – jajaja Crackovia rocks again 🙂

  7. ToujoursPetite permalink
    March 2, 2011 18:18

    I’m having a really hard time at suppressing my glee with Granero’s twitter; it’s only been two days and and I’m already amazed!! Ryan Adams and fancy novels… But I mean, come on, it’s Granero, just look at him, did we expect anything else?

    Imagine the amount of classiness that would exude from conversations between him and Xabi. Oh man.

  8. gabriela permalink
    March 2, 2011 18:25

    What Mourinho said about Pellegrini coaching Málaga instead of a big team was disrespectul and totally uncalled for. I love Mourinho and his acid humour when he’s defending his squad, but there is no need to say something like this, and I bet it will have a bad repercussion.
    He shouldn’t talk like this because Málaga is a relegated team. He seems to have forgotten we drew Almería in January.

  9. Mani Thangadurai permalink
    March 2, 2011 19:48

    Pellegrini has really shown a great deal of dignity during and after his tenure as Real Madrid coach, and with all due respect, I think Mourinho’s comment about him going to Malaga was a bit of a cheap shot.

    I’m with you Una, Pellegrini deserves a good reception. It wasn’t his fault that the majority of his stars let him down, especially against Alcorcon!

  10. Laryssa permalink
    March 2, 2011 20:34

    I love Mourinho with all my heart and I know he has a strong and uncontrollable personality, but sometimes his behavior causes much damage to our club. Everyone already hates Real Madrid and the way he reacts to adversity makes everything much worse. He will never change (and I even want that), but I wish he could moderate his comments a little. Pellegrini is a gentleman and doesn’t deserve to be disrespected by Mou or anyone else.

    Maybe because I’m not Spanish or because I don’t like the jokes related to Real, but I can’t find Crackòvia funny at all. Generally, I love satire, but this show has something that never captivated me. But everybody loves, so the problem must be me… 😛

    • Cindy permalink
      March 3, 2011 00:36

      You are not the only one, I don’t get Crackovia either.

    • Margie permalink
      March 3, 2011 02:40

      Agree about Mou.
      The people who don’t like Crackòvia don’t comment, it’s not you–in fact, generally there are less comments for Crackòvia posts. Personally I find some of it funny.

  11. JulieFromParis permalink
    March 2, 2011 20:36

    It wasn’t exactly Sergio’s semana right? ” Cuando éramos pequeños a algunos amigos les gustaba el baloncesto, a otros el basket…” Ah Sergio, i love you, you’re adorable but seriously. SERIOUSLY!??!!

    Seen on twitter, Pellegrini did answer to Mou (sort of) : “I don’t intend to comment on the opinions of colleagues. I have nothing against Mourinho or Real Madrid.”. a cookie for you Manuel.

    • IsaBella permalink
      March 2, 2011 22:57

      ‘Cuando éramos pequeños a algunos amigos les gustaba el baloncesto, a otros el basket…’ – ajajajajajajajajja esta me la perdi, genial 😀 oh Sergio, Sergio….

  12. Ayah permalink
    March 2, 2011 20:39

    Ok here’s the thing, is it just me or is the fact that Esteban Granero reads, and recommends books to people make him like a 1000 x hotter. Dear God, i mean we can barely handle one Xabi, now we have two!!!!! and in the same club!!! have mercy on us, seriously. :p

    • mari_madridista permalink
      March 3, 2011 05:07

      No! Don’t have mercy on us! Send us more! 😛
      But yes, Esteban also seems 1000x hotter to me, which I wouldn’t have thought possible yesterday. That haircut, though…. =/

      • Ayah permalink
        March 3, 2011 12:30

        Yes, not thrilled about Esteban’s haircut either, I loved his longer locks better, and you’re right mari_madridista those pictures are gorgeous, please keep them coming Una, And again thank you so much for these amazing posts, much appreciated 😉

  13. lalitta permalink
    March 2, 2011 22:35

    Said about Di Maria: “He’s so thin that when he showers, he has to be careful not to be washed down the drain”. Hahahhaha this made me laugh so hard! Genius..

  14. mema permalink
    March 3, 2011 00:45

    personally i hate this lets all be nice attitude that la liga seems to have. lets be honest, la liga is the place where in stadiums they scream die mourinho, die cristiano etc.
    it is also a place where players have to face rascism at some spanish stadium.

    don’t try to cover up whats wrong with the league. instead of focusing on the squabble between pellirini and mourinho. look at what mou said about barcelona’s schedule. instead of focusing on that people and press will focus on pellirini and mou’s comments. its quite shameful.

  15. Kat permalink
    March 3, 2011 01:29

    Is there something I’m missing about Sergio’s comment after the Champion’s League? Because I can’t understand why it was such a hot topic. To me, it seemed like a normal thing to say after the draw. Help, please?

    And I agree, that comment about Malaga was a cheap shot. I don’t see why Mou had to make comments like that about Pellegrini. As the guy who got booted out to make for him, he should show him more respect.

    http://dontaskmetosmile.wordpress.com

    • March 3, 2011 08:34

      It’s because three points were not at stake, with the round of 16 being an elimination round.

      • Kat permalink
        March 3, 2011 12:36

        Hahaha! Thanks, Una! Silly me! I completely forgot about that, too!

  16. March 3, 2011 02:08

    What do people in Spain think about powerful people there calling Mourinho a clown and an asshole? Is it normal in Spain this kind of speech, especially about a coach?

  17. Michelle permalink
    March 3, 2011 02:26

    Hey, I hadn’t seen Real Ramos yesterday when I watched Crackovia and I still lol’ed really hard, because I knew I’d seen something similar on FRM — and it was CRIS who made the same error! See for yourself, Madridista! 😉

    “I’m a sports fan and I watch other sports: básquetbol, ping pong, baloncesto…”

    So… Sergio & Cris hanging out too much? 😀

  18. March 3, 2011 02:52

    Una, do you know WHY Pepe’s yellow card has been rescinded? I actually thought the card was deserved, so I’m just curous.

    Hope Pepe gets well soon though. Poor guy.

  19. March 3, 2011 05:00

    In looking at Mou’s statement about Pellegrini at Malaga, I read the statement as complimentary to the fact that Manuel has the talent to coach a much higher level team. We are reading a translation, so what may be ‘lost in translation’ is the context or intention of the phrase. Is that press conference at the RM homepage or YouTube page, Una?

  20. RMFan permalink
    March 3, 2011 06:29

    jajaja! what’s the language in which Di Maria’s introduction is written? I don’t understand it 😦

  21. March 3, 2011 11:57

    unamadridista,

    long time reader, first time commenter – you’re doing a great job with this journal, and I want to thank you for saving me a lot of time to properly keep up with the club that I used to spend wading through the Spanish sports press with my embarrassingly shaky language skills.

    One thing, though – and I’m afraid it’s a bit long-winded:

    Something I increasingly notice in the comments on your blog as well as in other internet communities dedicated to Real Madrid is the sometimes almost careless blind loyalty to Mourinho. The man is an extremely gifted coach, but his public utterances are questionable at times.

    I’ve been supporting Madrid for a good few years now – I was properly introduced to the club via extened family who are lifelong socios, and a university buddy of mine who was a moderate Ultra. They took great care to familiarize me with senorio as the core concept of Madridismo. That is a notion I found mirrored in very much every proper (as in “actual football fan besides just supporting Madrid”) Madridista I met since then, regardless of native country or status.

    This new business of increasingly often blaming the referees, blaming the federation, utterly disrespecting fellow sportsmen etc. is a tool of Mourinho’s to unite his team in the face of a “world of enemies”. He’s used that to great effect for his former clubs. But from all I know, it is everything Madridismo IS NOT.

    Even if we are disadvantaged (which, let us be honest, happens rarely enough) The club is above whining and playing the blame game in public. The dirty battles are fough – but they are fought in and by the press.

    Our club has, over the course of the last century, built a code of conduct that is unique in football, if not in all of sports. The opposition Mourinho is facing from within the club is worried we’re about to seriously damage it. I, personally, as well as the socios in my family and, accroding to them, many spanish Madridistas share that sentiment.

    Every time I see or hear someone who says he’s a Madridista express things along the lines of “yeah, whatever, Mou is right with what he says and how he says it and everyone else needs to shut up already, especially that Valdano guy who is just jealous of Mou’s popularity” I cringe. Violently.

    Now, it is not my intention to disprespect anyone who took a great liking to “my” club for not knowing things – because I think the general problem isn’t deliberate ignorance but a lack of information, since a lot of the new international fans have little idea of the essentiality of senorio to Madridismo. I probably wouldn’t have more than half a clue about it either, had I not been introduced to the club via a bunch of white-bleeding, spanish Madridistas.

    So, to make a ridiculously long story short, I was wondering if you’d be willing to maybe, on a slow news day, provide a post on what Madridismo actually is, why it’s so important and how it’s unique and why Jose Mourinho is not seen as the Second Coming by ALL Madridistas.

    Cheers for your time,

    JC

    • March 3, 2011 15:20

      I can try, but it’s hard enough to put into words, much less in English!

      • March 3, 2011 17:08

        that would be very kind of you, thanks. I’m sure you’ll do just fine – judging from this blog, you always do.

      • Pammie permalink
        March 5, 2011 21:16

        would be great if you had the time to do this 🙂

  22. Paddy permalink
    March 3, 2011 13:35

    I have honestly lost interest in the league. I only watch the matches just for the fun of it. A league which a team has to win all matches to be champions is not worth following and it makes it less exciting.

    I love The Real Madrid!!!!

    Unamadrid, do you have any tips on who leaves and who comes in next summer?

Leave a Reply

